Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 439 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (44) Tires (2)
Electrical System (50) Equipment Adaptive (4) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (96) Traction Control System (15)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (104) Seat Belts (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (13)
Engine (15) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (69)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (29) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/25/2017 - SIERRA VISTA, AZ
ONCE MY CAR GOT PAST 100,000 MILES, THE NON-SPECIFIC WARNING LIGHT STARTED COMING ON AND THE WORD "PROBLEM!" WOULD COME ON THE SCREEN. MANUAL SAYS TO ASK DEALER WHAT THE SPECIFIC PROBLEM IS. CERTIFIED TOYOTA DEALER KEPT SAYING THEY DON'T KNOW. TURNS OUT AFTER MY OWN PERSISTENCE THAT THE PROBLEM IS HEAVY OIL CONSUMPTION. NOT BURNING; NOT LEAKING. JUST HIGH CONSUMPTION. TAKE CAR FOR REGULAR MAINTENANCE AND IT SEEMS TOYOTA IS AWARE OF THE ISSUE, BUT KEEPS PRESSING ME TO GET A NEW ENGINE, RATHER THAN OFFERING ANY INTERMEDIATE SOLUTIONS. COULD HAVE TOLD ME THOUSANDS OF MILES AGO TO AT LEAST KEEP ADDING OIL, BUT THEY NEVER BOTHERED. I NOW KNOW AFTER ABOUT A YEAR THAT I HAVE TO START ADDING A LOT OF OIL JUST A FEW WEEKS AFTER THE OIL IS CHANGED AND FILLED. IF I WAIT UNTIL REGULAR MAINTENANCE INTERVAL, ALL OIL WILL BE GONE. ENGINE WOULD HAVE BROKEN DOWN IF I DIDN'T PERSIST IN FIGURING OUT WHAT WAS GOING ON. WENT THROUGH 3 REGULAR SERVICE APPOINTMENTS BEFORE I REALIZED WHAT WAS HAPPENING ON MY OWN. PROBLEM WAS AT ITS WORST WHEN BRAKING, BUT LIGHT CAME ON AT OTHER TIMES AS WELL. I HAVE YESTERDAY'S DATE HERE ON THE COMPLAINT, BUT THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING ABOUT A YEAR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/8/2017 - LA PORTE, IN
WHILE DRIVING, MY HEADLAMPS WILL FLICKER AND THEN GO OUT. SOMETIMES THIS COULD TAKE 5 MINUTES, SOMETIMES THIS COULD TAKE 20. WHEN FLICK THE LIGHTS OFF AND BACK ON, THEY RESET FOR A LITTLE WHILE. THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING, BECAUSE THEY'VE SEEN THIS HAPPEN BEFORE. MY VEHICLE BEGAN DOING THIS AT 98,000 MILES AND CONTINUE TO DO THIS AT 130,000 MILES. I'VE READ ON FORUMS THAT OTHER DRIVERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS SAME THINGS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/23/2017 - TROY, MI
IF MY CAR SITS IN THE SUN, ON OCCASION THE AUDIO CONTROLS - AM/FM, VOLUME, POWER, TRACK SELECTOR, ETC. FAIL TO FUNCTION (THEY ARE UNRESPONSIVE). IF THE CAR IS TURNED OFF, THEN BACK ON, THEY WORK. THIS IS NOT A SAFETY CONCERN, PER SE. MY CONCERN IS NOT THE AUDIO PORTION NOT WORKING, BUT THE SYSTEM DESIGN AND QUALITY OF COMPONENTS. WERE THESE SAME COMPONENTS USED ELSEWHERE IN THE CAR? I'VE ONLY SEEN THIS HAPPEN WHEN MY CAR HAS BECOME HOT SITTING (NOT RUNNING) DUE TO THE WEATHER. USUALLY WHEN I PARKED FACING WEST AND THE SUN HAS BEEN HITTING THE FRONT OF THE CAR ALL DAY AND I LEAVE FROM WORK. THIS HASN'T HAPPENED IN THE PAST 2-3 YEARS BECAUSE I'VE KEPT MY CAR OUT OF THE SUN WHEN PARKING. IT OCCURRED BETWEEN 2012 AN 2014. I DO NOT HAVE AN EXACT DATE OF WHEN IT OCCURRED EVEN THOUGH YOUR FORM FORCES ME TO SPECIFY ONE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2017 - TROY, MI
IF MY CAR SITS IN THE SUN, ON OCCASION THE AUDIO CONTROLS - AM/FM, VOLUME, POWER, TRACK SELECTOR, ETC. FAIL TO FUNCTION (THEY ARE UNRESPONSIVE). IF THE CAR IS TURNED OFF, THEN BACK ON, THEY WORK. THIS IS NOT A SAFETY CONCERN, PER SE. MY CONCERN IS NOT THE AUDIO PORTION NOT WORKING, BUT THE SYSTEM DESIGN AND QUALITY OF COMPONENTS. WERE THESE SAME COMPONENTS USED ELSEWHERE IN THE CAR? I'VE ONLY SEEN THIS HAPPEN WHEN MY CAR HAS BECOME HOT SITTING (NOT RUNNING) DUE TO THE WEATHER. USUALLY WHEN I PARKED FACING WEST AND THE SUN HAS BEEN HITTING THE FRONT OF THE CAR ALL DAY AND I LEAVE FROM WORK. THIS HASN'T HAPPENED IN THE PAST 2-3 YEARS BECAUSE I'VE KEPT MY CAR OUT OF THE SUN WHEN PARKING. IT OCCURRED BETWEEN 2012 AN 2014. I DO NOT HAVE AN EXACT DATE OF WHEN IT OCCURRED EVEN THOUGH YOUR FORM FORCES ME TO SPECIFY ONE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/18/2017 - OSHKOSH, WI
OVER THE COURSE OF MY OWNERSHIP OF THE PAST 3 YEARS, I HAVE REPLACED 3 HEADLIGHTS, DUE TO BROKEN/FAULTY SEALS THAT ALLOW MOISTURE INTO THE HOUSING, AND BURNING OUT THE BALLAST WHICH IN MY OPINION IS A DESIGN FLAW AS THE BALLAST RESTS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY. I CURRENTLY AM DEALING WITH A RIGHT HEADLIGHT THAT GOES OUT AND I NEED TO TURN THE SWITCH OFF AND ON FOR THE LIGHT TO RETURN BRIEFLY. THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY IS ABOUT $250 PLUS LABOR COSTS OF INSTALLATION.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/13/2017 - KATY, TX
THE HEADLIGHT JUST GO OFF WHILE DRIVING. ONCE YOU TURN THE LIGHT SWITCH OFF AND THEN ON THEY COME BACK ON FOR A SHORT TIME. THE DEALER IS WANTING $1,400 TO MAKE THE REPAIRS. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/28/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
HEADLIGHTS FAIL WHILE DRIVING. AT FIRST ONLY THE DRIVER SIDE WOULD GO OUT, THEN THE PASSENGER SIDE WOULD GOT OUT AND MOST RECENTLY BOTH LIGHTS HAVE FAILED WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/10/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
TRAVELING 101 NORTH TOWARD VENTURA, ON THE TOP OF THE DOWN HILL GRADE JUST SOUTH OF THE CAMIRILLO SPRINGS EXIT. ALL LIGHTS ON PANEL CAME ON. ESTIMATE 65 MPH, APPLIED BRAKE TO SLOW WITH TRAFFIC FLOW. NO BRAKES,NO WARNING.SEMI TRACKER TRAILERS ALSO SLOWING. TOOK EXIT BOTTOM OF HILL WITH FLASHES ON, WENT THRU STOP SIGN AS MY SPEED AT APPROX 45-48MPH. WENT THRU SECOND STOP SIGN MADE SHARP LEFT PULLED EMERGENCY BRAKE ON... THIS IS A GARAGE CAR SERVICED BY DEALER ONLY, 3RD TIME FOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEM! NEVER WHILE DRIVING.... THIS WAS NEAR FATAL! THIS WAS AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM OF THE MANUFACTURE, NEVER REPAIRED CORRECTLY! HAVE 3 COPIES OF REPAIRS FOR THE ELECTRICAL STARTING 6 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE CAR...HELP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/10/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
TRAVELING 101 NORTH TOWARD VENTURA, ON THE TOP OF THE DOWN HILL GRADE JUST SOUTH OF THE CAMIRILLO SPRINGS EXIT. ALL LIGHTS ON PANEL CAME ON. ESTIMATE 65 MPH, APPLIED BRAKE TO SLOW WITH TRAFFIC FLOW. NO BRAKES,NO WARNING.SEMI TRACKER TRAILERS ALSO SLOWING. TOOK EXIT BOTTOM OF HILL WITH FLASHES ON, WENT THRU STOP SIGN AS MY SPEED AT APPROX 45-48MPH. WENT THRU SECOND STOP SIGN MADE SHARP LEFT PULLED EMERGENCY BRAKE ON... THIS IS A GARAGE CAR SERVICED BY DEALER ONLY, 3RD TIME FOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEM! NEVER WHILE DRIVING.... THIS WAS NEAR FATAL! THIS WAS AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM OF THE MANUFACTURE, NEVER REPAIRED CORRECTLY! HAVE 3 COPIES OF REPAIRS FOR THE ELECTRICAL STARTING 6 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE CAR...HELP.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/2/2017 - SIMI VALLEY, CA
MY HEADLIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY SHUT OFF FOR NO REASON WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET. SOME TIMES IT'S ONLY ONE, OTHER TIMES IT'S BOTH. IF I TURN THE HEADLIGHTS OFF AND THEN BACK ON THEY WORK AGAIN FOR A SHORT TIME. THIS IS VERY SCARY TO HAVE HAPPEN WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT NIGHT. IT HAPPENS ALMOST EVERY TIME I DRIVE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds