Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 439 complaints filed for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (3) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (44) Tires (2)
Electrical System (50) Equipment Adaptive (4) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (96) Traction Control System (15)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (104) Seat Belts (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (13)
Engine (15) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (69)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Service Brakes (29) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (2)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/10/2015 - NORTH AUGUSTA, SC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO THE IMPOUND LOT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/10/2015 - NORTH AUGUSTA, SC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO THE IMPOUND LOT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/2/2015 - JACOBUS, PA
ONE OF MY TWO HID HEADLIGHTS GOES OUT WHILE DRIVING. I CAN TURN LIGHT OFF AND THEY MAY OR MAY NOT COME BACK ON. SOMETIMES LIGHT FLICKERS AND DOES NOT ACHIEVE FULL BRIGHTNESS. CAN BE DANGEROUS AT NIGHT. BOTH BULBS WERE REPLACED IN JUNE OF 2013, PASSENGER SIDE IN APRIL OF 2014 AND NOW THE DRIVERS SIDE NEEDS REPLACEMENT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/28/2015 - MILFORD, VA
WITHIN THE LAST FEW WEEKS, THE HEADLIGHTS RANDOMLY TURN OFF. SOMETIMES THE DRIVER'S SIDE, SOMETIMES THE PASSENGER SIDE...SOMETIMES BOTH AT THE SAME TIME. TONIGHT, I HAD BOTH HEADLIGHTS AND DASH LIGHTS SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING HOME DOWN A DARK, WET, VERY CURVY, LEAF COVERED ROAD. QUICKLY TURNING THE LIGHTS ON AND OFF BRIEFLY SOLVED THE PROBLEM. THIS SHOULD NEVER HAPPEN AND POSES A TREMENDOUS THREAT OF BODILY HARM NOT ONLY TO THE DRIVERS/PASSENGERS IN THE PRIUS, BUT TO OTHER TRAVELERS AS WELL. I AM EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED IN TOYOTA FOR REFUSING TO BE ACCOUNTABLE AND ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE SAFETY OF THE MANY CONSUMERS WHO HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/26/2015 - SAN GABRIEL, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHEN THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS TURNED TO THE ON POSITION, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING ECU FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 108,331.

View Details

STEERING

10/26/2015 - SAN GABRIEL, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHEN THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS TURNED TO THE ON POSITION, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING ECU FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 108,331.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/1/2015 - WEST COVINA, CA
HEADLIGHTS, HIGH INTENSITY DISCHARGE TURN OFF. BOTH HEADLIGHTS TURN OFF WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/28/2015 - PLEASANT HILL, CA
STEERING IN MY 2009 PRIUS COMPLETED FAILED AND LOCKED UP. I LITERALLY WAS UNABLE TO STEER MY CAR. LUCKILY, I WAS ON A NEIGHBORHOOR STREET ABOUT TO TURN INTO MY DRIVEWAY AND WAS NOT DRIVING AT HIGH SPEEDS OR IN A TURN LANE. I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT AN ELECTRONIC STEERING COMPONENT LIKE THIS CAN FAILI? HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE? I WANT TO ENSURE THAT THIS DOESN'T HAPPEN TO OTHER PRIUS DRIVERS AND ENSURE THAT THIS ISN'T A FAULTY PART ISSUE. IT IS A PUBLIC SAFETLY ISSUE AND THAT THERE NEEDS TO BE SOME SORT OF BACK UP STEERING MECHISIM TO PREVENT THIS FROM HAPPENING IN THE EVENT THAT THERE IS A "SHORT INSIDE THE POWER STEERING ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT. I SHUTTER TO THINK WHAT COULD OF HAPPENED.

View Details

STEERING

9/28/2015 - PLEASANT HILL, CA
STEERING IN MY 2009 PRIUS COMPLETED FAILED AND LOCKED UP. I LITERALLY WAS UNABLE TO STEER MY CAR. LUCKILY, I WAS ON A NEIGHBORHOOR STREET ABOUT TO TURN INTO MY DRIVEWAY AND WAS NOT DRIVING AT HIGH SPEEDS OR IN A TURN LANE. I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT AN ELECTRONIC STEERING COMPONENT LIKE THIS CAN FAILI? HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE? I WANT TO ENSURE THAT THIS DOESN'T HAPPEN TO OTHER PRIUS DRIVERS AND ENSURE THAT THIS ISN'T A FAULTY PART ISSUE. IT IS A PUBLIC SAFETLY ISSUE AND THAT THERE NEEDS TO BE SOME SORT OF BACK UP STEERING MECHISIM TO PREVENT THIS FROM HAPPENING IN THE EVENT THAT THERE IS A "SHORT INSIDE THE POWER STEERING ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT. I SHUTTER TO THINK WHAT COULD OF HAPPENED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/4/2015 - ARKADELPHIA, AR
THE BALLASTS FOR THE HID LIGHTS IN THE 2009 PRIUS ARE FAMOUSLY UNRELIABLE. MINE DEMONSTRATED THIS LAST EVENING IN A VERY UNNERVING WAY. THE HEADLAMPS WOULD SIMPLY TURN OFF WITHOUT WARNING, SOMETIMES ONE, AND MANY TIMES, BOTH, LEAVING ME TO THE MERCY OF STREET LIGHTS! THIS IS INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS. I CHECKED ON IT AND FOUND THAT THIS HAPPENS TO HUNDREDS OF PRIUS DRIVERS. ISN'T TOYOTA CONCERNED THAT ITS $1,200 CHARGE FOR FIXING ITS OWN DEFECTIVE EQUIPMENT (FOR THE BALLASTS ARE KNOWN FOR THIS) WILL LEAD TO DEATH OF POOR PERSONS WHO CANNOT AFFORD THE FIX? SHOULDN'T THERE BE A GENERAL RECALL FOR SUCH A CONSUMER-SAFETY ISSUE? (SURE, CYCLING THE LIGHTS TURNS THEM BACK ON, BUT WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING IN THE DARK, IT ISN'T EASY TO THINK WELL.)

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds