Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 216 complaints filed for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (1) Hybrid Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (31) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (17) Steering (7) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (28) Seat Belts (10) Structure (20) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine (16) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes (48) Unknown Or Other (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/15/2019 - LYNCHBURG, VA
BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS FAIL FREQUENTLY (EVERY 3-6 MONTHS) MAKING DRIVING IN THE EARLY MORNINGS AND NIGHTTIME VERY DANGEROUS, AS THEY FAIL UNEXPECTEDLY. THE MOST DANGEROUS SITUATION FOR US WITH THE HEADLIGHT FAILURE IS WHEN WE WERE DRIVING AT NIGHT IN THE MOUNTAINS AND BOTH LOW BEAMS FAILED AT THE SAME TIME. THANKFULLY THE HIGH BEAMS WERE FUNCTIONING. THE FACT THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR 2010 AND 2011 MODELS BUT THE 2012 MODEL PRIUS IS EXCLUDED US VERY CONCERNING CONSIDERING THE ISSUE IS THE SAME ACROSS YEARS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/13/2019 - HOUSTON, TX
VSA, AVS, AND BRAKE LIGHTS ON WITH DECREASED RESISTANCE IN PETAL. BRAKES WILL RETURN TO NORMAL WITHOUT WARNING PERIODICALLY WHILE DRIVING. THIS MAKES DRIVING AND STOPPING UNSAFE AND UNPREDICTABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/18/2019 - CLINTON, UT
I HAVE A RECALL ON MY PRIUS FOR SOFTWARE AND IT SAYS ON YOUR SITE THAT IF I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH MY INVERTOR THEY SHOULD FIX IT OR REPAIR IT FOR FREE MY CAR HAD THIS PROBLEM 1 WEEK AGO AND MY INVERTOR FAILED AND I WENT TO TOYOTA TODAY THEY GAVE ME AN APPOINTMENT TODAY AND THEY SAID THEY CONTACTED TOYOTA JAPAN AND THE RECALL GOT REJECTED FOR THE INVERTOR PART THEY SAID I SHOULD FIX MY INVERTOR FIRST THEN THEY WILL DO THE RECALL OF THE SOFTWARE! AND IT COSTS 3000 JDS HERE IN JORDAN ITS TOO EXPENSIVE WHAT SHOULD I DO?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/7/2019 - WEST COVINA, CA
NHTSA RECALL #18V-684 I WAS DRIVING ON THE STREET WHEN CHEQ HIBRID SISTEM SIGN CAME ON, AFTER I GOT THIS MASAGE, I DID DROVE FOR A WHILE TIL STOP ON A SAFE PLACE, WHEN TURNING IT BACK ON WITH THE BREAK PEDAL PUSHED, THE SISTEM DID NOT GET A READY LIGHT, WHICH MEANS ABLE TO MOVE, SO I CALLED AAA (A TOWING SERVICE). WE WENT TO A WEST COVINA TOYOTA DEALER. THE SERVICE MAN MANNY TOLD ME IT MAYBE IS ABOUT THE RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE. WHEN VEHICLE WAS READY MANNY TOLD ME ON THE PHONE THAT IT WAS A LOOSE WIRE AND WHEN I GOT AT THE DEALER HE SHOW ME A SWITCH (NOT A WIRE) THAT IT IS IMPOSIBLE TO UNLOCK IT BY IT SELF, IT HAS TO BE MOVE BY A FINGER IN ORDER TO UNLOCK IT OR LOCK IT BACK ON, SO MY POINT IS THAT I FEEL THAT THEY ARE TELLING ME THAT JUST TO CHARGE ME AND I BELIEVE THAT THEY ARE MAKING THIS UP. I DID TALK TO THE MANAGER GARY KUFTEDJIAN, HE GOT MAD AT ME BECAUSE I DID NOT WANT TO SIT DOWN AND TOLD ME THAT I WAS NO RESPECTING HIM JUST BECUASE I DID NOT HAVE A SIT, I TOLD HIM THAT THE ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE WAS THE NEED OF THE UPDATE ( THE RECALL ) NOT THE SWITCH THE THEY SAID SO I TOLD HIM THAT I DID NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR IT AND HE TOLD ME THAT IF I DO NOT PAY THAT I HAVE TO LEAVE MY VEHICLE AN OTHER DAY FOR THEM TO CHEQ IT AGAING AND I SAID WHY IF THE VEHICLE IS READY? AND HE SAID TO CHEQ IT UP AGAIN, SO I PREFER TO PAY 139.00 DOLLARS AND COMPLAIN ABOUT IT AFTER... SO I DID A COMPLAIN TO THE TOYOTA HEAD QUARTERS REFERENCE # [XXX] I DID SPEAK WITH MRS. BETH . IF YOU NEED MORE PICTURES PLEASE SEND ME AN EMAIL SO I CAN SEND MORE EVIDENCE ABOUT THIS CASE ...THANK YOU PLEASE CALL ME IF ANY AS WELL .. [XXX] MY EMAIL IS [XXX] THANK YOU [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/14/2019 - RIVERVIEW, FL
TRACTION, BRAKE AND ABS LIGHTS ALL CAME ON AT ONCE, PRATICALLY LOST ALL BRAKING WHILE DRIVING BUT ABLE TO SLOWLY STOP. SQUISHY BRAKES. "PUMP" SOUNDING NOISE LIKE IT'S HAVING TROUBLE PUMPING BRAKE FLUID.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/1/2019 - CHINO, CA
WHEN I WAS MAKING A RIGHT TURN I HEARD A LOUD "BOOM" SOUND AND HAD TO GRAB MY STEERING WHEEL HARD SO I WOULDNT DRIFT ONTO THE OTHER LANE BECAUSE MY CAR WAS SHAKING AND SKIDDING THEN RIGHT AFTER MY CAR EMERGENCY DASH LIGHTS CAME ON AND TOLD ME SYSTEM FAILURE PARK YOUR CAR IMMIDENTLY KEEP IN MIND WHILE THIS WAS HAPPENING MY CAR ONLY WENT UP TO TWENTY MILES PER HOUR WITH MY CAR MAKING A LOUD SOUND AS IF I WAS GOING 80 MPH IT SOUNDED LIKE I WAS SPEEDING WHEN I WAS ONLY GOING ABOUT TWENTY MILES PER HOUR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/25/2019 - VICTORIA TX, TX
I HAVING A PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKE BOOSTER ON MY PRIUS AND THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP I WENT TO SAID I NEED TO REPLACE BOTH THE MASTER CYLINDER AND BOOSTER PUMP WHICH WOULD BE 3000 DOLLARS WORTH OF PARTS AND LABOR. AFTER RESEARCH THIS ISSUE I HAVE FOUND SERVAL PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. ALSO THE PARTS ARE ON BACK ORDER, SHOWING YOU HOW BIG OF ISSUE THIS IS. THE BREAKING SYSTEM FELT SPONGY, MY TRACTION CONTROL BRAKING SYSTEM AND ABS LIGHTS CAME ON. THANKFULLY I HAD JUST A COUPLE OF FEET TO MY DRIVEWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/15/2019 - WILLOWBROOK, IL
SOON AFTER GETTING A RECALL SOFTWARE UPDATE FOR THE HYBRID SYSTEM, THE CAR DISPLAYED HYBRID SYSTEM CHECK MESSAGE AND LOST POWER. CAR HAD TO BE TOWED. CREATED AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION DUE TO NATURE OF PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING ON THE ROAD AND HAD TO PULL OVER RIGHT AWAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/15/2019 - WILLOWBROOK, IL
SOON AFTER GETTING A RECALL SOFTWARE UPDATE FOR THE HYBRID SYSTEM, THE CAR DISPLAYED HYBRID SYSTEM CHECK MESSAGE AND LOST POWER. CAR HAD TO BE TOWED. CREATED AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION DUE TO NATURE OF PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING ON THE ROAD AND HAD TO PULL OVER RIGHT AWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2019 - WILLOWBROOK, IL
SOON AFTER GETTING A RECALL SOFTWARE UPDATE FOR THE HYBRID SYSTEM, THE CAR DISPLAYED HYBRID SYSTEM CHECK MESSAGE AND LOST POWER. CAR HAD TO BE TOWED. CREATED AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION DUE TO NATURE OF PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING ON THE ROAD AND HAD TO PULL OVER RIGHT AWAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds