Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET BLAZER - 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 749 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment (15) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (67)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (44) Other (13) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (9)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (1) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Electrical System (82) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Power Train (78) Service Brakes Hydraulic (64) Visibility (265)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (18) Steering (33) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (70) Interior Lighting (6) Seats (84) Structure (27) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/3/2012 - AIKEN, SC
WHEN APPLIED THE BRAKES THERE IS SOME ROUGHNESS UNDER THE VEHICLE BRAKES HAS BEEN CHANGED AND SOME TIME GETTING JAMMED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2011 - BARRONWI, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. WHILE DRIVING, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE MADE A BUZZING NOISE IN THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER NOR MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. A LOCAL MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE MULTI-SWITCH WAS DEFECTIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/26/2011 - CHICAGO, IL
1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. UNIT #1 WAS TRAVELING EAST ON THE OHIO TURNPIKE IN THE CENTER LANE. DRIVER OF UNIT #1 STATED HE HEARD A LOUD EXPLOSION COME FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. UNIT #1 PULLED OVER TO THE LEFT BERM WHERE IT CAUGHT ON FIRE. ACCORDING TO THE POLICE REPORT, THE VEHICLE BURNED COMPLETELY DOWN TO THE METAL AND THERE WAS NO WAY TO DETERMINE WHAT STARTED THE FIRE. (OHIO TRAFFIC CRASH REPORT # 10-0450-90)

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/12/2010 - SPRINGFIELD , MO
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE OVERHEATED. SHE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE THE RADIATOR AND THE HEAT AND COOLANT THERMOSTAT WERE REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE WASN'T CORRECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WILL BE NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

CHILD SEAT

7/12/2010 - ASHTABULA, OH
WE WERE RECENTLY IN AN AUTO ACCIDENT. THOUGH WE WERE ONLY GOING ABOUT 30 MPH OUR CHILD'S ANCHOR STRAP RIPPED FREE FROM THE SCREW THAT SECURED THE STRAP TO THE CAR SEAT BASE. THIS CAUSED MY CHILD TO BE THROWN SIDEWAYS IN THE SEAT. (RELATED VEHICLE INFORMATION: MODEL YEAR=1998, MAKE=CHEVY, MODEL=[XXX] ) INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

6/29/2009 - WINFIELD, KS
FIRST NOTICED EXCESSIVE ACTIVATION OF ABS UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS ON ICY PAVEMENT. NOW INTERMITTENT ACTIVATION OF ABS UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS ON DRY PAVEMENT & ON WET BUT NOT STANDING WATER PAVEMENT. FAULTY ABS ACTIVATION IS OCCURRING SEVERAL TIMES A WEEK. HAVE NOT CORRECTED PROBLEM. INTERMITTENT FAILURE OF WINDSHIELD WIPERS. OCCURS OCCASIONALLY. THEY WILL NOT WORK AT ALL & THEN WILL START WORKING AT SOME POINT LATER. HAVE NOT CORRECTED THE PROBLEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY

4/16/2009 - BELVIDERE, IL
THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS CONTINUALLY FAIL. SOMETIMES THEY STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE CYCLE, OTHER TIMES THEY DO NOT TURN ON AT ALL. THIS HAS HAPPENED DOZENS OF TIMES, OFTEN WHEN I AM DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE IN THE MIDDLE OF HEAVY TRAFFIC.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/26/2009 - CATONSVILLE, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MULTI-FUNCTION SWITCH CONTINUES TO OPERATE AFTER SHE MANUALLY TURNS OFF THE SWITCH. THE FAILURE COULD PREVENT HER FROM WARNING THE DRIVER'S IN THE REAR THAT THE VEHICLE IS BRAKING AND/OR STOPPED, WHICH COULD CAUSE A CRASH. THE MANUFACTURER WOULD NOT ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY BECAUSE THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 08V231000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING:BRAKE LIGHTS:SWITCH). THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 120,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY

3/20/2009 - COOK, WA
THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS QUIT WORKING WITHOUT NOTICE. WE PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE NEW IN 1998 IT ONLY HAS 80,000 MILES. THE WIPERS HAVE BEEN DOING THIS SINCE 2003. WHEN WIPERS QUIT WORKING WE ARE UNABLE TO SEE THE ROADWAY AND THIS PRESENTS A SAFETY HAZARD. I HAVE READ ABOUT OTHERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I HAVE NOT HAD THIS REPAIR DONE BECAUSE I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR A DEFECT THAT CHEVROLET KNOWS ABOUT. IF THIS DEFECT SHOULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT I WILL ACQUIRE AN ATTORNEY AND FILE SUITE AGAINST CHEVROLET FOR FAILURE TO REPAIR SAID DEFECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/4/2009 - MISHAWAKA, IN
WIPERS DON'T WORK THEN WORK WON'T SHUT OFF FOR A LONG TIME, USUALLY SHUT OFF DURING A DOWNPOUR, CRUISE CONTROL QUIT WORKING, FLASHERS SOUND ERRATIC WON'T SHUT OFF UNLESS BRAKE IS PRESSED, PASSENGER SIDE SEAT ADJUSTMENT HANDLE BROKE OFF, I HAVE CUT MY LEG NUMEROUS TIMES AS WELL AS OTHERS. PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT WON'T LOCK JUST PULLS OUT. DRIVERS SIDE SEAT RECLINE BROKE OFF ONLY USED THAT ABOUT 5 TIMES. NOW ONE OF THE REAR HATCH SHOCKS BROKE OFF THE BRACKET THAT HOLDS THE SHOCK IN PLACE CRACKED OFF, HATCH DOOR IS REALLY HEAVY. THE RIGHT FLASHER FLASHES REAL FAST EVEN THOUGH IT STILL WORKS. I WILL NEVER EVER BUY A CHEVY BLAZER AGAIN OR ANYTHING EVEN CLOSE THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT A PAIN IN MY BUTT FOR 10 YEARS. I ABSOLUTELY HATE IT!! IT'S BECOMING A HAZARD TO DRIVE BECAUSE OF THE WIPERS ACTING SPORADIC ALL THE TIME AND WITH WINTER COMING EARLY IT'S SCARY. I HOPE SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THIS SOON. I BEEN READING ABOUT OTHER PEOPLES PROBLEMS AND THEIR EXACTLY LIKE MINE. SOMEBODY SAID SOMETHING ABOUT A MULTIFUNCTION BOARD TO REPAIR IT. YEAH THEIR 200.00 DOLLARS AND HAVE TO TAKE APART THE STEERING COLUMN. I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY ONE PENNY FOR ALL MY REPAIRS THAT I NEED.. SHAME ON GM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds