Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 439 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (44) Tires (2)
Electrical System (50) Equipment Adaptive (4) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (96) Traction Control System (15)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (104) Seat Belts (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (13)
Engine (15) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (69)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (29) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2015 - ARKADELPHIA, AR
THE BALLASTS FOR THE HID LIGHTS IN THE 2009 PRIUS ARE FAMOUSLY UNRELIABLE. MINE DEMONSTRATED THIS LAST EVENING IN A VERY UNNERVING WAY. THE HEADLAMPS WOULD SIMPLY TURN OFF WITHOUT WARNING, SOMETIMES ONE, AND MANY TIMES, BOTH, LEAVING ME TO THE MERCY OF STREET LIGHTS! THIS IS INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS. I CHECKED ON IT AND FOUND THAT THIS HAPPENS TO HUNDREDS OF PRIUS DRIVERS. ISN'T TOYOTA CONCERNED THAT ITS $1,200 CHARGE FOR FIXING ITS OWN DEFECTIVE EQUIPMENT (FOR THE BALLASTS ARE KNOWN FOR THIS) WILL LEAD TO DEATH OF POOR PERSONS WHO CANNOT AFFORD THE FIX? SHOULDN'T THERE BE A GENERAL RECALL FOR SUCH A CONSUMER-SAFETY ISSUE? (SURE, CYCLING THE LIGHTS TURNS THEM BACK ON, BUT WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING IN THE DARK, IT ISN'T EASY TO THINK WELL.)

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/4/2015 - ARKADELPHIA, AR
THE BALLASTS FOR THE HID LIGHTS IN THE 2009 PRIUS ARE FAMOUSLY UNRELIABLE. MINE DEMONSTRATED THIS LAST EVENING IN A VERY UNNERVING WAY. THE HEADLAMPS WOULD SIMPLY TURN OFF WITHOUT WARNING, SOMETIMES ONE, AND MANY TIMES, BOTH, LEAVING ME TO THE MERCY OF STREET LIGHTS! THIS IS INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS. I CHECKED ON IT AND FOUND THAT THIS HAPPENS TO HUNDREDS OF PRIUS DRIVERS. ISN'T TOYOTA CONCERNED THAT ITS $1,200 CHARGE FOR FIXING ITS OWN DEFECTIVE EQUIPMENT (FOR THE BALLASTS ARE KNOWN FOR THIS) WILL LEAD TO DEATH OF POOR PERSONS WHO CANNOT AFFORD THE FIX? SHOULDN'T THERE BE A GENERAL RECALL FOR SUCH A CONSUMER-SAFETY ISSUE? (SURE, CYCLING THE LIGHTS TURNS THEM BACK ON, BUT WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING IN THE DARK, IT ISN'T EASY TO THINK WELL.)

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/22/2015 - CORONA, CA
DRIVING AT NIGHT, THE DRIVERS SIDE HID WOULD FLICKER AND THEN SHUT OFF COMPLETELY. LAST NIGHT FOR THE FIRST TIME WHILE DRIVING A DARK ROAD, BOTH HID SHUT OFF LEAVING ME IN TOTAL DARKNESS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/22/2015 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THIS HAS BEEN A RECURRING PROBLEM. THE HEADLIGHTS WILL TURN OFF WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THEY TURN BACK ON IF I FLIP THE SWITCH OFF AND THEN BACK ON AGAIN. THE FACT THAT THE LIGHTS ARE ON EVERY TIME I LEAVE THE HOUSE (I CAN SEE THEIR REFLECTION AGAINST THE GARAGE WALL) MEANS THEY ARE NOT BURNT OUT, BUT THE FACT THAT I HAVE ALMOST BEEN HIT MULTIPLE TIMES BY PEOPLE WHO THEN HONK AND FLASH THEIR BRIGHTS TO TELL ME MY HEADLIGHTS ARE OFF MEANS THAT THEY ARE TURNING OFF ON THEIR OWN. THROUGH INTERNET SEARCHES AND CHAT FORUMS, I HAVE LEARNED THAT I AM NOT ALONE IN THIS DANGEROUS ISSUE WITH MY 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/16/2015 - PALATINE, IL
MY 2009 PRIUS RIGHT HEADLIGHT GOES OUT PERIODICALLY AND WITHOUT WARNING. IF I TURN THE HEADLIGHTS OFF & ON AGAIN, IT WORKS AGAIN, BUT ONLY FOR A PERIOD OF TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/8/2015 - EAGLE, ID
2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE ACCELERATION ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED ON MAY 10, 2010. ON FEBRUARY 11, 2010, THE CONSUMERS WIFE WAS APPROACHING A SMALL BUSINESS IN A PARKING LOT. SHE WAS ALMOST AT A DEAD STOP, WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY WENT A RAPID ACCELERATION MODE, JUMPED A CURBED AND SIDEWALK, AND HIT A BRICK WALL OF A BUSINESS BUILDING. THERE WAS SEVERE DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE AS WELL AS TO THE BRICK WALL OF THE BUILDING. THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/8/2015 - EAGLE, ID
2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE ACCELERATION ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED ON MAY 10, 2010. ON FEBRUARY 11, 2010, THE CONSUMERS WIFE WAS APPROACHING A SMALL BUSINESS IN A PARKING LOT. SHE WAS ALMOST AT A DEAD STOP, WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY WENT A RAPID ACCELERATION MODE, JUMPED A CURBED AND SIDEWALK, AND HIT A BRICK WALL OF A BUSINESS BUILDING. THERE WAS SEVERE DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE AS WELL AS TO THE BRICK WALL OF THE BUILDING. THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/15/2015 - SCHENECTADY, NY
THE HID LIGHTS HAVE BECOME INTERMITTENT. FIRST THE LEFT ONE WOULD RANDOMLY GO OFF AND THEN LATER COME BACK ON, ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION. MORE RECENTLY THE RIGHT ONE IS SHOWING THE SAME BEHAVIOR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/28/2015 - AMHERST, MA
I WAS DRIVING 10-15 MPH IN THE MIDDLE OF MY SMALL TOWN, COMING UP A SLIGHT HILL ON A STREET THAT LEVELED OUT SHORTLY BEFORE THE SITE OF THE ACCIDENT. AS I DROVE UP ONTO THE LEVEL PART OF THE STREET, I SAW THAT THERE WAS A LONG LINE OF CARS STOPPED AHEAD OF ME, WAITING FOR A TRAFFIC LIGHT TO CHANGE. I WAS ABOUT 2-3 CAR LENGTHS FROM THE LAST CAR IN THE LANE OF TRAFFIC, WHEN THE LAST CAR IN THE LINE OF CARS AHEAD OF ME BRAKED VERY SUDDENLY, AND AS I WAS COMING UP TO THAT CAR, I ALSO STEPPED HARD ON MY BRAKES - AND - MY BRAKES COMPLETELY FAILED! I WILL HAVE NIGHTMARES FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE OF THOSE NEXT FEW MOMENTS OF PRESSING ON THE BRAKE AND SEEING MY CAR IGNORE ME AND CONTINUE FORWARD, RIGHT INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. AND, I FELT THAT MY CAR ACCELERATED, AS THE BRAKES FAILED, WHICH MADE THE SITUATION EVEN WORSE. MY CAR HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME (CAR #2) WHICH HIT CAR #3, WHICH HIT CAR #4. MY CAR WAS DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS, THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME WAS BADLY DAMAGED AND HAD TO BE LOADED ONTO A FLATBED TRUCK OF THE COLLISION COMPANY. CARS #3 AND #4 COULD BE DRIVEN AWAY; CAR #3 HAD SOME DAMAGE TO THE FRONT AND BACK OF THE CAR, WHILE CAR #4 HAD SOME SCRATCHES ON THE REAR BUMPER. I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED OF ANY SAFETY RECALL FOR THE BRAKES OF THIS CAR, BUT I WAS OFTEN ALARMED WHEN THE BRAKES SEEMED TO SLIP OR NOT WORK FOR A FEW SECONDS EACH TIME THAT I DROVE OVER A SMALL BUMP, POTHOLE, MANHOLE COVER, ETC. DURING THE SIX YEARS THAT I OWNED AND DROVE THIS CAR. THERE ARE MANY OTHER PRIUS DRIVERS THAT HAVE WRITTEN TO THE EDMUND.COM AND OTHER WEBSITES TO TELL OF THEIR SIMILAR ACCIDENTS OR NEAR ACCIDENTS. PLEASE WARN THE PUBLIC AND PARTICULARLY PRIUS OWNERS OF THIS DANGER. THESE CARS ARE NOT SAFE!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/10/2015 - SALT LAKE CITY, UT
ABOUT TWO YEARS AGO ONE OR ANOTHER OF MY HEADLIGHTS WOULD GO OFF INTERMITTENTLY. WHEN I TURNED THE SWITCH OFF AND BACK ON, THEY'D BOTH BE ON. THIS WAS IRRITATING BUT IT WAS RANDOM AND SPORADIC ENOUGH THAT I DIDN'T TAKE IT IN FOR SERVICE UNTIL BOTH LIGHTS STARTED GOING OFF IN RECENT WEEKS. I THEN DISCOVERED ON THE INTERNET THE HISTORY AND EXTENT OF THIS PROBLEM. THE SERVICE PEOPLE AT THE DEALERSHIP ONLY INDICATED THAT THIS PROBLEM HAD OCCURRED WITH THE 2005-2009 PRIUS BUT WEREN'T FORTHCOMING WITH OTHER BACKGROUND INFORMATION. $500 LATER I HAVE NEW LIGHTS. MY PLAN IS TO HAVE "PROBLEMS" WITH THEM EVERY 11 MONTHS AS LONG AS I OWN THE CAR, IF THEY DON'T GO OFF ON THEIR OWN, SO THAT I CAN GET THE PROBLEM FIXED UNDER THE DEALER'S 12 MONTH WARRANTY. FORTUNATELY, MOST OF MY DRIVING IS DOWNTOWN IN A LARGE CITY WHERE OTHER LIGHTING IS AVAILABLE. I DID THINK WHENEVER I WAS ON THE FREEWAY AT NIGHT I'D BETTER HAVE THE LIGHTS CHECKED. ALTHOUGH THERE APPARENTLY ISN'T A BODY COUNT WITH THIS PROBLEM, OR IS THERE?, IT CERTAINLY WOULD HAVE BEEN HELPFUL TO HAVE RECEIVED SOME WRITTEN INFORMATION FROM TOYOTA OR NHTSA THAT THIS PROBLEM IS PERVASIVE AND COULD BE VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds