Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 239 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (5) Steering (26) Trailer Hitches (1)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (18) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (14) Visibility (54)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (14) Wheels (3)
Equipment (7) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (72)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

5/10/2005 - OXFORD, MI
BRAKE PEDAL GOES DOWN OR GETS SPONGEY AT SLOW STOPPING SPEEDS UNDER 5 MPH. IT FEELS LIKE AN ABS EVENT IS OCCURING! NO ABS LIGHT COMES ON. INCIDENT OCCURS AT NEARLY EVERY STOP. STOPPING DISTANCE IS LONGER. IT FEELS LIKE THE VEHICLE IS NOT GOING TO STOP. IT IS NOT A SAFE SECURE FEELING WHEN COMING TO A STOP. I HAVE HEAR (ON THE RADIO) THAT THIS IS PROBABLEY THE SAME KIND OF PROBLEM OCCURING AS OCCURING ON 1999 TO 1005 VEHICLES. I BELIEVE MY VEHILCE SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE REPAIR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

2/19/2005 - MEDINA, OH
THE ANTILOCK BRAKES ON MY 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN ACTIVATE AT LOW SPEEDS .IF THIS CONDITION OCCURS WHERE STOPPING DISTANCE IS LIMITED A CRASH COULD OCCUR..THIS IS A FOR REAL SAFETY ISSUE AND IS DOCUMENTED IN NHTS ITEM NUMBER 10000062. NOTICED ON THE INTERNET SOMEONE POSTED IN ONTARIO CANADA THERE IS A GM RECALL FOR THE SPEED SENSORS AND CORROSION.. I CAN NOT BELIEVE A ISSUE INVOLVING BRAKES IS NOT ON A RECALL..... I ASKED A SERVICE MANAGER ABOUT THE PROBLEM I'M HAVING AND HE QUOTED THE SPEED SENSOR RIGHT AWAY...COME ON GM KNOWS THEY HAVE A PROBLEM....GOING TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO GM NEXT WEEK AND ASK TO TALK TO THE ZONE MANAGER .

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/9/2005 - PLYMOUTH, MN
WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE DROVE ERRATICALLY. THE DRIVER WAS ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, AND DROVE IT TO THE DEALER, AND MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT SUN GEAR REACTION SHELL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED FROM THE TRANSMISSION.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

2/9/2005 - TAYLORS, SC
(1) DRIVING IN RAIN. (2) WIPER FAILURE. CONSEQUENCES ARE OBVIOUS! (3) STOP, OPEN HOOD OF VEHICLE, AND SMACK THE WIPER CONTROL! NOTE! DUE TO FACT THAT A FRIEND OF MINE HAS A 1996 GMC SIERRA TRUCK WHICH WAS RECALLED FOR THIS PROBLEM, I REFUSE TO PAY HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS TO HAVE IT FIXED! MY VEHICLE IS A 1998 (ORDERED IN 1997 BEFORE THEY HIT THE PRODUCTION LINE) CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE PROBLEM IS BAD SOLDER JOINTS ON THE BOARD! I AM AN EET BY DEGREE FOR 25 YEARS AND I KNOW THE PROBLEM WELL AND I ALSO KNOW THAT THE PROBLEM WITH MY FRIEND'S TRUCK AND MINE ARE THE SAME PROBLEM! I GOT ABSOLUTELY NO HELP FROM CHEVROLET CUSTOMER REPRESENTATIVES! THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THAT IT WAS INDEED THE SAME WIPER CONTROL AND COULD NOT EXPLAIN WHY THE RECALL CUTOFF STOPPED WHEN IT DID! BUT, THEY ALSO WOULD NOT GIVE ME A GUARANTEE THAT I WOULD NOT BE CHARGED TO HAVE IT FIXED! IF I HAVE AN ACCIDENT DUE TO THIS FAILURE, GMC WILL PAY THAT BLOODY MONEY!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

2/6/2005 - BREMERTON, WA
1998 CHEVY TAHOE WONT START, SPONTANEOUSLY. IT WILL TURN OVER, BUT WONT START. FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED WASN'T SURE WHAT WAS WRONG, TRIED IT AGAIN AFTER 10-15 MINUTES AND IT STARTED. I FIGURED IT WAS JUST COLD. SECOND TIME IT HAPPENED, IT WAS ABOUT 45 MINUTES BEFORE IT STARTED, AND I WAS TOLD BY THE GUY AT THE TIRE DEALER, THAT HIS AND A FRIENDS TAHOE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM, I SHOULD TAKE IT TO THE DEALER. I DID THIS AND WAS TOLD IT WAS THE THEFT DETERRENT MODULE. AFTER SEVERAL HUNDRED DOLLARS AND A RENTAL CAR FOR A WEEK I GOT THE TRUCK BACK. IT WAS ABOUT 2 MONTHS LATER, IT HAPPENED AGAIN. SAME THING, COUPLE HUNDRED DOLLARS, A RENTAL CAR FOR A WEEK AND I GOT IT BACK AFTER 3 DAYS. 3 DAYS LATER, THE SAME THING. I DO NOT HAVE MY TRUCK NOW, I HAVE A RENTAL AGAIN. I WAS TOLD I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS AGAIN, BECAUSE IT IS A "....TOTALLY DIFFERENT SET OF CODES THAN READ THE FIRST COUPLE OF TIMES..."

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

10/11/2004 - LAKE HOPATCONG, NJ
I OWN A 1998 CHEVY SUBURBAN 2200 4WD. ON 7/10/00, AT 13.000 MI THE FRONT ROTORS AND PADS AND REAR SHOES WERE REPLACED BY THE DEALER. ON 9/13/00 AT 15,000 MI THE FRONT DISC PADS, MASTER CYLINDER PROPORTION VALVE AND CALIPER BRAKE HOSES WERE REPLACED PER SERVICE BULLETIN. ON 8/21/03 AT 22,500 MI I HAD THE FRONT ROTORS AND PADS REPLACED WITH FACTORY OEM PARTS. ON 10/11/04 AT 27,00 MI I HAD TO HAVE THE FRONT ROTORS CUT BECAUSE OF OVERHEATING OF THE ROTORS. ROTORS DISPLAYED HOT SPOTS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A SIGNIFICANT RECURRING PROBLEM/DEFECT WITH THE FRONT BRAKES.

View Details

VISIBILITY: REAR WINDOW WIPER/WASHER

6/24/2004 - SPANISH FORT, AL
WINDSHIELD WIPERS HAVE FAILED AT LEAST ONCE ALMOST EVERY TIME USED FOR QUITE SOME TIME NOW. USUALLY COULD BE THUMPED & RESTARTED. TODAY THEY FAILED SEVERAL TIMES AND THEN QUIT ALTOGETHER, IN LIGHT TO HEAVY RAIN, ON THE INTERSTATE. DROVE TO MCCONNELL IN MOBILE AND THEY KNEW EXACTLY WHAT WAS WRONG.. HAD OBVIOUSLY SEEN IT PLENTY BEFORE. I HAD TO PAY $158.46 FOR THE REPAIR AS THEY INFORMED ME THE RECALL ONLY COVERED '94 - '97. '98 SHOULD ALSO BE INCLUDED!! GM IS VERY LUCKY THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NO TRAGEDIES BECAUSE OF THIS... AT LEAST, THAT ANYBODY KNOWS ABOUT. I THINK IT'S VERY POSSIBLE THAT THERE ARE UNREPORTED ACCIDENTS OR DEATHS RELATED TO THIS PROBLEM. VISIBILITY GOES TO ZERO ALMOST IMMEDIATELY! REIMBURSE ME, GM, YOU'RE GETTING OFF CHEAP!!

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

6/11/2004 - PITTSBORO, NC
1998 CHEVY SUBURBAN-WIPERS STOP WORKING AT RANDOM INTERVALS, MUST FORCE TO WORK BY HAND UNTIL THEY START WORKING AGAIN, NEED TO REPLACE WIPER MOTOR

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

6/1/2004 - MUNCIE, IN
IN HEAVY RAIN, WINDSHIELD WASHERS FAILED COMPLETELY WITH NO WARNING. HUMMING IN THE MOTOR BUT THE WIPERS WOULD NOT WORK. EXTREMELY HAZARDOUS CONDITION. COULD NOT SEE ROAD NOR ONCOMING TRAFFIC.

View Details

STEERING: ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

5/21/2004 - RALEIGH, NC
STEERING SENSOR FAILED, CAUSING STEERING WHEEL TO SKIP WHEN TURNING AND FEELS LIKE CONTROL OF STEERING IS LOST MOMENTARILY. SENSOR WAS REPLACED ONCE AND PROBLEM WAS CURED FOR A TIME, BUT IT IS NOW RECURRING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds