Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 1999 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 246 complaints filed for the 1999 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (4)
Electrical System (34) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (67) Unknown Or Other (10)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Power Train (32) Steering (48) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (55) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (7) Structure (4) Visibility (12)
Equipment (8) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Suspension (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

1/12/2018 - BATON ROUGE, LA
I WAS DRIVING AND HEAR A METAL SCRAPING NOISE FROM MY FRONT RIGHT SIDE BY THE WHEEL WHEN I TURNED LEFT.BEFORE I GOT HOME THE NOISE GOT EXTREMELY LOUD AND CONSTANT.I TOOK THE TIRE OFF WHEN I GOT HOME AND FOUND THE BALL JOINT WAS BROKEN AND WAS OUT OF POSITION CAUSE A RUBBING INSIDE MY TIRE RIM.IT LOOKED LIKE THE ARM OF THE BALL JOINT HAD BEEN BURNED THROUGH CAUSING IT TO BREAK.THERE SEEMS TO BE A RECALL ON SOME 1999 DODGE STRATUS' BALL JOINTS BUT WHEN I ENTERED MY VIN# MINE DID NOT COME UP.THEY SHOULDN'T JUST BREAK FROM NORMAL USE.IT WAS ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN IT HAPPENED DRIVING NORMALLY THEN THE NOISE STARTED AND I FELT KIND OF A POP AND ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/7/2015 - BOILING SPRINGS, SC
WHILE TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE I85 IN SC. THE SUNROOF GLASS DISLODGED AND FLEW OFF OF THE ROOF OF MY VEHICLE. THE GLASS SHATTERED ON THE ROADWAY AND FORTUNATELY NO OTHER VEHICLES WERE STRUCK. AFTER FURTHER INSPECTION AND INVESTIGATION IT WAS CLEAR THAT THE GLASS HAD SEPARATED FROM THE FRAME OF THE SUNROOF ASSEMBLY. ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURERS LABEL, IT WAS MANUFACTURED BY VERMEULEN - HOLLANDIA SERIAL NUMBER 399915. APPARENTLY THERE IS AN OPEN VOLUNTARY RECALL ON SUNROOFS MANUFACTURED BY THIS COMPANY FOR SEPARATION ISSUES. THE MODEL NUMBERS REFERENCE IN THIS VOLUNTARY RECALL IS MODEL NUMBER 60000000 AND ABOVE AND APPARENTLY DOES NOT INCLUDE THE 3000000 SERIES. SINCE THE ISSUES ARE THE SAME, I.E. SEPARATION OF GLASS AND FRAME, THERE ARE CLEARLY OTHER SAFETY ISSUES STILL OUT THERE. HOLLANDIA'S VOLUNTARY RECALL IS ALLEGED TO BE FOR NON FACTORY INSTALLED PRODUCTS, HOWEVER, MY 1999 DODGE STRATUS WAS PURCHASED NEW FROM THE DEALER WITH THIS SUNROOF INSTALLED.

View Details

STEERING

12/3/2015 - IONIA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO WAS UNABLE TO THE DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2015 - IONIA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO WAS UNABLE TO THE DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/24/2015 - WICHITA, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 DODGE STRATUS. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CONTACT NOTICED A BURNING RUBBER ODOR AND SHAKING NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL HUB, WHEEL, TIRE, AND BRAKE DRUM WERE EXTREMELY HOT. THE CONTACT INDEPENDENTLY CHANGED BOTH REAR BRAKE SHOES, SPRINGS, AND DRUMS; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT INDEPENDENTLY DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE LINES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/27/2015 - ST FRANCISVILLE, LA
HARD TO CONTROL STEERING OF VEHICLE! WHENEVER I PASS OVER A SPEED BUMP FEELS LIKE WHOLE CAR IS GOING TO COME APART.

View Details

STEERING

4/27/2015 - ST FRANCISVILLE, LA
HARD TO CONTROL STEERING OF VEHICLE! WHENEVER I PASS OVER A SPEED BUMP FEELS LIKE WHOLE CAR IS GOING TO COME APART.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/16/2015 - PORT TOWNSEND, WA
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE I NOTICED A VERY LOOSE SOUND COMING FROM THE LOWER LEFT WHEEL. ESPECIALLY WHEN GOING OVER BUMPS. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO LES SCHWAB COMPANY FOR A LOOKOVER AND FOUND THAT IT NEEDED UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS REPLACED, A STEEL ARM REPLACED, AS WELL AS AN ALIGNMENT. WHEN RESEARCHING RECALLS ON MY 1999 DODGE STRATUS I NOTICED THE PROBLEMS I WAS/AM HAVING WITH THE VEHICLE WERE NOTED IN SIMILAR SITUATIONS INVOLVING RECALLS OF OTHER STRATUS'. MY CAR SHOULD BE FIXED AND INCLUDED IN SIMILAR RECALLS. THANK YOU.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/7/2015 - PORT TOWSEND, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO RATTLE AND FELT LOOSE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND NOTICED THAT THE BALL JOINT ON THE CONTROL ARM ASSEMBLY HAD FAILED WHICH CAUSED THE BALL STUD TO WEAR THROUGH THE CONTROL ARM HOUSING WHICH RESULTED IN THE NOISE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT YET BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT YET BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:10E059000 (SUSPENSION). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 190,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - MARTIN, , TN
MY HORN GOES OFF WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL, IT STARTED ABOUT 3 WEEKS AGO, HAD THE HORN DISCONNECTED , HAVE A NEW BATTERY AND IT GOES DEAD OVER NIGHT, MY MECHANIC SAID IT MAY BE A SHORT IN THE STEERING WHEEL BY THE AIR BAG. I SEE OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM, HOW DO I KNOW THAT MY AIR BAG NOT GOING TO EXPLODE AND INJURY ME. SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds