Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 239 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (5) Steering (26) Trailer Hitches (1)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (18) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (14) Visibility (54)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (14) Wheels (3)
Equipment (7) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (72)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

11/22/2005 - PERRY, MI
MY 1998 SUBURBAN HAD SAME REPAIR DONE ON THE ABS BRAKES THAT CURRENT RECALL IS OUT FOR 1999-2002 AND GM IS SAYING THE PART ON 99-2000 RECALL IS NOT THE PART ON MY 98 SUBURBAN. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT IS THE SAME RECALL PART AND THEY ARE REFUSING TO REIMBURSE ME FOR REPAIRS I PAID FOR BEFORE THE RECALL WAS ISSUED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/14/2005 - NORWALK, CT
CATASTROHIC LOSS OF ENTIRE BREAKING SYSTEM DUE TO BURSTING OF BRAKE LINES WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE; DEALER REQUIRED COMPLETE REPLACEMENT OF ENTIRE BRAKE SYSTEM OWING TO SERVELY RUSTED PARTS THROUGHOUT; MECHANICAL EMERGENCY BRAKE SYSTEM REQUIRED SEVERAL HUNDRED YARDS TO STOP VEHICLE; VEHICLE HAD BEEN REGULARLY SERVICED SINCE NEW WITH MOST RECENT SERVICE JUST 2 MONTHS BEFORE BRAKE SYSTEM FAILURE; HAD VEHICLE BEEN TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEED POSSIBLE FATAL CONSEQUENCES; POSSIBLE ISSUE OF DESIGN/COMPONENT DEFECT

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

10/12/2005 - SMITHFIELD, RI
DT: THE CONSUMER COMPLAINED ABOUT ABS BRAKES KICKING IN AT LOW SPEEDS. THE SERVICE BRAKES AND ABS WILL NOT HOLD WHEN THE ABS KICKS IN. THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN ON GOING SINCE NOVEMBER OF 2004. THE DEALERSHIP CLEANED AND GREASED THE BRAKES. THEY MACHINED THE ROTORS AND REPLACED THE LEFT UPPER ARM BUSHING. AND THEY CHECKED THE ABS SENSORS. THE PROBLEM RECURRED. WHEN SHE CONTACTED THEM THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. IT STARTED GETTING WORSE IN JULY OF 2005. SHE TOOK VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN. THEY REPLACED THE SENSOR BUSHINGS AND AN IDLE ARM. THE PROBLEM IS STILL OCCURRING. SHE TOOK IT BACK TO THEM. THEY REPLACED TWO REAR DRUMS, THE SWAY BAR BUSHINGS, THE U JOINTS, AND T TIGHTENED THE TRANSFER CASE. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM RECURRED. A RECALL FOR THE 2000 MODELS WAS ISSUED. WHEN SHE CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER, THEY SAID THAT THIS MODEL YEAR VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE CONTACT HAD TO HAVE THE SERVICE BRAKES REPLACED BEFORE. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE ROTORS AND THE PADS. THE CONTACT FELT THAT IT WAS A RESULT OF NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

10/12/2005 - SMITHFIELD, RI
DT: THE CONSUMER COMPLAINED ABOUT ABS BRAKES KICKING IN AT LOW SPEEDS. THE SERVICE BRAKES AND ABS WILL NOT HOLD WHEN THE ABS KICKS IN. THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN ON GOING SINCE NOVEMBER OF 2004. THE DEALERSHIP CLEANED AND GREASED THE BRAKES. THEY MACHINED THE ROTORS AND REPLACED THE LEFT UPPER ARM BUSHING. AND THEY CHECKED THE ABS SENSORS. THE PROBLEM RECURRED. WHEN SHE CONTACTED THEM THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. IT STARTED GETTING WORSE IN JULY OF 2005. SHE TOOK VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN. THEY REPLACED THE SENSOR BUSHINGS AND AN IDLE ARM. THE PROBLEM IS STILL OCCURRING. SHE TOOK IT BACK TO THEM. THEY REPLACED TWO REAR DRUMS, THE SWAY BAR BUSHINGS, THE U JOINTS, AND T TIGHTENED THE TRANSFER CASE. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM RECURRED. A RECALL FOR THE 2000 MODELS WAS ISSUED. WHEN SHE CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER, THEY SAID THAT THIS MODEL YEAR VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE CONTACT HAD TO HAVE THE SERVICE BRAKES REPLACED BEFORE. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE ROTORS AND THE PADS. THE CONTACT FELT THAT IT WAS A RESULT OF NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

10/12/2005 - SMITHFIELD, RI
DT: THE CONSUMER COMPLAINED ABOUT ABS BRAKES KICKING IN AT LOW SPEEDS. THE SERVICE BRAKES AND ABS WILL NOT HOLD WHEN THE ABS KICKS IN. THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN ON GOING SINCE NOVEMBER OF 2004. THE DEALERSHIP CLEANED AND GREASED THE BRAKES. THEY MACHINED THE ROTORS AND REPLACED THE LEFT UPPER ARM BUSHING. AND THEY CHECKED THE ABS SENSORS. THE PROBLEM RECURRED. WHEN SHE CONTACTED THEM THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. IT STARTED GETTING WORSE IN JULY OF 2005. SHE TOOK VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN. THEY REPLACED THE SENSOR BUSHINGS AND AN IDLE ARM. THE PROBLEM IS STILL OCCURRING. SHE TOOK IT BACK TO THEM. THEY REPLACED TWO REAR DRUMS, THE SWAY BAR BUSHINGS, THE U JOINTS, AND T TIGHTENED THE TRANSFER CASE. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM RECURRED. A RECALL FOR THE 2000 MODELS WAS ISSUED. WHEN SHE CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER, THEY SAID THAT THIS MODEL YEAR VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE CONTACT HAD TO HAVE THE SERVICE BRAKES REPLACED BEFORE. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE ROTORS AND THE PADS. THE CONTACT FELT THAT IT WAS A RESULT OF NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

9/28/2005 - DAYTON , OH
ABS BRAKE SYSTEM ON THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL BEGAN HAVING FAILURES AT VERY LOW SPEEDS(UNDER 10 MPH) WHEN THE VEHICLE(1998 CHEVROLET TAHOE) WAS COMING TO A FULL STOP AT THE END OF THE DRIVE OR WHEN PULLING TO A STOP. THIS WAS OCCURRING OVER & OVER MORE MORE THAN A MONTH. I CONTACTED WHITE-ALLEN CHEVOLET IN DAYTON OHIO AND THE SERVICE MANAGER CONTACTED THE GM ZONE MANAGER AND GM WOULD NOT WARRANTY THIS REPAIR SAYING THAT MY VEHICLE DID NOT FALL UNDER THE RECALL YEARS FOR THIS PROBLEM EVEN THOUGH THE PROBLEM WAS EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE RECALL ISSUED FOR THE SAME VEHICLE 1999-2002 ( MINE IS 1998). I FINALLY HAD TO HAVE IT DONE STRICTLY BECAUSE OF MY CHILDREN'S SAFETY THE DAY I MADE THE APPOINTMENT MY DAUGHTER AND I ALMOST GLIDED INTO TRAFFIC COMING TO A STOP WHILE TAKING HER TO SCHOOL. THE ZONE MANAGER RESPONSE TO OUR CLAIM WAS THAT MY VEHICLE WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL AND THEY WILL NOT HAVE THE REPAIRS DONE AS PART OF THE RECALL EVEN THOUGH THE FAILURE IS THE SAME DEFECT ACCORDING TO THE SERVICE MANAGER. SERVICE WAS SUPPLIED ON 9/26/2005 AT WHITE-ALLEN SERVICE ORDER READS "CHECKED ABS SYSTEM RIGHT FRONT SENSOR FAILURE DUE TO LOW VOLTAGE OUTPUT ACTION TAKEN : REPLACED LEFT FRONT HUB AND BEARING PARTS: OWNER HAS THE OLD REPLACED PARTS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

9/26/2005 - FOREST LAKE, MN
I EXPERIENCED THE BRAKING ISSUE DESCRIBED IN RECALL 05V379000. ON THE DATE BELOW, I NARROWLY AVOIDED A CRASH WITH CHILDREN IN THE VICINITY. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN REGISTERED IN MN SINCE PURCHASE TO ME AS THE ORIGINAL OWNER. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS BRAKING ISSUE 3 OR SO TIMES OVER THE LAST YEAR.

View Details

STEERING: ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

9/8/2005 - ROCHESTER, MN
1) NEAR CRASHES HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY AN ERRATIC CONDITION IN THE STEERING. CALLED GM NATIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER AND GAVE ALL INFORMATION AND WAS PROMISED SOMEONE WOULD CONTACT ME. (NEVER HAPPENED) 2 OTHER FAMILIES HERE IN ROCHESTER HAVE THE SAME VEHICLE AND THE SAME PROBLEM. 2) UPON TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL, THE WHEEL ITSELF SUDDENLY FREE-WHEELS SEVERAL INCHES. THIS RAPIDLY ACCELERATES THE DEGREE OF TURN AND MAKES THE DRIVER FEEL AS IF THEY HAVE LOST CONTROL AND THE ENTIRE VEHICLE OFTEN SWERVES OUT OF CONTROL. 3) I BROUGHT IT TO 2 DEALERS HERE IN ROCHESTER AND NEITHER WAS ABLE TO DETECT THE PROBLEM ON A TEST DRIVE. THE PROBLEM COMES AND GOES. WHEN IT HAPPENS, IT WILL SCARE THE LIVING OUT OF YOU, AND THE DRIVER ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE ROAD. WE HAVE ALL BUT LOST CONTROL ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION. A FRIEND OF MINE WHO ALSO HAS A SUBURBAN SAID HE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AND FINALLY SOMEONE SUGGESTED REPLACING SOMETHING CALLED THE POWER STEERING ASSIST? WE HAVE A 98' SUBURBAN AND HAVE HAD IT SINCE IT WAS 7,000 MILES OLD. IT HAS A 350 AND IS AN LT AND HAS 3RD SEAT AND FOUR WHEEL DRIVE. I THINK THIS PROBLEM AFFECTS MOST IF NOT ALL SUBURBAN'S IN OUR YEAR CLASS. CHEVY IS NOT RESPONDING TO MY QUESTIONS. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

6/4/2005 - GRAHAM, WA
BRAKES SHAKE AND VIBRATE WHEN BRAKING. ON OCCASION, BRAKES FAILED AND PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. MECHANIC INSPECTED FOUND "NO PROBLEM" WITH BRAKES. THE LAST INCIDENT WITH THE BRAKES RESULTED IN AN ACCIDENT WHEN MORE THAN ENOUGH DISTANCE WAS GIVEN FOR STOPPING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/11/2005 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
STOPPED ON ROADWAY TO PICK UP A PART THAT HAD FALLEN OUT OF THE TRUCK TRAVELING IN FRONT OF ME. I PUT MY 1998 CHEVY SUBURBAN IN PARK AND POPPED THE REAR HATCH. I REMEMBER HEARING THE REAR HATCH CLICK AND NOW REALIZE THAT THE HATCH WON'T RELEASE UNLESS THE TRUCK IS IN PARK. I WALKED BEHIND MY TRUCK TO PICK UP THE PART. AFTER I PICKED IT UP, I WAS KNOCKED DOWN BY THE FORCE OF MY TRUCK. THE TRUCK MUST HAVE SLIPPED OUT OF GEAR AFTER I'D PUT IT IN PARK. I RECENTLY READ ABOUT A SIMILAR INCIDENT IN THE LOCAL NEWSPAPER, WHERE THIS HAPPENED TO SOMEONE ELSE WITH THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE. THE TRUCK ROLLED OVER ME, AND I WAS TRAPPED UNDER IT. A MAN CAME AND DROVE THE TRUCK OFF ME. I SUFFERED A DEEP CUT TO THE BACK OF MY HEAD, THE MEAT WAS RIPPED OFF MY LEG, I SHATTERED THE T-12 VERTEBRA IN MY BACK AND THE DISKS ABOVE AND BELOW WERE COMPRESSED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds