Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 239 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (5) Steering (26) Trailer Hitches (1)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (18) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (14) Visibility (54)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (14) Wheels (3)
Equipment (7) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (72)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: SWITCH/WIRING

7/5/2003 - HOUSTON, TX
I HAVE A 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN 5.7L V8, 4X4 WITH THE LT PACKAGE. I AM EXPERIENCING WINDSHIELD WIPER PROBLEMS WHERE THE WIPERS FAIL APPROXIMATELY 50% OF THE TIME WHEN NEEDED. THERE IS CURRENTLY A RECALL ON 94-97 MODEL CHEVROLET PICKUPS/SUV'S ON THIS ISSUE BUT THE 98 MODELS ARE NOT INCLUDED. I BELIEVE I AM EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM AND THE ISSUE SHOULD BE GM'S RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

6/24/2003 - SALEM, OR
I HAD MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS QUIT WORKING ON MY 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. AT FIRST IT STARTED OUT ONCE IN AWHILE. HOWEVER COMING BACK FROM VACATION IN THE AUTUMN OF 2001, I WAS COMING THROUGH A MOUNTAIN PASS AT 10:30 PM. IT WAS RAINING VERY HARD AND ON A TWO LANE HIGHWAY IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS QUIT. I HAD MY WIFE AND 2 YOUNG DAUGHTERS IN THE SECOND ROW SEAT. THERE WAS NO SHOULDER TO PULL OVER ON, AND IN THE PITCH BLACK I THOUGHT FOR SURE WE WOULD EITHER END UP IN THE OTHER LANE AND HIT AN ONCOMING CAR OR END UP IN THE DITCH. I HAD THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MODULE CHANGED AT CAPITOL CHEVROLET IN SALEM OREGON. I HAVE THE INVOICE. I WANT TO MAKE SURE THAT NO ONE ELSE HAS TO GO THROUGH THE SAME SITUATION AS WE DID. I AM AWARE OF THE RECALL ON CERTAIN CHEVROLET MODELS, BUT IT DOES NOT INCLUDE 1998 MODELS...BIG MISTAKE...IT SHOULD INCLUDE 1998'S ALSO.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: SWITCH/WIRING

6/21/2003 - MONUMENT, CO
I OWN A 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WORK VERY INTERMITTENTLY. WHEN ON DELAY THEY SOMETIMES DELAY, SOMETIMES WORK ON SLOW SPEED AND SOMETIMES DO NOT WORK AT ALL. THERE IS AN ACTIVE RECALL ON OTHER CHEVROLET MODELS FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM BUT NOT THIS MODEL AND YEAR. CHEVROLET NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THERE IS A FATAL OR DEBILITATING CRASH. SAFETY FIRST!

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: SWITCH/WIRING

6/16/2003 - LAKELAND, FL
TODAY, WHILE DRIVING IN A RAIN STORM MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED, MAKING VISIBILITY NEAR ZERO! RECENTLY, THE WIPERS HAVE NOT ALWAYS WORKED WHEN TURNED ON, BUT WITH PERSISTENCE THEY HAVE EVENTUALLY COME ON.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: SWITCH/WIRING

6/9/2003 - SINKING SPRING, PA
ON 9/07/2003 AT 1140 HRS WHILE DRIVING MY 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN IN A RAIN STORM WITH MY TWO YOUNG CHILDREN IN THE BACK, MY WIPERS FAILED TO CONTINUE WORKING. VISIBILITY WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT. I PROCEEDED IMMEDIATELY TO THE NEAREST DEALER AND WAS INFORMED ABOUT A DEFECTIVE WIPER MOTOR RELAY CIRCUIT BOARD THAT GM HAS REDESIGNED TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM. I PURCHASED THE UPDATED MODULE KIT AND INSTALLED THE UNIT IN LESS ONE HALF HOUR. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM WHICH SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER A RECALL PROGRAM SO AS TO AVOID SERIOUS MISHAPS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/27/2003 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
FUEL SYSTEM GAS SPOUT RUSTED WHICH CREATED FUME, THAT IS ENTERING THE VEHICLE AND MAKING THE OCCUPANT SICK. THIS COULD ALSO CAN CAUSE A FIRE DUE TO IT'S LOCATION PER CONSUMER.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/7/2003 - IRVING, TX
THE DEALER REFUSED TO FIX THE VEHICLES RECALL! THE PARTS WERE AVAILABLE. THE CONSUMER IS CONCERNED, HE RECEIVE A RECALL NOTICE A ONE MONTH AGO RECALL NUMBER#50112290 TO REPLACE FUEL JUMPER HARNESS. THE FIRST DEALER GRAFF CHEVROLET 972 263 2281 1405 EAST MAIN STREET GRAND PRAIRE TX. SECOND DEALERSHIP : VAN CHEVROLET SERVICE MANAGER FRANK SOUTH 35E CAROLLTON TX 972 389 6700.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: SWITCH/WIRING

5/2/2003 - WILLOUGHBY HILLS, OH
I HAVE A 1998 SUBURBAN. I ASKED GM TO INCLUDE MY VEHICLE SINCE IT HAS THE SAME DEFECTS, BUT THEY SAY NO. HOW DO I GET INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL? GM RECALLS 1.77M VEHICLES. NO. 1 AUTOMAKER RECALLS '94-'97 PICKUPS, SUV'S, VANS TO REPLACE WINDSHIELD WIPER CIRCUIT BOARDS. MAY 1, 2003: 11:21 AM EDT. NEW YORK (CNN/MONEY) - GENERAL MOTORS SAID THURSDAY IT WILL RECALL ABOUT 1.77 MILLION PICKUPS, SPORT/UTILITY VEHICLES AND VANS PRODUCED FROM 1994 THROUGH 1997 TO REPLACE WINDSHIELD WIPER CIRCUIT BOARDS AND MOTOR COVERS. GM (GM: DOWN $0.77 TO $35.28, RESEARCH, ESTIMATES) CONDUCTED SIMILAR WINDSHIELD WIPER RECALLS IN 1998 AND 2003. THE COMPANY TOLD CNNFN THAT SINCE THE FIRST RECALL IN 1998, THERE HAVE BEEN FIVE CRASHES AND ONE INJURY RELATED TO THE PARTS ON THE VEHICLES BEING RECALLED, BUT NO FATALITIES. IT ADDED THAT THERE HAVE BEEN NO LAWSUITS STEMMING FROM THE PARTS BEING RECALLED AS FAR AS IT KNOWS. THE COMPANY SAID THE VEHICLES INVOLVED ARE: 1994-1997 CHEVROLET C/K AND GMC SIERRA PICKUP TRUCKS, CHEVROLET TAHOE AND SUBURBAN/GMC YUKON AND SUBURBAN SUV'S; 1995-1997 CHEVROLET ASTRO AND GMC SAFARI MIDSIZE VANS AND CHEVROLET/GMC FULL-SIZE CREW CABS; 1996-1997 CHEVROLET BLAZER, GMC JIMMY MIDSIZE SUV'S, CHEVROLET S10, GMC SIERRA, AND ISUZU HOMBRE SMALL PICKUPS. GM SAID IT WILL NOTIFY VEHICLE OWNERS BEGINNING THIS SUMMER AND THE REPAIRS WILL BE MADE AT DEALERSHIPS AT NO COST TO THE CUSTOMERS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

4/29/2003 - CUMMING, GA
I HAVE A 98 CHEVY SUBURBAN, AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS SOME TIMES STOP WORKING WHILE THEY ARE IN USE. THERE WAS A RECALL ON SOME SUBURBANS, AND BLAZERS, BUT THE YEAR ONLY WENT UP TO I THINK 1997. THE RECALL HAD TO DO WITH THE WIPERS STOPPING DURING OPERATION. I CALLED CHEVEROLET JUST TO SEE IF OUR YEAR WAS GOING TO BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, AND HE REPLIED NO, AND THERE WAS NOTHING THAT COULD BE DONE. HE SAID HE COULD CALL A DEALER AND HAVE ME TAKE IT TO THEM AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR ANY REPAIRS. I CANNOT AFFORD TO TAKE IT IN RIGHT NOW, SO HOPEFULLY THERE WILL BE A RECALL IN THE FUTURE. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME I USE THE WIPERS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

4/18/2003 - HOLLYWOOD, FL
WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR, CONTROL MODULE P/N 12463090, FAILS DUE TO A COLD (CRACKED) SOLDER JOINT ON THE CONTROLLER CIRCUIT BOARD. THIS CAUSES THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS TO WORK ERRATICALLY OR NOT AT ALL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds