Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2004 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2004 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (33) Tires (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (73) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (38) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/29/2019 - LEAGUE CITY, TX
FOR SEVERAL MONTHS THERE HAS BEEN A STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE AFTER FUELING THE VEHICLE. THE ODOR HAS BECOME STEADILY WORSE AND WE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR ASSISTANCE. WE WERE TOLD THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS CRACKED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. WHEN I INQUIRED HOW THIS COULD HAVE OCCURRED, I WAS TOLD IT COULD BE DUE TO IMPACT OR TRAUMA (WHICH IS IMPOSSIBLE AS THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INVOLVED IN ANY INCIDENT). WAS INFORMED THAT IT WOULD COST $2,300.00 TO REPAIR VEHICLE. CALLED MB-USA AND ASKED FOR ASSISTANCE. WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NOT A RECALL ON THE FUEL TANK AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY THE COST. AS THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE, I HAD THE WORK PERFORMED AND RECEIVED A 10% "GOODWILL" DISCOUNT. PICKED UP VEHICLE AND DROVE A SHORT DISTANCE AND CONTINUED TO SMELL FUEL. CALLED DEALERSHIP AND THEY CAME TO PICK-UP. ACKNOWLEDGED THAT THEY DID NOT TIGHTEN A CLAMP OR SOMETHING. WE PICKED IT UP AGAIN AND THE ODOR WAS PERSISTENT. IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE DEALERSHIP BACK AND WE SUBSEQUENTLY TRADED THE VEHICLE IN. BOTTOM LINE.... I DO NOT THINK THAT A FUEL TANK SHOULD FAIL ON A VEHICLE WITH LESS THAN 80,000 MILES. I HAVE THE OLD TANK AND BELIEVE THAT MB SHOULD REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE COST OF THE TANK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/14/2019 - WOLCOTT, CT
FUEL TANK LEAK, SMELL GAS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/3/2018 - THOUSAND OAKS, CA
WHILE PARKED, ENGINE WOULD DIE IMMEDIATELY AFTER I STARTED IT. MECHANIC DISCOVERED FUEL SEEPING OUT OF TOP OF FUEL SENDING UNIT IN FUEL TANK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/3/2018 - ASHEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SKYLAND AUTOMOTIVE MERCEDES-BENZ (255 SMOKEY PARK HIGHWAY, ASHEVILLE, NC 28806, (828)667-5213) TO BE REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V133000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). AFTER THE REPAIR, WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE BRAKE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE BRAKE PEDAL BECAME STUCK TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BACK TO THE SAME DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 144,015.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/25/2018 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE SHIFTER MODULE IS DEFECTIVE BECAUSE AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE, WHEN IN DRIVE, IT STAYS IN 2ND GEAR ONLY. TO PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE, I MUST SHUT THE ENGINE. OTHERWISE I CAN'T SHIFT FROM D TO N TO R. THE SHIFTER WILL NOT MOVE PAST NEUTRAL. TO GET TO P OR R, I MUST SHUT THE ENGINE. THIS IS UNSAFE WHEN TRYING TO BACK INTO A CITY STREET PARKING. WHEN THE CAR IS STATIONARY, AFTER STARTING IT, ONCE I SHIFT FROM P TO R & ARRIVE AT N, THE SHIFTER WILL NOT ALLOW ME TO SHIFT BACK INTO R WITHOUT SHUTTING THE ENGINE & THEN RESTARTING IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/15/2018 - RAMONA, CA
AFTER FILLED UP THE CAR WITH GAS. STRONG GAS ODOR AND GAS LEAKING FROM DRIVERS SIDE REAR OF CAR. WHILE DRIVING AND WHILE PARKED IN THE GARAGE EXTREMELY UNSAFE!!!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/31/2018 - ATLANTA, GA
THER IS A STRONG GAS SMELL INSIDE CAR WHEN THE TANK IS OVER 3/4 FULL. DANGEROUS FIRE HARZARD. THINK THAT IT IS A RECALL ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/18/2018 - SUMMERVILLE, SC
SBC BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON CAR WOULD NOT ENGAGE GOT IT TOWED THE REPAIR COST $1600.00 TO REPAIR. I CALL MBZ THEY SAID NO HELP FOR ME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/18/2017 - SAN FERNANDO, CA
OEM BRAKES

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/17/2017 - NEW SMYRNA BEACH, FL
THE SBC CONTROL UNIT FAILED. THERE WAS A RED WARNING LIGHT ON DASH, THAT WHEN I WAS IN THE ROAD THE BRAKES JUST ABOUT FAILED. WHEN I SHUT OFF THE CAR AND TRIED TO START AGAIN IT WOULD NOT LET ME MOVE IT FROM PARK POSITION. TRIED SEVERAL TIMES AND WAS ABLE TO GET IT INTO NEUTRAL AND DRIVE TO PULL IN POSITION FOR THE TOW TRUCK. IN READING UP ON THE WEB THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH THE SBC CONTROL UNIT. I WAS FORTUNATE TO BE CLOSE TO HOME BUT THIS IS A REALLY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. MERCEDES PUT A LIMIT ON THE UNIT TO SHUT DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY WAY TO TELL US OWNERS WHEN THIS WILL HIT THEIR LIMIT. THEY SHOULD BE FORCED TO REPAIR ALL OF THESE SBC CONTROL UNITS OR AT LEAST FIND A WAY TO TELL US WHEN IT WILL HAPPEN. I ALSO FOUND OUT THAT THEY DID KNOW OF THE PROBLEM AND EXTENDED THE WARRANTY FOR THE SBC UNIT FOR TEN YEARS, BUT DEPENDING HOW OFTEN YOU USED IT DETERMINES THE BREAK DOWN OF THE BRAKE SYSTEM.WHICH MEANT IF YOU HAD AN OLDER CAR YOU PAID FOR SOMETHING THEY FORCE TO BREAK. THERE IS AN APP $30 THAT CAN RESET THE AMOUNT OF BRAKING YOU HAVE DONE AND HAS BEEN SHOWN TO FIX THE PROBLEM INSTEAD OF A $2000 REPAIR THAT MERCEDES WILL CHARGE YOU FOR A WHOLE NEW SBC UNIT. WHY DON'T THE DEALERS HAVE THIS APP? WHY DO WE LET THE MANUFACTURERS GET AWAY WITH FORCING PARTS TO SEEMINGLY BREAK SO THEY CAN MAKE MORE MONEY?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds