Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE NEON - 1996 DODGE NEON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 632 complaints filed for the 1996 DODGE NEON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1996 DODGE NEON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1996 DODGE NEON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Equipment (14) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (103) Unknown Or Other (38)
Communications (8) Exterior Lighting (20) Power Train (49) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electrical System (98) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Seat Belts (10) Structure (25) Visibility (20)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (6) Seats (6) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (383) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/27/2015 - PITTSBURG, CA
MY HEADLIGHTS ARE TOO LOW. HARD FOR ME TO SEE. ESPECIALLY WHEN GOING AROUND A CORNER, I CAN'T SEE FAR ENOUGH AHEAD. AFRAID OF WRECKING. I TRIED CLEANING THE OUTSIDE HEADLIGHTS THINKING THEY MAY HAVE A FILM ON THEM, BUT IT DIDN'T HELP. IF THEIR ARE NO REFLECTIVE MARKERS ON THE ROAD IT IS VERY HARD TO SEE THE WHITE LINE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/11/2014 - WHITE PLAINS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 DODGE NEON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO PERFORMED A TUNE-UP HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE DEALER REPLACED THE EMISSION COIL AND ALTERNATOR BELT AS A REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS LATER DRIVING 40 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/22/2011 - ALBANY, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 DODGE NEON. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 25 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC NOTICED THAT A FAULTY WIRING HARNESS WAS THE CAUSE OF THE VEHICLE STALLING AND ADVISED THAT IT WOULD NEED REPLACING. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 96V026000 ( ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING:FRONT UNDERHOOD). THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED BY THE MANUFACTURER THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

6/3/2011 - SALEM , MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 DODGE NEON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL BRAKING FUNCTION WAS LOST WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED. SHE STATED THAT IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE SHE HAD TO ENGAGE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ROTORS, BRAKE PADS, SHOES, REAR BRAKE DRUMS, AND TWO REAR FLEX LINES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IN ADDITION, SHE STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED SPORADICALLY AND WITHOUT WARNING. SHE TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR, WIRING HARNESS, SPEED SENSOR, COIL, VALVE COVER GASKETS AND TIMING BELT ALL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 17,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/3/2011 - SALEM , MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 DODGE NEON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL BRAKING FUNCTION WAS LOST WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED. SHE STATED THAT IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE SHE HAD TO ENGAGE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ROTORS, BRAKE PADS, SHOES, REAR BRAKE DRUMS, AND TWO REAR FLEX LINES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IN ADDITION, SHE STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED SPORADICALLY AND WITHOUT WARNING. SHE TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR, WIRING HARNESS, SPEED SENSOR, COIL, VALVE COVER GASKETS AND TIMING BELT ALL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 17,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/24/2011 - NEW HAVEN , IN
THE CONTACT WAS SERVICING A 1996 DODGE NEON. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED OUT FRONT OF AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WITH THE ENGINE TURNED ON WHEN THE SHIFTER INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED OUT OF PARK AND INTO REVERSE. THE VEHICLE TRAVELLED APPROXIMATELY EIGHT MILES ONTO THE HIGHWAY AT A SLOW SPEED. THE MECHANIC CHASED AFTER THE MOVING VEHICLE AND WAS EVENTUALLY ABLE TO OPEN THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE DOOR AND ENTER THE VEHICLE. THE BRAKES WERE IMMEDIATELY ENGAGED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN BACK TO THE INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHERE THE SHIFTER CABLE WAS REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,537.

View Details

TIRES

6/7/2008 - WILLOW GROVE, PA
MY CAR WAS DRIVING VERY SHAKY AND THE ALIGNMENT WAS OFF SIGNIFICANTLY. THIS LASTED APPROXIMATELY TWO DAYS BEFORE MY FRONT LEFT TIRE BLEW UP IN FRONT OF MY RESIDENCE WHICH CAUSED THE LEFT FRAME TO POP OUT. THE FRONT LEFT TIRE WAS A FIRESTONE SUPREME SI P185-65R14 M+S. I ALSO HAVE A RIGHT FRONT TIRE OF THE SAME TIRE BRAND AND MODEL THAT HAS SIGNIFICANT TREAD WEAR, WHICH CAUSES ME GREAT CONCERN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

3/26/2008 - CHILLICOTHE, OH
I HAVE A 1996 DODGE NEON THAT KEEPS BLOWING FUEL PUMP FUSES WHEN SHIFTING TO 3RD GEAR. IT IS AN ELECTRICAL SHORT THAT I FOUND IN SAME VEHICLE MADE FEW MONTHS SOONER JULY THROUGH NOVEMBER CAR IN 1995 THROUGH 1996 I FEEL THIS IS STILL HAPPENING MY CAR IS AT RISK TO CATCH FIRE. WOULD GREATLY APPRECIATE IF THIS COULD BE RESOLVE AND CHECKED OUT. THANK YOU.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: WHEEL SPEED SENSOR

2/5/2008 - SPOKANE VAALLEY, WA
I OWN A 1996 DODGE NEON. I TOOK MY CAR IN TO HAVE THE SPEED SENSOR FIXED ON IT DUE TO THAT IS THE CODE THAT CAME UP ON THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. AFTER THE SENSOR WAS REPLACED THE WIRING HARNESS UNDER THE HOOD FRIED 3 FEET OF IT. THE MECHANIC FIXED THE THREE FEET OF WIRING AND EVERY THING WAS IN WORKING ORDER. I TOOK MY CAR TO MOSES LAKE WHICH IS APPROXIMATELY 100 MILES FROM MY HOUSE UPON ARRIVING. MY NEON STOPPED WORKING. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED FROM MOSES LAKE TO ALTONS TIRE SHOP IN AIR WAY HEIGHTS BECAUSE I COULD NOT AFFORD TO TOW IT TO DISHMAN DODGE ON SRPAUGE. I HAVE PULLED UP THE RECALL INFORMATION ON MY CAR AND BECAUSE MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE MASS NUMBERS IT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. I TRULY FEEL T HAT IT SHOULD BE BECAUSE THE HARNESS IS FIRED DUE TO THE SAME REASONS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TRUNK LID

3/16/2007 - RAEFORD, NC
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 DODGE NEON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PAINT ON THE VEHICLE WAS CHIPPING ON THE TRUNK OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT EVERY 1996 WHITE DODGE NEON THAT SHE SAW HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE PAINT CHIPPING ON THE TRUNK OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WERE BOTH 132,000 .

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds