Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ALERO - 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 362 complaints filed for the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (11) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (6) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (4) Exterior Lighting (73) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (53) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (126) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Power Train (14) Steering (17) Visibility (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seat Belts (4) Structure (14) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (5) Seats (4) Suspension (19) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (49) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (8)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/24/2014 - VADNAIS HEIGHTS, MN
DASH MAKING CLICKING NOISE, SOUNDS LIZE HAZARD WARNING NOISE, YET NOT ACTIVATING HAZARD LIGHTS. VERY RANDOM. THEN MOST RECENTLY, NOISE SEEMS TO HAVE STOP AND HAVE SEEN ON 3 OCCASIONS SMOKE FROM THE DASH AREA, NEAR WHERE THE STEERING COLUMN MEETS THE DASH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/10/2014 - GARDEN CITY , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 3 MPH MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT CRASH OR MAKE CONTACT WITH ANYTHING PRIOR TO THE DEPLOYMENT. DURING THE INCIDENT THE IGNITION SWITCH MOVED TO THE RUN POSITION INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/8/2014 - HUNTSVILLE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. AFTER RESTARTING THE ENGINE THE VEHICLE OPERATED AS NORMAL. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE DEFECT HAD OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2014 - BIG BEND, WV
I CAN START MY CAR. WHILE IT IS RUNNING, I CAN REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE SWITCH AND PLACE IT BACK IN. WHILE ITS RUNNING. NEEDS A NEW KEYSWITCH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/30/2014 - ALHAMBRA, CA
CAR WON'T START. THE CAR WILL TRY TO START UP, BUT WILL NOT TURN OVER. IT'S LIKE THE GAS HAS BEEN DISENGAGED. ALSO, THE SECURITY LIGHT COMES ON. WE HAVE HAD THE CAR TOWED SEVERAL TIMES TO THE MECHANIC.WE HAVE HAD THE FUEL INJECTOR AND FUEL PUMP REPLACED. HAPPENS FREQUENTLY NOW-AM CONCERNED IT WILL STALL IN TRAFFIC AND BE A SAFETY ISSUE. HAVE STARTED USING THE 10 MIN WAIT/RE-START TECHNIQUE I HAVE READ ABOUT ON THE INTERNET AND IT DOES WORK, BUT THAT IS A "BAND-AID" NOT A CURE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/30/2014 - ALHAMBRA, CA
CAR WON'T START. THE CAR WILL TRY TO START UP, BUT WILL NOT TURN OVER. IT'S LIKE THE GAS HAS BEEN DISENGAGED. ALSO, THE SECURITY LIGHT COMES ON. WE HAVE HAD THE CAR TOWED SEVERAL TIMES TO THE MECHANIC.WE HAVE HAD THE FUEL INJECTOR AND FUEL PUMP REPLACED. HAPPENS FREQUENTLY NOW-AM CONCERNED IT WILL STALL IN TRAFFIC AND BE A SAFETY ISSUE. HAVE STARTED USING THE 10 MIN WAIT/RE-START TECHNIQUE I HAVE READ ABOUT ON THE INTERNET AND IT DOES WORK, BUT THAT IS A "BAND-AID" NOT A CURE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2014 - LYLES, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS A INCREASE IN ENGINE RPMS AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 188,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/15/2014 - SOMERS, CT
THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME IN MY 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO OVER AND OVER AGAIN FOR THE PAST 4 YEARS,AND HAVE HAD IT AT 4 OR 5 DIFFERENT SHOPS AND NOBODY CAN FIX IT. BUT THE CAR TURNS OFF ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING AND THEN WONT RESTART. BUT AFTER I HAVE IT TOWED HOME IT WILL START A DAY OR TWO LATER.. I'VE HAD THE BATTERY REPLACED, THE STARTER, THE FUEL PUMP, THE ALTERNATOR AND HAVE HAD IT HOOKED UP TO THE COMPUTER TO SEE IF ANY WARNING SIGNALS GO OFF AND NOTHING COMES UP.. ITS HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY ON BACK ROADS AND WHILE SITTING AT A STOP LIGHT. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS AND I THINK AND HOPE THAT OLDSMOBILE WILL DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT TO HELP ITS CUSTOMERS HAVE A SAFER COMMUTE TO AND FROM THEIR DESTINATION...

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2014 - SOMERS, CT
THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME IN MY 2001 OLDSMOBILE ALERO OVER AND OVER AGAIN FOR THE PAST 4 YEARS,AND HAVE HAD IT AT 4 OR 5 DIFFERENT SHOPS AND NOBODY CAN FIX IT. BUT THE CAR TURNS OFF ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING AND THEN WONT RESTART. BUT AFTER I HAVE IT TOWED HOME IT WILL START A DAY OR TWO LATER.. I'VE HAD THE BATTERY REPLACED, THE STARTER, THE FUEL PUMP, THE ALTERNATOR AND HAVE HAD IT HOOKED UP TO THE COMPUTER TO SEE IF ANY WARNING SIGNALS GO OFF AND NOTHING COMES UP.. ITS HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY ON BACK ROADS AND WHILE SITTING AT A STOP LIGHT. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS AND I THINK AND HOPE THAT OLDSMOBILE WILL DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT TO HELP ITS CUSTOMERS HAVE A SAFER COMMUTE TO AND FROM THEIR DESTINATION...

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2013 - SCHELLSBURG, PA
WHILE SITTING AT A RED LIGHT VEHICLE SHUT OFF AND WOULD NOT RESTART, HAD TO PUSH VEHICLE OFF OF ROAD, INTO PARKING LOT, WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND RESTARTED VEHICLE, ADDED FUEL TO VEHICLE WENT INSIDE TO PAY AND WHEN I RETURNED VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. HAS CONTINUED TO FAIL TO START. DIAGNOSIS PASS LOCK SYSTEM FOR SECURITY CAUSES VEHICLE TO SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY OR NOT START UNEXPECTEDLY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds