Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2004 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2004 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (33) Tires (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (73) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (38) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/18/2014 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A FUEL ODOR PRESENT INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE WOULD OCCUR AFTER REFUELING. THE CONTACT THEN EJECTED THE ENTIRE REAR SEAT BENCH AND NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A PUDDLE OF FUEL WHERE THE FUEL TANK UNIT WAS LOCATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/8/2014 - APPLE VALLEY, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH AFTER REFUELING THE FUEL TANK, SHE SMELLED A STRONG FUEL ODOR. THE ODOR WAS PRESENT ON 35 OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,854.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/5/2014 - FRANKLIN, TN
WE DISCOVERED THAT THE CAR WAS LEAKING GAS. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER WHO TOLD US THAT THE GAS TANK IN THIS MODEL HAD A PROBLEM AND THAT IT WOULD BE QUITE EXPENSIVE TO FIX, APPROXIMATELY $2,000, HE ADVISED THAT THIS WILL LIKELY ONLY HAPPEN WHEN WE FILL THE TANK AND THAT WE COULD PREVENT THE PROBLEM BY NOT FILLING THE TANK FULL...WHICH WE HAVE DONE SINCE BUT IT IS A GREAT INCONVENIENCE AND IT SCARES US TO THINK THAT WE ARE DRIVING A CAR WITH A LEAKING GAS TANK. RECENTLY WE BECAME AWARE THAT THERE ARE MANY, MANY MORE OWNERS LIKE US AND THAT THERE WAS A COMPLAINT PROCESS THAT WE COULD USE WITH THE NTSB....I AM RESPONDING WITHIN 24 OF HOURS OF KNOWING THIS. THE MERCEDES DEALER WAS NOT FORTHCOMING ABOUT THIS AND DID NOT FULLY ADVISE US OF THE SERIOUSNESS OF THE PROBLEM AND WE ARE VERY DISAPPOINTED. WE ARE NOW EXPERIENCING ISSUES WITH THE CAR IN PASSING EMISSIONS TESTING IN TN (WHERE WE NOW LIVE)....FL DID NOT HAVE AN EMISSIONS TESTING POLICY. WE HAVE AN ESTIMATE FROM A CERTIFIED MERCEDES REPAIR SHOP THAT IT WILL COST ALMOST $2,000 TO FIX THIS PROBLEM AND WE FEEL THAT IT IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/5/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
IT'S BEEN ABOUT A YEAR. WHEN I FILL UP GAS, IT SMELLS NOT ONLY IN THE CAR ALSO IN THE GARAGE, EVEN SMELL IT IN THE ROOM ABOVE THE GARAGE. I'VE TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO FIX IT IN MERCEDES AUTO REPAIR SHOP, BUT IT STILL SMELLS. JUST RECENTLY FOUND OUT THERE ARE MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVING SAME PROBLEM, IT SEEMS A MANUFACTURE FAILURE, AND I WISH A SOLUTION BY MERCEDES SOON.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/25/2014 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE AFTER EACH COMPLETE FILL-UP. THIS VEHICLE IS ALWAYS IN THE GARAGE.AND ODOR LINGERS FOR SEVERAL DAYS FOLLOWING EACH FILL-UP. I HAVE CHANGED THE ENTIRE FUEL TANK ASSEMBLY AND THE PROBLEM IS STILL THERE.NO SMELL IF I FILL-UP TO NO MORE THAN 80% OF THE TANK CAPACITY. DATE AND MILEAGE ARE OF THE FIRST OCCURRENCE ARE AS SHOWN ARE ONLY AN ESTIMATE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - KINGSTON, NY
GASOLINE SMELL IN GARAGE AND INSIDE THE CABIN. READ ONLINE STATING THAT RECALL ON E CLASS FOR 2004 ON GAS TANK LEAKS OR FAULTY FUEL SENDING UNIT. HOWEVER, MB DENIED THERE IS ANY RECALL LINK TO THE VIN OF MY VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/30/2014 - CHANDLER, AZ
I HAVE AN ISSUE SIMILAR TO MANY OTHER W211 CHASSIS MERCEDES OWNERS. THE FUEL TANK LEAK/FUEL ODOR HAS BEEN GOING ON IN MY CAR AND THE DEALERSHIP REFUSES TO COVER THE COSTS OF REPAIR. THEY QUOTED A ~$2000+ REPAIR JOB FOR WHAT'S OBVIOUSLY A MANUFACTURE DEFECT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/16/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE AFTER EACH FILL-UP. THIS IS A GARAGED VEHICLE AND THE ODOR LINGERS FOR SEVERAL DAYS FOLLOWING EACH FILL-UP. IT IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN OCCURRING FOR A LONG TIME AND THE DATE/MILEAGE OF FIRST OCCURRENCE AS SHOWN ABOVE ARE ESTIMATES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/12/2014 - SEVERN, MD
I AM DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE WE?VE KNOWN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM ONLY FOR A SHORT TIME SINCE LAST YEAR WHEN WE WENT TO OUR DEALERSHIP THE COMPLAINT OF SMELLING GAS FUMES AFTER PUMPING GAS. WE SMELLED THE FUMES IN THE REAR CABIN AREA PRIMARILY. WE HAD THE DEALERSHIP AND A COUPLE OTHER CERTIFIED MERCEDES BENZ SHOPS LOOK AT THE ISSUE DETERMINING THAT THE SENDING UNIT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. WE WERE GOING TO DO THE SERVICE LATER AFTER ONE DEALERSHIP TOLD US TO JUST KEEP THE CAR HALF FULL WITH FUEL UNTIL YOU ARE READY TO COMPLETE THE SERVICE REPAIR FOR OVER $1,000 OUT OF OUR OWN POCKETS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/9/2014 - PALM DESERT, CA
THERE IS A VERY STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE FUMES EMANATING FROM THE AUTOMOBILE, ESPECIALLY OUTSIDE THE AUTO IT SEEMS FROM AROUND THE DRIVER'S SIDE AND REAR OF THE CAR. IT IS THERE ESPECIALLY AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK BUT CONTINUES EVEN AFTERWARDS. THE ODOR IS VERY STRONG AND THERE IS OBVIOUSLY A PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds