Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1994 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 919 complaints filed for the 1994 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1994 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1994 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (647) Trailer Hitches (7)
Electrical System (26) Fuel System Other (2) Power Train (15) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Engine (1) Interior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (30) Structure (4) Visibility (178)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Seats (19) Suspension (13) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (11) Other (5) Service Brakes Air (12) Tires (17) Wheels (4)
Exterior Lighting (6)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 87
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

1/10/2001 - VANCLEAVE, MI
WHILE RAINING WINDSHIELD WIPERS SOMETIMES GO OUT FOR A PERIOD OF TIME BY THEMSELVES, AND SOMETIMES THEY DON'T. THERE IS A RECALL 98V150001, BUT THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN RECALL DUE TO VIN. THE DEALER STATE THAT THE VEHICLE VIN DOES NOT INDICATE THE DEFECTIVE UNITS. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM PRESENTS THE IDENTICAL SYMPTOMS AS THE VEHICLES IN THE RECALL.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

1/7/2001 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS BEGAN TO WORK INTERMITTENTLY, USUALLY NOT AT ALL (DURING RAIN, GO FIGURE). IF THE SWITCH WAS TURNED ON AND YOU PULLED ON THE ARM OF THE WIPER, THEY WOULD SOMETIMES BEGIN TO FUNCTION. I LEARNED OF A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM: VISUAL SYSTEMS:WINDSHIELD WIPER AND WASHER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 98V15000, CAMPAIGN #: 98043. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE LISTED DEALER FOR THE DEFECT OF A BAD CIRCUIT BOARD TO BE CORRECTED. I WAS TOLD THAT THE PROBLEM THAT THEY FOUND WITH THE WIPERS, THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE RECALL, WOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. THIS WAS ON 1-3-01, AND I HAD TO PAY $ 95.67 FOR THE REPAIR, WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED AS DICTATED BY THE RECALL. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE. JOHN JACOB

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

12/26/2000 - REDWOOD CITY, CA
WHEN USING BRAKES THE CAR WILL STOP FOR BRIEF MOMENT THEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WILL PULSATE AND THE BRAKE STOP WORKING,THEN I HAVE TO TAKE MY FOOT OF THE BRAKES AND HIT IT AGAIN./ ON THE SET BELT WHEN THEY ARE BUCKLED AND YOU MOVE FORWARD THEY WILL NOT RETRACT.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: RETRACTOR

12/26/2000 - REDWOOD CITY, CA
WHEN USING BRAKES THE CAR WILL STOP FOR BRIEF MOMENT THEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WILL PULSATE AND THE BRAKE STOP WORKING,THEN I HAVE TO TAKE MY FOOT OF THE BRAKES AND HIT IT AGAIN./ ON THE SET BELT WHEN THEY ARE BUCKLED AND YOU MOVE FORWARD THEY WILL NOT RETRACT.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

12/14/2000 - KIRKLAND, WA
WINDSHIELD WIPER DELAY CIRCUIT BOARD FAILED. THIS VEHICLE WAS MADE ON JAN 12, 1994, THEREFORE IT WAS NOT SUBJECT TO THE RECALL CAMPAIGN #98V150001, AND THE DEALER REFUSED TO REPAIR THE BOARD AS PART OF THE RECALL. I REPLACED THE BOARD MYSELF. THE OLD PART IS AVAILABLE FOR INSPECTION BY AN NHTSA-APPOINTED ENGINEER, IF YOU DESIRE. SINCE IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THIS CONDITION EXISTS FOR MORE THAN THE LIMITED DATES MENTIONED IN THE RECALL, IT IS IMPERATIVE THAT YOU EXPAND THE CAMPAIGN TO INCLUDE ALL AFFECTED VEHICLES. YOU HAVE THE ABILITY TO SAVE LIVES. PLEASE DO NOT TAKE IT LIGHTLY. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A BIGGER PROBLEM THAN YOU ORIGINALLY THOUGHT - SEE THE FOLLOWING COMPLAINTS - ODI #S: 735172 734175 864283 862133 844514 711482 839471 838820 838386 848120 707007 843175 838540 707212 830912 841155 543656 830459 707179 713640 479355 516020.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

12/12/2000 - LOS GATOS, CA
THESE 3 CASES OF AN ABS FAILURE OCCURRED ON DAMP ROADS. TWO CASES INVOLVED THE RIGHT FRONT TIRES BEING OVER LEAVES ON THE ROAD WHEN BRAKES WERE APPLIED. ALL THE CASES INVOLVED TRYING TO STOP AT A STOP SIGN. NORMAL PRESSURE(NOT A PANIC STOP) WAS APPLIED TOBRAKES, AND ALL 3 CASES WERE AT A SPEED OF 5MPH OR LESS. WHEN THE ABS SYSTEM KICKED IN, THE CAR BASICALLY WOULD NOT STOP WITHIN ANY REASONABLE DISTANCE. WE HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THIS ABS SYSTEM(KELSEY-HAYES) EVER SINCE WE PURCHASED VEHICLE IN 1994. THE PROBLEM IS THAT THIS SYSTEM DOES NOT WORK!!!! IF THE ABS EVER KICKS IN, YOU ARE IN TROUBLE. WE HAVE HAD ONLY 1 ACCIDENT SINCE 1994(CAUSED BY THE ABS), BUT HAVE HAD NUMEROUS NEAR-MISSES. I HAVE EVEN LOOKED INTO DISCONNECTING THE ABS, BUT THERE IS SIOME INTERLOCKING OF THE ABS TO THE TRANSMISSION OR OTHER SYSTEMS THAT PREVENT YOU FROM DOING THAT. I HAVE TALKED TO THE DEALERS, MANUFATURER, AND THE NTHSA. THE DEALERS AND THE MANUFACTURERS ARE NOT GOING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT BECAUSE IT WOULD INVOLVE REPLACING THE WHOLE KELSEY-HAYES SYSTEM NOT JUST A MODIFICATION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

11/28/2000 - KALMOUTH FALLS, OR
ABS IS MALFUNCTIONING, CAUSING POOR BRAKE PERFORMANCE, AND ABS WILL ACTIVATE ON DRY PAVEMENT.

View Details

TRAILER HITCHES

11/20/2000 - HILLSBORO, TX
CONSUMER NOTICED TRAILER HITCH ATTACHMENT WITH CRACKS ON SIDE. THE CRACKS ARE ON THE CURVED PART OF THE ANGLE BRACKET BOLTED TO THE FRAME, DEALER REPLACED THE HITCH.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

10/24/2000 - CHARLESTON, WV
THE TRUCK HAS POOR BRAKING ABILITY, WHICH MAKES IT DIFFICULT TO STOP WHEN NEEDED. ONE ACCIDENT HAS RESULTED AS DESCRIBED, IN 3/1999. MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS AND SERVICE ATTEMPTS HAVE BEEN DONE WITH NO RESULT. MULTIPLE COMPONENTS HAVE BEEN CHANGED AT MY EXPENSE, WITH NO CHANGE. THE DEALER (JOE HOLLAND IN CHARLESTON, WV) STATES THE BRAKES ARE FUNCTIONING AS DESIGNED. THE TRUCK IS VERY DIFFICULT TO STOP IN SITUATIONS WHERE A QUICK STOP IS NEEDED. THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN CHRONIC SINCE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED. IT TAKES A LONG TIME TO SLOW THE CAR DOWN. MANY CLOSE CALLS HAVE HAPPENED. POOR BRAKE PERFORMANCE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

10/18/2000 - WEST LINN, OR
EA 95 026/POOR BRAKE PERFORMANCE: WHEN APPLYING BRAKE IN A SUDDEN STOP/EMERGENCY SITUATION IT CAUSES LOSS OF BRAKING, AND VEHICLE CONTINUES ON. DEALER NOTIFIED ,AND INFORMED CONSUMER THAT NOTHING COULD BE FOUND. PLEASE FELL FREE TO PROVIDE ANY FURTHER DETAILS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 87
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds