Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2005 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 754 complaints filed for the 2005 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (19)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Other (2) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (530)
Electrical System (29) Fuel Propulsion System (28) Power Train (123) Structure (21) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (65) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (23) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 97
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/12/2019 - GREER, SC
THE RPM GAUGE REVS AND SPEEDOMETER GAUGE NEEDLE BOTH BEGIN TO RISE BY THEMSELVES. THIS HAPPENS EITHER IMMEDIATELY AS THE VEHICLE IS STARTED OR 1-5 MILES AFTER SHIFTED INTO 'DRIVE'. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES BY ITSELF. THE VEHICLE CONTINUES TO ACCELERATE, CLIMBING TO HIGHER AND HIGHER SPEEDS WHILE THE CAR'S IGNITION IS ON. THE DRIVER JUST STARTS THE CAR AND WITHOUT PUSHING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE CAR BEGINS TO ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN. YOU MUST KEEP YOUR FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND THE CAR IN PARK WHILE THE CAR IS ON. TO KEEP THE CAR FROM DRIVING ON ITS OWN WHEN IT IS SHIFTED INTO 'DRIVE' OR 'REVERSE', DRIVER MUST KEEP BRAKE PEDAL FIRMLY PRESSED. CAR IS NOT DRIVABLE IN IT'S CURRENT CONDITION BECAUSE IT IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/22/2019 - TEMPE, AZ
THE BRAKES DON'T STOP THE CAR AS THEY SHOULD NORMALLY. THEY TAKE A WHILE TO STOP THE CAR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/29/2019 - ST ANTHONY PARK, MN
I WAS LEAVING THE GROCERY STORE AND DRIVING DOWN A LOCAL ROAD WHEN I REALIZED THAT I WAS ACCELERATING WITHOUT HAVING MY FOOT ON THE GAS PEDAL. THIS HAD HAPPENED TWICE BEFORE IN THE PREVIOUS FEW WEEKS BUT FAR LESS SEVERE. THIS TIME I HAD TO KEEP MY FOOT HEAVY ON THE BRAKES TO MAINTAIN CONTROL. FORTUNATELY I WAS NEAR HOME AND MANAGED TO GET MY CAR HOME WITHOUT INCIDENT, ALTHOUGH I SAW THAT I HAD SUDDENLY DEVELOPED A FLAT ON MY FRONT LEFT TIRE. THIS HAD BEEN A PROBLEM THE PREVIOUS YEAR AND WHEN I TOOK IT INTO THE SHOP I WAS TOLD THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE WAS CAUSING THE PROBLEM. I HAD THE CAR TAKEN IN (MAY 20, 2019) AFTER THE TWO MINOR INCIDENTS THE PREVIOUS WEEK BUT THE REPAIR SHOP COULDN'T FIND THE PROBLEM SO I TOOK THE CAR BACK PROMISING TO COME BACK IF IT ACTED UP AGAIN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/24/2019 - FARMINGTON HILLS, MI
THE 2005 FORD TAURUS HAS REPEATEDLY ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN - 6 EXPERIENCES WITH THIS TERRIFYING EXPERIENCE - EACH TIME, MY DAUGHTER'S FOOT WAS NOT ON THE ACCELERATOR BUT THE CAR WAS INCREASING IN SPEED. SHE HAD TO APPLY A TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE TO SLOW THEN STOP THE VEHICLE. ONCE THE TAURUS WAS PLACED IN "PARK", THE ENGINE ROARED HORRIBLY - EACH TIME EXACTLY THE SAME ROAR.. AGAIN, THIS PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED TO THE VEHICLE 6 TIMES - WITH NO ANSWERS PROVIDED FOR THIS PROBLEM. EACH TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED, THE VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING BETWEEN 35 - 40 MPH. THIS IS MY THIRD TIME REPORTING THE PROBLEM. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY ANSWERS REGARDING THE PROBLEM. THERE HASN'T BEEN FURTHER INVESTIGATION INTO THIS DANGEROUS PROBLEM. I HAVE FOUND ON LINE THAT THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN PRESENTED TO OTHER FORD TAURUS OWNERS FOR THEIR 2005 FORD TAURUS, YET THE ISSUE HAS NOT BEEN INVESTIGATED. WHY ISN'T THIS PROBLEM BEING INVESTIGATED?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/9/2019 - AUSTIN, TX
SEEMS AS IF THE CAR ACCELERATOR GET STUCK. CAR SLOWLY BEGINS TO INCREASE IN SPEED. WHEN FOOT IS TAKEN OFF OF THE PEDAL CAR CONTINUES TO INCREASE IN SPEED, EVEN WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKE. I TAKE A LOOK UNDER THE HOOD AND FROM WHAT I CAN SEE THERE IS A PLASTIC PIECE CONNECTED TO THE ACCELERATOR CABLE THE BECOMES DETACHED FROM THE ACTUAL ACCELERATOR BRACKET SO TO SPEAK. IDK WHAT ACTUAL TERMINOLOGY IS. IT IS VERY HARD TO AND GET THE ACCELERATOR OUT OF THE STUCK POSITION. ONLY WAY I HAVE HAD SUCCESS WITH GETTING THE ACCELERATOR OUT OF THE STUCK POSITION IS TO VERY RAPIDLY PRESS PEDAL TO FLOOR AND RELEASE. ONLY THEN IT RELEASES FROM THE STUCK POSITION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/10/2019 - KALISPELL, MT
"TAKARA RECALL" MY THROTTLE HAS BEEN STICKING AND NOT RELEASING AND WHEN I THROW IT IN NEUTRAL IT IDLES AT 4000RPMS AND ONLY SOMETIMES WILL IT KICK DOWN MOST OF THE TIME IT KILLS THE ENGINE WHEN IT KICKS DOWN EVEN WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD GOING 45MPH.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/29/2019 - GROVE CITY, OH
AFTER DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE CAR BEGAN TO ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN WHILE TRYING TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP OFF THE EXIT. THE CAR BEGAN TO ACCELERATE EVEN MORE PULLING FORWARD ALTHOUGH I WAS PUSHING DOWN THE BRAKES AS HARD AS I COULD AND THE CAR STILL DROVE FORWARD NOT ALLOWING ME TO STOP UNTIL I PULLED THE GEAR INTO NEUTRAL TO ALLOW ME TO SLOW DOWN. I ALMOST CRASHED RIGHT INTO ANOTHER CAR BECAUSE THE ACCELERATOR WOULD NOT ALLOW ME TO BRAKE (WITH MY CHILD IN THE CAR AS WELL). IT HAPPENED AGAIN THE NEXT DAY, AND IS STILL A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE. I FEAR FOR MY LIFE AND REFUSE TO DRIVE THIS CAR WITH MY CHILDREN IN IT AS WELL AS THE SAFETY OF OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROAD. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND IT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AND RECALLED IMMEDIATELY. SOMEONE IS GOING TO END UP SERIOUSLY HURT OR DEAD BECAUSE OF THIS SEVERELY DANGEROUS ISSUE. PLEASE DO SOMETHING! ALSO, WHEN PUTTING THE CAR IN PARK THE RPM REV'S UP TO 3000/4000 EVEN AFTER TURN OFF THE CAR AND RESTARTING IT. THE CAR IS CURRENTLY AT 95,280 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

3/20/2019 - LAWNDALE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD TAURUS. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE RPMS INCREASED AND THE FUEL CAP AND CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO DRIVE, IT LUNGED FORWARD. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2019 - LAWNDALE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD TAURUS. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE RPMS INCREASED AND THE FUEL CAP AND CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO DRIVE, IT LUNGED FORWARD. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/11/2019 - ANTHEM, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 97
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds