Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET BLAZER - 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 749 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment (15) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (67)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (44) Other (13) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (9)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (1) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Electrical System (82) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Power Train (78) Service Brakes Hydraulic (64) Visibility (265)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (18) Steering (33) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (70) Interior Lighting (6) Seats (84) Structure (27) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2014 - STAFFORD, VA
I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE WITH MY CHILDREN INSIDE AND WEBT 35 MILES AWAY FROM HOME AND MY VEHICLE SECURITY LIGHT CAME ON AND I CALLED THE DEALERS AND THEY TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE TO COME TO GET A DIAGNOSIS FOR $109.00 WELL ON MY WAY HOME MY VEHICLE SHUT DOWN DUE TO THE SECURITY LIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY AND IT WOULD NOT TURN BACK ON SO I GOOGLED A RESET AND RESET IT SND THE VEHICLE TURNED ON BUT AGAIN SHUT DOWN ON ME ON THE HIGHWAY. I FEEL ITS VERY DANGEROUS DRIVING AND VEHICLE SHUTD DOWN WHEN SECURITY LIGHT IS BLINKING AND A ANOTHER VEHICLE ALMOST STRUCK ME WHEN MY VEHICLE SHUT DOWN. I HAVE READ A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SECURITY LIGHT THAT JUST APEARS FOR NO REASON AND CANT GET RID OF IT. NOT EVEN A MECHANIC CAN FIX IT , ONLY THE DEALERS THEM SELF CAN FIX IT. I FEEL THEY NEED TO FIX THIS PROBLEM ASAP BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT. THANK YOU

View Details

TIRES

8/5/2014 - TAMPA , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD BANGING SOUND AND DISCOVERED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE DROPPED TO THE PAVEMENT. IN ADDITION, ALL OF THE BOLTS SHEARED OFF, THE LUG NUT WAS MISSING, AND THE ROTOR WAS DESTROYED. THE QUARTER PANEL AND THE BUMPER WERE BENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED, BUT THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RE-ATTACH THE TIRE TO THE VEHICLE AND REPLACE THE STUDS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. UPDATED 10/03/14 UPDATED 3/10/2015

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/5/2014 - TAMPA , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD BANGING SOUND AND DISCOVERED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE DROPPED TO THE PAVEMENT. IN ADDITION, ALL OF THE BOLTS SHEARED OFF, THE LUG NUT WAS MISSING, AND THE ROTOR WAS DESTROYED. THE QUARTER PANEL AND THE BUMPER WERE BENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED, BUT THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RE-ATTACH THE TIRE TO THE VEHICLE AND REPLACE THE STUDS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. UPDATED 10/03/14 UPDATED 3/10/2015

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/23/2014 - CORNERSVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND WOULD STALL INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE POWER DOOR LOCKS WOULD LOCK AND UNLOCK AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE CONTACT FURTHER STATED THAT THE DIMMER SWITCH FAILED TO WORK, WHICH RESULTED IN A LACK OF VISIBILITY WHEN USING THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 00V220000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED OR DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS: HIGH/LOW BEAM DIMMER SWITCH

7/23/2014 - CORNERSVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND WOULD STALL INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE POWER DOOR LOCKS WOULD LOCK AND UNLOCK AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE CONTACT FURTHER STATED THAT THE DIMMER SWITCH FAILED TO WORK, WHICH RESULTED IN A LACK OF VISIBILITY WHEN USING THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS. THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 00V220000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED OR DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/19/2014 - SILVER SPRING, MD
ON 3-17 EXPERIENCED LOUD SCREECHING SOUND WHEN IGNITION WAS ENGAGED TO START ENGINE, AND SIMULTANEOUSLY THE CONSOLE ALERT LIGHT BLINKED OFF AND ON . ON 3-19 MECHANIC INVESTIGATED AND FOUND A FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

3/19/2014 - SILVER SPRING, MD
ON 3-17 EXPERIENCED LOUD SCREECHING SOUND WHEN IGNITION WAS ENGAGED TO START ENGINE, AND SIMULTANEOUSLY THE CONSOLE ALERT LIGHT BLINKED OFF AND ON . ON 3-19 MECHANIC INVESTIGATED AND FOUND A FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/4/2013 - DREXEL HILL, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 4 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKES, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO DECELERATE OR STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 145,000. UPDATED 8/19/13 THE CONSUMER SATED THE BRAKE LINE WAS SO RUSTY, IT HAD A HOLE IN IT. ALL OF THE BRAKE LINES HAD TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

6/4/2013 - DREXEL HILL, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 4 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKES, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO DECELERATE OR STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 145,000. UPDATED 8/19/13 THE CONSUMER SATED THE BRAKE LINE WAS SO RUSTY, IT HAD A HOLE IN IT. ALL OF THE BRAKE LINES HAD TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/5/2012 - DAYOTNA BEACH, FL
THE BACK SEAT MIDDLE BUCKLE BROKE INTO TWO PIECES AND NOW IT IS BROKEN, THEN THE RIGHT SIDE BACK SEAT BUCKLE IS IN SOME KIND OF LOCKING MODE AND THEN THE RIGHT SIDE PASSENGER BELT LOCKED UP TOO A FEW DAYS LATER. NOW I HAVE ONLY TWO SEAT BELTS THAT WORK IN THE SUV. I HAVE CALLED THE LOCAL CHEVY DEALERS HOPING THAT THEY COULD HELP WITH THIS PROBLEM BUT THEY SAID IT WOULD BE ALMOST 400.00 TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. MY BROTHER OWNED A 1990 HONDA CIVIC AND BROUGHT IT TO A HONDA DEALER AND THEY FIXED IT AT NO COST BECAUSE BELTS ARE SAFETY ISSUE AND HAVE A LIFE TIME WARRANTY. I THOUGHT CHEVY WOULD HAVE THE WARRANTY BUT THE CHEVY DEALER INFORM NO AND NEVER WILL THAT HAPPEN. PLEASE HELP TRY TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. I AM A SINGLE MOTHER OF FOUR YOUNG CHILDREN AND IF IT POSSIBLE TO DO MYSELF, I AM WILLING TO DO IT, BECAUSE THIS IS MY OWN ONLY TRANSPORTATION TO GET TO WORK AND SCHOOL FOR OUR FAMILY AND I CAN NOT USE MY SUV UNTIL I HAVE GET THIS SAFETY ISSUE WORKED OUT. PLEASE PLEASE HELP ME. I HAVE PURCHASED FOUR BELTS FOR MY PULLEY FOR MY SUV AND STILL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. ITS SOUNDS LIKE A SQUEAKING AND WHISTLING. I HAVE HAD REPLACEMENT IT MYSELF THE FIRST TIME BUT IT STILL DID THE SAME THING SO I BROUGHT MY CAR TO LOCAL MECHANIC AND STILL NO LUCK, SO I BOUGHT IT TO CHEVY IT WORKED FINE FOR A FEW WEEKS THEN STARTED IT AGAIN, SO NEW ONE WAS PUT ON. THEN A COUPLE MONTHS LATER IT STARTED AGAIN, SO THEY PUT ANOTHER NEW BELT, THEN IT STARTED UP AGAIN A FEW MONTHS LATER BUT THE ONE YEAR WARRANTY TIME WAS UP,BUT IT STILL DOES IT. IS THIS NORMAL?

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds