Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK REGAL - 1999 BUICK REGAL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 244 complaints filed for the 1999 BUICK REGAL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 BUICK REGAL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 BUICK REGAL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (5)
Communications (4) Exterior Lighting (7) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (37) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (10) Steering (31) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (11) Structure (3) Visibility (21)
Engine (47) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Suspension (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (45) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/30/2015 - ISSAQUAH, WA
1999 BUICK REGAL. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE DEFECT AND REPAIR ISSUES. THE CONSUMER DID NOT STATE WHAT THE ISSUE WAS. THE CONSUMER HAS SINCE SENT IN A RECALL NOTICE, REGARDING THE ENGINE. UPDATED 04/12/16.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/26/2015 - LEVITTOWN, NY
ENGINE EXPLOSION AND FIRE VEHICLE WAS IN MY DRIVEWAY ENGINE OFF. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE THERE WAS A LOUD EXPLOSION FOLLOWED BY ENGINE FIRE. FLAMES WERE 20 FT HIGH. FIRE DEPT WAS CALLED BUT I WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE WITH FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND WATER FROM MY GARDEN HOSE. WHEN THE FIRE DEPT ARRIVED THE FIRE WAS ALREADY OUT. MY EVALUATION IS THE FOLLOWING: THE FORCE OF THE EXPLOSION WAS SO GREAT THAT IT SPLIT OPEN/CRACKED THE UPPER INTAKE MANIFOLD (UPPER PLANUM). IT ALSO LIFTED THE FUEL RAIL FROM THE ENGINE AND SOME INJECTORS CAME LOOSE, FUEL THEN SPILLED ON THE ENGINE AND FIRE IMMEDIATELY ENSUED. THE PLASTIC FUEL LINES ALSO POPPED OFF THE FUEL INJECTORS RAIL, THIS SPILLED EVEN MORE FUEL AND FED THE FIRE EVEN MORE. I CANNOT BELIEVE BUICK/GM USE PLASTIC INTAKE MANIFOLDS (UPPER PLANUM) AND PLASTIC FUEL LINE INTO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. I BELIEVE IF THE MANIFOLD AND FUEL LINES HAD BEEN MADE OF METAL, THE EXPLOSION OR BACKFIRE WOULD HAVE BEEN CONTAINED AND MINIMAL DAMAGE WITH NO FIRE WOULD HAVE OCCURRED. THE FIRE CONSUMED THE PLASTIC FUEL LINE WHICH THEN SPILLED EVEN MORE FUEL ONTO THE ON GOING FIRE. I RESEARCHED ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER PEOPLE WHO EXPERIENCED THE SAME INCIDENT INVOLVING BUICK AND GM VEHICLES. I BELIEVE THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM AND DEFECTS THAT NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED. IF THIS INCIDENT HAD HAPPENED IN MY GARAGE MY ENTIRE HOUSE WOULD HAVE CAUGHT FIRE AND THERE COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUS INJURY OR FATALITIES WITHIN MY FAMILY OR MYSELF. I BELIEVE THIS IS AN ENGINEERING DEFECT THAT NEEDS BE CORRECTED.

View Details

ENGINE

12/26/2015 - LEVITTOWN, NY
ENGINE EXPLOSION AND FIRE VEHICLE WAS IN MY DRIVEWAY ENGINE OFF. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE THERE WAS A LOUD EXPLOSION FOLLOWED BY ENGINE FIRE. FLAMES WERE 20 FT HIGH. FIRE DEPT WAS CALLED BUT I WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE WITH FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND WATER FROM MY GARDEN HOSE. WHEN THE FIRE DEPT ARRIVED THE FIRE WAS ALREADY OUT. MY EVALUATION IS THE FOLLOWING: THE FORCE OF THE EXPLOSION WAS SO GREAT THAT IT SPLIT OPEN/CRACKED THE UPPER INTAKE MANIFOLD (UPPER PLANUM). IT ALSO LIFTED THE FUEL RAIL FROM THE ENGINE AND SOME INJECTORS CAME LOOSE, FUEL THEN SPILLED ON THE ENGINE AND FIRE IMMEDIATELY ENSUED. THE PLASTIC FUEL LINES ALSO POPPED OFF THE FUEL INJECTORS RAIL, THIS SPILLED EVEN MORE FUEL AND FED THE FIRE EVEN MORE. I CANNOT BELIEVE BUICK/GM USE PLASTIC INTAKE MANIFOLDS (UPPER PLANUM) AND PLASTIC FUEL LINE INTO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. I BELIEVE IF THE MANIFOLD AND FUEL LINES HAD BEEN MADE OF METAL, THE EXPLOSION OR BACKFIRE WOULD HAVE BEEN CONTAINED AND MINIMAL DAMAGE WITH NO FIRE WOULD HAVE OCCURRED. THE FIRE CONSUMED THE PLASTIC FUEL LINE WHICH THEN SPILLED EVEN MORE FUEL ONTO THE ON GOING FIRE. I RESEARCHED ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER PEOPLE WHO EXPERIENCED THE SAME INCIDENT INVOLVING BUICK AND GM VEHICLES. I BELIEVE THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM AND DEFECTS THAT NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED. IF THIS INCIDENT HAD HAPPENED IN MY GARAGE MY ENTIRE HOUSE WOULD HAVE CAUGHT FIRE AND THERE COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUS INJURY OR FATALITIES WITHIN MY FAMILY OR MYSELF. I BELIEVE THIS IS AN ENGINEERING DEFECT THAT NEEDS BE CORRECTED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/26/2015 - LEVITTOWN, NY
ENGINE EXPLOSION AND FIRE VEHICLE WAS IN MY DRIVEWAY ENGINE OFF. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE THERE WAS A LOUD EXPLOSION FOLLOWED BY ENGINE FIRE. FLAMES WERE 20 FT HIGH. FIRE DEPT WAS CALLED BUT I WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE WITH FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND WATER FROM MY GARDEN HOSE. WHEN THE FIRE DEPT ARRIVED THE FIRE WAS ALREADY OUT. MY EVALUATION IS THE FOLLOWING: THE FORCE OF THE EXPLOSION WAS SO GREAT THAT IT SPLIT OPEN/CRACKED THE UPPER INTAKE MANIFOLD (UPPER PLANUM). IT ALSO LIFTED THE FUEL RAIL FROM THE ENGINE AND SOME INJECTORS CAME LOOSE, FUEL THEN SPILLED ON THE ENGINE AND FIRE IMMEDIATELY ENSUED. THE PLASTIC FUEL LINES ALSO POPPED OFF THE FUEL INJECTORS RAIL, THIS SPILLED EVEN MORE FUEL AND FED THE FIRE EVEN MORE. I CANNOT BELIEVE BUICK/GM USE PLASTIC INTAKE MANIFOLDS (UPPER PLANUM) AND PLASTIC FUEL LINE INTO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. I BELIEVE IF THE MANIFOLD AND FUEL LINES HAD BEEN MADE OF METAL, THE EXPLOSION OR BACKFIRE WOULD HAVE BEEN CONTAINED AND MINIMAL DAMAGE WITH NO FIRE WOULD HAVE OCCURRED. THE FIRE CONSUMED THE PLASTIC FUEL LINE WHICH THEN SPILLED EVEN MORE FUEL ONTO THE ON GOING FIRE. I RESEARCHED ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER PEOPLE WHO EXPERIENCED THE SAME INCIDENT INVOLVING BUICK AND GM VEHICLES. I BELIEVE THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM AND DEFECTS THAT NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED. IF THIS INCIDENT HAD HAPPENED IN MY GARAGE MY ENTIRE HOUSE WOULD HAVE CAUGHT FIRE AND THERE COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUS INJURY OR FATALITIES WITHIN MY FAMILY OR MYSELF. I BELIEVE THIS IS AN ENGINEERING DEFECT THAT NEEDS BE CORRECTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/23/2015 - POWDER SPRINGS, GA
MY INSTRUMENT PANEL HAS BEEN REPLACED TWICE(UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY AND ONCE OUT OF POCKET TO THE TUNE OF $1800). ALL THE GAUGES, MILEAGE, GAS, WATER AND OIL GAUGE, BATTERY, GEAR SHIFT AND OTHERS ARE NOT ILLUMINATED. THIS POSES A SAFETY HAZARD BECAUSE THE DRIVER IS UNAWARE OF THE WARNINGS AND SETTINGS. WHEN GAS GAUGE IS INOPERABLE, A SHUTDOWN ON THE EXPRESSWAY OR ROADWAY IS DANGEROUS AND POSSIBLY DEADLY. CAR CAN OVERHEAT IF GAUGE IS NOT REGISTERING PROPER LEVEL. WINDOW MOTORS FREQUENTLY ARE INOPERABLE CAUSING WATER INTRUSION AND WINDOW FOG WHICH IS DANGEROUS WHILE DRIVING

View Details

ENGINE

12/17/2015 - EL CERRITO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 BUICK REGAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY WOULD NOT TURN OVER TO START THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE VEHICLE ERUPTED INTO FLAMES NEAR THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED BY A NEIGHBOR UPON LIFTING THE HOOD. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS NOT NOTIFIED AND THERE WAS NO POLICE REPORT OR FIRE INSPECTION REPORT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP. THE CONTACT LATER RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V701000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) AND WAS WAITING ON THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE WHAT DEALER TO TOW THE VEHICLE TO FOR INSPECTION AND REPAIR. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/17/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 BUICK REGAL. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED FIRE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V701000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

12/15/2015 - HAMMOND, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 BUICK REGAL. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND BEGAN TO PRODUCE SMOKE WHILE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS CONSTANTLY ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. A FIRE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THE CONTACT DID NOT SEE ANY FLAMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MOTOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED SEVERAL TIMES, BUT THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V701000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

12/14/2015 - PORT RICHEY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 BUICK REGAL. THE CONTACT NOTICED OIL LEAKING FROM THE FRONT AND REAR OF THE VEHICLE, WHILE PARKED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE OIL PAN, AND VALVE COVER GASKET WERE REPLACED. IN ADDITION, THE OIL CHANGE WAS PERFORMED BUT THE FAILURE REOCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V701000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FOR THE RECALL WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/8/2015 - COVINGTON, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 BUICK REGAL. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V701000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS UNAVAILABLE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds