Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 239 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (5) Steering (26) Trailer Hitches (1)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seats (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (18) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (14) Visibility (54)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (4) Tires (14) Wheels (3)
Equipment (7) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (72)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC

8/5/2002 - TUCSON, AZ
CHEVROLET HAS BRUSHED ME OFF SEVERERL TIMES BY SAYING I NEVER BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN TO A GM DEALER FOR BRAKES THE FIRST TIME I DDIDNT FEEL I WAS OBLIGATED TO GO TO GM I WENT TO BRAKE MAX THIS IS A BIG PROBLEM AND CHEVY WONT FESS UP AND HELP THE PUBLIC THE TRUCK IS TO BIG FOR THE BRAKE SYSTEM MADE FOR THIS APPLICATION.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM

8/5/2002 - TUCSON, AZ
CHEVROLET HAS BRUSHED ME OFF SEVERERL TIMES BY SAYING I NEVER BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN TO A GM DEALER FOR BRAKES THE FIRST TIME I DDIDNT FEEL I WAS OBLIGATED TO GO TO GM I WENT TO BRAKE MAX THIS IS A BIG PROBLEM AND CHEVY WONT FESS UP AND HELP THE PUBLIC THE TRUCK IS TO BIG FOR THE BRAKE SYSTEM MADE FOR THIS APPLICATION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

8/5/2002 - TUCSON, AZ
CHEVROLET HAS BRUSHED ME OFF SEVERERL TIMES BY SAYING I NEVER BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN TO A GM DEALER FOR BRAKES THE FIRST TIME I DDIDNT FEEL I WAS OBLIGATED TO GO TO GM I WENT TO BRAKE MAX THIS IS A BIG PROBLEM AND CHEVY WONT FESS UP AND HELP THE PUBLIC THE TRUCK IS TO BIG FOR THE BRAKE SYSTEM MADE FOR THIS APPLICATION.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

7/16/2002 - CLEVELAND, TN
WINDSHIELD WIPERS WORK INTERMITTENTLY, OR STOP WORKING DURING OPERATION. DEALER CONTACTED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

7/15/2002 - MCMINNVILLE, OR
THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES HAVE ALWAYS PULLED TO THE RIGHT AND ARE GETTING WORSE. THE AUTO WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP SEVERAL TIMES WHILE UNDER WARRANTY WITH NO SATISFACTION. OTHER SUBURBANS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM, BUT NO RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED. CALIFORNIA HAS A LEMON LAW, BUT NOT OREGON....THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM IN CA WITH SATISFACTION B/C OF THE LEMON LAW. THE PROBLEM KEEPS GETTING WORSE UNTIL THE TIME COMES WHEN THE AUTO ALMOST LEAVES THE ROAD AFTER APPLYING THE BRAKES

View Details

TIRES

6/12/2002 - ROUND ROCK, TX
WE WERE DRIVING STRAIGHT AT 70 MPH ON I-35; ALL TIRES WERE PROPERLY INFLATED; THERE WERE NO OBSTRUCTIONS OR DEBRIS IN THE ROADWAY; WITHOUT WARNING, THE LEFT REAR TIRE CAME APART. THE TREAD CAME OFF OF THE TIRE, WRAPPED AROUND THE AXLE WHILE THE WHEEL KEPT TURNING. FROM WHAT I'VE READ ON YOUR SITE, THIS APPEARS TO BE EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE FIRESTONE/EXPLORER PROBLEMS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

6/4/2002 - MOUNTS CORNER, SC
FUEL PUMP IS NOT WORKING ANYMORE, AND THE VEHICEL CANNOT START UP. CONTACTED DEALER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

5/31/2002 - GLENDALE, CA
THE BRAKE PEDAL WILL GO TO THE FLOOR UNDER MODERATE BRAKING. THE BRAKE SYSTEM IS INADEQUATE FOR SUCH A HEAVY DUTY 3/4 TON VEHICLE. HAVE HAD SEVERAL NEAR MISSES, WHEN HAVING TO BRAKE SUDDENLY, WHERE THERE WAS SUFFICIENT DISTANCE BETWEEN MY VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. THE BRAKES MAKE A GROANING NOISE UNDER HARD BRAKING. ALSO, VEHICLE PULLS WILDLY AND HARD WHEN EMERGENCY BRAKING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC

5/31/2002 - GLENDALE, CA
I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE DISC PAD 4 TIMES IN UNDER 10,000 MILES, I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE ROTORS TWICE IN THE SAME AMOUNT OF TIME. I AM NOW FACING ANOTHER ROTOR AND BRAKE PAD REPLACEMENT. THE ROTORS WARP VERY QUICKLY AND THE PADS DO NOT LAST, SEEMS TO ALWAYS HAVE SOME PULL WHEN BRAKES APPLIED IN NORMAL BRAKING SITUATIONS. ALSO, THE VEHICLE PULLS HARD AND WILDLY IN EMERGENCY BRAKING SITUATIONS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/22/2002 - ROBINSON, IL
WHEN TURNING TO RIGHT VEHICLE WILL MAKE A SHARPER TURN, LIKE STEERING WHEEL IS BEING JERKED IN THAT DIRECTION. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER, AND THEY CHANGED STEERING SENSOR. CONSUMER FELT THAT THIS WAS VERY DANGEROUS, CAR COULD TIP OVER. PLEASE PROVIDE ANY FURTHER INFORMATION.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds