Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ALERO - 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 362 complaints filed for the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (11) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (6) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (4) Exterior Lighting (73) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (53) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (126) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (14) Steering (17) Visibility (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seat Belts (4) Structure (14) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (5) Seats (4) Suspension (19) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (49) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/1/2014 - SHEBOYGAN, WI
THE FIRST TIME IT STOPPED WORKING, I THOUGHT MAYBE I HAD JUST A BURNED OUT SIGNAL LAMP, BUT THEN IT STARTED WORKING AGAIN. IT WAS PRETTY RANDOM AT FIRST, BUT NOW IT WILL NOT WORK AT ALL, OR IT WILL START WORKING BLINK TWICE AND THEN JUST STOP. IT MAY BE "DEAD" FOR A LONG WHILE AND THEN JUST START BACK UP. USUALLY IT JUST DOESN'T WORK AT ALL ANYMORE. I HAVE DRIVEN DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITH IT TURNED ON AND IT WILL BE 5-10 MINUTES LATER AND IT WILL START BLINKING AGAIN. I SEE THERE IS/WAS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM, FOR MODEL YEARS 2000-2001 AND I HAVE A 2001, BUT THEY CLAIM MY VEHICLE IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. THE RECALL IS 03V327000, OR GM RECALL 03043A. THE A WAS BECAUSE THEY EXPANDED IT TO INCLUDE THESE TWO MODEL YEARS FROM AN ORIGINAL RECALL. I TALKED TO OLDSMOBILE DIRECTLY AND THEY SAY IT IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. THAT WAS IN A CALL, AND I SENT GM AN E-MAIL DETAILING THIS PROBLEM, BUT I HAVE NOT HEARD ANYTHING BACK FROM THEM EITHER. I WOULD THINK WITH ALL THE OTHER RECALLS THEY HAVE GOING ON, THEY SHOULD JUST ACCEPT THIS ONE AND NOT MAKE A BIG ISSUE OUT OF IT. MORE NEGATIVE PRESS. AS I WAS LOOKING THROUGH THE POTENTIAL ISSUES/RECALLS I DID SEE A FEW OTHER BULLETINS THEY HAD FOR ISSUES ON THAT MODEL YEAR AND VEHICLE, SOME OF WHICH I AM EXPERIENCING AS WELL. I DO UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS A 14-15 YEAR OLD CAR, BUT I WOULD LOVE TO DRIVE IT FOR A LONG TIME YET.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/19/2014 - FLINT , MI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL FOLLOWED BY FLAMES. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A SHORTAGE WITH THE BLINKERS, WHICH ACTIVATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/19/2014 - FLINT , MI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL FOLLOWED BY FLAMES. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A SHORTAGE WITH THE BLINKERS, WHICH ACTIVATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/17/2014 - GLENN, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE CONTACT CRASHED WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED AT THE TIME OF INCIDENT. HOWEVER, THE CONTACT DECIDED TO SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION LATER. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING BUT THE CONTACT WAS UNAWARE OF THE RESULTS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V4000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 121,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/15/2014 - MANSFIELD , TX
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND CRASHED. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS RECEIVED, BUT THE CRASH RESULTED IN THE DEATH OF THE DRIVER. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 10/29/14 UPDATED 4/23/2015

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2014 - MANSFIELD , TX
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND CRASHED. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS RECEIVED, BUT THE CRASH RESULTED IN THE DEATH OF THE DRIVER. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. UPDATED 10/29/14 UPDATED 4/23/2015

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2014 - BUTLER, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START WHEN THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM WAS ENGAGED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH ASSEMBLY ACTIVATED THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 142,000...UPDATED 09/25/14 THE CONSUMER STATED HE IS STILL WAITING ON THE PART. UPDATED 10/02/14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: MODULE

9/12/2014 - BUTLER, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START WHEN THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM WAS ENGAGED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH ASSEMBLY ACTIVATED THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 142,000...UPDATED 09/25/14 THE CONSUMER STATED HE IS STILL WAITING ON THE PART. UPDATED 10/02/14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

8/29/2014 - MACOMB, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE KEY WAS INSERTED INTO THE IGNITION SWITCH, THE AUTO THEFT MODE ACTIVATED. THE FAILURE PREVENTED THE VEHICLE FROM STARTING AND OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/20/2014 - MADISON, TN
WAS DRIVING TO THE STORE. I ARRIVE PARK THE CAR TURN IT OFF. GO INSIDE FOR 20 TO 35 MINUTES, I GET INTO THE CAR AND START HER UP AND IT DOESN'T START. NOTICED THAT SECURITY IS FLASHING AGAIN IN RIGHT CORNER. LOOK AT MANUAL AGAIN SAME THING TURN TO RUN POSITION AND WAIT 10MINS. FLASHING WILL STOP, TURN BACK TO OFF POSITION AND THEN TRY TO START THE CAR. IT THEN STARTS BUT I HAVE NOTICE THAT THIS KEEPS HAPPENING TO THE POINT WHERE EVEN IF THE CAR DOES START AND RUN THE SECURITY LIGHT WILL STAY ON FOR DAYS AND THEN SOMETIMES MAY GO OFF. BUT EVEN NOW THIS DAY AUGUST 20, 2014 AT 2:06PM THE SECURITY LIGHT STAYS ON AND AT TIMES THE CAR WILL NOT START UNLESS I GO THROUGH THE REST OF WAITING 10 MINUTES. HELP ME PLEASE. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds