Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 2400 complaints filed for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (68) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (502) Traction Control System (38)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (137) Power Train (71) Service Brakes Hydraulic (875) Unknown Or Other (68)
Electrical System (144) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Seat Belts (14) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (273)
Electronic Stability Control (43) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (4) Structure (29) Visibility (14)
Engine (106) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (307) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (32) Hybrid Propulsion System (22) Service Brakes Air (21) Tires (15) Wheels (11)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 290
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/16/2019 - RICHMOND, VA
+TAKATA RECALL+ AS I WAS MERGING ON THE HIGHWAY THIS MORNING I GOT THE BIG WARNING LIGHT ON MY DASH AND THE ENGINE LIGHT ALONG WITH A MESSAGE ON MY SCREEN SAYING CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM. EVER SINCE MY HYBRID SYSTEM SHUT DOWN AND NEVER CAME BACK ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/2/2019 - PARKVILLE, MO
EVEN THOUGH THE BREAKS SEEM FINE, THE ELECTRIC BREAK SYSTEM DOES WORK AT ALL. ALL LIGHTS ARE ON AND THE BREAKS PEDALS FEELS LOOSE. WHEN I PUSH THE BREAKS THE VEHICLE KEEPS GOING. THE ABS WARNING LIGHT IS ON AS WELL AS ALL THE OTHER LIGHTS REGARDING TO BREAKS AND STABILITY MECHANISMS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/2/2019 - PARKVILLE, MO
EVEN THOUGH THE BREAKS SEEM FINE, THE ELECTRIC BREAK SYSTEM DOES WORK AT ALL. ALL LIGHTS ARE ON AND THE BREAKS PEDALS FEELS LOOSE. WHEN I PUSH THE BREAKS THE VEHICLE KEEPS GOING. THE ABS WARNING LIGHT IS ON AS WELL AS ALL THE OTHER LIGHTS REGARDING TO BREAKS AND STABILITY MECHANISMS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/2/2019 - PARKVILLE, MO
EVEN THOUGH THE BREAK PADS ARE NEW, THE BREAKS ARE NOT WORKING AT ALL WHEN VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. THEY DO NOT FEEL TIGHT. THE VEHICLE LOOSES STABILITY IN CURVES AT A LOW SPEED ( SLIPS) AND KEEPS MOVING EVEN WHEN BREAKS ARE PUSHED TO THE END. ALL THE BREAK LIGHTS ARE ON. THERE ARE SEVERAL RECALLS REGARDING THE BREAKS OF THIS VEHICLE YEAR 2010 AND NONE APPLIES TO THE VEHICLE VIN NUMBER. IT IT NOT RELIABLE AT ALL IN THE HIGHWAY. IN ORDER TO BRAKE THE SPEED MUST BE VERY SLOW AND THE DISTANCE MUST BE WAY MORE THAN NORMAL

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/26/2019 - OBERLIN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN FROM THE CRASH SITE TO THE RESIDENCE. SUNNYSIDE TOYOTA LOCATED AT 27000 LORAIN RD, NORTH OLMSTED, OH 44070, (440) 777-9911, WAS CONTACTED AND AN APPOINTMENT WAS SCHEDULED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE DIAGNOSED WHICH WAS STILL PENDING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED OR NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/23/2019 - APEX, NC
ALL BRAKE, ABS, AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS CAME ON. CHECKED ABS CODE AND RECEIVED C1391. MECHANIC CAN HERE THE ACTUATOR CONTINUOUSLY RUNNING AND BELIEVE THE PUMP/ACTUATOR IS BAD. I HAVE SEEN THIS RECALLED ON 2010 MADE BETWEEN MARCH 2009, AND OCTOBER 2009. MY MANUFACTURE DATE IS SEPT 2010. VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION WHEN THE LIGHTS CAME ON. THE CAR BECAME HARD TO STOP AND REGENERATIVE BRAKING IS NO LONGER WORKING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/18/2019 - VISALIA, CA
CAR WORKED FLAWLESSLY AND WE MAINTAINED IT REGULARLY. TOOK IT IN TO ADDRESS RECALL OF JOV UPDATE PWR MGMT ECU AT DEALER. DEALER COMPLETED RECALL WORK. 2 DAYS LATER ENGINE LITE CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM AND THE ! ON AND TRIANGLE ON. THE CAR CONTINUED RUN BUT NOW WAS STUDDERING WHEN WAS NOT BEFORE THE RECALL WORK. TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND HE SAID WE NEED A NEW HYBRID BATTERY. WE BELIEVE THE SOFTWARE UPDATE THEY DID CREATED A THIS ISSUE. DEALER ACTING IGNORANT AND SAYING IT NEEDS NEW BATTERY BECAUSE OF NUMBER OF MILES ON CAR. ASKED FOR DIAGNOSTIC PRINT OUT FROM WHEN THEY DID RECALL WORK TO THEY NEW DIAGNOSIS AND THEY WOULD NOT PROVIDE. WE BELIEVE THE RECALL UPDATE CREATED A TECHNICAL PROBLEM WITH OUR HYBRID BATTERY. WE ALSO BELIEVE THAT DEALER NOT BEING HONEST REGARDING ISSUES WITH THIS RECALL UPDATE AND IS USING IT AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO REDUCE LIABILITY FOR TOYOTA ON FAILED RECALL WORK AND TO USE IT AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO BRING IN LARGE TICKET SALES REPAIR IE THEY QUOTED US A NEW HYBRID BATTERY FOR 5,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/18/2019 - VISALIA, CA
CAR WORKED FLAWLESSLY AND WE MAINTAINED IT REGULARLY. TOOK IT IN TO ADDRESS RECALL OF JOV UPDATE PWR MGMT ECU AT DEALER. DEALER COMPLETED RECALL WORK. 2 DAYS LATER ENGINE LITE CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM AND THE ! ON AND TRIANGLE ON. THE CAR CONTINUED RUN BUT NOW WAS STUDDERING WHEN WAS NOT BEFORE THE RECALL WORK. TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND HE SAID WE NEED A NEW HYBRID BATTERY. WE BELIEVE THE SOFTWARE UPDATE THEY DID CREATED A THIS ISSUE. DEALER ACTING IGNORANT AND SAYING IT NEEDS NEW BATTERY BECAUSE OF NUMBER OF MILES ON CAR. ASKED FOR DIAGNOSTIC PRINT OUT FROM WHEN THEY DID RECALL WORK TO THEY NEW DIAGNOSIS AND THEY WOULD NOT PROVIDE. WE BELIEVE THE RECALL UPDATE CREATED A TECHNICAL PROBLEM WITH OUR HYBRID BATTERY. WE ALSO BELIEVE THAT DEALER NOT BEING HONEST REGARDING ISSUES WITH THIS RECALL UPDATE AND IS USING IT AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO REDUCE LIABILITY FOR TOYOTA ON FAILED RECALL WORK AND TO USE IT AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO BRING IN LARGE TICKET SALES REPAIR IE THEY QUOTED US A NEW HYBRID BATTERY FOR 5,500.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/18/2019 - VISALIA, CA
CAR WORKED FLAWLESSLY AND WE MAINTAINED IT REGULARLY. TOOK IT IN TO ADDRESS RECALL OF JOV UPDATE PWR MGMT ECU AT DEALER. DEALER COMPLETED RECALL WORK. 2 DAYS LATER ENGINE LITE CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM AND THE ! ON AND TRIANGLE ON. THE CAR CONTINUED RUN BUT NOW WAS STUDDERING WHEN WAS NOT BEFORE THE RECALL WORK. TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND HE SAID WE NEED A NEW HYBRID BATTERY. WE BELIEVE THE SOFTWARE UPDATE THEY DID CREATED A THIS ISSUE. DEALER ACTING IGNORANT AND SAYING IT NEEDS NEW BATTERY BECAUSE OF NUMBER OF MILES ON CAR. ASKED FOR DIAGNOSTIC PRINT OUT FROM WHEN THEY DID RECALL WORK TO THEY NEW DIAGNOSIS AND THEY WOULD NOT PROVIDE. WE BELIEVE THE RECALL UPDATE CREATED A TECHNICAL PROBLEM WITH OUR HYBRID BATTERY. WE ALSO BELIEVE THAT DEALER NOT BEING HONEST REGARDING ISSUES WITH THIS RECALL UPDATE AND IS USING IT AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO REDUCE LIABILITY FOR TOYOTA ON FAILED RECALL WORK AND TO USE IT AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO BRING IN LARGE TICKET SALES REPAIR IE THEY QUOTED US A NEW HYBRID BATTERY FOR 5,500.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/9/2019 - FORT SCOTT, KS
LOUD SCREECHING NOISE AND VIBRATION AT BRAKE PEDAL. ABS BRAKE AND TRACTION LIGHTS ALL LIT UP ALONG WITH BEEPING. HAS HAPPENED SPORADICALLY OVER LAST 2 YEARS. HAVE OWENS CAR 5 YES. APPROX 120,000 MILES. WHEN THE BRAKE NOISE AND ALL LIGHTS APPEAR ON DASH VERY LOW BRAKING ABILITY. HAPPENS WHEN DRIVING OR STARING CAR. ON 6/6 LIGHTS AND BRAKING FAILED AND DO NOT TURN OFF. TOOK TO SERVICE AT TOYOTA DEALER & TECH SAYS $3000 PLUS FOR REPAIRS. POSSIBLE LEAK IN ABS PUMP??

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 290
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds