Auto Recalls for Consumers

PLYMOUTH VOYAGER - 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 274 complaints filed for the 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (15) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (42) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electrical System (25) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (10) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Suspension (19) Wheels (1)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/19/2016 - LANCASTER, CA
THERE ARE INSTANCES WHERE I AM OUT AND ABOUT AND AFTER RETURNING THE MY VEHICLE I GO IN AND WHEN I START THE VEHICLE IT WILL START AND SHUT ITSELF OFF. SEEMS TO HAPPENS WHEN I USE IT FREQUENTLY OR ON HOTTER DAYS. ALSO THE PANEL INSIDE THE CAR THAT TELLS YOU YOUR SPEED THE GAS YOU HAVE THE GEARS ALL THAT STUFF WILL STOP FUNCTIONING BUT THE CAR WILL STILL BE DRIVABLE. THAT WILL HAVE I'S OWN TIME WHEN IT TOO DECIDES WHEN IT WANTS TO WORK AND WHEN IT WILL WORK. THESE DO NOT HAPPEN AT THE SAME TIME. THEY HAPPEN SEPARATELY. AT FIRST I THOUGHT IT WAS AN ALARM ISSUES LOCKING THE VEHICLE BUT IT HAPPENS EVEN WHEN THE ALARM IS USED PROPERLY. THEN AT A LATER TIME THE VEHICLE WILL START AND WORK AS IT HAD ONCE BEFORE. VEHICLE RUNS GREAT IT JUST OCCASIONALLY WILL NOT TURN ON. I TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC AND THEY SAY IT IS AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE. I GOT A SECOND OPINION AND THAT MECHANIC ALSO TOLD ME IT WAS A ELECTRICAL ISSUE. NEITHER MECHANIC DOES ELECTRICAL WORK. ONE STATED THERE ARE SO MANY CODES HE DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO TELL ME AND SO HE GAVE ME THE VEHICLE BACK. AND SAID IT IS WORKING FINE NOW. AND THAT IS WHERE WHEN IT COMES TO THE ELECTRICAL PARTS FAILING THE MECHANICS WANT THE VEHICLE WHEN IT IS NOT FUNCTIONING. WHEN THEY GET TO IT IT IS FINE THEREFORE FEEL IT IS BEST TO JUST LEAVE IT AT THAT. I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE LIKE THIS IT HAPPENED THE SECOND DAY. THEN MECHANIC FIXED WHAT HE THOUGHT WAS A LOSE WIRE. BUT IT CONTINUES TO HAPPEN I HAVE HAD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED 5 TO EIGHT TIMES WITH A FEW OF THOSE RESULTING IN THE VEHICLE STARTING REMOVING FROM TOW OR RIGHT BEFORE GOING ON TOW. I USUALLY JUST GO PICK UP THE VEHICLE AT A LATER TIME WHEN IT HAS TIME TO REST. I GO BACK AND START IT AS IF NOTHING HAS HAPPENED. ONLY WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE NEVER WHILE DRIVING. THE GADGETS ARE THE ONES THAT STOP WORKING WHILE DRIVING AND SOMETIMES WHEN I START THE VEHICLE THEY ARE NOT FUNCTIONING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/25/2015 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
MY CAR TURNED OFF WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT TWICE, THEN ON ANOTHER OCCASSION WE WERE SLOWING DOWN TO MAKE A RIGHT HAND TURN INTO THE MALL PARKING LOT, IT WAS HARD TO CONTROL BUT WHEN IT CAME TO ASTOP I TURNED THE EGNITION ON AND IT STARTED AGAIN. I TOOK IT TO LITHIA DODGE HERE IN CORPUS CHRISTI,TEX OCT. 21ST AND THEY HAVE NOT FOUND THE PROBLEM YET, IT REMAINS IN THE SHOP AND TODAY IS OCT. 25TH 2015.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/1/2015 - ZEPHYRHILLS , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL FUMES EMITTED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,200.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2014 - ASHLAND, PA
I STARTED ENGINE PUT IT IN GEAR (DRIVE) STEPPED ON GAS WENT ABOUT 40MPH AND I NOTICED THE SPEEDOMETER WAS NOT WORKING AND THE NEEDLE WAS STILL AT 0. I HAD TO STOP THE VEHICLE PUT IT IN PARK TURN IT OFF TURN IT ON AGAIN PUT IT IN DRIVE AND THEN IT WOULD WORK AGAIN. EVERY NOW AND THEN THIS WOULD HAPPEN, AND IS VERY ANNOYING NOT KNOWING HOW FAST I AM GOING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/18/2013 - LAWRENCE, MA
TOOK A RIGHT TURN OUT OF PARKING LOT.HEARD A GROANING NOISE AND THE CAR WAVERED A LITTLE BIT.WHEN I GOT HOME,I NOTICED THE FRONT SPRING ON THE DRIVER SIDE WAS ONLY ABOUT 1 INCH AWAY FROM MAKING CONTACT WITH THE TIRE.I OPENED THE HOOD AND NOTED THAT WHERE THE STRUT IS CONNECTED TO THE WHEEL WELL......THE AREA WAS CRACKING.

View Details

STEERING

12/29/2012 - NORTHFIELD, MN
LOSING POWER STEERING FROM BUMPY ROADS AND DURING BAD WEATHER. THIS HAPPENED THREE TIMES WITHIN A 30 DAY PERIOD... ...FIRST, WHILE CHANGING LANES IN CITY I NOTICED THAT THE POWER STEERING WAS HARD WHEN I MADE A RIGHT TURN, HAD TO KEEP GOING WITH TRAFFIC, WHEN I MADE THE SECOND RIGHT TURN I REALIZED THAT THE STEERING WAS OUT...PARKED AT DESTINATION...WHEN I CAME OUT NOTICED SOMETHING HANGING UNDER THE VAN, UPON FURTHER INSPECTION I FOUND OUT THAT IT WAS A BELT HANGING BUT IT WAS NOT BROKEN...WHEN THE TOW ARRIVED HE STATED THE POWER STEERING BELT CAME OFF...AT THE AUTO SHOP HE CHECKED ALL PULLEYS AND REPLACED THE BELT AS HE SAID IT LOOKED TO BE NEW STILL...I WAS ON MY WAY, NO PROBLEM... ...SECOND, WHILE RAINING WE WENT A GOOD DISTANCE, 2 HOUR DRIVE, RETURNED AND WHEN PARKING NOTICED THE HARD STEERING, LOOKED AND YES BELT OFF, SINCE WE KNEW WHAT IT WAS BROTHER PUT BACK ON... ...THIRD, ON THE I-90/94 EXPRESSWAY IN THE SNOW, AFTER STOPPING FOR GAS ABOUT 15 MINS ON EXPRESSWAY STEERING GOT HARD AGAIN, I RODE TRYING TO GET TO EXIT TO STOP, CAR BEGAN TO REEVE WHEN I WENT OVER 40MPH...FINALLY CAR BEGAN TO GIVE OUT, ALL LIGHTS STARTED BLINKING, MOTOR JUST STOPPED...PULLED OVER UNDER A BRIDGE CALLED 911 THEY SENT TOW...AT THE SHOP HE SAID BELT CAME OFF PROBABLY WHEN I WENT OVER SNOW AT GAS STATION (DEC. 20, 2012 BLIZZARD IN WISCONSIN AT THIS TIME)...ALL PULLEYS LOOKED FINE, HE PUT BELT BACK ON...I RODE STRAIGHT 4 HOURS WITHOUT STOPPING FOR FEAR THIS MIGHT HAPPEN AGAIN AND IT WAS GETTING COLD AND DARKER OUTDOORS...FINALLY AT HOME TO SCARED TO DRIVE ANY DISTANCE......WILL HAVE IT LOOKED AT BEGINNING OF NEW YEAR 2013... ...WOULD REALLY LIKE TO KNOW WHY THIS IS NOT A RECALL WHEN THE STEERING CAN GO OUT AT ANYTIME...THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS, ESPECIALLY FOR THOSE OF US THAT TRAVEL ON EXPRESSWAYS OFTEN...12.29.2012 [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/21/2011 - TUXEDO, NY
I HAVE SEEN ON CERTAIN CHRYSLER MODELS, ESPECIALLY MINIVANS, WITH THE 2-PIN FLOATING CALIPER DESIGN THAT THE SURFACE OF THE STEERING KNUCKLE WHERE THE BRAKE PADS RIDE WEARS AWAY AND CAN CAUSE THE AFFECTED WHEEL TO LOCK UP EITHER DURING A STOP OR AFTER THE BRAKE PEDAL IS RELEASED. THIS IS CAUSED BY THE BRAKE PADS WEDGING IN THE GROOVE. IF THIS WERE TO HAPPEN DURING A BRAKE APPLICATION, THE VEHICLE COULD VEER INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC, CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE ALSO NOTICED THAT THE MOUNTING DESIGN (IE: BOLTS AND SLIDE PINS,) IS FLAWED. THE BOLTS ARE TOO SHORT AND DO NOT MAKE ENOUGH CONTACT WITH THE THREADS, ESPECIALLY AFTER ROUTINE BRAKE MAINTENANCE THE HOLES CAN BECOME STRIPPED. CHRYSLER RECOMMENDS A TORQUE OF 119 IN/LBS OR 16 FT/LBS (SOURCE: ALLDATA 2011 LLC,) ALTHOUGH WHEN TORQUED TO SPECIFICATION, THE BOLT THREADS STRIP OUT. IF THE BOLTS WERE TO BE LOOSE OR ULTIMATELY FALL OFF THE VEHICLE, THE CALIPER WILL RIDE ON THE INSIDE OF THE WHEEL, MAKING NOISE OR LOCKING THE WHEEL DURING ANY DRIVING MANEUVER; WHICH CAN LEAD TO A CRASH. CORRECTION TO THE FAILING KNUCKLE IS SIMPLE IF FOUND EARLY ENOUGH. THE EDGES CAN BE GROUND DOWN TO ALLOW THE PADS TO MOVE SMOOTHLY, SHIMS CAN BE ADDED TO COMPENSATE FOR THE REMOVED MATERIAL AND A DECENT HIGH-TEMPERATURE BRAKE GREASE SHOULD BE USED ON THE SLIDING SURFACE. CORRECTION TO THE CALIPER MOUNTING HARDWARE IS THREAD REPAIR WITH A HELICOIL SET FOR 9MM BOLTS. IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE EXTENDED BOLTS AVAILABLE (METRIC GRADE 10.9,) FROM THE MANUFACTURER. TOO OFTEN THAN NOT I HAVE SEEN THESE PROBLEMS WHERE BRAKE MAINTENANCE IS ALMOST/OVER DUE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

3/28/2011 - ST CLOUD, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED WHEN THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE STRUT TOWER WAS SEVERELY RUSTED AND CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHERE THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THE FAILURE WAS COMMON. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 93,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/10/2011 - MORRISVILLE, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STRUT MOUNT AROUND THE FRAME WAS COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IF THE STRUT FRACTURED WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE COULD CAUSE A SERIOUS CRASH. THE CONTACT HAD NOT TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIRS OR DIAGNOSIS. THE CONTACT WAS AWAITING A RETURN CALL FROM THE MANUFACTURER IN REGARDS TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WERE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS FOUND ONLINE REGARDING THE STRUT MOUNT RUSTING AND STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/2/2010 - HAMPSTEAD, NH
FAILURE OF DRIVERS SIDE STRUT TOWER ON 99 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER....STRUCTURAL FAILURE DUE TO RUST....MANUFACTURER RELEASE TECH SERVICE BULLETIN SUSPENSION/BODY - STRUT TOWER CORROSION NUMBER: 23-044-02 GROUP: BODY DATE: OCT. 14, 2002 SUBJECT: NS STRUT TOWER CORROSION THIS A STRUCTURAL ISSUE THAT COULD LEAD TO FAILURE AND INJURY/DEATH. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL ITEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds