Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 239 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (5) Steering (26) Trailer Hitches (1)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (18) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (14) Visibility (54)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (14) Wheels (3)
Equipment (7) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (72)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: REARVIEW MIRRORS/DEVICES

9/3/2003 - SYRACUSE, IN
AUTO DIMMING FOR THE REAR VIEW MIRRORS HAS BECOME DEFECTIVE,AND IT DOESN'T DIM THE MIRRORS ANYMORE. WITH NO MANUAL WAY TO DIM YOUR REAR VIEW MIRROR THIS MAKES DRIVING AT NIGHT VERY DANGEROUS AT TIMES. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER TO GET IT FIXED AND THEY WANTED $500 SAYING THAT THE REAR VIEW MIRROR NEEDED REPLACED. I FEEL THAT THE REPLACEMENT PRICE IS TOO EXORBITANT, AND BECAUSE OF THAT IT HASN'T BEEN REPLACED. IT SEEMS LIKE THEY SHOULD PUT A MANUAL FLIP SWITCH ON THE MIRROR AS A BACK-UP IN CASE THE MIRROR WOULD BECOME DEFECTIVE LIKE MINE HAS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

8/26/2003 - DALLASQ, GA
WINDSHIELD WIPERS QUIT WORKING DURING A STRONG STORM ON I-75. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO GET OVER TO THE RIGHT LANE AND PULL OFF THE ROAD...A BUZZING NOISE WAS COMING FROM A BLACK MOTOR CASING, SO I TAPPED IT AND THE WIPERS BEGAN TO WORK AGAIN. THIS HAS HAPPEN ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE CAR IS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE IN THE RAIN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DRUM: SHOES/LININGS

7/26/2003 - ATTLEBORO, MA
1998 SUBURBAN K1500 = REPETITIVE PROBLEMS WITH REAR BRAKES NOT SELF ADJUSTING, REPLACED BRAKE SHOES TWICE, REPLACED SPRINGS AND ALL HARDWARE ONCE (SINCE 2000) WITH NO AVAIL. REAR BRAKES DON'T WORK WELL, FRONT BRAKES NEED TO STOP VEHICLE ANTILOCK BRAKES HAVE TO KICK IN TO STOP VEHICLE. TRANSFER CASE NOW LEAKING AND WONDERING IF REAR BRAKE PROBLEM IS THE CAUSE OF TRANSFER CASE PROBLEM. HAVE THERE BEEN ANY RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

7/26/2003 - ATTLEBORO, MA
1998 SUBURBAN K1500 = REPETITIVE PROBLEMS WITH REAR BRAKES NOT SELF ADJUSTING, REPLACED BRAKE SHOES TWICE, REPLACED SPRINGS AND ALL HARDWARE ONCE (SINCE 2000) WITH NO AVAIL. REAR BRAKES DON'T WORK WELL, FRONT BRAKES NEED TO STOP VEHICLE ANTILOCK BRAKES HAVE TO KICK IN TO STOP VEHICLE. TRANSFER CASE NOW LEAKING AND WONDERING IF REAR BRAKE PROBLEM IS THE CAUSE OF TRANSFER CASE PROBLEM. HAVE THERE BEEN ANY RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

7/24/2003 - ADELPHI, MD
PROBLEM WITH ELECTRICAL SYSTEM ON CHEVROLET SUBURBAN 1998 MODEL. VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED IN SEPTEMBER 1997 BUT IS A 1998 MODEL. PROBLEMS ARE AS FOLLOWS: . CHEVROLET HAS A RECALL FOR 1997 MODEL FOR WINDSHIELD WIPER MALFUNCTION I HAVE A 1998 MODEL WITH THE SAME PROBLEM BUT THE RECALL DOES NOT COVER IT. 2. I ALSO HAVE PROBLEM WITH THE REMOTE CONTROL. VEHICLE HAS SOME SORT OF WIRING PROBLEM, I CHANGED THE BATTERIES ON THE REMOTE CONTROL BUT IT WILL NOT WORK. 3. I HAD TO CHANGE WIRING HARNESS FOR REAR LIGHTS SINCE THE LIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK AND DEALERSHIP SAID THAT I HAD TO CHANGE THE WIRING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

7/24/2003 - ADELPHI, MD
PROBLEM WITH ELECTRICAL SYSTEM ON CHEVROLET SUBURBAN 1998 MODEL. VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED IN SEPTEMBER 1997 BUT IS A 1998 MODEL. PROBLEMS ARE AS FOLLOWS: . CHEVROLET HAS A RECALL FOR 1997 MODEL FOR WINDSHIELD WIPER MALFUNCTION I HAVE A 1998 MODEL WITH THE SAME PROBLEM BUT THE RECALL DOES NOT COVER IT. 2. I ALSO HAVE PROBLEM WITH THE REMOTE CONTROL. VEHICLE HAS SOME SORT OF WIRING PROBLEM, I CHANGED THE BATTERIES ON THE REMOTE CONTROL BUT IT WILL NOT WORK. 3. I HAD TO CHANGE WIRING HARNESS FOR REAR LIGHTS SINCE THE LIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK AND DEALERSHIP SAID THAT I HAD TO CHANGE THE WIRING.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: SWITCH/WIRING

7/24/2003 - ADELPHI, MD
PROBLEM WITH ELECTRICAL SYSTEM ON CHEVROLET SUBURBAN 1998 MODEL. VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED IN SEPTEMBER 1997 BUT IS A 1998 MODEL. PROBLEMS ARE AS FOLLOWS: . CHEVROLET HAS A RECALL FOR 1997 MODEL FOR WINDSHIELD WIPER MALFUNCTION I HAVE A 1998 MODEL WITH THE SAME PROBLEM BUT THE RECALL DOES NOT COVER IT. 2. I ALSO HAVE PROBLEM WITH THE REMOTE CONTROL. VEHICLE HAS SOME SORT OF WIRING PROBLEM, I CHANGED THE BATTERIES ON THE REMOTE CONTROL BUT IT WILL NOT WORK. 3. I HAD TO CHANGE WIRING HARNESS FOR REAR LIGHTS SINCE THE LIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK AND DEALERSHIP SAID THAT I HAD TO CHANGE THE WIRING.

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

7/11/2003 - LAROSE, LA
THE QUARTER PANEL GLASS DOOR SHATTERED INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE WHILE CLOSING THE FRONT DOOR. DEALER STATED THAT IT WAS COMMON ON THOSE VEHICLES.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

7/9/2003 - HOUSTON, TX
FOR ABOUT 2 MONTHS THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY. THEY FINALLY QUIT COMPLETELY JULY 7,2003. CALLED CHEVY DEALER AND THEY SAID THERE WAS NOT A RECALL FOR 1998 SUBURBAN.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

7/7/2003 - SEAFORD, NY
VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME DEFECT AS STATED IN RECALL 03 V 159 000, BUT IT'S MODEL YEAR AND VIN NUMBER WAS NOT INCLUDED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds