Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 983 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (61) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (2)
Electrical System (124) Fuel Propulsion System (46) Power Train (39) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel System Gasoline (42) Seat Belts (4) Steering (698) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Engine (27) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (9) Structure (6) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (46) Suspension (15) Wheels (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/20/2019 - ELIDA, OH
THERE WAS DIFFICULTY WITH THE POWER STEERING UNDER ALL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE POWER STEERING INDICATOR LIGHT APPEARED WITHIN THE DRIVER INFORMATION CENTER. THE CURRENT MILEAGE AT THE TIME OF SERVICE WAS 144,961 MILES. ON PAGE 1 OF THE ATTACHED DOCUMENT, DEALER DIAGNOSTICS IDENTIFIED THE STEERING TORQUE SENSOR HAS AN INTERNAL FAILURE. ON PAGE 2, THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER RECALL AT 115,069 MILES, AND WOULD NOT BE REPLACED UNDER RECALL AT THIS TIME. THE PREVIOUS RECALL REPLACEMENT PART IS OBVIOUSLY DEFECTIVE WHEN, WITH LESS THAN 30,000 MILES SINCE RECALL REPLACEMENT, THE PART FAILED AGAIN. THE OWNER SHOULD BE REIMBURSED BY CHEVROLET FOR SUBSTANDARD RECALL REPLACEMENT WITH INADEQUATE PARTS. RECALL = N140116.

View Details

STEERING

4/4/2019 - BELLEVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING LOW SPEEDS, THE STEERING FAILED AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V064000 (STEERING), BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING ASSIST NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. A REPAIR APPOINTMENT WAS SCHEDULED WITH THE MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/26/2019 - MOULTON, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS OR ACCELERATING FROM A STOP, THE STEERING LOST POWER AND THE POWER STEERING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LYNN LAYTON CHEVROLET (256-274-6493, LOCATED AT 2416 US-31, DECATUR, AL 35601) WHERE IT WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V064000 (STEERING). THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE RECALL REPAIR WAS PREVIOUSLY PERFORMED AND WOULD NOT BE COVERED AGAIN BY THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 140,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/19/2019 - BELGRADE, MN
POWER STEERING GOES ON AND OFF RANDOMLY WHILE DRIVING AT HIGH AND LOW SPEEDS. ALSO, STEERING WHEEL SHAKES RAPIDLY WHILE IN PARK.

View Details

STEERING

3/7/2019 - ATKINSON, IL
THE POWER STEERING GOES IN AND OUT WHILE DRIVING. HAVE TO STOP THE VEHICLE, SHUT THE CAR DOWN AND RESTART IT. KEEPS HAPPENING OVER AND OVER AGAIN

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/7/2019 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
CANNOT TURN THE STEERING WHEEL IN ANY DIRECTION. ALMOST AS IF ITS LOCKED IN PLACE. AT FIRST IT JUST SEEMED LIKE THE POWER STEERING WAS GOING OUT, BUT THE NEXT MORNING WHEN I WENT TO LEAVE FOR WORK IT WAS GONE ALL TOGETHER

View Details

STEERING

3/7/2019 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
CANNOT TURN THE STEERING WHEEL IN ANY DIRECTION. ALMOST AS IF ITS LOCKED IN PLACE. AT FIRST IT JUST SEEMED LIKE THE POWER STEERING WAS GOING OUT, BUT THE NEXT MORNING WHEN I WENT TO LEAVE FOR WORK IT WAS GONE ALL TOGETHER

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/4/2019 - ST. STEPHEN, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS ,THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START DUE TO A FAULTY SECURITY SYSTEM. DURING THE FAILURE THE "SECURITY LOCK" MESSAGE ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO DICK SMITH CHEVROLET (1601 US -52, MONCKS CORNER, SC) WHO UNLOCKED THE SECURITY. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/14/2019 - CLARE, MI
POWER STEERING WARNING APPEARS AND THEN POWER STEERING GOES OUT. LOCAL GARAGE DIAGNOSED AS STEERING TORQUE SENSOR. THE STEERING USUALLY WORKS WHEN YOU FIRST START THE CAR, BUT COMPLETELY FAILS AFTER A FEW MINUTES. CONTACTED LOCAL GM DEALER AND WAS TOLD IT WAS ALREADY FIXED UNDER THE PREVIOUS RECALL AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. APPARENTLY THE PARTS ARE FAILING AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/13/2019 - SAN DIEGO, CA
YESTERDAY, WHEN TRYING TO PARK, I HEARD A CHIME AND THE MESSAGE "POWER STEERING" POPPED UP ON THE INFO SCREEN. THE CAR BECAME INCREDIBLY HARD TO STEER, SO I'M THINKING THE POWER STEERING HAD SHUT OFF. I TURNED MY CAR OFF, THEN BACK ON, AND THE POWER STEERING CAME BACK ON, SO I WAS ABLE TO PARK THE CAR CORRECTLY. WHEN WE WERE ABOUT TO HEAD HOME, AS SOON AS I TURN ON A BUSY STREET, JUST BEFORE GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY, THE CHIME GOES OFF, THE MESSAGE POPS UP, AND MY POWER STEERING SHUTS OFF AGAIN. I TURNED (WITH ALL MY MIGHT) INTO AN EMPTY PARKING LOT AND TURNED THE CAR OFF FOR A LITTLE BIT. MY FAMILY AND I WERE LOOKING UNDER THE HOOD, BUT WE WEREN'T SURE WHAT TO CHECK FOR. WE EVENTUALLY GOT BACK IN THE CAR AND WENT HOME. THANKFULLY, THE POWER STEERING STAYED ON AND WE GOT HOME SAFELY (17 MILES ON THE HIGHWAY). I'M JUST WORRIED THAT IT WILL EVENTUALLY TURN OFF ON ITS OWN AGAIN. IF I HAVE TO SCHEDULE A SERVICE APPOINTMENT, I WOULD LIKE TO GO IN PREPARED THIS TIME. A FEW MONTHS AGO, WHEN I HAD A BRAKE LIGHT ISSUE, ONE PARTICULAR SERVICE DEPARTMENT TRIED CHARGING ME $500+ FOR A PART. THE STEERING WHEEL SHIMMIED ON IT'S OWN ONLY ABOVE 50 MPH, I TRIED IT OUT AND I'LL TELL YOU, IT'S A TWO HANDED FIGHT TO KEEP THE CAR UNDER CONTROL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds