Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER - 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 171 complaints filed for the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (9) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (62) Exterior Lighting (14) Seat Belts (8) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (7) Visibility (5)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/24/2010 - ALLENTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, THE BRAKES WOULD NOT DISENGAGE. HE ATTEMPTED TO RELEASE THE BRAKES BY SHIFTING GEARS AND APPLY CONSTANT, STEADY PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL. WITHIN A FEW MINUTES, THE BRAKE RELEASED. ON A SEPARATE OCCASION, WHILE DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF 15 MPH, THE BRAKES LOCKED. HE ABRUPTLY DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL IN AN ATTEMPT TO AVOID A POTENTIAL CRASH. HE WAS ABLE TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE OFF OF THE ROAD AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE. UPON RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, IT FUNCTIONED NORMALLY. THE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED DURING BOTH FAILURES. THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE NOR DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THERE WERE NO REPAIRS MADE TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 31,225 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 24,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/17/2010 - DERBY, CT
2008 TRAILBLAZER SHAKES FRONT END AT HIGHWAY SPEED, AND TRANSMISSION BOGS DOWN TRAVELING NORMAL SPEED AS WELL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/7/2009 - MARION, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER SSS. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO LOSE POWER. SHE ATTEMPTED TO COAST INTO A PARKING SPACE , BUT THE VEHICLE THEN BEGAN TO RAPIDLY ACCELERATE. AFTER REPEATED BRAKE APPLICATION SHE WAS ABLE TO STOP AND PARK THE VEHICLE. A TECHNICIAN FROM THE DEALER ADVISED HER TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,300.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

12/1/2009 - AVA, NY
2008 CHEVY TRAILBLAZER 42,000 MILES HAD TO HAVE THE MANIFOLD REPLACED AS THE ENTIRE MANIFOLD WAS SPLIT AROUND THE ENTIRE PIPE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/28/2009 - RENTON, WA
I WAS STOPPED FOR A RED LIGHT ON A SLIGHT HILL. WHEN IT TURNED GREEN I TRIED TO MOVE AHEAD AND ALL 4 BRAKES HAD LOCKED UP AND I HAD NO FORWARD MOTION. I PUSHED HAD ON GAS PEDAL AND WAS ABLE TO CREEP AT ABOUT 1 MPH TO A DRIVEWAY. WHEN I ENTERED DRIVEWAY I HEARD A "CLINK" AND BRAKES RELEASED.THIS VEH HAS 5200 MILES AND IS A 2008 TRAILBLAZER SS AWD. THIS IS THE 1ST INSTANCE OF THIS TYPE.I TOOK IT TO MY SERVICING CHEVY DEALER AND THEY CHECKED IT OUT AND SAID THAT "MECHANICALLY " IT WAS FINE. THEY CONTACTED CHEVROLET TAC AND WERE TOLD THIS HAS NEVER EVER HAPPENED IN THE WHOLE DATA BASE FOR GM AND NO REPAIRS AUTHORIZED TILL IT CAN BE REPLICATED FOR THEM TO SEE. THERE WERE NO CODES STORED . THIS HAPPENED 0N 4-25-09. I WENT BACK TO DEALERSHIP ON 4-28-09 AND THE AGAIN CALLED TAC TO SEE IF THERE WAS ANYONE WHO HAD INFO ON THIS TYPE OF FAILURE OF THE BRAKES....BUT AGAIN NO LUCK. I FEEL STRONGLY THAT THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND CHEVROLET SHOULD BE DOING MORE THAN LIP SERVICE....

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/26/2009 - MARYSVILLE, WA
THIS COMPLAINT IS IN CONJUNCTION WITH MY FALSE AND DELAYED SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT, REPORT DATE OF MARCH 25, 2009. I JUST DISCOVERED THAT BOTH FRONT SEAT BELT SYSTEMS MUST BE REPLACED. THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT BELT IS LIMP. THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT IS SO TIGHT IT NOT ONLY BROKE TOP OF THE BELT HOUSING ON TOP OF THE SEAT (PIECES), THE BELT IS SO TIGHT IT IS DEFORMING THE SEAT. I CANT IMAGINE WHAT THIS WOULD HAVE DONE TO A PASSENGER, HAD I HAVE HAD ONE IN THAT SEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

3/26/2009 - MARYSVILLE, WA
THIS COMPLAINT IS IN CONJUNCTION WITH MY FALSE AND DELAYED SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT, REPORT DATE OF MARCH 25, 2009. I JUST DISCOVERED THAT BOTH FRONT SEAT BELT SYSTEMS MUST BE REPLACED. THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT BELT IS LIMP. THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT IS SO TIGHT IT NOT ONLY BROKE TOP OF THE BELT HOUSING ON TOP OF THE SEAT (PIECES), THE BELT IS SO TIGHT IT IS DEFORMING THE SEAT. I CANT IMAGINE WHAT THIS WOULD HAVE DONE TO A PASSENGER, HAD I HAVE HAD ONE IN THAT SEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

3/17/2009 - MARYSVILLE, WA
SIDE WINDOW AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT, DEPLOYED VIRTUALLY SECONDS AFTER I MADE A SUDDEN ABRUPT MANEUVER (IN AVOIDANCE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE). I WAS NORMALLY PROCEEDING STRAIGHT DOWN THE ROADWAY AT THE TIME OF DEPLOYMENT. THE PASSENGER AIRBAG DEPLOYED RAPIDLY AND AT THE SAME TIME THE DRIVERS SIDE DEPLOYED VERY SLOWLY AS IF IN SLOW MOTION. IN AN ATTEMPT TO SEE TO TURN LEFT I CONTACTED A CURB AND RESULTING IN A FLAT TIRE (RIGHT FRONT). THESE AIR BAGS SHOULD NOT HAVE DEPLOYED AND ESPECIALLY MOMENTS AFTER MY MANEUVER. G.M. HAS CONCLUDED THAT I EXPERIENCED A NEAR ROLLOVER SITUATION, AND THAT ALL SENSORS FUNCTIONED NORMALLY. G.M. HAS DECLINED ANY ASSISTANCE ON THE AIRBAG AND HEADLINER (AS A RESULT OF DEPLOYMENT) REPLACEMENT, THAT IS THE ONLY EXISTING DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE WITH 1066 MILES ON IT. THE VEHICLE IS SITTING AT THE DEALER WITH ITS ESTIMATE OF $4000.00 TO RESET ALL. I AM SURE THAT THERE IS A HIGH POSSIBILITY THAT THIS WILL RE-OCCUR. NOBODY CAN OR WILL ANSWER OR ADDRESS MY QUESTIONS AND CONCERNS THAT THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE SYSTEM IN THIS VEHICLE THAT, NOT ONLY ERRONEOUSLY ACTIVATED, BUT SUBSTANTIALLY LATE IN THE MATER OF ANY SUDDEN MOVEMENT. I AM CONSIDERING CANCELING MY EXTENDED WARRANTY AS I MAY NOT OWN THIS VEHICLE THROUGH THE COURSE OF ITS MANUFACTURERS WARRANTY AS A RESULT OF THIS UNNERVING EXPERIENCE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/13/2009 - BLUFFTON, IN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHEVROLET TRAILBLAZER. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT WAS INVOLVED IN A HEAD-ON CRASH. THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF HIS VEHICLE WAS CRUSHED AND THE INSURANCE COMPANY DECLARED THE VEHICLE AS DESTROYED. THE SEAT BELTS PROPERLY RESTRAINED THE CONTACT, BUT THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES, BUT A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

2/20/2009 - MANCHESTER, KY
I BOUGHT THIS 08 CHEVY TRAILBLAZER NEW 9-30-08.FROM THE DATE I BOUGHT IT I NOTICED THE CHARGING HAND ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL SHOWS THE BATTERY NOT CHARGING ABOUT 50% OF THE TIME,THE OWNERS MANUAL SAYS THIS IS A FUEL SAVING FEATURE .WHEN THE BATTERY IS FULLY CHARGED THE ALTERNATOR QUITS CHARGING.AFTER APPROXIMATELY 1 MONTH OF DRIVING THIS VEH.I NOTICED WHEN IT QUIT FULLY CHARGING THE POWER WINDOWS WOULD NOT ROLL BUT 1/3RD OF THE WAY UP,THE VEH.CAN'T BE DRIVEN IN THE RAIN DUE TO THE WIPERS BARELY MOVING,THE BOSE STEREO SYSTEM LOSES POWER AND MALFUNCTIONS,AND IM SURE OTHER THINGS DON'T FUNCTION PROPERLY,THE TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTIONS AND WONT SHIFT LIKE IT IS DESIGNED TO DO,THE MILES PER GALLON GAUGE RESETS ITSELF WHILE THE VEH.IS MOVING. I HAVE HAD THE VEH.TO THE LOCAL CHEVY DEALER AND THEY DON'T HAVE A CLUE TO WHY IT IS DOING THIS,I THINK IF YOUR DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY AND RUN INTO A HARD RAINSTORM YOU WOULD BE LUCKY TO GET OFF THE HIGHWAY BEFORE CAUSING A MAJOR ACCIDENT DUE TO THE WIPERS NOT WORKING PROPERLY,,I EXPERIENCED THE SITUATION ONCE BUT WAS LUCKY TRAFFIC WAS LIGHT. AM TAKING THE VEH.TO ANOTHER DEALER THIS WEEK TO SEE IF THEY CAN FIX THE PROBLEM. THE WIPERS NOT WORKING PROPERLY IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds