Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 896 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (9) Latches Locks Linkages (13) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (155) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (166) Fuel Propulsion System (30) Power Train (61) Steering (449) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel System Gasoline (36) Seat Belts (5) Structure (11) Visibility (6)
Engine (47) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (61) Suspension (20) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (39) Tires (5) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 127
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/16/2019 - JUNCTION, TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATES THAT WHILE AT A COMPLETE STOP, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND THE ENGINE COMPLETELY FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT AN 18 WHEELER TRUCK TAPPED THE BACK OF HER VEHICLE. NO AIR BAG DEPLOYED AS A RESULT OF THE IMPACT, NO INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED, NO MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NEEDED, AND THERE WAS NO POLICE REPORT FILED. THE CONTACT HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING THIS FAILURE SEVERAL TIMES PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT. THE CONTACT HAS TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO A DEALERSHIP (CECIL ATKISSION MOTORS - KERRVILLE+ CHEVROLET, CADILLAC AND BUICK 550 BENSON DR, KERRVILLE, TX 78028 (866) 240-2964) WHERE THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED.THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE; THERE ARE NO RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THIS VIN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000. JO

View Details

STEERING

6/5/2019 - FERDINAND, IN
STEERING SHAFT INADEQUATE SUPPORT OF U-JOINT. THE STEERING WHEEL SHAKES GOING DOWN THE ROAD. YOU CAN FEEL A CLICKING IN IT WHEN YOU TURN. IT+S LIKE THE STEERING WHEEL COULD BREAK OR SOMETHING. ALSO EVERY NOW AND THEN THERE IS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER STEERING. POWER STEERING GOES OUT AND STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP. IT+S DONE THIS NUMEROUS TIMES OVER THE YEARS. AND WHEN WE TAKE IT IN THEY SAY THE RECALL WON+T COVER IT. I+VE TRIED CALLING DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY THEIRS NO OPEN RECALLS FOR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/5/2019 - FERDINAND, IN
STEERING SHAFT INADEQUATE SUPPORT OF U-JOINT. THE STEERING WHEEL SHAKES GOING DOWN THE ROAD. YOU CAN FEEL A CLICKING IN IT WHEN YOU TURN. IT+S LIKE THE STEERING WHEEL COULD BREAK OR SOMETHING. ALSO EVERY NOW AND THEN THERE IS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER STEERING. POWER STEERING GOES OUT AND STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP. IT+S DONE THIS NUMEROUS TIMES OVER THE YEARS. AND WHEN WE TAKE IT IN THEY SAY THE RECALL WON+T COVER IT. I+VE TRIED CALLING DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY THEIRS NO OPEN RECALLS FOR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

5/16/2019 - FLEETWOOD, PA
WHILE PULLING INTO A DRIVEWAY, IT APPEARED AS THOUGH THE POWER STEERING STOPPED WORKING, IE. VERY HARD TO STEER. THEN THERE WAS A VERY LOUD "BANG", AND THE STEERING WHEEL JUST, FREEWHEELED, WITH LOUD "CLICKS" AS IT TURNED. THERE WAS NO STEERING IN EITHER DIRECTION. LUCKILY, I WASN'T AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. IT APPEARS THAT THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT ON THE STEERING COLUMN BROKE. THIS WAS A RECALL ITEM FROM 2014. WE BOUGHT THE CAR NOV. 2018. THE LOCAL DEALER TOLD ME THAT THE RECALL EXPIRED IN 2017. A RECALL EXPIRED??? AND A STEERING COLUMN BROKE??? THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE ADDRESSED MY GM, WITHOUT AN EXPIRATION. NOT TO MENTION, ARE THE REPLACEMENT PARTS IDENTICAL TO THE PART THEY REPLACE? OR HAS THE DEFECT BEEN RE-ENGINEERED TO NOT HAPPEN AGAIN. REPORTS I'VE NOW READ CONCERNING THIS ISSUE, STATE THAT THE SAME CONDITION RE-OCCURS IN LESS THAN 20,000 MILES. THIS SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED A "WEAR AND TEAR" ITEM. THIS IS A GM ENGINEERING DEFECT AND MUST BE ADDRESSED BY GM.

View Details

STEERING

4/30/2019 - SUMTER, SC
WARNING MESSAGE IS PRESENTED IN CARS MESSAGE BOARD STATING IMPENDING POWER STEERING FAILURE. PREVIOUS RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE WAS DATED MAR 2014. CAR IS STILL SHOWING THE SAME SIGNS AS BEFORE THE RECALL. RECALL ISSUE DESCRIBED BELOW: IF POWER STEERING ASSIST IS LOST, GREATER DRIVER EFFORT WOULD BE REQUIRED TO STEER THE VEHICLE AT LOW SPEEDS, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH.STEERING:ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

View Details

STEERING

4/27/2019 - SIERRA VISTA, AZ
AT FIRST MY POWER STEERING WARNING COME ON AND THE WHEEL WOULDN'T TURN I COULD TAKE THE KEY OUT AND LET IT SET A BIT AND THE NEXT TIME I STARTED IT NO ISSUES, THEN IT STARTED WITH THE STEERING WHEEL BOUNCING HORRIBLE WHEN I WAS AT A STOP LIGHT DRIVING THERE'S A TERRIBLE GRINDING IN THE STEERING THAT HAS ONLY GOTTEN WORSE AND NOW IT DOES IT ALL THE TIME AND LOCKS UP WHILE IN PARK.

View Details

STEERING

4/10/2019 - DANVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE STEERING LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 140,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/8/2019 - CLARKESVILLE, GA
TURNING LEFT OFF THE HIGHWAY ONTO A ROAD THE STEERING FROZE. I HAD TO STOP AND BACK UP TO RELEASE THE STEERING. THIS HAS HAPPENED 2 OR 3 TIMES BOTH RIGHT OR LEFT TURN. THE STEERING COLUMN IS MAKING A NOISE AND I BELIEVE IT IS THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT. MAYPLOE CHEV REPLACED THE STEERING COLUMN.

View Details

STEERING

4/3/2019 - LOUISVILLE, KY
WHY IS MY STEERING KEEP COMING ON AND LOCKING UP WHY I HAVE TO GET IT FIX TWICE IN2 YEARS

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HOOD

3/19/2019 - CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET MALIBU. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED. IF THE VEHICLE WAS TOO HOT, THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START AND THE GEAR SHIFT DID NOT MOVE. THE VEHICLE ALSO LEAKED ANTI-FREEZE. THE CONTACT HAD TO PUMP THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER FOR THE LEVER TO OPERATE. ALSO, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO EAST PAT O'BRIEN CHEVROLET (2810 BISHOP RD, WILLOUGHBY HILLS, OH 44092, (440) 348-0553) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HOOD RELEASE WAS FRACTURED AND THE EGL SENSOR WAS SEPARATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS INVALID.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 127
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds