Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ALERO - 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 362 complaints filed for the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (11) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (6) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (4) Exterior Lighting (73) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (53) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (126) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (14) Steering (17) Visibility (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seat Belts (4) Structure (14) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (5) Seats (4) Suspension (19) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (49) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (8)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: REARVIEW MIRRORS/DEVICES

2/22/2013 - MARSHALL, MI
JUST BOUGHT MY 2001 ALERO RIGHT OFF THE CAR LOT, BUT NOW THE RIGHT SIDE PASSENGER MIRROR ISN'T WORKING, LIGHTER ISN'T WORKING, CALLED THE CAR LOT TO TELL THEM THAT AND HE SAID THAT IT COULD BE THE FUSE WAS BAD! SO I BUY A USED CAR FOR THREE GRAND AND MINOR STUFF STARTS HAPPENING TO IT.... HOW MUCH IS A FUSE??

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/22/2013 - MARSHALL, MI
JUST BOUGHT MY 2001 ALERO RIGHT OFF THE CAR LOT, BUT NOW THE RIGHT SIDE PASSENGER MIRROR ISN'T WORKING, LIGHTER ISN'T WORKING, CALLED THE CAR LOT TO TELL THEM THAT AND HE SAID THAT IT COULD BE THE FUSE WAS BAD! SO I BUY A USED CAR FOR THREE GRAND AND MINOR STUFF STARTS HAPPENING TO IT.... HOW MUCH IS A FUSE??

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/10/2012 - STEVENSON, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED WHEN SHE NOTICED THAT THE TURN SIGNALS AND HAZARD LIGHTS WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 03V327000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS:SWITCH) THAT COULD HAVE BEEN RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. UPDATED 01/15/13 UPDATED 1/23/2013

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/19/2012 - BURLINGTON , IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASS LOCK SYSTEM PREVENTED THE VEHICLE FROM STARTING. THE CONTACT TOWED THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE PASS LOCK SYSTEM. THE CONTACT DID NOT CALL THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,054. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

9/7/2012 - MILWAUKIE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 10 MPH WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO TURN LEFT OR RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER OR A PRIVATE MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 136,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/6/2012 - HEMPSTEAD, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AS SOON AS THE ENGINE WAS STARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP FOR INSPECTION WHERE THE TECHNICIANS STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/19/2012 - MT HOREB, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTICS WHERE THE MECHANIC ADVISED THAT THE ENGINE WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. AFTER THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ENGINE THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE MECHANIC APPROXIMATELY TEN DIFFERENT TIMES. THE FUEL PUMP WAS ALSO REPLACED BUT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO STALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000. UPDATED 8/23/12 UPDATED 09/06/2012

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/13/2012 - FISHERS, IN
BLINKERS INTERMITTENTLY WORK. EVERY TIME I TAKE IT IN FOR DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR THE BLINKERS WORK JUST FINE AND I CAN'T GET THEM TO NOT WORK. NORMALLY THEY WILL WORK IMMEDIATELY AFTER TURNING ON ENGINE, THEN AFTER A FEW TURNS STOP WORKING. OTHER TIMES THEY WILL NOT WORK AT ALL UPON TURNING ON ENGINE. WHEN THE PROBLEM FIRST BEGAN, I COULD TURN ON THE LEFT AND RIGHT SIGNAL A FEW TIMES AND THEN THE BLINKERS WOULD WORK. NOW IT HAS GOTTEN SO BAD THIS NO LONGER WORKS. MY VIN FALLS JUST OUTSIDE THE RECALL NUMBER C258800 SO A DEALER IS WORKING WITH ME TO SEE IF THEY CAN GET IT COVERED. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY RISK TO YOURSELF AND OTHER DRIVERS! I HAVE LEARNED THAT THE FLASHER ASSEMBLY IS GENERALLY WHAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED WHICH ABOUT $40.00 PLUS TAX AND LABOR. I HAVE ALSO HEARD THAT THE MULTI FUNCTION SWITCH GENERALLY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED WITH THE FLASHER ASSEMBLY AS THEY BOTH ARE CONNECTED TO THE BLINKER SYSTEM. ANOTHER ISSUE COULD INCLUDE THE BODY CONTROL MODULE WHICH NEEDS TO BE DONE AT THE DEALER BECAUSE CERTAIN CODES NEED TO BE ENTERED. OLDSMOBILE NEEDS TO INCLUDE MORE VINS IN THIS RECALL. I HOPE THIS COMPLAINT HELPS OTHERS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/13/2012 - FISHERS, IN
BLINKERS INTERMITTENTLY WORK. EVERY TIME I TAKE IT IN FOR DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR THE BLINKERS WORK JUST FINE AND I CAN'T GET THEM TO NOT WORK. NORMALLY THEY WILL WORK IMMEDIATELY AFTER TURNING ON ENGINE, THEN AFTER A FEW TURNS STOP WORKING. OTHER TIMES THEY WILL NOT WORK AT ALL UPON TURNING ON ENGINE. WHEN THE PROBLEM FIRST BEGAN, I COULD TURN ON THE LEFT AND RIGHT SIGNAL A FEW TIMES AND THEN THE BLINKERS WOULD WORK. NOW IT HAS GOTTEN SO BAD THIS NO LONGER WORKS. MY VIN FALLS JUST OUTSIDE THE RECALL NUMBER C258800 SO A DEALER IS WORKING WITH ME TO SEE IF THEY CAN GET IT COVERED. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY RISK TO YOURSELF AND OTHER DRIVERS! I HAVE LEARNED THAT THE FLASHER ASSEMBLY IS GENERALLY WHAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED WHICH ABOUT $40.00 PLUS TAX AND LABOR. I HAVE ALSO HEARD THAT THE MULTI FUNCTION SWITCH GENERALLY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED WITH THE FLASHER ASSEMBLY AS THEY BOTH ARE CONNECTED TO THE BLINKER SYSTEM. ANOTHER ISSUE COULD INCLUDE THE BODY CONTROL MODULE WHICH NEEDS TO BE DONE AT THE DEALER BECAUSE CERTAIN CODES NEED TO BE ENTERED. OLDSMOBILE NEEDS TO INCLUDE MORE VINS IN THIS RECALL. I HOPE THIS COMPLAINT HELPS OTHERS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/13/2011 - PROVIDENCE, RI
I HAVE A 2001 OLD ALERO 6 MONTHS AGO MY VEHICLE WOULD NOT START I HAD IT TOWED TO A GM DEALER WHICH TOLD ME I NEEDED A FUEL PUMP SO I HAD IT FIXED WELL A FEW WEEKS LATER CAR WOULD START ONE DAY THEN NOTHING THE NEXT NOW IT WONT START AT ALL IT DIED WHILE I WAS DRIVING WITH MY 4 CHILDREN WE WERE STUCK FOR AN HOUR IN THE COLD I HAD IT TOWED TO MY MECHANIC HE SAYS IT THE SECURITY SYSTEM WELL IT WILL COST ALMOST 1000 DOLLARS TO FIX SO IT WILL SIT THERE UNTIL GM DECIDES TO DO A RECALL I AM NOT THE FIRST TO COMPLAIN AND I KNOW I WONT BE THE LAST THERE SHOULD BE SOMETHING DONE AS THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds