Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ALERO - 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 362 complaints filed for the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (11) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (6) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (4) Exterior Lighting (73) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (53) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (126) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (14) Steering (17) Visibility (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seat Belts (4) Structure (14) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (5) Seats (4) Suspension (19) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (49) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (8)

Pages:  
<<  37  38  39  40  41  42  43 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/28/2001 - PALACIOS, TX
MY CAR WOULD LEAVE ME STRANDED, WOULDN'T START AFTER GETTING WET FROM EITHER RAIN OR WASHING IT AT THE CAR WASH. ALL GAUGES, A/C SPEEDOMETER,ETC... FAILED. I HAVE HAD IT SERVICED 3 TIMES FOR THE SAME PROBLEM FROM 7/2/2002 TO PRESENT. NOW MY POWER WINDOW ON DRIVER'S SIDE HAS STOPPED WORKING. AND THE VINYL TRIM ON MY DOORS BELOW MY WINDOWS IS ALL BUBBLED AND COMING UNGLUED. IN MY OPINION I WAS SOLD A "LEMON" AND I WANT TO FIND OUT HOW TO FILE A CLAIM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

9/28/2001 - PALACIOS, TX
MY CAR WOULD LEAVE ME STRANDED, WOULDN'T START AFTER GETTING WET FROM EITHER RAIN OR WASHING IT AT THE CAR WASH. ALL GAUGES, A/C SPEEDOMETER,ETC... FAILED. I HAVE HAD IT SERVICED 3 TIMES FOR THE SAME PROBLEM FROM 7/2/2002 TO PRESENT. NOW MY POWER WINDOW ON DRIVER'S SIDE HAS STOPPED WORKING. AND THE VINYL TRIM ON MY DOORS BELOW MY WINDOWS IS ALL BUBBLED AND COMING UNGLUED. IN MY OPINION I WAS SOLD A "LEMON" AND I WANT TO FIND OUT HOW TO FILE A CLAIM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

9/4/2001 - TAMPA, FL
INTERMITTENTLY WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED STEERING WHEEL VIBRATES. DEALER HAS REPLACED LINING IN BRAKE ROTORS TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. PLEASE PROVIDE ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/23/2001 - TWIN LAKES, WI
CONSUMER IS UNABLE TO CHECK TRANSMISSION FLUID, THERE IS NO DIPSTICK.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: MECHANICAL: JACKS

8/23/2001 - TWIN LAKES, WI
CONSUMER STATES THE INSTRUCTIONS FOR USING A JACK ARE CONFUSING AND COULD POSE A POTENTIAL SAFETY HAZARD, WHICH COULD CAUSE VEHICLE TO FALL, CONSUMER STATES THE INSTRUSCTIONS STATE TO POSITION THE JACK AND RAISE THE JACKS HEAD UNTIL IT FITS FIRMLY INTO THE NOTCH IN THE VEHICLES FRAME NEAREST THE FLAT TIRE, HOWEVER THERE ARE TWO HOLES IN THE UNIT BOX AND THIS VEHICLE DOES NOT HAVE A FRAME, THE DIAGRAM SAYS AN 18 INCH HOLE BUT CONSUMERS JACK WILL NOT FIT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/23/2001 - TWIN LAKES, WI
CONSUMER IS UNABLE TO CHECK TRANSMISSION FLUID, THERE IS NO DIPSTICK.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/21/2001 - PERRYSBURG, OH
I BOUGHT THE CALL ON 7/31/01 AND IT BROKE DOWN ON ME 8/6/01. THE ENGINE WAS REPAIRED BY YARK AND RETURNED TO ME ON 8/14/01, ON 8/16/01 YARKS CALLED ME AND ASKED ME TO RETURN MY CAR THAT OLDSMOBILE CALLED THEM AND SAID THE VALVE SPRINGS WERE DEFECTIVE AND THAT THEY SUGGEST TO CHANGE THE REST OF THE VALVE SPRINGS IN MY NEW CAR. I DROPPED MY CAR OFF ON 8/17/01 AND I JUST RECEIVED A CALL THAT MY CAR ONCE AGAIN IS READY FOR ME TO PICK-UP. I HAVE TALKED THE YARKS GENERAL MANAGER AND THE SERVICE DIRECTOR ABOUT HOW UNHAPPY I AM ABOUT MY CAR. TO ME MY CAR IS NOT NEW ANY MORE, IT'S MORE OF A USED CAR SINCE THE ENGINE HAD TO BE FIXED. THE CAR WAS BUILT IN A AIR CONDITIONED BUILDING ON AN ASSEMBLY LINE-THAT IS A NEW CAR. MY CAR WAS BUILD IN AN ASSEMBLY LINE BUT HAS BEEN REWORKED (REPAIRED) IN A GARAGE. I UNDERSTAND ANYTHING MAN MADE IS NOT PERFECT, BUT I BELIEVE THAT WE HAVE TO STAND BEHIND OUR WORK. MY CAR ONLY HAD 383 MILES WHEN A VALVE SPRING BROKE AND CAUSED MAJOR PROBLEMS. I MAKE MY FIRST CAR PAYMENT ON MY "NEW" CAR NEXT WEEK AND I HAVE ONLY HAD IT IN MY POSITION FOR A TOTAL OF 8-9 DAYS. IT'S NOT GOING TO FEEL LIKE A NEW CAR ANYMORE. I DON'T FEEL LIKE I CAN DEPEND ON THIS CAR. I GUESS WHAT I WOULD LIKE AND I'M IN THE PROCESS OF DOING IS TRYING TO TALK TO A GM REGIONAL SALES REP. ABOUT MY PROBLEM AND TO SEE WHAT WE CAN DO. ANYHOW THIS IS MY REPORT. THANKS FOR TAKING THE TIME TO REVIEW MY SITUATION. SINCERELY, WENDY JENSEN.

View Details

PARKING BRAKE: CONVENTIONAL: MECHANICAL: LINKAGE AND CABLE

6/28/2001 - RILLTON, PA
PICKED UP CAR 1/30/2001 ON 4/9/CAR FLAT BEDDED IN FOR BRAKE PROBLEMS, SAID IT WAS REAR PARK BRAKE HANGING UP FROM RUST PROOFING THEY REPLACE BOTH REAR CABLES. 5/15 FLAT BEDDED AGAIN ROTO ON RT. GLAZED THEY REPLACE AND ADJUSTED BRAKES AND ROAD TESTED. 6/19 GOING SHOPPING WITH COUSIN WAS AT A COMPLETE STOPNEXT THING THE CAR LUNGED INTO THE REAR OF THE CAR IN FRONT OF US AND I STILL HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE. WE WE ALL SHOOK UP CAUSE IT WAS A SUDDEN JAR THAT WE AND THE PEOPLE THE CAR HIT WE ALL SORE FROM IT . AGAIN THE CAR WAS FLAT BEDDED TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES THE COMPUTER SAID SO ,AND THERE WAS NO WAY IT COULD OF HAPPENED THE WAY I SAID IT DID. I FELL VERY UPSET ABOUT THE WHOLE THING NOW I HAVE A CAR THAT I'VE MADE 5PAYMENTS ON AND WHEN I BROUGHT IT HOME FROM GETTING FIXED THAT I PAID 1,201.83 TO FIX WAS SO SCARED THAT I GOT SICK AND NOW I CAN'T EVEN DRIVE THE CAR CAUSE I SO SCARED THAT THE NEXT TIME I MAY BE KILLED IN IT . AND NOW I HAVE A CAR THAT I CAN'T AFFORD TO TRADED IN CAUSE I'VE ONLY JUST MADE MY 5 CAR PAYMENT. AND I'M STILL WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM OLDSMOBILE ON THE WHOLE THING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/7/2001 - ORLANDO, FL
VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A DIRECT FRONTAL COLLISION AT 40MPH. UPON IMPACT, AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. MANUFACTURER WILL BE NOTIFIED. ONE PERSON WAS INJURED IN ACCIDENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

6/7/2001 - ORLANDO, FL
VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A DIRECT FRONTAL COLLISION AT 40MPH. UPON IMPACT, AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. MANUFACTURER WILL BE NOTIFIED. ONE PERSON WAS INJURED IN ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  37  38  39  40  41  42  43 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds