Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2004 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2004 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (33) Tires (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (73) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (38) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (2)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/30/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
AFTER FILLING UP THE FUEL TANK TO FULL, I NOTICED A VERY STRONG FUEL ODOR INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. DOES NOT MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE WHETHER THE CAR IS MOVING OR PARKED. THE PURGE VALVE FILTER WAS REPLACED BUT THE PROBLEM REMAINS. I USE THIS VEHICLE TO TRANSPORT MY NEWBORN SON DAILY. HIS CAR SEAT IS ON THE RIGHT REAR OF THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT, DIRECTLY NEXT TO THE FUEL FILLER AREA.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

12/30/2013 - RICHMOND , TX
VEHICLE HAS STRONG GASOLINE ODOR IN THE PASSENGER CABIN. APPEARS TO BE SIMILAR TO OTHER COMPLAINT REPORTS FOR SAME VEHICLE TYPE (E TYPE). NO GAS LEAKING BELOW VEHICLE. CONCERNED THAT FIRE MIGHT RESULT FROM SPARK IN THE CABIN OR NEAR THE CAR. SHOULDN'T THIS BE A RECALL ISSUE FOR PUBLIC SAFETY?

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/2/2013 - STONE MOUNTAIN, GA
AT EVERY REFUEL, I WOULD SMELL THE GAS FUMES IN THE CABIN OF THE CAR AND OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. THE SMELLS WERE STRONGEST IN THE BACK SEAT OF THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/27/2013 - TEMPE, AZ
FILLED UP THE VEHICLE AND DROVE IT APPROXIMATELY THREE MILES TO MY HOME, PARKED VEHICLE IN THE GARAGE. LATER THAT EVENING I NOTICED A VERY STRONG FUEL ODOR IN THE GARAGE. DID SOME RESEARCH ON A COUPLE MERCEDES OWNERS ONLINE FORUMS THAT INDICATE THAT FUEL LEAKAGE IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH MY 2003-2009 E SERIES MODELS. REMOVED THE VEHICLE REAR SEAT (FUEL TANK IS LOCATED UNDER SEAT) AND THE SCREWED-DOWN INSPECTION SEAL TO VIEW THE FUEL SENDING UNIT. OBSERVED A SIGNIFICANT QUANTITY OF FUEL PUDDLED ON THE TOP OF THE FUEL SENDING UNIT. SEE PHOTO AT: HTTP://SCREENCAST.COM/T/AUFW5K7LQZ CLEARLY THERE IS A FUEL LEAK AND FROM MY RESEARCH THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE 2003-2009 MERCEDES E SERIES MODELS. FROM WHAT I'VE SEEN, MERCEDES DEALERS WILL NOT REPAIR THIS ISSUE UNDER WARRANTY OR RECALL AND TYPICALLY CHARGE $1500-2500 FOR REPAIRS. HUNDREDS OF MERCEDES OWNER HAVE DOCUMENTED THIS ISSUE ON FORUMS AT MBWORLD.ORG AND BENZWORLD.COM 1. MBWORLD.ORG - HTTP://MBWORLD.ORG/FORUMS/W211-AMG/363759-URGENT-NOTICE-03-06-E55S-WERE-INVOLVED-FUEL-SENDER-RECALL-BOMBS.HTML 2. BENZWORLD.COM - HTTP://WWW.BENZWORLD.ORG/FORUMS/W211-E-CLASS/1602584-GAS-SMELL-AFTER-FILLING-UP-TANK.HTML THERE ARE MANY MORE THREADS LIKE THESE AND A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT WAS FILED AS WELL. HTTP://WWW.MERCEDESFUELTANKCLASSACTION.COM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/21/2013 - CAMBRIDGE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A GASOLINE ODOR WAS SMELLED AROUND THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/13/2013 - SEEKONK, MA
ON OPENING THE DRIVER'S DOOR FROM THE INSIDE, THE DRIVER SUFFERED A DEEP LACERATION OF THE MIDDLE FINGER AS A RESULT OF SHARP EDGES OF THE CHIPPING METAL COAT OF THE DOOR HANDLE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, IT APPEARS THAT THE PLATING OF THE INNER EDGE OF THE HANDLE IS DELAMINATING FROM THE PLASTIC STRUCTURE, LEAVING PROTRUDING, SHARP EDGES ON THE VERY PART OF THE HANDLE USED TO OPEN THE DOOR. THIS MAY ALSO BE A POTENTIAL SITE OF BACTERIAL INFECTIONS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/11/2013 - LAKELAND, FL
INSIDE OF MY VEHICLE BEGAN SMELLING STRONG GASOLINE ODOR PRESENTING A FIRE HAZARD. I FOUND SEVERE LEAKING AT SEAM AT TOP OF GAS TANK UNDER REAR SEAT OF MY VEHICLE & WAS REQUIRED TO REPLACE GAS TANK ASSEMBLY, FUEL PUMP SENSOR, FUEL PUMP & SEALS AT COST OF $2,014.00. I WAS TOLD THAT A CLASS ACTION SUIT AGAINST MERCEDES BENZ INVOLVING YEAR 2003 & LATER 320E AUTOS FOR THIS ISSUE WAS IN PROGRESS IN ATLANTA, GA. HOWEVER FLORIDA CARS (OWNERS) WERE EXCLUDED ON A TECHNICALITY!!. THIS DANGER EXISTS ON ALL CARS, WHEREVER LOCATED AND SHOULD BE IMMEDIATELY CORRECTED BY MERCEDES. THE DANGER OF EXPLOSION AND DEATH IS IMMINENT IN ANY OF THESE AUTOS. MERCEDES IS AND HAS BEEN AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM FOR QUITE SOME TIME AS WAS BROUGHT OUT IN THE CLASS ACTION SUIT AND UNDER OUR TRANSPORTATION SAFETY RULES SHOULD HAVE RECALLED THE AUTOS YEARS AGO. THIS IS A NATIONAL PROBLEM, AND FLORIDA AUTO OWNERS SHOULD BE PROPERLY COMPENSATED FOR THEIR LOSS AS SHOULD BE ANY OTHER OWNERS WHERE EVER LOCATED. YOUR ADVISE AND ASSISTANCE IN THIS MATTER WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED..

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/20/2013 - HACIENDA HEIGHTS, CA
AFTER I FILLED FULL TANK ON MY CAR, I NOTICED AFTER SEVERAL HOURS, THERE WAS GAS LEAKING BELOW THE REAR PASSENGER'S SEAT. THERE WERE A LOTS OF FUEL THAT WERE SPILLED, AND MY WHOLE GARAGE SMELLED STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/26/2013 - TUJUNGA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A STRONG GASOLINE FUEL ODOR EMITTED IN THE REAR SEATING AREA OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PERFORMED AN INSPECTION AND FOUND THAT THE PLASTIC CASTING OF THE FUEL PUMP INJECTOR VALVE TOP WAS FRACTURED AND CAUSED GASOLINE TO LEAK AND PENETRATE THE CABIN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 69,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/23/2013 - YORBA LINDA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A GASOLINE FUEL SMELL WAS IN THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE FUEL TANK HAD FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds