Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2004 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1976 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (76) Exterior Lighting (17) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Trailer Hitches (4)
Electrical System (94) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Parking Brake (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (105) Unknown Or Other (69)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (241) Steering (74) Vehicle Speed Control (70)
Engine (83) Fuel System Gasoline (42) Seat Belts (14) Structure (94) Visibility (851)
Engine And Engine Cooling (173) Fuel System Other (10) Seats (4) Suspension (116) Visibility Wiper (20)
Equipment (23) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (20) Tires (54) Wheels (19)
Equipment Adaptive (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 235
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/4/2019 - LIBERTYTOWNSHIP, OH
TAKATA PURCHASE OUR 2004 FORD F150 4X2 SUPERCREW FROM KINGS FORD. WHEN GOING TO TENN. PULL OFF TO GET GAS AND WHEN LEAVING THE GAS STATION MAKING LEFT HAND TURN REAL WHEEL LOCK UP HAD TO BACK UP TO UNLOCK THE REAR WHEEL, CALLED KINGS FORD AND WAS TOLD NOT TO MAKE SHARP TURNS. RETURNED HOME WITH THE REAR END MAKING BANGING NOISES, KING FORD REPAIRED ON AUG 24 2004 REPLACE THE TRACTION LOCK CLUTCH PACK PART#4947 2151 MILES. AFTER THE REPAIR WE NOTICE A WHINING SOUND COMING FROM THE REAR END WAS TOLD TO BRING THE TRUCK BACK, DROPED THE TRUCK OFF ON SEPT 30,2004 AND TO PICK IT BACK UP ON OCT 2, WAS TOLD BY SERVICE REP NO WORK WAS DONE. CALLER SERVICE REP THE FLOWING MONDAY AND WAS TOLD FORD WOULD NOT PAY FOR THE FIX BECAUSE ENGINEERING IS CURRENTLY INVESTIGATION THIS CONDITION AND FOR US TO CALL EVERY MONTH. CALLED FORD MANY TIMES FINELY WAS TOLD TO TAKE OUR TRUCK TO LINCOLN MERCURY GARAGE IN FAIRFIELD, OHIO HAD A PERSON THAT WOULD REBUILD THE REAR AXLE WITH 4205A DIFFERENTIAL CARRIER. ASSEMBLE, FORD DID TAKE CARE OF THIS. AFTER LEAVING THE GARAGE NOTICE A WHINE IN THE REAR TURN AROUND WENT BACK TO THE GARAGE AND WAS TOLD THEY MAY HAVE THE PARTS TO TIGHT AND WILL NEED TO LOOSEN THEN UP. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR THE LAST 15 YEARS WITH STILL NO FIX WE HAVE NOW 95800 MILES AND WITH ANOTHER FIX FOR $3000.00

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/23/2019 - LIMA, OH
FRAME IS ROTTING HUGE HOLES IN FRAME. VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 110K MILES

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2019 - SARASOTA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL HESITATED WHEN DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL PUTTERING SOUND WHILE IN DRIVE. IN ADDITION, THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILED. THE SPARK PLUGS WERE CHANGED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE SPARK PLUGS SHOULD NOT BE TOUCHED BECAUSE THEY WERE FORD CERTIFIED SPARK PLUGS AND TEAR EASILY. A SPECIAL ONSITE FORD MECHANIC REPAIRED THE SPARK PLUGS. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND STALLING FAILURES WERE NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 233,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2019 - SARASOTA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL HESITATED WHEN DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL PUTTERING SOUND WHILE IN DRIVE. IN ADDITION, THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILED. THE SPARK PLUGS WERE CHANGED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE SPARK PLUGS SHOULD NOT BE TOUCHED BECAUSE THEY WERE FORD CERTIFIED SPARK PLUGS AND TEAR EASILY. A SPECIAL ONSITE FORD MECHANIC REPAIRED THE SPARK PLUGS. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND STALLING FAILURES WERE NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 233,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

5/21/2019 - SARASOTA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL HESITATED WHEN DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL PUTTERING SOUND WHILE IN DRIVE. IN ADDITION, THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILED. THE SPARK PLUGS WERE CHANGED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE SPARK PLUGS SHOULD NOT BE TOUCHED BECAUSE THEY WERE FORD CERTIFIED SPARK PLUGS AND TEAR EASILY. A SPECIAL ONSITE FORD MECHANIC REPAIRED THE SPARK PLUGS. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND STALLING FAILURES WERE NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 233,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/7/2019 - FAIRFIELD, CT
MY 2004 FORD F-150 HAS 61,000 MILES AND NO RUST ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. I+VE KEPT THE TRUCK WELL MAINTAINED AND IT LOOKS ALMOST NEW. THE FRAME HOWEVER RIGHT WHERE THE REAR LEAF SPRING ATTACHES TO THE FRAME IS RUSTED RIGHT THROUGH. IT IS INCREDIBLE THAT THIS HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED AS OF YET. HOPEFULLY IT WILL BE RECALLED. WHILE DRIVING A PART OF THE EXHAUST HEAT SHIELD FELL ONTO THE DRIVESHAFT. WHEN I WENT TO INSPECT THE UNDERSIDE I FOUND A HOLE IN THE FRAME AND I WAS ABLE TO PUT MY FINGER RIGHT THROUGH IT. CONSUMER STATED ONE IMPORTANT FACT THAT I FORGOT TO ADD TO MY COMPLAINT IS THE SECTION OF THE FRAME THAT RUSTED THROUGH HAS THE EXACT SAME ISSUE IN THE SAME SPOT ON BOTH THE PASSENGER FRAME RAIL AS WELL AS THE DRIVER+S SIDE FRAME RAIL. THE 2004 FORD ESCAPE WAS RECALLED FOR SIMILAR ISSUES THAT YEAR BUT IN THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. MY TRUCK HAS ONLY 61,000 MILES ON IT AND FROM FORUMS AND POSTS I+VE READ IT SEEMS TO BE A MAJOR ISSUE FOR THAT YEAR VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/7/2019 - FAIRFIELD, CT
MY 2004 FORD F-150 HAS 61,000 MILES AND NO RUST ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. I+VE KEPT THE TRUCK WELL MAINTAINED AND IT LOOKS ALMOST NEW. THE FRAME HOWEVER RIGHT WHERE THE REAR LEAF SPRING ATTACHES TO THE FRAME IS RUSTED RIGHT THROUGH. IT IS INCREDIBLE THAT THIS HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED AS OF YET. HOPEFULLY IT WILL BE RECALLED. WHILE DRIVING A PART OF THE EXHAUST HEAT SHIELD FELL ONTO THE DRIVESHAFT. WHEN I WENT TO INSPECT THE UNDERSIDE I FOUND A HOLE IN THE FRAME AND I WAS ABLE TO PUT MY FINGER RIGHT THROUGH IT. CONSUMER STATED ONE IMPORTANT FACT THAT I FORGOT TO ADD TO MY COMPLAINT IS THE SECTION OF THE FRAME THAT RUSTED THROUGH HAS THE EXACT SAME ISSUE IN THE SAME SPOT ON BOTH THE PASSENGER FRAME RAIL AS WELL AS THE DRIVER+S SIDE FRAME RAIL. THE 2004 FORD ESCAPE WAS RECALLED FOR SIMILAR ISSUES THAT YEAR BUT IN THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. MY TRUCK HAS ONLY 61,000 MILES ON IT AND FROM FORUMS AND POSTS I+VE READ IT SEEMS TO BE A MAJOR ISSUE FOR THAT YEAR VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/13/2019 - SACO, ME
PREMATURE FRAME ROT. I TOOK MY TRUCK TO A WELDER AFTER FAILING MY STATE SAFETY INSPECTION BECAUSE OF FRAME ROT. THE WELDER SAID HE HAS WORKED ON HUNDREDS OF FRAMES FOR 2004 F150'S. HE SAID HE STARTED WORKING ON THEM IN 2006. "WORST FRAME EVER," HE SAID. HE COULDN'T BELIEVE THEY WERE NEVER RECALLED BASED ON HOW POORLY THEY WERE DESIGNED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/26/2019 - LORAIN, OH
THE FRAME IS ROTTING ON THE IN SIDE OF THE FRAME

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/5/2019 - SPRINGDALE, PA
ELECTRICAL FIRE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AFTER VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF WHILE PUMPING GAS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 235
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds