Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE NEON - 1997 DODGE NEON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 388 complaints filed for the 1997 DODGE NEON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 DODGE NEON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 DODGE NEON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Exterior Lighting (12) Power Train (27) Steering (16) Unknown Or Other (20)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seat Belts (17) Structure (24) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (35) Interior Lighting (4) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (250) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (7) Wheels (2)
Equipment (10) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (49)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/1/2014 - SUMTER, SC
I AM HAVING A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH MY 1997 DODGE NEON. THE STEERING WHEEL HAS NOTHING BUT CLICKS. I AM HAVING SO MUCH PROBLEMS TURNING ON MY SIGNAL LIGHTS. THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN WORSE. I AM HOPING THAT THIS IS A RECALL SO I WON'T HAVE TO PAY SO MUCH MONEY OUT OF POCKET.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY: FILLER PIPE AND CAP

7/10/2009 - CANAL FULTON, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 DODGE NEON. WHILE PLACING FUEL INTO THE VEHICLE, THE FILLER TUBE FELL TO THE GROUND AND CAUSED GASOLINE TO LEAK ONTO THE GROUND. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FILLER TUBE HAD RUSTED OUT. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE FILLER TUBE AND THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN PERFORMING NORMALLY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE IS 130,000. UPDATED 10/06/09 UPDATED 10/08/09

View Details

SEAT BELTS: INTEGRATED CHILD SEAT

7/7/2009 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
NONE OF MY VEHICLES HAVE LATCH SUPPORTED SYSTEMS ALTHOUGH ALL MY CARSEATS DO. IS IT STILL SAFE TO USE A CARSEAT WITH JUST A SEAT BELT? CAN THE VEHICLE MANUFACTURERS INSTALL THE LATCH SYSTEMS IN MY VEHICLES FOR FREE AS THIS IS A SAFETY REQUIREMENT FOR CARSEATS? I CANNOT AFFORD TO PAY FOR THIS MYSELF OR GET A NEW VEHICLE. (RELATED VEHICLE INFORMATION: MODEL YEAR=1997, MAKE=DODGE, MODEL=NEON).

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/16/2009 - MASON, OH
I MADE A SHORT TRIP TO A LOCAL STORE AND LARGE AMOUNTS OF SMOKE STARTED COMING FROM THE FRONT OF MY CAR. THE CAR WAS OVERHEATING AND I HAD TO STOP AND PULL OVER. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE CAR HAD A HEAD GASKET FAILURE.WHICH COST $920 TO REPAIR. ALTHOUGH THE VEHICLE IS OLD (1997), IT ONLY HAS 39,000 MILES ON IT AND IT IS RIDICULOUS FOR SOMETHING LIKE THIS TO HAPPEN TO CAR WITH SUCH LOW MILEAGE. I HAVE DONE QUITE A BIT OF RESEARCH ONLINE TO FIND THAT SEVERAL NEON OWNERS HAVE HAD THIS SAME PROBLEM. THE 1995-1997 MODELS HAVE BEEN PREDOMINANTLY AFFECTED BY THIS PROBLEM. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER ABOUT THIS AND THEY WILL TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/28/2008 - RANDOLPH, MA
SAFETY/EMISSIONS REPRT STATES RECALL ON MY VEHICLE/ DEFECT NUMBER: DR-1158. THE SOLID STATE FAN RELAY MAY FAIL BECAUSE OF HEAT RELLATED ELECTRICAL OVER STRESS CAUSING THE FAN TO STOP AND THE VEHICLE TO OVER HEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/16/2008 - FORT WORTH, TX
PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG RANDOMLY DEPLOYED, WHILE GOING 4 MILES PER HOUR, THERE WAS NO IMPACT TO INITIATE THE DEPLOYMENT OF AIRBAG. THE DEPLOYMENT BUSTED OUT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG WITH SUCH FORCE THAT IT BLEW GLASS TO THE COMPLETE OTHER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM: FAN

4/17/2008 - SAN PABLO, CA
WHENEVER I SIT IN THE DRIVEWAY, OR LOOK FOR A PARKING SPACES, OR SIT IN TRAFFIC...THE CAR'S TEMPERATURE GAGE GOES ALL THE WAY TO HOT. I HAD IT DIAGNOSED AND THEY SAID THAT ITS THE FAN CONTROL MODULE OR RELAY...BASICALLY THE FANS STOP WORKING. I HAD A NEW WATER PUMP PUT IN, A NEW THERMOSTAT, A NEW RADIATOR PUT, AND I"M BEGINNING TO THINK THAT ALL THESE PROBLEMS ARE COMING UP WHEN THE FANS STOP WORKING. IT HAS 145000 MILES ON IT, BUT I WAS TOLD THAT IS NOT A COMMON THINK ON THIS MODULE. I'M GOING TO GET REPAIRED, BUT I FEEL THAT THIS IS A MANUFACTURER ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/21/2008 - CALGARY, 00
1997 DODGE NEON CAUGHT FIRE. CONSUMER WOULD LIKE ANY INFO AVAILABLE ABOUT THE PROBLEMS THAT CAUSE FIRES IN THE MID NINETIES MODEL YEAR DODGE NEONS. THE CONSUMER WAS INJURED. (LAWYER WROTE IN ON BEHALF OF CLIENT)

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE

2/2/2008 - PHILA, PA
THROUGH THE LIFE OF OWNING THIS CAR. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE HEAD GASKET SEVERAL TIMES 3 TIMES IN LAST 2 YEARS ALONE AND REPLACE THE ENGINE. THE HEAD GASKET STILL LEAKS AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIX IT EVEN THE DEALER. I HAVE TALKED TO OTHER PEOPLE THAT HAVE NEONS AND THEY ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME EXACT HEAD GASKET PROBLEM. WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN A RECALL FOR THIS. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY COSTLY REPAIR.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/2/2008 - PHILA, PA
THROUGH THE LIFE OF OWNING THIS CAR. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE HEAD GASKET SEVERAL TIMES 3 TIMES IN LAST 2 YEARS ALONE AND REPLACE THE ENGINE. THE HEAD GASKET STILL LEAKS AND NO ONE CAN SEEM TO FIX IT EVEN THE DEALER. I HAVE TALKED TO OTHER PEOPLE THAT HAVE NEONS AND THEY ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME EXACT HEAD GASKET PROBLEM. WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN A RECALL FOR THIS. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY COSTLY REPAIR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds