Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE NEON - 1998 DODGE NEON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 332 complaints filed for the 1998 DODGE NEON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 DODGE NEON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 DODGE NEON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (45) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (7) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (19)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (4) Structure (23) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (21) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (14) Visibility (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (229) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (4) Wheels (1)
Equipment (11) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/5/2015 - QUITMAN, MS
I HAD AN CAR WRECK IN MY 1999 DODGE NEON (BLUE) IN NOVEMBER 24,2002 DUE TO THE BREAKS & THE TIRES & THE AIR BAG DID NOT COME OUT WHEN I WRECK & I GOT STUCK IN MY SEAT BELT OUT THE CAR WRECK & THEN I HAD ANOTHER 1999 DODGE NEON (WHITE) & I HAD CAR PROBLEMS WITH IT TO

View Details

WHEELS

11/5/2015 - QUITMAN, MS
I HAD AN CAR WRECK IN MY 1999 DODGE NEON (BLUE) IN NOVEMBER 24,2002 DUE TO THE BREAKS & THE TIRES & THE AIR BAG DID NOT COME OUT WHEN I WRECK & I GOT STUCK IN MY SEAT BELT OUT THE CAR WRECK & THEN I HAD ANOTHER 1999 DODGE NEON (WHITE) & I HAD CAR PROBLEMS WITH IT TO

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/5/2015 - QUITMAN, MS
I HAD AN CAR WRECK IN MY 1999 DODGE NEON (BLUE) IN NOVEMBER 24,2002 DUE TO THE BREAKS & THE TIRES & THE AIR BAG DID NOT COME OUT WHEN I WRECK & I GOT STUCK IN MY SEAT BELT OUT THE CAR WRECK & THEN I HAD ANOTHER 1999 DODGE NEON (WHITE) & I HAD CAR PROBLEMS WITH IT TO

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/23/2015 - WINSTON-SALEM, NC
MOTOR/TRANSMISSION MOUNT REPLACEMENT,4-5 TIMES,WILL NOT HOLD. EGRVALVE REPLACEMENT ,ENGINE LIGHT KEEPS SAYING IT NEED TO BE REPLACED EVEN AFTER IT HAS BEEN REPLACED AND LIGHT CLEARED. 4-5 TIMES .BOTH ARE NOW ON GOING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/23/2015 - WINSTON-SALEM, NC
MOTOR/TRANSMISSION MOUNT REPLACEMENT,4-5 TIMES,WILL NOT HOLD. EGRVALVE REPLACEMENT ,ENGINE LIGHT KEEPS SAYING IT NEED TO BE REPLACED EVEN AFTER IT HAS BEEN REPLACED AND LIGHT CLEARED. 4-5 TIMES .BOTH ARE NOW ON GOING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/11/2014 - HENDERSON, NV
1998 DODGE NEON WAS FORCED OFF THE ROADWAY BY A MITSUBISHI ECLIPSE THAT TURNED ACROSS 19 YEAR OLD FEMALE DRIVERS LANE OF TRAVEL. SIDESWIPE CAUSED LEFT FRONT CONTROL ARM TO COLLAPSE, VEHICLE BRIEFLY BOTTOMED ONTO PAVEMENT, LEAVING A SHORT DISTANCE GOUGE MARK. THE NEON THEN JUMPED ONTO A CURB AND IMPACTED A UTILITY POLE HEAD ON AT AN ESTIMATED 27-35MPH IMPACT SPEED. THIS ACCIDENT OCCURRED ON NELLIS BOULEVARD IN LAS VEGAS, NEVADA. THE FRONTAL IMPACT AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, FEMALE DRIVER HAD SEVERE NECK INJURIES THAT RESULTED IN A STROKE AND PERMANENT DISABILITY. TRW CLAIMS THE SYSTEM PERFORMED EXACTLY AS DESIGNED. THEY CLAIM THEIR 1998 VEAM CRASH SENSING ALGORITHM ASCERTAINED THAT THE DRIVER WOULD HAVE BEEN OUT OF POSITION AT THE TIME OF THE UTILITY POLE IMPACT AND THE DEPOWERED AIRBAG WOULD HAVE CAUSED MORE HARM THAN GOOD. I AM THE EXPERT WITNESS ON THIS CASE FOR THE PLAINTIFF AGAINST TRW. THIS DEFECT IN THE DESIGN OF THE SENSING SYSTEM IS AN INDICATION OF WHY THIS SUBJECT VEHICLE AND ITS SIMILAR MODEL YEARS HAS AN EXORBITANTLY HIGH NUMBER OF NON DEPLOYMENT OF FRONT AIRBAGS COMPLAINTS IN THE NHTSA COMPLAINTS DATABASE COMPARED TO ITS PEERS. I AM REPORTING THIS AT THE BEHEST OF DEFENSE COUNSEL, WHO CLAIMS THAT MY FAILURE TO REPORT THIS DEFECT IS ACTUALLY A FAILURE OF ME TO PROVIDE A SERVICE TO CONSUMERS. I WOULD BE GLAD TO DISCUSS THIS AND MANY OTHER CASES WITH NHTSA PERSONNEL, AS I BELIEVE THIS DEFENSE COUNSEL CRITIQUE ACTUALLY OPENS UP A GREAT OPPORTUNITY FOR ME TO WORK DIRECTLY WITH NHTSA TO PROVIDE MORE IMMEDIATE FEEDBACK ON SERIOUS DEFECTS THAT HAVE BEEN OCCURRING IN THE FIELD ON SOME SYSTEMS. I WOULD BE HAPPY TO DISCUSS MY PROPOSAL WITH NHTSA ON HOW WE MIGHT BE ABLE TO COOPERATE ON NARROWING DOWN FRIVOLOUS CLAIMS, BUT SETTING A HIGH PRIORITY ON REAL ISSUES THAT TYPICALLY RESULT IN LAWSUITS BUT ARE NOT NECESSARILY BROUGHT TO NHTSA'S ATTENTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

5/3/2012 - YELLVILLE, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 DODGE NEON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SPEEDOMETER AND FUEL GAUGE ONLY FUNCTIONED ON AN INTERMITTENT BASIS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,397. ..UPDATED 05/15/12 * BF UPDATED 05/21/12

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/26/2012 - SARASOTA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 DODGE NEON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED THREE DIFFERENT TIMES. THE FAILURE CONTINUED AFTER THE REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

3/18/2010 - XXXXXXXX, RI
I HAVE A 1998 NEON AND WATER IS COMING THOU THE LIGHTS INTO CAR ON FLOOR I HAVE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT SAME DEFECT ON NOT JUST MY YEAR BUT NEWER MODULES THIS IS A MOLD ISSUE AND I LIKE MANY HAVE ALLEGE TO MOLD AND CAN TRIGGER A ASTHMA ATTACK THAT CAN KILL USE I ASKED THE DEALERS TO FIX BUT THEY SAY ITS NOT A RECALL I WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR REPAIR IN ORDER TO STOP THE LEAK SO WHOSE PAYING MY HOSPITAL VISIT WHEN I HAVE MY ASTHMA ATTACK AND I HAVE TO GO ON A VENTILATOR DEATH IS NOT A OPTION WHY CANT THEY FIX IT FOR FREE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/18/2008 - NEW CASTLE, IN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 DODGE NEON. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE CONTACT COULD NOT STOP THE VEHICLE WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED AND A RUSTED BRAKE LINE WAS DISCOVERED, WHICH SQUIRTED BRAKE FLUID EVERYWHERE. THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME THIS FAILURE OCCURRED. THE ROAD CONDITIONS WERE NOT A FACTOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED BEFORE OR AFTER THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds