Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2004 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2004 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (33) Tires (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (73) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (38) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

2/1/2017 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH SENSOTRONIC BRAKE CONTROL THAT HAS A SERVICE THRESHOLD. WHEN THIS THRESHOLD IS REACHED THE BRAKE SYSTEM DEFAULTS TO NON POWER ASSISTED HYDRAULIC MODE TO THE FRONT WHEELS ONLY. THIS OCCURS WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING AND RESULTS IN INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCE. I HAVE SENT A COPY OF THE MERCEDES SERVICE BULLETIN S142.46-P-0012A WHICH ADDRESSES THIS ISSUE. MERCEDES STOPPED INSTALLING THIS SYSTEM IN 2006. AT THE VERY LEAST, MERCEDES SHOULD ISSUE A MANDATORY RECALL TO INTERROGATE THESE VEHICLES WITH STAR DAS TO DETERMINE HOW CLOSE TO THE SERVICE THRESHOLD THE SBC UNIT IS AND REPLACE THEM AT THE DEALER'S EXPENSE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/27/2017 - JOHNS ISLAND, SC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A PAVED ROAD, WENT TO MAKE A LEFT HAND TURN AND MY ESP CAME ON, VEHICLE SHUT OFF AND ALMOST RAN ME INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE, WHICH THEN CAUSED ME TO RUN INTO THE DITCH. NOW I'M FINDING OUT THAT THERE IS A RECALL ON THE SBC UNIT, WHICH IS WHAT'S WRONG WITH MY CAR, BUT THE RECALL IS NOT SHOWING UP FOR MY VIN NUMBER. I AM VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED/FRUSTRATED BY MERCEDES. THIS IS A VERY EXPENSIVE PART TO REPLACE. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET TO FIX MY CAR, WHICH IS NOW SITTING DUE TO IT NOT STARTING, ESPECIALLY IF OTHER SAME YEAR VEHICLES WERE AFFECTED AND THEIRS IS COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. I THINK THE ENTIRE SITUATION IS RIDICULOUS! I WILL NEVER OWN ANOTHER MERCEDES!!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/27/2017 - JOHNS ISLAND, SC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A PAVED ROAD, WENT TO MAKE A LEFT HAND TURN AND MY ESP CAME ON, VEHICLE SHUT OFF AND ALMOST RAN ME INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE, WHICH THEN CAUSED ME TO RUN INTO THE DITCH. NOW I'M FINDING OUT THAT THERE IS A RECALL ON THE SBC UNIT, WHICH IS WHAT'S WRONG WITH MY CAR, BUT THE RECALL IS NOT SHOWING UP FOR MY VIN NUMBER. I AM VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED/FRUSTRATED BY MERCEDES. THIS IS A VERY EXPENSIVE PART TO REPLACE. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET TO FIX MY CAR, WHICH IS NOW SITTING DUE TO IT NOT STARTING, ESPECIALLY IF OTHER SAME YEAR VEHICLES WERE AFFECTED AND THEIRS IS COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. I THINK THE ENTIRE SITUATION IS RIDICULOUS! I WILL NEVER OWN ANOTHER MERCEDES!!!

View Details

ENGINE

1/27/2017 - JOHNS ISLAND, SC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A PAVED ROAD, WENT TO MAKE A LEFT HAND TURN AND MY ESP CAME ON, VEHICLE SHUT OFF AND ALMOST RAN ME INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE, WHICH THEN CAUSED ME TO RUN INTO THE DITCH. NOW I'M FINDING OUT THAT THERE IS A RECALL ON THE SBC UNIT, WHICH IS WHAT'S WRONG WITH MY CAR, BUT THE RECALL IS NOT SHOWING UP FOR MY VIN NUMBER. I AM VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED/FRUSTRATED BY MERCEDES. THIS IS A VERY EXPENSIVE PART TO REPLACE. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET TO FIX MY CAR, WHICH IS NOW SITTING DUE TO IT NOT STARTING, ESPECIALLY IF OTHER SAME YEAR VEHICLES WERE AFFECTED AND THEIRS IS COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. I THINK THE ENTIRE SITUATION IS RIDICULOUS! I WILL NEVER OWN ANOTHER MERCEDES!!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/14/2016 - SPRING HILL, FL
GAS SMELL ALL THE TIME, MAIN COMPUTER KEEPS ON AND DRAINS BATTERY, BRAKES LIGHTS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/14/2016 - SPRING HILL, FL
GAS SMELL ALL THE TIME, MAIN COMPUTER KEEPS ON AND DRAINS BATTERY, BRAKES LIGHTS

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/14/2016 - SPRING HILL, FL
GAS SMELL ALL THE TIME, MAIN COMPUTER KEEPS ON AND DRAINS BATTERY, BRAKES LIGHTS

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/12/2016 - KENT, WA
I AM AN OWNER OF A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ E320 THAT I HAVE BOUGHT 3 YEARS AGO IN NOVEMBER. WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE I ELECTED TO ALSO BUY A 3 YEAR 36K WARRANTY. OVER THE PAST 3 YEAR I HAVE HAD NO TO VERY LITTLE TROUBLE WITH THE VEHICLE AND HAVE MAINTAINED A VERY POSITIVE AND OPTIMISTIC ATTITUDE TOWARDS THE VEHICLE NEVER HAVING TO UTILIZE THE WARRANTY. WELL UNTIL LAST WEEK... I WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN SUDDENLY I LOST ALL BRAKING POWER OUT OF NOWHERE. I WAS PETRIFIED AND VERY SCARED FOR MYSELF AND EVERYONE IN THE VEHICLE, ONLY GETTING A "REDUCED BRAKING POWER" NOTICE ON THE DASH AFTER BRAKE LOSS. RECOLLECTING THAT IF THIS OCCURRED IN HEAVIER TRAFFIC WE COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED AND OR KILLED IN AN ACCIDENT DUE TO THE REACTION OF THE SBC UNIT THAT FAILED IN THE VEHICLE. COME TO FIND OUT MY VEHICLE HAD A RECALL FOR THIS SPECIFIC FAILED UNIT AND MERCEDES BENZ OFFERED A 10 YEAR 150K MILE WARRANTY TO FIX THIS ISSUE IN THE VEHICLE. UNFORTUNATELY BY THE TIME THAT I HAD PURCHASED THE VEHICLE, HAD I KNOW THIS WAS AN ISSUE, I WOULD HAVE ONLY HAD A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME FOR THE UNIT TO FAIL BEFORE I COULD HAVE TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF THIS "WARRANTY".. BUT I WAS UNAWARE OF THIS ISSUE AND HONESTLY WOULD HAVE NOT PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IF I WOULD HAVE KNOWN. I COMMUTED WITH THIS VEHICLE 60 MILES A DAY FOR THE LAST YEAR AND EVEN DROVE IT TO CALIFORNIA OVER THE SUMMER AS A FAMILY TRIP, WITH NO NEGATIVE THOUGHTS OR MALFUNCTIONS. I CANNOT SAY THAT I CAN DRIVE THIS VEHICLE IN CONFIDENCE ANY LONGER WITH THE KNOWLEDGE THAT I HAVE NOW OF THE SBC BRAKING UNITS. MY VEHICLE WARRANTY IS NO LONGER VALID BECAUSE MY VEHICLE EXCEEDED MILEAGE..THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE COVERED BY MERCEDES I SHOULD NOT BE HELD LIABLE FOR CORRECTING THIS ISSUE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFTEY ISSUE AND IS NOT BEING ADDRESS APPROPRIATELY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/8/2016 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE BRAKE LIGHT ON DASHBOARD CAME ON FEW MONTHS AGO. WE HAD REPLACED BRAKE PADS ETC, EARLIER AND WAS TOLD THE SBC NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I WENT TO 2 DEALERS IN MY AREA AND THEY BOTH STATED IT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. I HAVE READ MANY COMMENTS ABOUT THE FAULTY DESIGN FROM MBENZ AND DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THEY DO NOT WANT TO REPLACE IT AT THEIR COST. ARE THEY WAITING FOR LAWYERS TO SUE FOR A FATAL CRASH? I DO NOT WANT TO BE THE ONE DYING NOR ANYONE IN MY FAMILY. THE CAR HAS ONLY 106,331 MILES. CAN YOU HELP?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/1/2016 - OCEANSIDE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND TRAVELED CLOSE TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL REQUIRED EXCESSIVE FORCE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE ?BRAKE LONGER DISTANCE VISIT WORKSHOP? WARNING MESSAGE APPEARED IN RED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE FAILURE COULD RESULT IN A FATAL CRASH. THE FAILURE OCCURRED EVERY TIME THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SBC HYDRAULIC UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE DEALER OFFERED TO COVER TEN PERCENT OF THE COST, BUT THE OFFER WAS DECLINED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 05V133000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) AND 04V296000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE CONTACT STATED THAT A RECALL REMEDY COULD NOT BE PERFORMED UNLESS THE VEHICLE RECEIVED A SERVICE NOT RELATED TO A RECALL, WHICH WAS WHY THE MANUFACTURER'S RECALL REMEDY FOR THE FUEL TANK WAS NOT PERFORMED. THE CONTACT FELT THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED DUE TO HIGH MILEAGE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WAS AN EXTENDED WARRANTY RELATED TO THE FAILURE THAT EXPIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 197,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds