Auto Recalls for Consumers

PLYMOUTH VOYAGER - 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 274 complaints filed for the 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 PLYMOUTH VOYAGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Exterior Lighting (4) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (15) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (42) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electrical System (25) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (10) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Suspension (19) Wheels (1)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

7/28/2006 - PENNSAUKEN, NJ
: THE CONTACT STATED, WHILE DRIVING DURING LIGHT RAIN, AT 50 MPH., THE POWER STEERING BELT DETACHED CAUSING THE STEERING TO BE DIFFICULT. THE INDEPENDENT SERVICE MECHANIC REPLACED THE COMPONENT. THE POWER STEERING BELT DETACHED AGAIN UNDER THE SAME CIRCUMSTANCES. THE INDEPENDENT SERVICE MECHANIC ALERTED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON SIMILAR ISSUE FOR OTHER MODELS OF THE SAME MANUFACTURER.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

3/20/2006 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
ON 12/03/2005, MY 1999 PLYMOUTH GRAND VOYAGER MINI VAN'S TIE RODS FAILED AND MY WHEELS WENT WALL-EYED. MY CAR SLID INTO AN UNOCCUPIED PARKED VEHICLE CAUSING DAMAGE TO BOTH VEHICLES. MY SON-IN-LAW LOOKED UNDER THE VEHICLE AND TOLD ME THAT MY TIE RODS BROKE. I WAS DRIVING AT 25 MILES PER HOUR. THE REPAIRS WERE: REPLACED RIGHT FRONT AXLE, LOWER CONTROL ARM AND POWER STEERING RACK, ALIGHMENT AND COLLISION AND BODY WORK. THIS ACCIDENT COST $2809.33 PLUS MY $500.00 DEDUCTIBLE. MY CAR WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY BUT BECAUSE MY CAR SLID INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE CHRYSLER WOULDN'T HONOR MY WARRANTY. MY VEHICLE WAS 5 YEAR OLD. I BELIEVE THAT TIE RODS SHOULD NOT FAIL FOR THAT SHORT A TIME. THE VEHICLE HAD LESS THAN 49,000 MILES ON IT. I CALLED DAIMLER CHRYSLER TO COMPLAIN ABOUT A POSSIBLE DEFECT. MY FRIEND IN NEW JERSEY INFORMED ME THAT HIS 2000 DODGE DORANGO WAS RECALLED FOR DEFECTIVE TIE RODS. CHRYSLER STOPPED MANUFACTURING MY VEHICLE AROUND THE SAME YEAR. I TALKED TO AN EMPLOYEE OF CHRYSLER, MATT, SPECIAL INVESTIGATIONS. HE TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ON MY VEHICLE AND THAT I SHOULD CONTACT MY INSURANCE COMPANY BECAUSE THEY HAVE FULL SUBJUGATION RIGHTS TO TRY TO RECOVER THE COST OF REPAIRS ALONG WITH MY DEDUCTIBLE. I DID THAT ON JANUARY 18, 2006. I WROTE TO MS. ELIZABETH BEACH & MS. JENNIFER JONES OF AAA MID-ATLANTIC INSURANCE GROUP. I GOT NO SATISFACTION FROM CHRYSLER OR FROM MY OWN INSURANCE COMPANY. MY INSURANCE COMPANY DIDN'T WRITE BACK TO SAY WHETHER OR NOT THEY WILL INVESTIGATE THE MATTER. MY INSURANCE RATES WILL PROBABLY GO UP BECAUSE OF THIS DEFECT. IF I WERE ON A HIGHWAY DOING 55 MILES AN HOUR AND THE CAR TIE RODS FAILED AT THAT TIME I WOULD HAVE MORE THAN LIKELY BEEN INJURED OR KILLED ALONG WITH MY FAMILY MEMBERS AND MAYBE MY GRANDCHILDREN WOULD HAVE BEEN IN THE VEHICLE WITH US. I'M ANGRY AND DON'T WANT ANYONE ELSE TO EXPERIENCE THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE OF A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT THAT THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO ADMIT TO.

View Details

EQUIPMENT

2/23/2006 - FAIRFAX, VA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30MPH, THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING. AFTERWARDS, THE DASH PANEL CLOCK, RADIO, AND HEATING DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING. THE CONTACT PARKED THE VEHICLE AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF. THE KEY WOULD NOT RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED RUNNING. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS, THE CONTACT REMOVED THE BATTERY CABLES FROM THE BATTERY AND REATTACHED THEM. THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING, BUT THE CLOCK AND RADIO ILLUMINATED INDICATING NORMAL FUNCTION. ALTHOUGH THE KEY REMAINED IN THE IGNITION, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SEEN BY A DEALER.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

2/23/2006 - FAIRFAX, VA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30MPH, THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING. AFTERWARDS, THE DASH PANEL CLOCK, RADIO, AND HEATING DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING. THE CONTACT PARKED THE VEHICLE AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF. THE KEY WOULD NOT RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED RUNNING. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS, THE CONTACT REMOVED THE BATTERY CABLES FROM THE BATTERY AND REATTACHED THEM. THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING, BUT THE CLOCK AND RADIO ILLUMINATED INDICATING NORMAL FUNCTION. ALTHOUGH THE KEY REMAINED IN THE IGNITION, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SEEN BY A DEALER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

2/23/2006 - FAIRFAX, VA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30MPH, THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING. AFTERWARDS, THE DASH PANEL CLOCK, RADIO, AND HEATING DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING. THE CONTACT PARKED THE VEHICLE AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF. THE KEY WOULD NOT RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED RUNNING. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS, THE CONTACT REMOVED THE BATTERY CABLES FROM THE BATTERY AND REATTACHED THEM. THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING, BUT THE CLOCK AND RADIO ILLUMINATED INDICATING NORMAL FUNCTION. ALTHOUGH THE KEY REMAINED IN THE IGNITION, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SEEN BY A DEALER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY: CABLES

2/23/2006 - FAIRFAX, VA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30MPH, THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING. AFTERWARDS, THE DASH PANEL CLOCK, RADIO, AND HEATING DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING. THE CONTACT PARKED THE VEHICLE AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF. THE KEY WOULD NOT RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED RUNNING. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS, THE CONTACT REMOVED THE BATTERY CABLES FROM THE BATTERY AND REATTACHED THEM. THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING, BUT THE CLOCK AND RADIO ILLUMINATED INDICATING NORMAL FUNCTION. ALTHOUGH THE KEY REMAINED IN THE IGNITION, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SEEN BY A DEALER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/23/2006 - FAIRFAX, VA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30MPH, THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING. AFTERWARDS, THE DASH PANEL CLOCK, RADIO, AND HEATING DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING. THE CONTACT PARKED THE VEHICLE AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF. THE KEY WOULD NOT RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED RUNNING. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS, THE CONTACT REMOVED THE BATTERY CABLES FROM THE BATTERY AND REATTACHED THEM. THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING, BUT THE CLOCK AND RADIO ILLUMINATED INDICATING NORMAL FUNCTION. ALTHOUGH THE KEY REMAINED IN THE IGNITION, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SEEN BY A DEALER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

2/10/2006 - NEW YORK, NY
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 50MPH BRAKE PRESSURE WAS APPLIED AND THE VEHICLE HAD AN INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP. THE MECHANIC SUGGESTED REPLACING THE ANTILOCK BRAKE BOOSTER ASSEMBLY. ALTHOUGH THE PROBLEM PERSISTED, NO REPAIRS WERE MADE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/20/2005 - SYKESVILLE, MD
DT: THE CONTACT COMPLAINED ABOUT BRAKE PROBLEMS. THERE HAVE BEEN THREE ACCIDENTS AS A RESULT OF THE BRAKES NOT COMPLETELY STOPPING THE VEHICLE. WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKES THE VEHICLE LURCHED FORWARD. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN INSPECTED TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE BRAKE PROBLEMS.

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION

9/16/2005 - MEDINA, OH
DURING A RIGHT TURN FROM SLOW SPEED, THE POWER STEERING FAILS, MAKING IT VERY DIFFICULT TO AVOID A HEAD ON ACCIDENT WITH TRAFFIC ON THE STREET BEING TURNED INTO. SERVICING DEALER HAS DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS A FAILURE OF THE POWER STEERING RACK, AND THE FAILURE OF THE FRONT ANTI-SWAY BAR BUSHING. WITH LESS THAN 35000 MILES ON THE CAR, THESE PARTS ARE NOT NORMAL WEAR ITEMS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds