Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1994 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 919 complaints filed for the 1994 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1994 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1994 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (647) Trailer Hitches (7)
Electrical System (26) Fuel System Other (2) Power Train (15) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Engine (1) Interior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (30) Structure (4) Visibility (178)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Seats (19) Suspension (13) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (11) Other (5) Service Brakes Air (12) Tires (17) Wheels (4)
Exterior Lighting (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/8/2005 - CLOVIS, NM
DT: CONTACT STATED VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN DRIVEWAY THE NEIGHBOR'S DOGS WERE BARKING, SHE LOOKED OUT , AND THERE WERE SPARKS COMING OUT OF VEHICLE. SHE WOKE UP HER HUSBAND. HEARD A LOUD NOISE. VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE, IT BURNED THE WHOLE MOTOR, MOST OF THE INSIDE, DASHBOARD. NO WARNINGS PRIOR TO THE FIRE. THE FIRE CHIEF SAID IT COULD HAVE BEEN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

10/7/2005 - TURLOCK , CA
DT: CONSUMER STATES THERE IS A RECALL # 03V159000 CONCERNING WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER FAILURE, AND CONSUMER'S VEHICLE WAS HAVING THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM AS LISTED ON THE RECALL. CONSUMER NOTICED THIS PROBLEM ON SEPTEMBER 1, 2002, WHEN IT WAS RAINING CONSUMER HAD TO GET OUT, LIFT THE HOOD, AND BANG ON THE MOTOR OF WINDSHIELD WIPERS IN ORDER TO GET THEM TO WORK, AND IT WILL ONLY WORK FOR A MINUTE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

8/1/2005 - BAY CITY, MI
I OWN A 1994 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE WIPERS STARTED OUT SHUTTING OFF IN THE WRONG POSITION OR NOT SHUTTING OFF AT ALL. THE WIPERS DON'T WORK AT ALL NOW. I HEARD ABOUT A POSSIBLE RECALL ON THIS ISSUE. I WENT TO YOUR WEBSITE AND SEEN THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM FOR THE 94 SUBURBANS.(NHTSA ID NUMBERS 03V159000 AND 98V150001). I CALLED MY LOCAL DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT MY VEHICLE WASN'T INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. MY VIN IS [XXX]. I WAS JUST WONDERING IF MY VEHICLE WAS OVERLOOKED IN THE RECALL OR MY PROBLEM IS JUST WITH MY VEHICLE. UPDATED 07/19/2012 INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

VISIBILITY: REAR WINDOW WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

7/14/2005 - THOMPSON STATION, TN
DT: CONTACT STATES THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WILL WORK FOR A FEW MINUTES AT A TIME OR THEY WILL NOT WORK AT ALL. ALSO, THEY WILL CONTINUE TO WORK AFTER THE SWITCH HAS BEEN TURNED OFF. THERE WERE RECALLS 03V159000 AND 98V150001 FOR THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MODULE. THE CONTACT CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER ABOUT THE RECALLS, BUT THE CONTACTS SPECIFIC VEHICLE DID NOT FALL UNDER THE RECALL CAMPAIGN DUE TO VIN AND THE 10 YEAR AND 70,000 MILES LIMITATION.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

4/25/2005 - CUSTER, MI
WINDSHIELD MOTOR WORKS INTERMITTENTLY. THIS WAS REPORTED TO URKA CHEVROLET IN LUDINGTON MI AND THEY STATED OUR 1994 SUBURBAN WAS NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL AND TOLD US TO CALL CHEVROLET. SAME STORY WITH THEM. I WAS TRAVELLING FROM FORT LEAVENWORTH, KS TO CUSTER MI DURING EASTER 2005 THE WIPERS QUIT WORKING WHILE TRAVELLING ALONG AT APPROX. 65MPH. NO ACCIDENT, BUT SCARY TO PULL OVER ON HIGHWAY AT NITE CAUSE OF LACK OF VISION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: CALIPER

12/11/2004 - BREMERTON, WA
WINDSHIELD WIPERS WORK THAN STOP. I WIGGLE WIRE CONNECTOR TO MOTOR THAN THEY WILL WORK FOR A SHORT PERIOD. IF I AM DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, THEY WILL STOP WORKING AND SOMETIMES START WORKING AGAIN. I FOUND OUT THAT 1994 SUBURBAN 4X4 ARE NOT ON THE RECALL LIST FOR THE CARD THAT HAS A FAULTY SOLDER. I HAVE ALSO REPLACED MY DRIVERS SIDE CALIPER 4 TIMES SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE IN JANUARY 2003. I ALSO REPLACED THE BRAKE HOSE ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. THE CALIPERS SEEMED TO GET STUCK AND WOULD NOT RELEASE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: SWITCH/WIRING

12/11/2004 - BREMERTON, WA
WINDSHIELD WIPERS WORK THAN STOP. I WIGGLE WIRE CONNECTOR TO MOTOR THAN THEY WILL WORK FOR A SHORT PERIOD. IF I AM DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, THEY WILL STOP WORKING AND SOMETIMES START WORKING AGAIN. I FOUND OUT THAT 1994 SUBURBAN 4X4 ARE NOT ON THE RECALL LIST FOR THE CARD THAT HAS A FAULTY SOLDER. I HAVE ALSO REPLACED MY DRIVERS SIDE CALIPER 4 TIMES SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE IN JANUARY 2003. I ALSO REPLACED THE BRAKE HOSE ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. THE CALIPERS SEEMED TO GET STUCK AND WOULD NOT RELEASE.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: RECLINER

11/29/2004 - MOLALLA, OR
WHILE CONSUMER WAS INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE DRIVER 'S SIDE SEAT FRAME BROKE. NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE SEAT COLLAPSED FORWARD. CONSUMER WAS ABLE TO FIX THE SEAT. ...CONSUMER REPLACED THE FRAME. CONSUMER HAS ACTUAL SEAT FRAME AND PARTS ON HAND. ALSO, HAS AIR BAG PHOTOS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

10/2/2004 - WEST COVINA, CA
I HAVE HAD TWO ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE: 1. WINDSHEILD WIPER INTERMITTENT FAILURE. THIS STARTED TO HAPPEN AFTER THE WARRANTY PERIOD EXPIRED. I WAS INFORMED BY A CHEVROLET DEALER THAT THE RECALL(S) ISSUED THAT MATCH THIS BEHAVIOR EXACTLY DO NOT APPLY TO MY VEHICLE. I BELIEVE THE RECALL SHOULD INCLUDE MY 1994 CHEV. SUBURBAN C-1500 VEHICLE, AS IT CLEARLY DEMONSTRATES THIS EXACT INTERMITTENT BEHAVIOR. BEYOND INQUIRING RECENTLY WITH MY LOCAL DEALER, NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE. 2. POOR ABS BRAKE PERFORMANCE. THIS SYMPTOM HAS EXISTED SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NEW. I COMPLAINED SEVERAL TIMES, BUT NO PROBLEMS WERE FOUND AT THE TIME OF COMPLAINTS AT THE DEALERSHIP. I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THIS SYMPTOM, BUT I HAVE NOT YET INQUIRED WITH MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP TO SEE IF THE ISSUE CAN BE CORRECTED. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL "NEAR MISSES" WHEN HAVING TO STOP SUDDENLY AND ALMOST HITTING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME DUE TO POOR ABS PERFORMANCE AND INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

10/2/2004 - WEST COVINA, CA
I HAVE HAD TWO ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE: 1. WINDSHEILD WIPER INTERMITTENT FAILURE. THIS STARTED TO HAPPEN AFTER THE WARRANTY PERIOD EXPIRED. I WAS INFORMED BY A CHEVROLET DEALER THAT THE RECALL(S) ISSUED THAT MATCH THIS BEHAVIOR EXACTLY DO NOT APPLY TO MY VEHICLE. I BELIEVE THE RECALL SHOULD INCLUDE MY 1994 CHEV. SUBURBAN C-1500 VEHICLE, AS IT CLEARLY DEMONSTRATES THIS EXACT INTERMITTENT BEHAVIOR. BEYOND INQUIRING RECENTLY WITH MY LOCAL DEALER, NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE. 2. POOR ABS BRAKE PERFORMANCE. THIS SYMPTOM HAS EXISTED SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NEW. I COMPLAINED SEVERAL TIMES, BUT NO PROBLEMS WERE FOUND AT THE TIME OF COMPLAINTS AT THE DEALERSHIP. I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THIS SYMPTOM, BUT I HAVE NOT YET INQUIRED WITH MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP TO SEE IF THE ISSUE CAN BE CORRECTED. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL "NEAR MISSES" WHEN HAVING TO STOP SUDDENLY AND ALMOST HITTING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME DUE TO POOR ABS PERFORMANCE AND INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds