Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2004 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2004 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (33) Tires (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (73) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (38) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

10/5/2015 - ROSEDALE, MD
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, THE (SBC) SYSTEMS FAILED WITH A RED STOP SIGN ON THE DASH BOARD. I MANAGED TO BRING THE CAR TO A COMPLETE STOP BY PUSHING THE PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR WITH NO RESISTANCE AND APPLYING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE WITH MY LEFT FOOT SIMULTANEOUSLY. IT WAS A SCARY EXPERIENCE AS IT WAS A STORMY LATE NIGHT WITH 10% VISIBILITY DUE TO THE RAIN. I MANAGED TO PARK/TOWED THE CAR TO MY HOUSE AND IT HAS BEEN IN MY DRIVE WAY EVER SINCE THE INCIDENT. THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH SENSOTRONIC BRAKE CONTROL (SBC) THAT HAS A SERVICE THRESHOLD. WHEN THIS THRESHOLD IS REACHED THE BRAKE SYSTEM DEFAULTS TO NON POWER ASSISTED HYDRAULIC MODE TO THE FRONT WHEELS ONLY. THIS OCCURS WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING AND RESULTS IN INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCE. I HAVE SENT A COPY OF THE MERCEDES SERVICE BULLETIN S142.46-P-0012A WHICH ADDRESSES THIS ISSUE. MERCEDES STOPPED INSTALLING THIS SYSTEM IN 2006. AT THE VERY LEAST, MERCEDES SHOULD ISSUE A MANDATORY RECALL TO INTERROGATE THESE VEHICLES WITH STAR DAS TO DETERMINE HOW CLOSE TO THE SERVICE THRESHOLD THE SBC UNIT IS AND REPLACE THEM AT THE DEALER'S EXPENSE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/17/2015 - GOODYEAR, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: EA13003 (FUEL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIRS WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/17/2015 - SANTA ROSA, CA
2004 MERCEDES BENZ E-320. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE WARRANTY EXTENSION FOR REPAIRS OF FUEL TANK LEAKS. THE CONSUMER STATED IN LATE 2009. HE EXPERIENCED A GAS SMELL IN THE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE THE SMELL BECAME WORSE AND EVENTUALLY WAS NOTICEABLE OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE, TOO/ THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO INVESTIGATE AND REPAIR THE PROBLEM. A LEAK WAS FOUND ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE FUEL TANK. THE SEAL RINGS FOR THE FUEL LEVEL SENDERS, FUEL PUMP, FILTER ASSEMBLY AND HARNESS WERE REPLACED IN ORDER TO CORRECT THE FUEL LEAK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/16/2015 - CROSS PLAINS , TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT SMELLED FUEL INSIDE THE VEHICLE ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/30/2015 - MIAMI, FL
THIS WAS ONE OF 4 ACCIDENTS OR FENDER BENDERS I'VE BEEN IN IN THE LAST 14 MONTHS DUE TO BRAKE MALFUNCTION. I HAVE CHANGED MY BRAKES 2 IN 14 MONTHS AND ITS NOT THE BRAKES ITS A MALFUNCTION THE BRAKES LOOSE PRESSURE THE BRAKE PEDAL GOES COMPLETELY DOWN BUT DO NOT ACTUALLY BRAKE WITH THIS I HAVE HIT 4 VEHICLES FROM BEHIND.. I CONTACTED MCB CORAL GABLES AND THEY SAID THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY RECALLS THEREFORE CAN ONLY SERVICE IT IF I PAY. I FEEL LIKE I WILL LIKELY GET INTO A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT , SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE I AM IN DANGER..I DO NOT HAVE MEANS OF OTHER TRANSPORTATION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/29/2015 - PALM DESERT, CA
AT THE ANNUAL SERVICE THE MERCEDES DEALER TESTED THE BRAKES AND INFORMED ME THE BRAKE SYSTEM SBC HAS FAILED. THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL AND HAS BEEN THE SUBJECT OF A RECALL/EXTENDED WARRANTY. IT'S AN APPROXIMATELY $4,000 DOLLAR REPAIR AND THEY CLAIMED TO HAVE JUST DISCOVERED IT ONLY MONTHS AFTER THE RECALL/EXTENDED WARRANTY HAS ENDED. THEY DO NOT WANT TO REPAIR THE BRAKES UNDER THE RECALL/EXTENDED WARRANTY ISSUE TO DO SO BUT HAVE SAID IT NEEDS TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE JUST UNDERWENT A RECALL/EXTENDED WARRANTY AUTHORIZED REPAIR FOR A LONG STANDING FUEL LEAK PROBLEM THE MONTH BEFORE. THERE REMAINS A STRONG SMELL OF FUEL IN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/26/2015 - HARVEY, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING AT 75 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND AND THE ABS WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 131,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/8/2015 - BAILEY, CO
THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH SENSOTRONIC BRAKE CONTROL THAT HAS A SERVICE THRESHOLD. WHEN THIS THRESHOLD IS REACHED THE BRAKE SYSTEM DEFAULTS TO NON POWER ASSISTED HYDRAULIC MODE TO THE FRONT WHEELS ONLY. THIS OCCURS WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING AND RESULTS IN INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCE. LOOK FOR MERCEDES SERVICE BULLETIN S142.46-P-0012A WHICH ADDRESSES THIS ISSUE. MERCEDES STOPPED INSTALLING THIS SYSTEM IN 2006. AT THE VERY LEAST, MERCEDES SHOULD ISSUE A MANDATORY RECALL TO INTERROGATE THESE VEHICLES WITH STAR DAS TO DETERMINE HOW CLOSE TO THE SERVICE THRESHOLD THE SBC UNIT IS AND REPLACE THEM AT THE DEALER'S EXPENSE. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/17/2015 - NEWINGTON, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE BRAKE PEDAL BECAME VERY LOOSE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE SENSOTRONIC BRAKE CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ALONG WITH THE ENTIRE HYDRAULIC BRAKE SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/9/2015 - ORLANDO , FL
THE FUEL LEAK, FUEL SENDER LEAKS, I DO NOT HAVE ENOUGH TO REPLACE ALL THOSE PARTS. IT SHOULD HAVE DEALER RESPONSIBILITY TO FIX THOSE ISSUES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds