Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2006 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 304 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (4) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seats (1) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (176)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (14) Suspension (3) Visibility (6)
Engine (23) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Power Train (30) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/14/2019 - MOGADORE, OH
VEHICLE ACCELERATES ON ITS OWN WITHOUT TOUCHING GAS IT INCREASES TO 40-60 MPH HIGH RPM IN NEUTRAL OR PARK WHILE DRIVING IT INCREASES SPEED ON ITS OWN. NEARLY REAR ENDED ANOTHER CAR AT LIGHT TODAY AS I TOOK FOOT OFF BRAKE IT JUMPED TO 20 MPH CAR HAS 68,000 MILES WELL MAINTAINED

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/24/2018 - NICHOLASVILLE, KY
WHILE DRIVING OVER 45MPH THE ACCELERATOR STICKS. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES . IT ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN WHILE I WAS TRYING TO PARK AT WORK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/18/2018 - STATE COLLEGE, PA
I WAS DRIVING ON A 2-LANE HIGHWAY WITH A RELATIVELY STEEP DOWNHILL GRADE. I NOTICED THAT THE CAR WAS ACCELERATING EVEN THOUGH I WAS NOT PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR. I THOUGHT AT FIRST THAT IT WAS JUST ACCELERATION DUE TO GRAVITY, BUT I QUICKLY REALIZED THAT THE THROTTLE MUST BE OPEN SINCE I WAS QUICKLY ACCELERATING TO SPEEDS ABOVE 65MPH, AND THE BRAKES WERE NOT AS EFFECTIVE AS THEY WOULD HAVE BEEN IF THE ACCELERATION WERE DUE ONLY TO THE HILL. I SAW A PLACE UP AHEAD TO PULL OVER, BUT I HAD TO PRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL VERY HARD IN ORDER TO SLOW DOWN AND STOP. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK VERY QUICKLY AND TURNED IT OFF SINCE THE ENGINE WAS RACING. THERE WAS A GREAT DEAL OF SMOKE COMING FROM MY FRONT BRAKES, WHICH WAS VERY DISCONCERTING. I LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD AND FOUND THAT THE CRUISE CONTROL CABLE HAD COME UNFASTENED AND HAD CAUSED THE THROTTLE TO STICK OPEN. THIS SEEMS VERY DANGEROUS AND I FEEL FORTUNATE THAT THIS DID NOT CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/31/2018 - LAKEVILLE, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT DISCONNECTED THE SPEED CONTROL CABLE. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND DEALER STATED COTACT WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR IT BECAUSE IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/8/2018 - OVERLAND PARK, KS
WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE CAR THE THROTTLE CABLE GOT STUCK WITH THE CRUISE CABLE AND THE RPM RAISED TO 5000 AND DOESN'T COME DOWN. I SWITCHED THE GEARS BACK TO 1ST AND BROUGHT IT TO SLOW DOWN. LUCKILY THERE WERE NOT MUCH TRAFFIC OTHERWISE THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED A VERY BAD ACCIDENT. I REPORTED THIS ISSUE TO FORD AND THEY INITIALLY DIDN'T TAKE IT SERIOUS. BUT AFTER I PUT IN WRITING TO BOB ALLEN FORD IN OVERLAND PARK THEY MENTIONED THAT A SERVICE MANAGER WILL CALL TO DISCUSS THIS ISSUE FURTHER. I ASKED THEM IF THERE ARE ANY RECALLS AND THEY ASKED FOR THE VIN NUMBER AND THEY SAID THERE ARE NONE. HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=Z1U1FGABDW4

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

3/14/2018 - VASSALBORO , ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD TAURUS EQUIPPED WITH HANKOOK OPTIMO H727 TIRES, SIZE: 215/60R16 (NA). WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEEL BELTS PUNCTURED THE SIDE OF THE FRONT DRIVER'S TIRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRILL SHOCK TOWER MOUNT WAS MISALIGNED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE MADE A HOWLING SOUND WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. DUE TO THE FAILURE, THE TIRE WAS REPLACED ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION. BALISE MOTOR SALES IN SPRINGFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE SHOCK TOWER MOUNT NEEDED TO BE DRILLED IN ORDER TO PERFORM A FOUR WHEEL ALIGNMENT TO PREVENT PREMATURE WEAR OF THE TIRES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND RECOMMENDED THAT THE CONTACT REPLACE THE STRUTS. THE VIN AND DOT NUMBER WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 31,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/30/2018 - FORT ANN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD TAURUS. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, IT ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. ALSO, THE CRUISE CONTROL FAILED TO OPERATE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS PLACED IN NEUTRAL AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 116,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/20/2018 - OMAHA, NE
CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING & THEN A COUPLE WEEKS LATER WHILE DRIVING UP A HILL THE ACCELERATOR TOOK OFF BY ITSELF LIKE THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS ON, WHEN I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. IN A PANIC I SHIFTED THE CAR INTO NEUTRAL & THE ENGINE REV'D UP TO OVER 4000 RPM IT THEN QUIT ACCERATING BY ITSELF. 3 DAYS LATER IT DOES IT AGAIN, ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN WITH MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. LUCKILY FOR ME THERE WAS NO CAR IN FRONT OF ME. DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO DIE IN ORDER FOR A RECALL TO BE ORDERED?????

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/18/2017 - PORTOLA VALLEY, CA
FORD MOTOR COMPANY SOLD MY VEHICLE WITH A LIFE-THREATENING DESIGN DEFECT IN THE BRAKING SYSTEM. THIS DESIGN DEFECT COMPRISES A PLASTIC COVER OVER THE STAINLESS STEEL HYDRAULIC BRAKE LINES WHERE THOSE LINES PASS FROM THE FRONT OF THE CAR TO ITS REAR BENEATH THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. THE OSTENSIBLE PURPOSE OF THE PLASTIC COVER IS UNKNOWN TO ME, BUT ITS ACTUAL FUNCTION IS TWOFOLD. FIRST, IT TRAPS MOISTURE AND ROAD SALT TO CAUSE RAPID CORROSION OF THE STAINLESS STEEL BRAKE LINES, WHICH CORROSION EVENTUALLY CAUSES THE LINES TO RUST COMPLETELY THROUGH, CAUSING ONE OR BOTH LINES TO BURST UPON APPLICATION OF THE BRAKES, RESULTING IN SUDDEN AND COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE. SECOND, THE PLASTIC COVER HIDES THAT CORROSION FROM VIEW SO THAT CAREFUL VISUAL INSPECTION DOES NOT REVEAL THE CORROSION PROBLEM. ACCORDING TO THE KNOWLEDGEABLE MECHANIC WHO REPAIRED MY BRAKES AND WHO HAS EXPERIENCE WITH THIS PROBLEM, THE DESIGN DEFECT APPLIES TO BOTH FORD TAURUS AND FORD FOCUS MODELS. THAT MECHANIC HAS IN THE PAST URGED FORD TO RECALL THESE CARS BUT FORD HAS TO DATE REFUSED TO DO SO. PRESUMABLY THE DESIGN DEFECT OCCURS ALSO IN THE MERCURY SABLE WHICH IS MERCURY+S TWIN TO THE FORD TAURUS. THIS DESIGN DEFECT CAUSE MY BRAKES TO FAIL SUDDENLY AND COMPLETELY, CAUSING ME TO HIT ANOTHER CAR. FORTUNATELY THE DAMAGE RESULTED IN NO PERSONAL INJURIES, BUT IT CAUSE THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS IN DAMAGE TO MY CAR AND PRESUMABLY COMPARABLE DAMAGE TO THE OTHER CAR. BUT IF THE BRAKE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED AS I WAS APPROACHING A STOP SIGN OR STOP LIGHT, OR IF I HAD BEEN BRAKING FOR A PEDESTRIAN, IT COULD HAVE RESULTED IN PERSONAL INJURY OR DEATH. I AM ATTACHING THREE PHOTO FILES, ONE TAKEN AT THE REPAIR SHOP WHERE I HAD THE BRAKE REPAIR DONE, THE SECOND A MARKED-UP COPY OF THE SAME PHOTO, THE THIRD A ZOOMED-IN PORTION OF THE FIRST PHOTO SHOWING THE SITE OF THE BRAKE LINE RUPTURE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/15/2017 - EMERYVILLE, CA
2/15/17- WHILE COASTING UP-HILL WITH FOOT NOT ON THE GAS, CAR ACCELERATED TO OVER 4,000 RPM ALL BY ITSELF, BRAKING WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT. I PARKED, TURNED CAR OFF, TURNED IT BACK ON AND EVEN WHILE PARKED IT REVVED BACK UP TO OVER 4,000 RPM. TOOK IT TO FIRESTONE ON 2/16/17- THEY REPLACED THE IAC (IDLE AIR CONTROL) VALVE. 3/3/17- WHILE IDLING AT RED LIGHT WITH FOOT NOT ON THE GAS, CAR ACCELERATED/ REVVED UP TO OVER 4,000 RPM ALL BY ITSELF. HAD TO PRESS ON BRAKE VERY HARD AND TURN CAR OFF. TURNED IT BACK ON AND IT WAS NO LONGER ACCELERATING. 3/4/14 TOOK IT TO A DIFFERENT FIRESTONE. THEY ADJUSTED CRUISE CONTROL CABLE. 9/3/17- WHILE IDLING ON A BRIDGE WITH FOOT NOT ON THE GAS, CAR ACCELERATED/ REVVED UP TO OVER 3,000 RPM ALL BY ITSELF. BRAKING WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT AND HAD TO TURN CAR OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. TURNED IT BACK ON AND IT WAS NO LONGER ACCELERATING BY ITSELF. 9/4/17 TOOK IT TO FIRESTONE. THEY ORDERED A NEW IAC VALVE AND REPLACED IT ON 9/7/17. 10/14/17- WHILE IDLING IN TRAFFIC WITH FOOT VERY LIGHT ON BRAKE, CAR ACCELERATED/ REVVED UP TO OVER 4,000 RPM ALL BY ITSELF. HAD TO QUICKLY TURN CAR OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC TO STOP IT. TURNED CAR BACK ON AND IT WAS NO LONGER ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN. THE CONSUMER STATED ANOTHER FAILURE OCCURRED ON 10/28/2017

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds