Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 216 complaints filed for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (1) Hybrid Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (31) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (17) Steering (7) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (28) Seat Belts (10) Structure (20) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine (16) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes (48) Unknown Or Other (14)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/27/2019 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
TAKATA RECALL I AM WRITING BECAUSE MY VEHICLE+S HALOGEN LOW BEAM HEADLAMP BULB LIFETIME IS SHORTER THAN EXPECTED AND TOYOTA SEEMS UNWILLING TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE WITH ME. AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET, I FOUND THAT THE SHORT BULB LIFESPAN IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH 2010- 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS VEHICLES. I AM NOW CHANGING THE BULBS EVERY COUPLE OF MONTHS.TOYOTA OFFICIALLY STATES IN THEIR +CUSTOMER SUPPORT PROGRAM ZHB CERTAIN 2010- 2012 MODEL YEAR PRIUS COVERAGE FOR HALOGEN LOW BEAM HEADLAMP BULBS+ THAT THIS PROBLEM IS COVERED UNDER THEIR WARRANTY: IF THE OWNER EXPERIENCES THE CONDITION DESCRIBED ABOVE, HE/SHE SHOULD CONTACT A LOCAL AUTHORIZED TOYOTA DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSIS. IF THE CONDITION IS VERIFIED, THE DEALER WILL INSTALL VOLTAGE ADJUSTMENT WIRE HARNESSES AND REPLACE THE HALOGEN LOW BEAM HEADLAMP BULBS WITH NEW ONES AT NO CHARGE TO THE CUSTOMER.+ WHEN I TOOK MY CAR INTO A TOYOTA AUTO NATION IN HAYWARD FOR SERVICE ON SATURDAY 3/9/19. I WAS TOLD THIS WARRANTY EXPIRED ON FEBRUARY 2019, AND IF I WANTED TO FIX THIS PROBLEM IT WOULD COST BETWEEN $500- $600. I EXPLAINED THAT I HAD A DOCUMENT FROM TOYOTA HEADQUARTERS THAT HAS A DIFFERENT DATE OF OCTOBER 31, 2019. THE SERVICE PERSON SAID, HE WOULD CHECK THE DATE AND EMAIL ME BACK. HE EMAILED ME BACK ON WITH THIS REPLY: +UNFORTUNATELY AS PER TOYOTA YOUR VIN DOESN+T NOT SUPPORT THAT TSB AND BECAUSE YOUR VIN DOES NOT APPLY TO THE TSB OUR PARTS DEPARTMENT CANNOT ORDER PARTS TO SUPPORT THE REMEDY FOR YOUR VIN AS THEY ARE UNAVAILABLE.+ I FEEL THAT TOYOTA DOES NOT WANT TO REPAIR THIS KNOWN SAFETY HAZARD, UNLESS I PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR THE PARTS AND LABOR. THE LINK ALSO INDICATES THAT THERE ARE +APPROXIMATELY 390,000 VEHICLES COVERED BY THIS CUSTOMER SUPPORT PROGRAM+ AND THAT +THIS COVERAGE WILL BE OFFERED UNTIL OCTOBER 31, 2019, REGARDLESS OF MILEAGE.+ .

View Details

ENGINE

3/22/2019 - MINEVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND ALL THE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO DELLA TOYOTA (32 DELLA DR, PLATTSBURGH, NY 12901), BUT A DIAGNOSIS WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 18V684000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/22/2019 - MINEVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND ALL THE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO DELLA TOYOTA (32 DELLA DR, PLATTSBURGH, NY 12901), BUT A DIAGNOSIS WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 18V684000 (HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/26/2019 - FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
THE CAR HAS BEEN SUFFERING ALL OF THE BRAKE SYMPTOMS FOR THE RECALL OF THE 2010 PRIUS BRAKE BOOSTER SYSTEM. I'VE REPEATEDLY COMPLAINED ABOUT LOSING BRAKING POWER WHEN THE ABS LIGHT COMES ON WHEN I GO OVER UNEVEN SURFACES SUCH AS RAILROAD TRACKS OR A POTHOLE. THE BRAKES HAVE BENN FARTING FROM DAY ONE WHILE SITTING AT A LIGHT OR PARKED IF THE BRAKES ARE DEPRESSED AND THEN SLIGHTLY RELEASED. AND NOW TODAY THE ABS BRAKES ARE ON WITH THE BATTERY LIGHT AND THERE IS LIMITED BRAKING POWER. I HAVE TO PUSH ALMOST ALL THE WAY DOWN BEFORE THE BRAKE ENGAGES. TOYOTA TELLS ME I NEED TO REPLACE THE BRAKE BOOSTER SYSTEM FOR $3500 AND THERE ARE ONLY 70,000 MILES ON MY 2012 CAR. I FEEL MY BRAKES HAVE THE SAME ISSUES AS THE 2010 RECALL AND MORE YEARS INCLUDING MINE ARE AFFECTED AND SHOULD BE RECALLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/22/2019 - RIVERSIDE, CA
CAR HORN STOP WORKING , IF THE STEERING WILL ITS TURN HALF WAY EITHER WAY IT WORKS , THE CAR ITS NOT THAT OLD FOR ELECTRICAL TO DO THAT

View Details

ENGINE

1/29/2019 - AUSTIN, TX
I WENT TO THE CHARLES MAUND TOYOTA DEALER AT AUSTIN, TX FOR A RECALL. NHTSA RECALL ID 18V684. ACCORDING TO THE OFFICIAL RECALL REMEDY FROM NHTSA, "IF THE VEHICLE HAS EXPERIENCED AN INVERTER FAILURE WITH CERTAIN HYBRID SYSTEM FAULTS RELATED TO THIS CONDITION, THE INVERTER ASSEMBLY WILL BE REPAIRED OR REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE." MY CAR LOST POWER ON THE HIGHWAYS SEVERAL TIMES RECENTLY. THE ERROR CODE IS P0A08, WHICH IS RELATED TO INVERTER FAILURE WITH CERTAIN HYBRID SYSTEM FAULTS, SO THE INVERTER ASSEMBLY SHOULD BE REPAIRED OR REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE. BUT THE DEALER DIDN'T WANT TO REPLACE OR REPAIR THE INVERTER FOR MY CAR. THERE IS STILL A POTENTIAL THREAT ON MY CAR TO LOSE POWER ON HIGHWAYS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/24/2019 - HINESBURG, VT
HORN STOPPED WORKING IN NOVEMBER 2018. DEALER TELLS ME THAT THERE IS AN OPENING IN THE SPIRAL CABLE WHICH IS CAUSING HORN NOT TO WORK. ENTIRE SPIRAL CABLE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD DRIVER'S AIRBAG RECALLED ONCE, MAYBE TWICE. DID SPIRAL CABLE GET DAMAGED IN ONE OF THESE RECALLS? I KNOW THAT THERE WAS A RECALL IN EARLIER TOYOTAS WITH SAME PART, BUT NOT THIS YEAR AND MODEL, WONDERING IF THERE SHOULD BE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/9/2019 - SAN JUAN CAPASTANO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE DRIVER'S SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE STEERING WHEEL AIR BAG PARTIALLY DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT'S HEAD STRUCK THE STEERING WHEEL WITHOUT A CUSHION. THE DRIVER WAS INJURED AND TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL VIA AMBULANCE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW YARD. THE CONTACT'S INSURANCE COMPANY WAS PROCESSING THE CLAIM AND TOOK CUSTODY OF THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/4/2019 - SAINT PETERSBURG, FL
PROBLEM WITH BRAKING SYSTEM INVOLVING, THE OTHER DAY THE CAR WAS ON AND SUDDENLY THREE (3) WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON: BRAKE LIGHT, ABS LIGHT AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. THERE IS ALSO NOW A PUMPING SOUND COMING FROM UNDER THE INTERIOR OF THE DASH (ON IT AT LEAST SOUNDS THAT IS WHERE IT+S COMING FROM. THE CAR HAS 151,428 MILES ON IT. I+VE INCLUDED PICTURES OF THE CURRENT EROR CODE, MILEAGE AND DASH LIGHTS THAT ARE ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/4/2019 - SAINT PETERSBURG, FL
PROBLEM WITH BRAKING SYSTEM INVOLVING, THE OTHER DAY THE CAR WAS ON AND SUDDENLY THREE (3) WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON: BRAKE LIGHT, ABS LIGHT AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. THERE IS ALSO NOW A PUMPING SOUND COMING FROM UNDER THE INTERIOR OF THE DASH (ON IT AT LEAST SOUNDS THAT IS WHERE IT+S COMING FROM. THE CAR HAS 151,428 MILES ON IT. I+VE INCLUDED PICTURES OF THE CURRENT EROR CODE, MILEAGE AND DASH LIGHTS THAT ARE ON.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds