Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2004 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2004 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Suspension (4)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (33) Tires (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (73) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (2) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (38) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (2)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/12/2013 - BUCKEYE, AZ
FILLED UP MY CAR WITH GAS. CAME HOME, PARKED IT IN THE GARAGE. NEXT MORNING NOTICED A VERY STRONG FUEL ORDER IN GARAGE. TOOK IT TO MECHANIC AND SAID THE FUEL TANK WAS CRACKED AND LEAKING GAS VAPORS. SCARED ME AS MY NATURAL GAS WATER HEATER IS IN THE GARAGE AS WELL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/16/2013 - DALLAS, TX
CONSTANT STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE. OUTSIDE THE CAR AND INSIDE THE CAR COMING FROM THE BACK SEAT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/30/2013 - EWA BEACH, HI
I OWN A 2004 E320 WITH ONLY 44,652 MILES. AFTER EVERY FILL UP STRONG ORDER OF GAS FROM LEFT SIDE NEAR BACK SEAT AREA ALSO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL ALWAYS COMES ON. I TOOK CAR TO A MB MECHANIC TRAINED BY MB HE REMOVED THE REAR SEAT AND LEFT FUEL SENDING UNIT COVER , FOUND A HUGE PUDDLE OF GAS ON AND ROUND GAS TANK PUMP AREA. I WAS TOLD THE PUMP SEAL WAS NO GOOD, I HAD THE PUMP AND SEAL REPLACED, FILLED TANK AGAIN WITH THE SAME RESULT. FINALLY, LAST FRIDAY, WITH THE SEAT AND SENDING UNIT COVER OFF WE FILLED THE TANK AND DROVE THE TWO MILES BACK TO THE MECHANIC SHOP, WHEN WE ARRIVED THE WHOLE AREA AROUND THE PUMP WAS FULL OF FUEL, UPON INSPECTION ONE COULD SEE THE FUEL RUNNING FROM THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK AND PUDDLE AROUND BASE OF THE FUEL PUMP. WE VIDEO THE FUEL RUNNING FROM TOP OF THE FUEL TANK. CONTACTED LOCAL MB DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE BUT WAS TOLD THERE IS NO WARRANTY ON VEHICLE. THE DEALER WILL INSPECT AND REPAIR THE VEHICLE BUT THE EXPENSE WILL BE ON ME. I DON'T ALLOW ANYONE IN MY FAMILY TO DRIVE THIS CAR BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESS.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: SEAT HEATER/COOLER

7/30/2013 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
2004 MERCEDES BENZ E320. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SEAT HEATER MALFUNCTION. THE CONSUMER STATED SHE TURNED ON THE SEAT HEATER. MINUTES LATER, SHE BEGAN TO FEEL HEAT UNDER HER LEFT THIGH AND A BURNING SMELL, SO SHE REACHED DOWN TO TOUCH THE SEAT, AND QUICKLY DREW HER HAND BACK AS SHE BURNED THE EDGE OF HER FINGERS. SHE IMMEDIATELY TURNED OFF THE SEAT HEATER AS THAT WAS THE ONLY THING SHE COULD THINK OF, THAT MIGHT HAVE CAUSED THE EXTREME HEAT. SHE PULLED OFF THE ROAD AND JUMPED OUT OF THE VEHICLE. BY THEN, THERE WAS A FINGER SIZE HOLE IN THE LEFT SIDE OF THE LEATHER SEAT AND THE INSIDE OF THE HOLE WAS GLOWING RED AND SMOKE WAS RISING OUT OF THE HOLE. THE CONSUMER ALSO REALIZED THE BOTTOM LEFT EDGE OF HER COAT WAS ALSO BURNING, AND SHE QUICKLY PUT IT OUT. THE DEALER CONFIRMED, THE CAUSE OF THE HOLE WAS THE SEAT HEATER.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/26/2013 - EWA BEACH, HI
AFTER FILLING FUEL TANK, FUEL LEAKING FROM TOP OF THE FUEL TANK INTO PANEL UNDER THE REAR SEAT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2013 - GILBERT, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER REFUELING, FUEL WAS SMELLED WHILE IN THE CABIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/10/2013 - DERRY, NH
STRONG ORDER OF GAS FROM LEFT SIDE NEAR BACK SEAT AREA , ALWAYS AFTER FILL UP , THOUGHT JUST LOOSE GAS CAP , REMOVED REAR SEAT AND LEFT FUEL SENDING UNIT COVER , FOUND PUDDLE OF GAS ON AND ROUND GAS TANK . WAS TOLD FROM DEALER PARTS DEPT , VERY COMMON FOR SEAL TO WEEP , REPLACED ,BUT STILL SAME PROBLEM , AFTER LAST FILL UP , DRIED AROUND PUMP AND GAS JUST WEEPED THOUGH TOP OF SENDING UNIT , HAIR LINE CRACK I ASSUME , WILL REPLACE SENDING UNIT MYSELF . DISAPPOINTED THAT THIS DOESN'T MEET RECALL STANDARDS PER MERCEDES.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

5/29/2013 - HYDE PARK, NY
REFERENCE!!! PE 12001. HAVING PROBLEMS PREVIOUSLY COMPLAINED ABOUT STRONG ODOR OF GAS FROM CAR WHEN IN GARAGE AND ALSO KIDS COMPLAIN OF STRONG FUME ODOR ESPECIALLY IN BACKSEAT DRIVERS SIDE!!! NOW HAVING PROBLEMS W THE SEAL OF GAS CAP!?! SOME RESEARCH SHOWED THAT A FUEL LEAK WILL MAKE CAR REPORT GAS CAP LOOSE--( WHEN IT'S NOT). HAPPENS DAILY NOW'!! PLEAS CREATE A RECALL-- BLOGS LIKE CRAZY ABOUT OTHER E CLASS OWNERS EXPERIENCING SAME EXACT PROBLEMS'!!!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/23/2013 - HYDE PARK, NY
CONSTANT PROBLEMS WITH FUMES/FUEL LEAK?? THE ENTIRE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT FILLS WITH STRONG FUMES AFTER FILLING GAS TANK OR WHEN NEAR EMPTY?? HAVE HAD IT CHECKED FOR LEAKS MULTIPLE TIMES WITHOUT LOCATING ANY LEAKS ONGOING PROBLEM--AT TIMES ITS IMPOSSIBLE TO SIT IN THE BACKSEAT OF THE CAR THE FUMES ARE SO STRONG!!! AND THE GARAGE IS FILLED WITH THE SMELL OF GASOLINE YET NO LEAK OR SPILL ANYWHERE???

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2013 - ANNAPOLIS, MD
WHILE TRAVELING ON THE WASHINGTON DC BELTWAY IN THE FAST LANE, IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN LEAVING US STRANDED IN VERY HEAVY TRAFFIC. NEEDLESS TO SAY, THIS WAS A VERY PRECARIOUS POSITION. FORTUNATELY, POLICE ASSISTANCE ARRIVED AND CALLED A TOWING SERVICE AND GOT US OUT OF HARM'S WAY. THE PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED AS A FAILED CRANK SHAFT POSITION SENSOR. THIS RESULTS IN THE COMPUTER TURNING OFF THE IGNITION CREATING AN OBVIOUSLY HAZARDOUS SITUATION. I REPORTED THIS TO MERCEDES CUSTOMER SERVICE, BUT THEY'RE REACTION WAS THAT THIS OCCURS INFREQUENTLY, BUT THEY WERE AWARE THAT IT DOES HAPPEN. SO I AM NOTIFYING YOU FOR YOUR INFORMATION.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds