Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 439 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (44) Tires (2)
Electrical System (50) Equipment Adaptive (4) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (96) Traction Control System (15)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (104) Seat Belts (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (13)
Engine (15) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (69)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (29) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

2/19/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
PRIUS DASHBOARD LIGHTS UP WITH BRAKE LIGHT, ABS AND VSC LIGHT. RAN DIAGNOSTIC CODES AND TOOK TO DEALERSHIP- SAID VEHICLE WAS PART OF BRAKE ACTUATOR MANUFACTURER MALFUNCTION. DEALERSHIP WOULD NOT RESOLVE ISSUE DESPITE ACKNOWLEDGING THAT IT WAS A MANUFACTURE DEFECT. CONCERNED FOR MY SAFETY BECAUSE BRAKES ARE NOT WORKING WELL. CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY WONT DO ANYTHING.

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2018 - BOULDER, CO
MY 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS HAS 100,700 MILES ON IT. WHEN I TOOK IT IN FOR IT'S LAST OIL CHANGE I WAS INFORMED THAT ONLY A LITTLE OVER A QUART OF OIL DRAINED FROM THE ENGINE. I HAVE RELIGIOUSLY CHANGED THE OIL EVERY 3,000 MILES. AFTER REPLACING THE ENGINE OIL IT STILL LOOKED DIRTY. THE ENGINE IS BURNING OIL. I UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE CAUSED BY A PISTON DESIGN FLAW AND DOES NOT HAVE A CHEAP SOLUTION OTHER THAN ADDING OIL AT EACH GAS FILL UP. I AM CONCERNED THAT THE ENGINE MAY STOP WORKING WHILE DRIVING, PARTICULARLY IF TRAVELING ON A LONG TRIP AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE ON A LONG TRIP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/10/2018 - SIGNAL MOUNTAIN, TN
I WAS DRIVING MY 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS ON A VERY COLD DAY (ROUGHLY 10 TO 20 DEGREES F). THE RED BRAKE WARNING LIGHT WAS ON, ALONG WITH THE ABS, VCS AND YELLOW "!" LIGHTS. THE BRAKES WERE EXTREMELY SOFT FOR ABOUT THE FIRST 5-10 MINUTES OF OPERATION. I WOULD PUSH THE BRAKE PEDAL AS FAR AS IT WOULD GO (IT WOULD NOT GO ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR) AND THE BRAKES WOULD SEEMS TO BE ENGAGING AT ABOUT 30%-50% OF THEIR NORMAL STOPPING POWER. AFTER THE VEHICLE WARMED UP, THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE DASH WENT AWAY AND THE BRAKES BEGAN OPERATING NORMALLY. THE FOLLOWING WEEK, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON ANOTHER VERY COLD DAY (AGAIN PROBABLY ABOUT 10 DEGREES). SHE STATED THAT THE ABOVE MENTIONED LIGHTS STAYED ON FOR HER ENTIRE COMMUTE (LESS THAN 10 MINUTES) BUT THAT WHEN SHE ARRIVED TO WORK, HER BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING. SHE DESCRIBED THAT SHE PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AS FAR AS IT WOULD GO, BUT THE BRAKES DID NOT SEEM TO BE FULLY ENGAGING. SHE STATED THAT SHE NEARLY HIT A WALL AS SHE WAS PULLING INTO THE PARKING LOT AT HER WORK. I HAVE FOUND SIMILAR ISSUES LISTED ON PRIUS FORUMS ONLINE. PERHAPS IT IS A ELECTRICAL OR COMPUTER PROBLEM AS OPPOSED TO A PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKES. WE HAVE NEVER HAD THE PROBLEM WHEN THE TEMPERATURE WAS ABOVE 25 DEGREES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/10/2018 - SIGNAL MOUNTAIN, TN
I WAS DRIVING MY 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS ON A VERY COLD DAY (ROUGHLY 10 TO 20 DEGREES F). THE RED BRAKE WARNING LIGHT WAS ON, ALONG WITH THE ABS, VCS AND YELLOW "!" LIGHTS. THE BRAKES WERE EXTREMELY SOFT FOR ABOUT THE FIRST 5-10 MINUTES OF OPERATION. I WOULD PUSH THE BRAKE PEDAL AS FAR AS IT WOULD GO (IT WOULD NOT GO ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR) AND THE BRAKES WOULD SEEMS TO BE ENGAGING AT ABOUT 30%-50% OF THEIR NORMAL STOPPING POWER. AFTER THE VEHICLE WARMED UP, THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE DASH WENT AWAY AND THE BRAKES BEGAN OPERATING NORMALLY. THE FOLLOWING WEEK, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON ANOTHER VERY COLD DAY (AGAIN PROBABLY ABOUT 10 DEGREES). SHE STATED THAT THE ABOVE MENTIONED LIGHTS STAYED ON FOR HER ENTIRE COMMUTE (LESS THAN 10 MINUTES) BUT THAT WHEN SHE ARRIVED TO WORK, HER BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING. SHE DESCRIBED THAT SHE PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AS FAR AS IT WOULD GO, BUT THE BRAKES DID NOT SEEM TO BE FULLY ENGAGING. SHE STATED THAT SHE NEARLY HIT A WALL AS SHE WAS PULLING INTO THE PARKING LOT AT HER WORK. I HAVE FOUND SIMILAR ISSUES LISTED ON PRIUS FORUMS ONLINE. PERHAPS IT IS A ELECTRICAL OR COMPUTER PROBLEM AS OPPOSED TO A PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKES. WE HAVE NEVER HAD THE PROBLEM WHEN THE TEMPERATURE WAS ABOVE 25 DEGREES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/4/2018 - STATELINE, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY EXPLODED AND BURST INTO FLAMES WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SECURELY PARKED FOR SIX WEEKS WHILE THE CONTACT WAS AWAY. THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENTS WERE AT THE SCENE, BUT NO REPORTS WERE FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED THE CONTACT WITH A CASE NUMBER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/22/2017 - CENTRAL, SC
THE COMBINATION METER WENT OUT ON MY PRIUS. ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE DASHBOARD WENT BLANK. WHEN THIS HAPPENS THE DRIVER IS UNABLE TO SEE THE SPEED OR ANY OTHER SAFETY LIGHTS. THE MOST ALARMING ISSUE WAS WHEN OUR VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHUT OFF AFTER THE DASHBOARD WENT BLANK. WHEN WE ARRIVED AT OUR DESTINATION WE WERE UNABLE TO TURN THE VEHICLE OFF WITH THE PUSH BUTTON 'START.' THE CAR CONTINUED TO RUN ON RESERVE EVEN AFTER THE BATTERY TERMINALS WERE DISCONNECTED. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY WERE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND TOYOTA HAD ALREADY EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THIS PART TO NINE YEARS FROM ORIGINAL DATE OF USE. UNFORTUNATELY FOR US, OUR CAR WAS NINE YEARS AND ONE MONTH. THE SCARIEST ISSUE IS THAT THE CAR DRIVER IS UNABLE TO TELL THEIR SPEED AND THIS COULD POTENTIALLY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THE CAR ALSO IS EXTREMELY DARK (AT NIGHT) WHEN THE DASHBOARD IS NOT DISPLAYING AND CAUSES ISSUES WITH VISABILITY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/20/2017 - HOUSTON, UT
DISPLAY FOR ODOMETER, SPEEDOMETER AND GAS GAUGE GOES OUT INTERMITTENTLY.THE +COMBINATION METER+ (A.K.A. +INSTRUMENT PANEL+ OR +CLUSTER+, THE THING YOU+RE LOOKING AT IN FRONT OF YOU) IS BAD. THERE ARE SEVERAL ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS IN THE CIRCUIT BOARD THAT CONTROL HOW IT +POWERS UP+, AND THEY FAIL. LACKING THE ABILITY TO POWER UP, THE DISPLAY GOES BLACK. JOE MYERS QUOTED US $1156 FOR REPAIR, AND ONE WEEK REPAIR TIME. SERVICE ADVISOR SAID THAT REPAIR PART IS FIXED PART SO THAT PROBLEM WILL NO LONGER OCCUR. WE MUST DRIVE THE VEHICLE TILL WE REPLACE IT. NO OFFER WAS MADE TO PROVIDE A LOANER CAR IF 07 PRIUS WENT INTO SHOP FOR REPLACEMENT CLUSTER. IT IS REALLY UNSAFE TO DRIVE WITHOUT KNOWING SPEED THAT CAR IS TRAVELING. AND WE WOULD NOT KNOW GAS LEVEL. WHO WANTS TO RUN OUT OF FUEL? VERY UNSAFE. WHY ISN'T TOYOTA OWNING UP TO THIS DEFICIENCY? SHOULDN'T IT BE A RECALL REPAIR? WE ARE THE ORIGINAL OWNER AND WE HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE SHOP FOR REPAIRS SINCE WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2017 - HOUSTON, UT
DISPLAY FOR ODOMETER, SPEEDOMETER AND GAS GAUGE GOES OUT INTERMITTENTLY.THE +COMBINATION METER+ (A.K.A. +INSTRUMENT PANEL+ OR +CLUSTER+, THE THING YOU+RE LOOKING AT IN FRONT OF YOU) IS BAD. THERE ARE SEVERAL ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS IN THE CIRCUIT BOARD THAT CONTROL HOW IT +POWERS UP+, AND THEY FAIL. LACKING THE ABILITY TO POWER UP, THE DISPLAY GOES BLACK. JOE MYERS QUOTED US $1156 FOR REPAIR, AND ONE WEEK REPAIR TIME. SERVICE ADVISOR SAID THAT REPAIR PART IS FIXED PART SO THAT PROBLEM WILL NO LONGER OCCUR. WE MUST DRIVE THE VEHICLE TILL WE REPLACE IT. NO OFFER WAS MADE TO PROVIDE A LOANER CAR IF 07 PRIUS WENT INTO SHOP FOR REPLACEMENT CLUSTER. IT IS REALLY UNSAFE TO DRIVE WITHOUT KNOWING SPEED THAT CAR IS TRAVELING. AND WE WOULD NOT KNOW GAS LEVEL. WHO WANTS TO RUN OUT OF FUEL? VERY UNSAFE. WHY ISN'T TOYOTA OWNING UP TO THIS DEFICIENCY? SHOULDN'T IT BE A RECALL REPAIR? WE ARE THE ORIGINAL OWNER AND WE HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE SHOP FOR REPAIRS SINCE WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/7/2017 - WOODLAND HILLS, CA
TOYOTA KNOWS THERE IS A SYSTEMIC ISSUE WITH THE BREAK ACTUATOR ASSEMBLY IN 2004-2009 MODEL YEAR PRIUS VEHICLES, AND HAVE ISSUED A "WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM - ZG1" TO EXTEND THE WARRANTY COVERAGE FOR REPAIRS RELATED TO THIS PART. MY CAR IS CURRENTLY EXPERIENCING A MALFUNCTION IN THIS PART, BUT TOYOTA IS UNWILLING TO HONOR THE WARRANTY BECAUSE THERE ARE NO WARNING LIGHTS APPEARING ON THE DASH. THE BREAKS FEEL LIKE THEY WILL FAIL AT ANY MOMENT, POSING A CLEAR SAFTETY CONCERN. I WAS LITERALLY TOLD THAT MY WIFE IS TO DRIVE OFF THE LOT, WITH FAILING BREAKS, HOPING THEY FAIL EVEN FURTHER SO THAT WARNING LIGHTS APPEAR, BUT NOT SO MUCH THAT THEY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/13/2017 - WAYNESBURG, OH
DURING THE WINTER MONTHS WHEN IT GETS BELOW 30 THE LIGHTS ON THE VEHICLE DASHBOARD GO OUT WHEN THE VEHICLE IS TURNED ON AND REMAIN OFF WHILE DRIVING AND YOU CAN'T SEE HOW FAST YOU ARE DRIVING OR ANY OF THE INSTRUMENT PANEL OR WARNING LIGHTS TO KNOW IF YOU NEED GAS, TIRES ARE LOW, ETC. I TOOK INTO A DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL ON IT BUT I DO NOT SEE IT LISTED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds