Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ALERO - 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 102 complaints filed for the 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (22) Seat Belts (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Engine (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/22/2013 - PLANO, TX
I BOUGHT IT IN DEC.2004,THE LAST 2-ONE BLACK AND ONE WHITE,I TOOK THE BLACK SITTING ON THE LOT OF FREEMAN OLDS, IRVING TX. I STARTED HAVING TROUBLE IN2006 I HAVE ALL OF MY PAPERWORK. BRAKES WENT OUT, POWERTRAIN WENT OUT. THEN I STARTED SMELLING GAS IN THEMORNING WHEN I CRANKED IT. AND STILL DO TO THIS MORNING,IT IS AWFUL. LAST YEAR IT DIED RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. WOULD NOT START,I EVEN HAD THE PLANO TX. POLICE TRY TO BOOT IT FOR ME. BATTERY I THOUGHT. HUFFINES HAD IT TOWED IN AND IT STARTED RIGHT UP FOR THEM,BUT IT WAS MY FAULT THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE IT. SO THEY GAVE IT BACK,I GO TO THE BANK, MILES FROM HOME AND IT DOES IT AGAIN.THEY TOW IT BACK AND AGAIN THE SAME THING.I GO AGAIN AT MY HOUSE AND THE SAME THING,THIS IS BS AT THIS POINT CONTACT GM FOR THE LOUSINESS OF THIS CAR, [XXX] WAS THE FIRST, ANGEL, AND NOW LASHAWNDA.THEY TELL ME THE FUEL PUMP,OK,THEY REPLACED IT, I HAD TO CASH IN MY GRANDCHILDRENS LIFE INS TO PAY FOR IT,AND AM STILL PAYING BACK THE LOAN A YEAR LATER. I AM ON DISABILITY,AND DON'T HAVE ANY MONEY. SO I TAKE IT IN FOR INSPECTION,HE COMES OUT WITH A LIST OF ABOUT $800.00 WORTH OF STUFF TO FIX BEFORE IT WILL PASS. [XXX] SAID THEY WOULD WAIVE THE DIAG FEE, I TOOK IT YESTERDAY, HE GAVE ME ANOTHER$1,000 WORTH OF STUFF TO FIX:FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR,LEAKING GAS,EGR VALVE,THERMOSTAT AND COOL FLUSH.NOT INCLUDING THE 800,$2,000,TO GET IT ALL DONE. I HAVE COPIES OF THE RECALLS ON IT. SEVERAL TRANSMISSION LEAKS WITH IN MONTHS OF BUYING IT. AFTER THE FUEL PUMP THAT WASN'T EVEN THE PROBLEM,ALL IT WAS ,THE RELAY SWITCH. THEY DID NOT EVEN TRY THAT. I ASKED THEM TO EITHER FIX THIS PROBLEM AND CALL IT EVEN,OR GIVE ME BACK MY MONEY.SHE SAID NO THEY FIXED THAT OTHER PROBLEM FOR NOTHING SO BE GRATEFUL IS WHAT SHE MEANT. AFTER PAYING $24,000 FOR NOTHING??? THE ORIG PRICE 24,000 BUT WITH SOME DIS IT WAS 14,000? BUT WITH INTEREST IT WAS 24,NEVER CONTACTED ME. [XXX] STOPPED DOING ANY GM. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/22/2013 - PLANO, TX
I BOUGHT IT IN DEC.2004,THE LAST 2-ONE BLACK AND ONE WHITE,I TOOK THE BLACK SITTING ON THE LOT OF FREEMAN OLDS, IRVING TX. I STARTED HAVING TROUBLE IN2006 I HAVE ALL OF MY PAPERWORK. BRAKES WENT OUT, POWERTRAIN WENT OUT. THEN I STARTED SMELLING GAS IN THEMORNING WHEN I CRANKED IT. AND STILL DO TO THIS MORNING,IT IS AWFUL. LAST YEAR IT DIED RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. WOULD NOT START,I EVEN HAD THE PLANO TX. POLICE TRY TO BOOT IT FOR ME. BATTERY I THOUGHT. HUFFINES HAD IT TOWED IN AND IT STARTED RIGHT UP FOR THEM,BUT IT WAS MY FAULT THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE IT. SO THEY GAVE IT BACK,I GO TO THE BANK, MILES FROM HOME AND IT DOES IT AGAIN.THEY TOW IT BACK AND AGAIN THE SAME THING.I GO AGAIN AT MY HOUSE AND THE SAME THING,THIS IS BS AT THIS POINT CONTACT GM FOR THE LOUSINESS OF THIS CAR, [XXX] WAS THE FIRST, ANGEL, AND NOW LASHAWNDA.THEY TELL ME THE FUEL PUMP,OK,THEY REPLACED IT, I HAD TO CASH IN MY GRANDCHILDRENS LIFE INS TO PAY FOR IT,AND AM STILL PAYING BACK THE LOAN A YEAR LATER. I AM ON DISABILITY,AND DON'T HAVE ANY MONEY. SO I TAKE IT IN FOR INSPECTION,HE COMES OUT WITH A LIST OF ABOUT $800.00 WORTH OF STUFF TO FIX BEFORE IT WILL PASS. [XXX] SAID THEY WOULD WAIVE THE DIAG FEE, I TOOK IT YESTERDAY, HE GAVE ME ANOTHER$1,000 WORTH OF STUFF TO FIX:FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR,LEAKING GAS,EGR VALVE,THERMOSTAT AND COOL FLUSH.NOT INCLUDING THE 800,$2,000,TO GET IT ALL DONE. I HAVE COPIES OF THE RECALLS ON IT. SEVERAL TRANSMISSION LEAKS WITH IN MONTHS OF BUYING IT. AFTER THE FUEL PUMP THAT WASN'T EVEN THE PROBLEM,ALL IT WAS ,THE RELAY SWITCH. THEY DID NOT EVEN TRY THAT. I ASKED THEM TO EITHER FIX THIS PROBLEM AND CALL IT EVEN,OR GIVE ME BACK MY MONEY.SHE SAID NO THEY FIXED THAT OTHER PROBLEM FOR NOTHING SO BE GRATEFUL IS WHAT SHE MEANT. AFTER PAYING $24,000 FOR NOTHING??? THE ORIG PRICE 24,000 BUT WITH SOME DIS IT WAS 14,000? BUT WITH INTEREST IT WAS 24,NEVER CONTACTED ME. [XXX] STOPPED DOING ANY GM. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/1/2012 - CARTHAGE, MO
VEHICLE TURN SIGNALS WORK INTERMITTENTLY. THE HAZARD LIGHTS, AND TURN SIGNALS WILL STOP FUNCTIONING GOING DOWN THE ROAD, AND WILL RANDOMLY START FUNCTIONING AGAIN. OFTEN IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC I WILL BE UNABLE TO SIGNAL BECAUSE THEY HAVE STOPPED FUNCTIONING. I FEEL THAT THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS, AS WELL AS CAUSES THE VEHICLE'S OPERATOR TO INADVERTENTLY BREAK TRAFFIC LAWS. I BELIEVE THIS EXACT PROBLEM WAS RECALLED IN THE SAME MAKE, AND MODEL, BUT AN EARLIER YEAR. I THINK THAT THE RECALL SHOULD BE EXPANDED TO COVER LATER MODEL YEARS, BECAUSE THE ISSUE CONTINUED INTO THE LATER MODEL YEARS. A SIMPLE INTERNET SEARCH WILL SHOW THAT THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE, AND MANY OWNERS OF THIS MAKE AND MODEL HAVE EXPERIENCED IT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/30/2012 - SAN JOSE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DOING RESEARCH ONLINE, SHE NOTICED SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ON THE VEHICLE STALLING. THE CONTACT WANTED TO MAKE THE PROBLEM KNOWN AND STATED THAT A RECALL SHOULD BE FILED. THE FAILURE HAS NOT OCCURRED IN HER VEHICLE BUT SHE WAS JUST BEING ALERT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/15/2012 - DALLAS , NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THE SECURITY LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO LOSE POWER. HE HAD TO TURN THE VEHICLE OFF AND WAIT 10 MINUTES FOR THE COMPUTER TO RESET IN ORDER FOR THE VEHICLE TO FUNCTION NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 81,000. UPDATED 07/06/12 THE KEY AND SWITCH LOCK CYLINDER WERE REPROGRAMMED. UPDATED 07/12/12

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2011 - RAMSEY, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHENEVER A TURN SIGNAL WAS ENGAGED, THE OPPOSITE SIGNAL WOULD ILLUMINATE. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED, BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,500 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 88,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

4/26/2011 - ELMIRA HEIGHTS, NY
I HAVE A 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW WAS PAUSING WHILE BEING PUT DOWN. THEN IT STARTED SHAKING WHEN IT WAS GOING UP. ONE DAY WHEN I TRIED TO PUT IT DOWN THE WINDOW ITSELF DIDN'T MOVE. AS I WAS DRIVING THE WINDOW PROCEEDED TO LITERALLY FALL INSIDE THE DOOR. TO GET IT BACK UP I HAD TO PULL UP ON THE GLASS ITSELF AND PUSH THE WINDOW CONTROL TO GET IT UP. I TOOK IT TO A REPAIR SHOP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE PIECE THAT HOLDS THE GLASS HAD BROKEN OFF. THEY TRIED TO GLUE IT WITH A KIND OF GLASS GLUE. IT HELD FOR ABOUT A WEEK AND THEN FELL AGAIN. I HAVE NOT PUT THE WINDOW DOWN SINCE THEN,ABOUT SIX MONTHS. NOW THE PASSENGER WINDOW IS DOING THE SAME THING. MY GRANDMOTHER ALSO HAS ON OLDSMOBILE AND HER DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW HAS DONE THE SAME THING AS MINE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/16/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
AS I'M READING DIFFERENT WEBSITES AND NOW THIS SITE TO FIND A SOLUTION AS TO WHAT'S WRONG WITH MY CAR, I SEE I SHARE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE... I TOO HAVE A 2004 ALERO THAT WILL CRANK BUT NOT TURN OVER... THE SECURITY LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON... WHEN I FIRST NOTICED IT I WOULD TURN MY CAR OFF THEN BACK ON AND IT WILL GO OFF... LATELY IT WILL COME ON AND STAY ON, NOW IT WON'T START! IN THE MORNING I WILL TRY WHAT EVERYONE ELSE TRIED WITH TURNING THE KEY UNTIL THE LIGHT GOES OFF, BUT THIS IS REALLY ASHAME THAT THIS MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM! I REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP A YEAR IN A HALF AGO FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM AND IT WAS NO WAY CHEAP! TRY $1,200 AT A GM DEALERSHIP THAT ONLY USE GM PARTS ON THEIR GM CARS! I'M A BROKE COLLEGE STUDENT THAT NEEDS MY VEHICLE FOR TRANSPORTATION BETWEEN SCHOOL AND WORK! PLEASE JUST RECALL THESE CARS SO THEY CAN HAVE THIS PROBLEM TAKEN CARE OF... SHOULD I TAKE MY PROBLEM TO THE MEDIA TO GET SOME SORT OF RESULTS? IT SEEMS IF THAT'S THE ONLY WAY TO GET ANYTHING DONE NOW A DAYS...

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/16/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
AS I'M READING DIFFERENT WEBSITES AND NOW THIS SITE TO FIND A SOLUTION AS TO WHAT'S WRONG WITH MY CAR, I SEE I SHARE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE... I TOO HAVE A 2004 ALERO THAT WILL CRANK BUT NOT TURN OVER... THE SECURITY LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON... WHEN I FIRST NOTICED IT I WOULD TURN MY CAR OFF THEN BACK ON AND IT WILL GO OFF... LATELY IT WILL COME ON AND STAY ON, NOW IT WON'T START! IN THE MORNING I WILL TRY WHAT EVERYONE ELSE TRIED WITH TURNING THE KEY UNTIL THE LIGHT GOES OFF, BUT THIS IS REALLY ASHAME THAT THIS MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM! I REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP A YEAR IN A HALF AGO FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM AND IT WAS NO WAY CHEAP! TRY $1,200 AT A GM DEALERSHIP THAT ONLY USE GM PARTS ON THEIR GM CARS! I'M A BROKE COLLEGE STUDENT THAT NEEDS MY VEHICLE FOR TRANSPORTATION BETWEEN SCHOOL AND WORK! PLEASE JUST RECALL THESE CARS SO THEY CAN HAVE THIS PROBLEM TAKEN CARE OF... SHOULD I TAKE MY PROBLEM TO THE MEDIA TO GET SOME SORT OF RESULTS? IT SEEMS IF THAT'S THE ONLY WAY TO GET ANYTHING DONE NOW A DAYS...

View Details

EQUIPMENT

1/16/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
AS I'M READING DIFFERENT WEBSITES AND NOW THIS SITE TO FIND A SOLUTION AS TO WHAT'S WRONG WITH MY CAR, I SEE I SHARE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE... I TOO HAVE A 2004 ALERO THAT WILL CRANK BUT NOT TURN OVER... THE SECURITY LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON... WHEN I FIRST NOTICED IT I WOULD TURN MY CAR OFF THEN BACK ON AND IT WILL GO OFF... LATELY IT WILL COME ON AND STAY ON, NOW IT WON'T START! IN THE MORNING I WILL TRY WHAT EVERYONE ELSE TRIED WITH TURNING THE KEY UNTIL THE LIGHT GOES OFF, BUT THIS IS REALLY ASHAME THAT THIS MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM! I REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP A YEAR IN A HALF AGO FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM AND IT WAS NO WAY CHEAP! TRY $1,200 AT A GM DEALERSHIP THAT ONLY USE GM PARTS ON THEIR GM CARS! I'M A BROKE COLLEGE STUDENT THAT NEEDS MY VEHICLE FOR TRANSPORTATION BETWEEN SCHOOL AND WORK! PLEASE JUST RECALL THESE CARS SO THEY CAN HAVE THIS PROBLEM TAKEN CARE OF... SHOULD I TAKE MY PROBLEM TO THE MEDIA TO GET SOME SORT OF RESULTS? IT SEEMS IF THAT'S THE ONLY WAY TO GET ANYTHING DONE NOW A DAYS...

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds