Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 2000 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 215 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (7) Structure (7)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (2) Suspension (12)
Electrical System (30) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (21) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (31) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Fuel System Other (3) Power Train (21) Steering (66) Visibility (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/26/2018 - ATWATER, OH
WHILE DRIVING DOWN A SIDE ROAD AT AROUND 25MPG, THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL MADE A POP SOUND AND ABRUPTLY STOPPED. WHEN MY DAUGHTER GOT OUT TO INVESTIGATE SHE SAW THAT THE WHEEL WAS FOLDED UNDER THE CAR. SHE HAD IT TOWED AND WE LEARNED THE TIE-ROD CONTROL ARM FAILED AND BROKE THE SHAFT. THANK GOD SHE WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY. WE PAID 1200.00 DOLLARS TO GET HER BACK ON THE ROAD AND 4 MONTHS LATER THE PASSENGER SIDE IS NOW MAKING A LOUD SQUEALING SOUND WHEN YOU TURN THE WHEEL. NOW I LEARN THAT IT SEEMS THE WHOLE FRONT END OF THESE CARS ARE DEFECTIVE AND DANGEROUS! OH, AND THE HEAT STOPPED WORKING AND WILL COST 500.00 TO FIX.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/11/2016 - CERES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE STRATUS. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, A LOUD GRINDING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND NOTICED FLUID COMING FROM THE FRONT PASSENGER WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOWER CONTROL ARM AND BALL JOINT FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 197,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/8/2016 - PICKERINGTON, OH
VEHICLE STALLED AT HIGH SPEED. HAD FUEL FILTER REPLACED BY DODGE DEALER IN MARIETTA, OHIO. DEALER DID NOT CHECK FUEL PUMP WHILE TANK REMOVED FROM AUTOMOBILE. FUEL PUMP WAS CAUSE OF STALLING. INVOICE # DOCS155552

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/15/2015 - WILLISTON, ND
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR WHEN THE BALL JOINT ASSEMBLY SNAPPED IN HALF, THE ENTIRE TIRE ALMOST CAME ALL THE WAY OFF.

View Details

STEERING

12/15/2015 - WILLISTON, ND
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR WHEN THE BALL JOINT ASSEMBLY SNAPPED IN HALF, THE ENTIRE TIRE ALMOST CAME ALL THE WAY OFF.

View Details

STEERING

11/19/2013 - CHAROLETTE, NC
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE THE STEERING WHEEL IS VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT STATED AFTER APPROXIMATELY 1 MINUTE AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE THE STEERING PROBLEM SUBSIDES. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE DEFECT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 229,000. JFT. REPORT RECEIPT DATE: JAN 05, 2006 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V001000 COMPONENT(S): STEERING

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/7/2013 - FLORENCE, SC
STARTING MARCH I HAD PROBLEMS WITH TURNING THE WHEEL AND I TOOK CAR TO GET OIL AND ASK MECHANIC TO CHECK POWER STEERING FLUID. IM TOLD IT IS FULL AND THAT THEY DO NOT WHY I HAVE TURN THE WHEEL AS IF I HAVE NO POWER STEERING. EACH MONTH I GET SOMEONE CHECK POWER STEERING AND TOLD IT IS FULL. I HAVE TO TURN THEE OPPOSITE WAY WHEN GETTING OUT OF A PARK. SOMETIMES I BACK IN PARK IN ORDER TO GET OUT. THEN I START HAVING PROBLEMS WITH CAR MAKING NOISE AND CAR SOUND WHEEL GOING TO BREAK. ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS..I HAVE NO HORN,INSIDE LIGHTS, AIR AND RADIO DUE TO I TOOK FUSE OUT BECAUSE HORN BLOWING, LIGHTS AND LOCKS GOING UP AND DOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/7/2013 - FLORENCE, SC
MY DODGE STRATUS STARTED BLOWING HORN WITHOUT ME TOUCHING. EVERYTIME I TURN THE WHEEL THE HORN BLOWS. THEN TWO DAYS LATER THE LIGHT CAME IN THE CAR WOULD NOT GO OFF. THEN LOCKS START GOING UP AND DOWN AND DOOR MAKE BEEP AS IF A DOOR HIS OPEN. I HAD TO REMOVE THE FUSES TO STOP HORN FROM BLOWING, CUT INSIDE LIGHTS OFF AND STOP LOCKS FROM GOING UP AND DOWN. THE CAR STILL MAKES BEEP NOISE AS IF DOOR OPEN WHOLE TIME DRIVING AND STOPS AND START BACK WHEN I HIT A BUMP. MY FRONT WHEEL MAKING A NOISE AS IF THE WHEEL IS GOING TO BREAK OFF ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. IT IS ALSO DRINKING GAS AS IF IT IS LEAKING. I DONT SEE ANY GAS ON THE GROUND BUT I CAN SMELL FUMES OFF AND ONE AND SOMETIMES UNDER THE HOOD. IT IS LIKE I AM LOSING GAS PRESSURE BECAUSE CAR STALLS AND I AM LOSING GAS SOMEWHERE.

View Details

STEERING

6/7/2013 - FLORENCE, SC
MY DODGE STRATUS STARTED BLOWING HORN WITHOUT ME TOUCHING. EVERYTIME I TURN THE WHEEL THE HORN BLOWS. THEN TWO DAYS LATER THE LIGHT CAME IN THE CAR WOULD NOT GO OFF. THEN LOCKS START GOING UP AND DOWN AND DOOR MAKE BEEP AS IF A DOOR HIS OPEN. I HAD TO REMOVE THE FUSES TO STOP HORN FROM BLOWING, CUT INSIDE LIGHTS OFF AND STOP LOCKS FROM GOING UP AND DOWN. THE CAR STILL MAKES BEEP NOISE AS IF DOOR OPEN WHOLE TIME DRIVING AND STOPS AND START BACK WHEN I HIT A BUMP. MY FRONT WHEEL MAKING A NOISE AS IF THE WHEEL IS GOING TO BREAK OFF ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. IT IS ALSO DRINKING GAS AS IF IT IS LEAKING. I DONT SEE ANY GAS ON THE GROUND BUT I CAN SMELL FUMES OFF AND ONE AND SOMETIMES UNDER THE HOOD. IT IS LIKE I AM LOSING GAS PRESSURE BECAUSE CAR STALLS AND I AM LOSING GAS SOMEWHERE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/7/2013 - FLORENCE, SC
MY DODGE STRATUS STARTED BLOWING HORN WITHOUT ME TOUCHING. EVERYTIME I TURN THE WHEEL THE HORN BLOWS. THEN TWO DAYS LATER THE LIGHT CAME IN THE CAR WOULD NOT GO OFF. THEN LOCKS START GOING UP AND DOWN AND DOOR MAKE BEEP AS IF A DOOR HIS OPEN. I HAD TO REMOVE THE FUSES TO STOP HORN FROM BLOWING, CUT INSIDE LIGHTS OFF AND STOP LOCKS FROM GOING UP AND DOWN. THE CAR STILL MAKES BEEP NOISE AS IF DOOR OPEN WHOLE TIME DRIVING AND STOPS AND START BACK WHEN I HIT A BUMP. MY FRONT WHEEL MAKING A NOISE AS IF THE WHEEL IS GOING TO BREAK OFF ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. IT IS ALSO DRINKING GAS AS IF IT IS LEAKING. I DONT SEE ANY GAS ON THE GROUND BUT I CAN SMELL FUMES OFF AND ONE AND SOMETIMES UNDER THE HOOD. IT IS LIKE I AM LOSING GAS PRESSURE BECAUSE CAR STALLS AND I AM LOSING GAS SOMEWHERE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds