Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 439 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (44) Tires (2)
Electrical System (50) Equipment Adaptive (4) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (96) Traction Control System (15)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (104) Seat Belts (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (13)
Engine (15) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (69)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (29) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/31/2017 - TOPANGA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT HAD DIFFICULTY OPENING THE TRUNK OF THE VEHICLE. ONCE OPENED, THE PANEL ABOVE THE LICENSE PLATE DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE PANEL WAS HANGING WITH ALL THE WIRES STILL ATTACHED TO THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT COULD NO LONGER ACCESS THE TRUNK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PANEL NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 136,545.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/11/2017 - DOLORES, CO
I HAVE CONTACTED TOYOTA CONCERNING THE FAILURE OF A COMBINATION METER IN MY DAUGHTER'S 2007 PRIUS. THIS HAPPENED ON STARTUP. THIS ITEM IS RELATED TO THE DISPLAY SCREEN. AS MENTIONED IN THEIR WARRANTY POLICY BULLETIN NO: POL 12-05 DATED 10/12/12 A FAILURE CAN RESULT IN THE SCREEN GOING DARK. IF THIS HAPPENS IN THE NIGHT THIS CAN RESULT IN A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE BOTH BECAUSE OF THE UNEXPECTED AND IMMEDIATE DISTRACTION AND THE LOSS OF CRITICAL VISUAL INFORMATION. THEIR WARRANTY BULLETIN DOES NOT SEEM TO ADDRESS THE SERIOUSNESS OF THE MATTER. IT IS MY OPINION THAT THIS ITEM SHOULD BE AN IMMEDIATE RECALL. MY 2009 PRIUS IS ONE OF THOSE MENTIONED IN THEIR BULLETIN. THOUGH I HAVE NOT EXPERIENCED ANY FAILURE, I BECAME AWARE OF THIS ISSUE WITH THE RECENT EVENT THAT MY DAUGHTER EXPERIENCED. NEITHER I NOR MY DAUGHTER HAS RECEIVED ANY NOTIFICATION FROM TOYOTA. I AM A FAN OF THE PRIUS AS IS MY DAUGHTER, BUT THIS ISSUE IS TOO SERIOUS TO SIMPLY IGNORE. IT IS MY HOPE THAT THIS WILL BE ADDRESSED WITH TOYOTA.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

12/29/2016 - NEW VERNON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HATCH WAS MELTED TO THE HATCH LEVER LATCH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/4/2016 - WEST HILLS, CA
2009 TOYOTA PRIUS PASSENGER HEADLIGHT GOES OFF SPONTANEOUSLY WHILE DRIVING OR STATIONARY. WHEN YOU TURN OFF THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH, THEN TURN THEM ON, THE HEADLIGHT TURNS BACK ON FOR A WHILE. THEN AFTER A WHILE THE HEADLIGHT TURNS OFF AGAIN. THIS DEFECT WAS A NHTSA RECALL AND EXTENDED WARRANTY PROBLEM BUT THE DEALER SAID THE WARRANTY AND RECALL HAS EXPIRED. THEY WANT TO CHARGE ME OVER $500 TO FIX THIS DEFECT. NHTSA NEEDS TO EXTEND THE RECALL AND WARRANTY BECAUSE THERE HAVE BEEN ACCIDENT DEATHS AND INJURY RELATED TO THIS DEFECT. YOU CAN SEE THE DEFECT DOCUMENTED ON SEVERAL YOUTUBE VIDEOS: TOYOTA PRIUS HEADLIGHT FAILURE. PLEASE ISSUE AN ORDER FOR DEALERS TO RECALL AND EXTEND THE WARRANTY TO FIX THIS HEADLIGHT DEFECT AT NO COST TO OWNERS !!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/29/2016 - DARIEN, IL
RIGHT HEADLIGHT GOES OFF RANDOMLY ALL THE TIME WHEN DRIVING IN CITY STREETS OR HIGHWAYS, I HAVE TO TURN LIGHTS OFF AND TURN THEM ON AGAIN UNTIL IT GOES OFF AGAIN, CHANGED BULB DID NOT HELP. THIS IS HAPPENING FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS NOW.

View Details

SEATS

10/14/2016 - LAGUNA HILLS, CA
PASSENGER SEAT SENSOR OPERATES INTERMITTENTLY. REPORTED TO DEALER FOR REPAIR, HOWEVER DEALER STATED THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM. HOWEVER PROBLEM PERSISTS INTERMITTENTLY. THIS SOUNDS EXACTLY LIKE THE SEAT SENSOR PROBLEM FOR WHICH A RECALL WAS ISSUED FOR SOME 2009 PRIUS MODELS (13V014000). OUR PRIUS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. PERHAPS THIS RECALL SHOULD BE EXPANDED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/22/2016 - KITTREDGE, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE HIGH INTENSITY DISCHARGE HEADLIGHTS FLICKERED ON AND OFF. AS A RESULT, IT WAS DIFFICULT FOR THE CONTACT TO SEE THE ROADWAY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,757. UPDATED 05/31/17 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY REPLACING THE LIGHT BULB. UPDATED 08/30/2017

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2016 - SAN GABRIEL, CA
MULTIFUNCTION DISPLAY FUNCTIONS INTERMITTENTLY. ORIGINALLY, PROBLEM ONLY APPEARED IN CONJUNCTION WITH COMBINATION METER FAILURE DURING COLD WEATHER STARTS. COMBINATION METER HAS BEEN REPLACED BY TOYOTA PER THEIR EXTENDED WARRANTY BUT MULTIFUNCTION DISPLAY PROBLEM PERSISTS. ON COLD STARTS IN THE MORNING THE UNIT DOES NOT FUNCTION. LATER IN THE DAY, AFTER SITTING IN THE SUN FOR A WHILE, THE UNIT WILL OCCASIONALLY START TO WORK BUT MIGHT GO ON/OFF AND RESET ITSELF WHILE DRIVING. ALL NAVIGATION MEMORY IS STILL THERE, INCLUDING AC SETTINGS BUT PHONE SETTINGS ARE WIPED OUT. THIS MULTIFUNCTION DISPLAY IS THE PRIMARY CONTROL FOR AC AND HEATER, NAVIGATION SYSTEM, TELEPHONE/BLUETOOTH, AUDIO, DIAGNOSTICS/MAINTENANCE, ETC. TOYOTA HAS INFORMED ME THAT THE UNIT IS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDS TO BE SENT TO THE MANUFACTURER (FUJITSU) FOR REPAIR. THIS APPEARS TO BE A WELL DOCUMENTED PROBLEM WITH THIS UNIT ON GEN 2 PRIUSES 2004-2009. THERE SHOULD BE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THIS PIECE OF EQUIPMENT JUST LIKE THE EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE COMBINATION METER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/7/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
HEADLIGHTS COMPLETELY FAILED AT NIGHT ON 8/31/16 WHEN CAR PARKED ON STREET AND HAVE NOT WORKED SINCE. DEALER REPORTED NOT THE BULBS AND RAN DIAGNOSTICS, TELLING ME IT WAS THE THE 'BODY ECU' . I PAID $703.86 FOR A NEW ECU ON 9/1/16 WHICH WAS PUT IN TODAY, 9/7/16, AND DID NOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM. CAR REMAINS WITHOUT HEADLIGHTS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/25/2016 - BRENTWOOD, MO
ONE HEADLIGHT WENT OUT, THEN THE NEXT. I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AFTER DARK AND REALIZED THAT BOTH OF MY HEADLIGHTS HAD GONE OUT WHILE I WAS DRIVING. TURNED SWITCH OFF AND THEN BACK ON (I ALSO PUT FOG LAMPS ON) AND THEY WORKED FOR A SHORT TIME, THEN THEY EACH DIMMED AND WENT OUT. I CANNOT SAFELY DRIVE AT NIGHT AND AM UNABLE TO CHANGE THE LIGHTS MYSELF. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THE COST QUOTED WAS NEARLY $600 TO REPLACE THE HID HEADLAMPS BECAUSE THE BUMPER MUST BE REMOVED TO REPLACE THE BULBS. THE DEALER SEEMED UNAWARE OF THE ISSUE UNTIL I MENTIONED THE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT IN 2011 AGAINST TOYOTA FOR THIS VERY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds