Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ALERO - 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 362 complaints filed for the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (11) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (6) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (4) Exterior Lighting (73) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (53) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (126) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (14) Steering (17) Visibility (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seat Belts (4) Structure (14) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (5) Seats (4) Suspension (19) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (49) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

10/27/2014 - KINGSTON, NY
2001 OLDMOBILE ALERO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO REIMBURSEMENT FOR RECALL REGARDING IGNITION SWITCH. THE CONSUMER STATED THE WINDOW REGULATORS HAD TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/8/2014 - ENDICOTT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V355000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND DISAGREED WITH THE REMEDY BEING A PERMANENT REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. UPDATED 11/21/14 UPDATED 5/7/2015

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

10/3/2014 - MAYS LANDING, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: MODULE

10/3/2014 - TIPTON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS AN EXTREME DELAYED RESPONSE AFTER TURNING THE IGNITION KEY INTO THE ACCESSORY ON MODE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE IGNITION TUMBLER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED FOURTEEN MONTHS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/2/2014 - NEWPORTVILLE, PA
LOWER INTAKE GASKET WENT AT 70,000 BOTH FRONT WHEEL HUBS WENT WHEN WE BOUGHT AT 60000 AN WINDOWS CAME OFF TRACK ALL DASH LIGHTS ON FUEL PUMP REPLACED AN NOW HEAD GASKET IS BLOWN AN HEATER CORE REPLACED AT 80,000 NOW HAS 100,000 AN IS A LEMON.

View Details

ENGINE

10/2/2014 - NEWPORTVILLE, PA
LOWER INTAKE GASKET WENT AT 70,000 BOTH FRONT WHEEL HUBS WENT WHEN WE BOUGHT AT 60000 AN WINDOWS CAME OFF TRACK ALL DASH LIGHTS ON FUEL PUMP REPLACED AN NOW HEAD GASKET IS BLOWN AN HEATER CORE REPLACED AT 80,000 NOW HAS 100,000 AN IS A LEMON.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/2/2014 - NEWPORTVILLE, PA
LOWER INTAKE GASKET WENT AT 70,000 BOTH FRONT WHEEL HUBS WENT WHEN WE BOUGHT AT 60000 AN WINDOWS CAME OFF TRACK ALL DASH LIGHTS ON FUEL PUMP REPLACED AN NOW HEAD GASKET IS BLOWN AN HEATER CORE REPLACED AT 80,000 NOW HAS 100,000 AN IS A LEMON.

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2014 - SHEBOYGAN, WI
RAN A DIAGNOSTICS TEST AT A PARTS STORE AND CAME BACK ABOUT THE "INTAKE AIR TEMPERATURE CIRCUIT HIGH INPUT." I DIDN'T THINK MUCH ABOUT IT, BUT THE PART IS RELATIVELY CHEAP, I JUST DON'T KNOW IF I CAN REPLACE THAT MYSELF. BUT WHEN I REGISTERED MY VEHICLE IT CAME BACK AS A FAIL ON THE EMISSIONS TEST FOR THE STATE DUE TO THIS PART. WHILE LOOKING IT UP AND CHECKING ON LINE ABOUT THIS ISSUE I SAW SEVERAL ENTRIES THAT IT MAY ALSO AFFECT THE WARNING LIGHTS FOR ABS AND BRAKING SYSTEMS. THOSE HAVE BEEN ON AS WELL FOR A LONG TIME. I HAVE HAD THE BRAKES REPLACED TWICE IN THE PAST 2 YEARS. THE SECOND TIME WAS BECAUSE THEY HAD GIVEN ME DEFECTIVE BRAKE PADS THE FIRST TIME AND THEY WERE WORN OUT WITH IN 3 MONTHS. BUT NOW I HAVE TO GET THE INTAKE AIR TEMPERATURE CIRCUIT REPLACED, AND IT SOUNDS LIKE IT MAY BE MORE WIRING THAN THE CIRCUIT ITSELF, BUT I DON'T HAVE TIME AND ABILITY TO WORK THROUGH ALL THE POSSIBILITIES, NOR THE MONEY TO LET A MECHANIC DO IT AS WELL. IF THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE, THEN WHY ISN'T IT BEING ADDRESSED BY OLDSMOBILE (GM) EITHER? THEY HAVE A BULLETIN ABOUT IT!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/1/2014 - SHEBOYGAN, WI
RAN A DIAGNOSTICS TEST AT A PARTS STORE AND CAME BACK ABOUT THE "INTAKE AIR TEMPERATURE CIRCUIT HIGH INPUT." I DIDN'T THINK MUCH ABOUT IT, BUT THE PART IS RELATIVELY CHEAP, I JUST DON'T KNOW IF I CAN REPLACE THAT MYSELF. BUT WHEN I REGISTERED MY VEHICLE IT CAME BACK AS A FAIL ON THE EMISSIONS TEST FOR THE STATE DUE TO THIS PART. WHILE LOOKING IT UP AND CHECKING ON LINE ABOUT THIS ISSUE I SAW SEVERAL ENTRIES THAT IT MAY ALSO AFFECT THE WARNING LIGHTS FOR ABS AND BRAKING SYSTEMS. THOSE HAVE BEEN ON AS WELL FOR A LONG TIME. I HAVE HAD THE BRAKES REPLACED TWICE IN THE PAST 2 YEARS. THE SECOND TIME WAS BECAUSE THEY HAD GIVEN ME DEFECTIVE BRAKE PADS THE FIRST TIME AND THEY WERE WORN OUT WITH IN 3 MONTHS. BUT NOW I HAVE TO GET THE INTAKE AIR TEMPERATURE CIRCUIT REPLACED, AND IT SOUNDS LIKE IT MAY BE MORE WIRING THAN THE CIRCUIT ITSELF, BUT I DON'T HAVE TIME AND ABILITY TO WORK THROUGH ALL THE POSSIBILITIES, NOR THE MONEY TO LET A MECHANIC DO IT AS WELL. IF THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE, THEN WHY ISN'T IT BEING ADDRESSED BY OLDSMOBILE (GM) EITHER? THEY HAVE A BULLETIN ABOUT IT!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/1/2014 - SHEBOYGAN, WI
THE FIRST TIME IT STOPPED WORKING, I THOUGHT MAYBE I HAD JUST A BURNED OUT SIGNAL LAMP, BUT THEN IT STARTED WORKING AGAIN. IT WAS PRETTY RANDOM AT FIRST, BUT NOW IT WILL NOT WORK AT ALL, OR IT WILL START WORKING BLINK TWICE AND THEN JUST STOP. IT MAY BE "DEAD" FOR A LONG WHILE AND THEN JUST START BACK UP. USUALLY IT JUST DOESN'T WORK AT ALL ANYMORE. I HAVE DRIVEN DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITH IT TURNED ON AND IT WILL BE 5-10 MINUTES LATER AND IT WILL START BLINKING AGAIN. I SEE THERE IS/WAS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM, FOR MODEL YEARS 2000-2001 AND I HAVE A 2001, BUT THEY CLAIM MY VEHICLE IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. THE RECALL IS 03V327000, OR GM RECALL 03043A. THE A WAS BECAUSE THEY EXPANDED IT TO INCLUDE THESE TWO MODEL YEARS FROM AN ORIGINAL RECALL. I TALKED TO OLDSMOBILE DIRECTLY AND THEY SAY IT IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. THAT WAS IN A CALL, AND I SENT GM AN E-MAIL DETAILING THIS PROBLEM, BUT I HAVE NOT HEARD ANYTHING BACK FROM THEM EITHER. I WOULD THINK WITH ALL THE OTHER RECALLS THEY HAVE GOING ON, THEY SHOULD JUST ACCEPT THIS ONE AND NOT MAKE A BIG ISSUE OUT OF IT. MORE NEGATIVE PRESS. AS I WAS LOOKING THROUGH THE POTENTIAL ISSUES/RECALLS I DID SEE A FEW OTHER BULLETINS THEY HAD FOR ISSUES ON THAT MODEL YEAR AND VEHICLE, SOME OF WHICH I AM EXPERIENCING AS WELL. I DO UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS A 14-15 YEAR OLD CAR, BUT I WOULD LOVE TO DRIVE IT FOR A LONG TIME YET.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds