Auto Recalls for Consumers

PLYMOUTH VOYAGER - 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 274 complaints filed for the 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (15) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (42) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electrical System (25) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (10) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Suspension (19) Wheels (1)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

6/28/2004 - SCHENECTADY, NY
CONSUMER NOTICED THAT AIR BAG INDICATOR LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF, FOLLOWED BY THE HORN MALFUNCTIONING. THESE PROBLEMS WERE DUE TO THE CLOCK SPRING FAILING . VEHICLE'S MAKE/MODEL, AND YEAR WAS UNDER A RECALL. BUT CONSUMER'S VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE RECALL DUE TO VIN.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

6/28/2004 - SCHENECTADY, NY
CONSUMER NOTICED THAT AIR BAG INDICATOR LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF, FOLLOWED BY THE HORN MALFUNCTIONING. THESE PROBLEMS WERE DUE TO THE CLOCK SPRING FAILING . VEHICLE'S MAKE/MODEL, AND YEAR WAS UNDER A RECALL. BUT CONSUMER'S VEHICLE WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE RECALL DUE TO VIN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/26/2004 - MAYPORT, FL
VEHICLE NOT WANTING TO SWITCH GEARS. IT GOES VERY SLOW UNTIL FINALLY IT SWITCHES OVER. THE OIL WAS LEAKING OUT OF THE VAN. THE OIL LEAK WAS REPAIRED. AS FOR THE TRANSMISSION, IT ALL STARTED OFF WHEN IT WOULD SLOW BY ITSELF. THEN IT GRADUALLY GOT WORSE. ON 02-12-03 I HAD TAKEN IT IN TO GET CHECKED FOR A OIL LEAK AND THE PROBLEM WITH THE GEARS NOT SHIFTING. I WAS TOLD I NEEDED TRANSMISSION SERVICE, TO REPLACE THE VALVE COVER GASKET, AND TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION OUTPUT SHAFT SEAL. I DID THE REPAIR THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO FIX THE PROBLEM BUT OF COURSE IT DIDN'T. I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE GEARS. BUT SAID A FUEL INJECTION CLEANING, THROTTLE BODY CLEANING, AND A TUNE UP WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS WAS DONE ON MARCH 26, 2003. THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY GASKET AND SPARK PLUGS. THEY DID FIND A LEAK IN THE HEAD GASKET. THEY HAD TO REPLACE CYLINDER HEAD GASKET, WATER PUMP AND TIMING BELT. IN NOVEMBER OF 2000 THE FRONT PUMP SEAL WAS LEAKING, PAN GASKET LEAKING, SIDE COVER LEAKING, DIFFERENTIAL COVER LEAKING, AND REAR MAIN OIL SEAL LEAKING. THEY REMOVED THE TRANSAXLE, REMOVED AND REPLACED THE REAR MAIN SEAL. A FEW MONTHS AGO THE ENGINE LIGHT STARTED COMING ON WHEN GEARS WOULDN'T SHIFT. AND IT GOT WORSE EVERYDAY. NOW THE ENGINE LIGHT IS ON ALL THE TIME. I TOOK IT INTO AAMCO ON 04-23-2004 TO GET IT CHECKED OUT. THEY SAID IT WASN'T SAFE TO DRIVE SO THEY HAD TO TOW IT TO THEIR STATION. IT PASSED ALL THE EQUIPMENT TESTING AND WAS TOLD IT MAY JUST BE THE SPARK PLUGS. SO I REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS THAT DAY. IT RAN WELL FOR A LITTLE WHILE. THEN IT STARTED AGAIN. I HAD TO STOP DRIVING MY VEHICLE BECAUSE IT IS A POTENTIAL DANGER TO MY FAMILY. IT WOULD GO VERY VERY SLOW WHEN I WAS TRYING TO CROSS THE ROAD. AND WITH ON COMING VEHICLES ON BOTH SIDES WE COULD EASILY GET INTO A MAJOR COLLISION. I HAVE TRIED TO TALK TO THE CHRYSLER BUT THEY REFUSED TO HELP ME. AND AT THIS POINT I STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/26/2004 - MAYPORT, FL
VEHICLE NOT WANTING TO SWITCH GEARS. IT GOES VERY SLOW UNTIL FINALLY IT SWITCHES OVER. THE OIL WAS LEAKING OUT OF THE VAN. THE OIL LEAK WAS REPAIRED. AS FOR THE TRANSMISSION, IT ALL STARTED OFF WHEN IT WOULD SLOW BY ITSELF. THEN IT GRADUALLY GOT WORSE. ON 02-12-03 I HAD TAKEN IT IN TO GET CHECKED FOR A OIL LEAK AND THE PROBLEM WITH THE GEARS NOT SHIFTING. I WAS TOLD I NEEDED TRANSMISSION SERVICE, TO REPLACE THE VALVE COVER GASKET, AND TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION OUTPUT SHAFT SEAL. I DID THE REPAIR THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO FIX THE PROBLEM BUT OF COURSE IT DIDN'T. I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE GEARS. BUT SAID A FUEL INJECTION CLEANING, THROTTLE BODY CLEANING, AND A TUNE UP WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS WAS DONE ON MARCH 26, 2003. THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY GASKET AND SPARK PLUGS. THEY DID FIND A LEAK IN THE HEAD GASKET. THEY HAD TO REPLACE CYLINDER HEAD GASKET, WATER PUMP AND TIMING BELT. IN NOVEMBER OF 2000 THE FRONT PUMP SEAL WAS LEAKING, PAN GASKET LEAKING, SIDE COVER LEAKING, DIFFERENTIAL COVER LEAKING, AND REAR MAIN OIL SEAL LEAKING. THEY REMOVED THE TRANSAXLE, REMOVED AND REPLACED THE REAR MAIN SEAL. A FEW MONTHS AGO THE ENGINE LIGHT STARTED COMING ON WHEN GEARS WOULDN'T SHIFT. AND IT GOT WORSE EVERYDAY. NOW THE ENGINE LIGHT IS ON ALL THE TIME. I TOOK IT INTO AAMCO ON 04-23-2004 TO GET IT CHECKED OUT. THEY SAID IT WASN'T SAFE TO DRIVE SO THEY HAD TO TOW IT TO THEIR STATION. IT PASSED ALL THE EQUIPMENT TESTING AND WAS TOLD IT MAY JUST BE THE SPARK PLUGS. SO I REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS THAT DAY. IT RAN WELL FOR A LITTLE WHILE. THEN IT STARTED AGAIN. I HAD TO STOP DRIVING MY VEHICLE BECAUSE IT IS A POTENTIAL DANGER TO MY FAMILY. IT WOULD GO VERY VERY SLOW WHEN I WAS TRYING TO CROSS THE ROAD. AND WITH ON COMING VEHICLES ON BOTH SIDES WE COULD EASILY GET INTO A MAJOR COLLISION. I HAVE TRIED TO TALK TO THE CHRYSLER BUT THEY REFUSED TO HELP ME. AND AT THIS POINT I STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

5/21/2004 - ROCKFORD, IL
1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER THE CROSS OVER PIPE ON THE MANIFOLD HOLE AND CAN'T BE REPAIRED MECHANIC TOLD ME HE NEVER SEEN ONE BREAK BEFORE ON A VEHCILE THAT ONLY HAS 59,000 MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: MASTER CYLINDER

5/19/2004 - ROANOKE, VA
WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES BRAKE PEDAL WENT DOWN TO THE FLOOR, CAUSING A LOSS OF BRAKE POWER. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION, AND MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE MASTER CYLINDER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO WORN OUT PARTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/10/2004 - STREATOR, IL
1999 PLYMOUTH GRAND VOYAGER I BOUGHT IT ON 11-16-01, IT HAD 32739. 5/03 IT STARTED TO SQUEAL UNDER THE HOOD THEN I WAS DRIVING AND THE BELT BROKE SO I HAD IT TOWED. THEY REPLACED THE BELT. THEN ABOUT 1 1/2 WEEKS LATER THE SAME THING HAPPENED SO I TOOK IT TO THE BILL WALSH IN STREATOR ILLINOIS WHERE I PURCHASED IT AND THEY PUT A NEW BELT ON. AROUND 5/10 I STARTED HEARING THE SQUEALING SO THEY CHECKED THE PULLIES AND REPLACED THE BELT. THE SQUEALING STOPPED AND ABOUT 3 WEEKS LATER AGAIN THE SQUEALING STARTED. THE SAME THING AS LAST TIME, THEY REPLACED THE BELT SQUEALING STOPPED. IT STARTS SQUEALING AGAIN. SO INSTEAD OF BRINGING IT BACK FOR ANOTHER REPEAT(BIG MISTAKE) I DROVE IT WITH THE SQUEALING UNTIL 2/10/04 WHEN I HEARD A BIG CLUNKING SOUND UNDER THE HOOD AND IT WAS HALF THE BELT BREAKING. IT WORE THROUGH SO THEY REPLACED BELTS AGAIN AND CHARGED ME $140.86. THE CLUNKING STARTED SO I CALLED THEM AND THEY COULDN'T GET THE VAN IN FOR 2 DAYS SO I HAD TO MISS MORE DAYS OFF WORK BECAUSE THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T HAVE A VEHICLE FOR ME TO DRIVE. SO AGAIN THEY CHECKED EVERYTHING AND SAID THE POWER STEERING PULLEY PUMP WAS CROOKED ON THE BRACKET SO THEY ADJUSTED IT AND PUT ANOTHER BELT ON. WELL I WAS STILL CALM AND ON 3/11/04 AGAIN I WAS ON MY WAY TO WORK AND I HEARD THE THUMPING UNDER THE HOOD SO AFTER WHAT HAPPENED LAST TIME I TURNED AROUND AND WENT STRAIGHT TO THE DEALER AND NICELY ASKED THEM TO GET A CAR SO I COULD GET TO WORK. THEY DID LEND ME ONE AND THEY CHANGED THE BELT AGAIN THIS TIME THEY CHANGED THE BELT TENSIONER AND THEY TRIED TO MAKE ME PAY FOR THE TENSIONER SAYING THEY WOULD SPLIT THE COST WITH ME. I PAY FOR THE TENSIONER, THEY PAY FOR LABOR & BELT AND SO I TOLD THEM NO, HE SAID HE WOULD TALK TO HIS BOSS WHEN HE DID CALL ME BACK HE SAID THEY WOULD PAY THE BILL UNDER GOODWILL FOR CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. MY VAN HAS ONLY 68056 MILES ON IT AND ITS VIN # IS[XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

3/22/2004 - WENATCHEE, WA
WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON ON THE DASH BOARD. WHEN AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED CRUISE CONTROL AND HORN STOPPED WORKING. DEALER FOUND THAT THE CLOCK SPRING NEEDED REPLACEMENT. A RECALL FOR 1996-1998 MODEL YEAR VEHICLES WAS ISSUED, BUT THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED DUE TO MODEL YEAR.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

3/22/2004 - WENATCHEE, WA
WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON ON THE DASH BOARD. WHEN AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED CRUISE CONTROL AND HORN STOPPED WORKING. DEALER FOUND THAT THE CLOCK SPRING NEEDED REPLACEMENT. A RECALL FOR 1996-1998 MODEL YEAR VEHICLES WAS ISSUED, BUT THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED DUE TO MODEL YEAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/22/2004 - WENATCHEE, WA
WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON ON THE DASH BOARD. WHEN AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED CRUISE CONTROL AND HORN STOPPED WORKING. DEALER FOUND THAT THE CLOCK SPRING NEEDED REPLACEMENT. A RECALL FOR 1996-1998 MODEL YEAR VEHICLES WAS ISSUED, BUT THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED DUE TO MODEL YEAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds