Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET BLAZER - 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 749 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET BLAZER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment (15) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (67)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (44) Other (13) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (9)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (6) Service Brakes Electric (1) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Electrical System (82) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Power Train (78) Service Brakes Hydraulic (64) Visibility (265)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (18) Steering (33) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (70) Interior Lighting (6) Seats (84) Structure (27) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: RECLINER

8/20/2007 - GLEN BURNUE, MD
MY 1998 BLAZER'S DRIVER'S AND PASSENGER'S SEAT ADJUSTMENT LEVER BROKE OFF WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ADJUST SEAT. I AM UNABLE TO ADJUST THE SEAT FOR PROPER DRIVING POSITION. THE DRIVER'S SEAT LEVER BROKE AT 30,000 MILES AND THE PASSENGER SEAT LEVER BROKE ABOUT 40,000 MILES. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE UTILIZING VICE GRIPS TO HOLD THE DRIVER'S SEAT AND PASSENGER SEAT IN PLACE. THESE SEATS ARE NO LONGER ADJUSTABLE AND PRESENTS A SAFETY HAZARD. INQUIRIES FROM OTHER INDIVIDUALS THAT OWN THIS VEHICLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. FURTHER INVESTIGATION REVEALED THAT AT SOME POINT THE MANUFACTURER DISTRIBUTED A SERVICE BULLETIN REGARDING THIS DEFECT. I AM CONCERNED AS TO WHY THERE HAS NOT BEEN A RECALL AND WHY I HAVE NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF THIS ONGOING PROBLEM. OBVIOUSLY, NUMEROUS CONSUMERS OWNING THE BLAZER ARE FACED WITH THIS SAME PROBLEM. I FEEL THE LEVER SHOULD BE REPLACED AT NO COST TO THE CONSUMER SINCE IT IS APPARENTLY A MANUFACTURING DEFECT AND A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS

8/19/2007 - COAL TOWNSHIP, PA
ATTEMPTED TO DRIVE VEHICLE IN LIGHT RAIN. WIPERS WOULD NOT TURN ON. ON A LATER OCCASION, FRIENDS WERE FOLLOWING BEHIND MY VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WERE INOPERATIVE (THIRD BRAKE LIGHT WAS WORKING). ALSO NOTICED THAT HAZARDS LAMPS WERE NOT WORKING EITHER.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: SWITCH/WIRING

8/19/2007 - COAL TOWNSHIP, PA
ATTEMPTED TO DRIVE VEHICLE IN LIGHT RAIN. WIPERS WOULD NOT TURN ON. ON A LATER OCCASION, FRIENDS WERE FOLLOWING BEHIND MY VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WERE INOPERATIVE (THIRD BRAKE LIGHT WAS WORKING). ALSO NOTICED THAT HAZARDS LAMPS WERE NOT WORKING EITHER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS

8/19/2007 - COAL TOWNSHIP, PA
ATTEMPTED TO DRIVE VEHICLE IN LIGHT RAIN. WIPERS WOULD NOT TURN ON. ON A LATER OCCASION, FRIENDS WERE FOLLOWING BEHIND MY VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS WERE INOPERATIVE (THIRD BRAKE LIGHT WAS WORKING). ALSO NOTICED THAT HAZARDS LAMPS WERE NOT WORKING EITHER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/10/2007 - SPRINGFIELD, OH
I WAS A FRONT SEAT PASSENGER IN A 1998 CHEVY BLAZER SUV BELONGING TO MY DAUGHTER,WHEN AN ACCIDENT OCCURRED THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. IT WAS A BAD CRASH, BUT I WAS THE ONLY PERSON INJURED. AFTERWARDS IT WAS A STUNNING REVOLUTION TO FIND THIS OUT ABOUT THE AIRBAGS AND IT HAS LEFT ME WONDERING HOW MANY PEOPLE OUT THERE THINK THEY ARE PROTECTED WITH AIRBAGS, WHEN THEY MAY OR MAY NOT WORK ANYWAY. THIS AUTO HAD A PREVIOUS OWNER AND IT SEEMS TO ME THE DEALERSHIP SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR LETTING THE NEW BUYER KNOW IF THE AIRBAGS WORK OR DON'T WORK. THANKS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

6/15/2007 - SNOW CAMP, NC
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

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

6/15/2007 - SNOW CAMP, NC
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

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

5/10/2007 - MURRAY, KY
THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WORKED/FAILED INTERMITTENTLY. THERE WAS NO DISCERNIBLE PATTERN, BUT IT WAS A DANGEROUS SITUATION. MY WIFE TRAVELED 120 MILES ROUND TRIP TO WORK AND HAD TO STOP MIDWAY YESTERDAY BECAUSE OF RAIN. THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS RANDOMLY DECIDED NOT TO WORK. A HALF-HOUR OF WAITING AND THEY WORKED FINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

2/11/2007 - COLUSA, CA
MULTI- FUNCTION SWITCH PROBLEM. THE WIPERS QUIT WORKING DURING THE RAIN. IN THE PAST I HAVE SPOKEN TO DEALER SERVICE MANAGERS AND THEY SAID A LOT OF COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN MADE ABOUT THE MULTI FUNCTION SWITCH THAT CONTROLS THE WIPER DELAY BUT THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALLS MADE ON IT. MOSTLY WHAT HAPPENS IS THE WIPERS WILL NOT TURN OFF WITH THE SWITCH, THE IGNITION HAS TO BE TURNED OFF TO TURN OFF THE WIPERS. THE CONCERN IS THE WIPER STOPPING DURING HEAVY RAIN CAUSING LOSS OF VISIBILITY. THIS HAS BEEN OCCURRING FOR YEARS, I JUST BECAME AWARE OF THIS ROUTE OF COMPLAINT PROCESS. THE REPLACEMENT OF THE MULTI FUNCTION SWITCH IS EXPENSIVE. CLICKING IS ALSO HEARD AT TIMES DUE TO THE SWITCH, A SERVICE MANAGER HAS SAID THE MULTI- FUNCTION SWITCH CAUSES THIS ALSO. THE 10 FOR NUMBER OF FAILURES IS THE MINIMUM NUMBER OF TIMES I CAN REMEMBER THE WIPERS STOPPED WHEN OPERATING.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

1/14/2007 - WHITE LAKE, MI
FOR THE PAST YEAR OF OWNING THIS VEHICLE I'VE EXPERIENCED A SPORADIC FRONT WIPER MOTOR. JUST RECENTLY IT WENT OUT CAUSING ME TO SWERVE AND HIT A LOW BRANCH. THE BRANCH CAUSED THE WINDSCREEN TO CRACK BUT NOT SHATTER, AND THE DRIVERSIDE WIPER TO CEASE FUNCTIONING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 71
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds