Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET VENTURE - 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 417 complaints filed for the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Exterior Lighting (66) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (26) Trailer Hitches (1)
Child Seat (4) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Power Train (18) Steering (37) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (14) Fuel System Other (3) Seat Belts (22) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (19) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (12) Suspension (8) Visibility (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (119) Latches Locks Linkages (18) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/10/2016 - VICKSBURG, MS
VAN WAS TRAVELING AT APPROX 65 MPH..FORD QUAD CAB TRUCK PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME..I LOCKED THE BRAKES, SOME SKID MARKS DOWN THE HIGHWAY, AND COMPLETELY BROADSIDED THE TRUCK. DAMAGE TO TRUCK WAS ON DRIVER SIDE DOOR, AND FRONT CORNER PANEL. SEVERAL OF TRUCKS AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. IMPACT WAS AT A HIGH SPEED. INJURIES TO MYSELF AND PASSENGER, NECK, SHOULDER, KNEE, WRIST, ANKLE, NOT FATAL, THANK GOODNESS. PASSENGER OF TRUCK, INJURIES UNKNOWN. TRUCK WAS AT FAULT IN ACCIDENT.

View Details

STEERING

11/27/2015 - WEST PITTSTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN AT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09E005000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 122,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/23/2015 - LEBANON, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT FROM THE PARK POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 98V131000 (POWER TRAIN). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 159,817. UPDATED 5/18/15 THE CONSUMER STATED THE CABLE END THAT CONNECTS TO THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. UPDATED 7/1/2015

View Details

TIRES

8/18/2014 - YOE, PA
GOODYEAR ASSURANCE COMFORTRED 215/70 R15 98T. BELTS SEPARATED AT BEAD, GIANT GOITER IN SIDEWALL. I WAS TOLD BY DEALER THIS WAS A MOUNTING ERROR. NO TEARING OF INNER EDGE ON BEAD. THE OTHER THREE TIRES ALL HAVE BULGES STARTING IN SIDEWALLS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

12/9/2011 - OAK LAWN, IL
SUDDEN AND COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE. IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE REAR BRAKE LINES HAD RUSTED TO THE POINT OF FAILURE. NO WARNING...JUST COMPLETE FAILURE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/13/2011 - KINGS PORT, TN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR AUTOMATICALLY OPENED ON ITS OWN AFTER IT WAS CLOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER WHO ADVISED HER THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 01V067000(LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED FOR THE SLIDING DOORS A SECOND TIME. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 163,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

1/31/2010 - TROY, MI
I BACKED THE VAN OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AT HOME AND PLACED THE CAR INTO DRIVE. AS I STARTED TO MOVE FORWARD, THE GAS PEDAL FELT HARDER THAN NORMAL BUT I ATTRIBUTED THAT TO BEING LEFT OUTSIDE ALL WINTER. I PUSHED THE GAS PEDAL HARDER TO GET TO CAR TO MOVE FORWARD. AND IMMEDIATELY I FELT THE PEDAL UNSTICK . AT THAT SAME MOMENT, THE ENGINE RACED TO FULL THROTTLE AND RACED FORWARD WITH THE VAN CONTINUALLY GOING FASTER AND FASTER RACING INSTANTLY TO 50 MILES AN HOUR AND STILL ACCELERATING. AT THE BEGINNING OF THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION, I TRIED TO APPLY THE BRAKES BUT COULD NOT STOP THE VAN OR STOP THE ACCELERATION. I TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND FINALLY BRAKED THE VAN TO A STOP. THIS ALL HAPPENED ON THE SIDE STREET OF MY SUBDIVISION BEFORE I COULD GET ONTO THE MAIN ROAD. LUCKILY THERE WERE NO CARS OR PEOPLE IN MY WAY AND I WAS ABLE TO GET CONTROL OF THE VAN WITHOUT HURTING MYSELF OR OTHERS, THE VAN WAS BROUGHT BACK TO MY DRIVEWAY WHERE IT REMAINS. I HAVE NOT CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AT THIS POINT AS I DO NOT WANT TO PAY TO HAVE THIS 12 YEAR OLD VAN REPAIRED AT MY COST NOR DO I EVER WANT TO DRIVE THIS VAN AGAIN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/14/2009 - HILLSBORO, OH
1998 CHEVY VENTURE. REAR BRAKE LINE FAILURE. BRAKE LINE WAS RUSTED THROUGH-MIDWAY FROM FRONT TO BACK ON BOTH REAR BRAKE LINE'S. THESE LINES ARE MADE OF METAL AND HAVE SEVERAL 90 DEGREE BENDS ALONG THE FRAME OF THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO EVENTS LEADING UP TO EQUIPMENT FAILURE. I WAS BACKING THE VEHICLE OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND LOST ALL RESISTANCE. SHOULD THIS HAVE OCCURRED WHILE TRAVELING AT LEGAL SPEED LIMIT AND PROPER FOLLOWING DISTANCE THE RESULTS COULD BE CATASTROPHIC FOR THE VEHICLE OCCUPANTS AND OTHER MOTORIST INVOLVED. STAINLESS STEEL MATERIEL SHOULD BE USED FOR EQUIPMENT AS IMPORTANT AS THIS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/18/2009 - CHICAGO, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT SHIFTED THE GEAR INTO PARK AND SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE ROLLED AWAY WHILE SHE WAS ASSISTING A CHILD WITH EXITING THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT RAN TO JUMP INTO THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS VERY UNSTABLE AND HAD A LOT OF "PLAY" OR WIGGLE. SHE DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP. PRIOR TO THIS FAILURE, THE TAIL LIGHTS FAILED IN FEBRUARY OF 2007. AT THAT TIME, SHE WAS INFORMED THAT SHE NEEDED NEW CIRCUIT BOARDS. WITHIN A YEAR, THE FAILURES RECURRED. THE CIRCUIT BOARDS BURNED OUT AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PLUG FOR THE BOARDS WAS BURNED OUT AS WELL, WHICH WOULD CAUSE THE FAILURES TO CONTINUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 168,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/18/2009 - CHICAGO, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHEVROLET VENTURE. THE CONTACT SHIFTED THE GEAR INTO PARK AND SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE ROLLED AWAY WHILE SHE WAS ASSISTING A CHILD WITH EXITING THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT RAN TO JUMP INTO THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS VERY UNSTABLE AND HAD A LOT OF "PLAY" OR WIGGLE. SHE DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP. PRIOR TO THIS FAILURE, THE TAIL LIGHTS FAILED IN FEBRUARY OF 2007. AT THAT TIME, SHE WAS INFORMED THAT SHE NEEDED NEW CIRCUIT BOARDS. WITHIN A YEAR, THE FAILURES RECURRED. THE CIRCUIT BOARDS BURNED OUT AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PLUG FOR THE BOARDS WAS BURNED OUT AS WELL, WHICH WOULD CAUSE THE FAILURES TO CONTINUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 168,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds