Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK REGAL - 1999 BUICK REGAL Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 244 complaints filed for the 1999 BUICK REGAL

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 BUICK REGAL. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 BUICK REGAL, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (5)
Communications (4) Exterior Lighting (7) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (24) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (37) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (10) Steering (31) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (11) Structure (3) Visibility (21)
Engine (47) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Suspension (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (45) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/23/2010 - ROUND ROCK, TX
I AM IN ARMY & WHILE DRIVING TO WORK ONE MORNING AT 5:30 AM MY VAN SLOWLY STARTED ACCELERATING THE MORE I PRESSED THE BRAKE THE FASTER THE VAN WENT, BY THE TIME I REACHED THE STREET THE VAN WAS UP TO 50 MPH I WAS AFRAID SO I CALL MY HUSBAND, TOLD HIM THE SITUATION & THE STREET I WAS TRAVELING, HE WAS ON THE WAY. BY THEN I WAS UP TO 60-65 MPH, I CALLED 911 STATED THE SITUATION, ASKING FOR HELP & TO HAVE SOMEONE ON THE PHONE JUST IN CASE. I ALMOST HIT A BUS, LOOKING AHEAD A FEW BLOCKS I SAW BACK-TO-BACK TRAFFIC STARTING TO BUILD-UP, I DID NOT WANT TO HURT MYSELF OR ANYONE ELSE, THEN GOING 65-70 MPH I LOOKED OVER AND SAW A PARK I TURNED THE VAN INTO THE PARK & TO STOP IT I DECIDED TO CRUSHED THE VAN INTO A TREE. I TURNED TOWARD THE TREE AND JUMPED OUT; THE VAN CRASHED INTO THE SIDE OF THE TREE & CONTINUED TO KEEP GOING. I RAN AFTER IT AS I SAW THE VAN JUMP THE CURB AND GOING 70MPH TOWARDS THE ROW OF HOMES ACROSS THE STREET CRASHED INTO A TREE HEAD ON. THE VAN ENGINE AFTER ALL THAT CONTINUED TO ROAR AS IF TRYING TO KEEP GOING. I FLAGGED DOWN A VAN AND RECALLED THE POLICE TO LET THEM KNOW WHERE THE VAN HAD STOPPED. WHEN THE FIRE DEPARTMENT CAME & TURNED THE VAN OFF THEY TOLD ME THE VAN WAS ON FIRE & THEY TOWED IT AWAY. THIS IS A BLESSING KNOW ONE WAS HURT, BUT SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS, & FOR THE AUTO COMPANY NOT TO INVESTIGATE IS A TRAGEDY. WHAT ARE THEY SAYING NUMEROUS PEOPLE WILL HAVE TO DIE, BEFORE THEY WILL ADMIT THERE MAYBE A PROBLEM, JUST TO SAVE MONEY? IF THAT IS THE CASE SHAME ON THEM. I AM HERE BY GRACE, BUT I CAN'T HELP BUT TO THINK OF THOSE THIS SAME SITUATION MAY HAVE HAPPEN TO, BUT DID NOT LIVE TO SAY WHY OR HOW IT HAPPEN. IF THIS IS WHAT IS HAPPENING GOD BLESS THE ROADS WE DRIVE ON THAT THE NEXT PERSON MY NOT THINK TO DO WHAT I DID & THE LIVE IT WILL AFFECT. THANK YOU, FOR LETTING ME POST MY STORY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/21/2009 - MARTINSVILLE, IN
IN JUNE 2009 I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR 1999 BUICK REGAL THAT THERE HAVE BEEN REPORTED ENGINE FIRES AND THEY WERE ISSUING A RECALL. I HAVE OWNED MY CAR FOR APPROX. 7 YEARS AND THOUGH I PLANNED ON TAKING IT IN TO GET THE RECALL REPAIRED, I HADN'T HAD A CHANCE TO DO IT YET AS OF 9/1/09. I HAD ACTUALLY CALLED THE DEALERSHIP THE PRIOR WEEK TO SEE IF I HAD TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AND THEY SAID NO, TO JUST COME BY ANYTIME. I WORK 6 DAYS A WEEK AND TAKING IT WAS GOING TO BE HARD FOR ME BUT I HAVE ALWAYS GOTTEN IT DONE IN THE PAST. ANYWAY, I DROVE THE CAR 11 MILES FROM MY MOMS HOUSE TO MY HOUSE ON THE 1ST. AND WHEN I GOT HOME I CARRIED IN SOME GROCERIES AND SENT MY SON OUTSIDE TO GET THE REST. HE CAME BACK IN YELLING THAT MY CAR WAS ON FIRE! MY HUSBAND WHO WAS HOME POPPED UP THE HOOD AND FLAMES WERE ABOUT A FOOT HIGH. I HAD PARKED RIGHT BY THE HOUSE AND HE GRABBED THE HOSE AND MY SONS SWEATSHIRT AND TOGETHER HE AND MY SON PUT THE FIRE OUT. THE BURNED AREA IS RIGHT WHERE THE RECALL DESCRIBED THE FIRE COULD HAPPEN. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY REFERRED ME TO THE BUICK RECALL LINE. I CALLED THEM AND THEY TOOK MY INFO. 2 WEEKS LATER I GET A LETTER THAT SAYS MY "WARRANTY CLAIM" HAS BEEN DENIED. I CALLED THE NUMBER BACK AT THE TOP OF THE LETTER BUT IT HAD BEEN DISCONNECTED! I CALLED THE RECALL LINE NUMBER BUT KEPT GETTING A VOICE MAIL AND NO RETURN CALLS BACK. FINALLY ON 10/21 I CALLED THEM AND THEY AGAIN TOLD ME TO CALL THE NUMBER ON THE LETTER AND I SAID IS WAS NOT IN SERVICE AND THEY SAID THE NUMBER WAS PRINTED WRONG AND GAVE ME THE CORRECT NUMBER. I CALLED AND THEY TOLD ME THAT "THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED ON THE CAR AND THAT THEY WERE UNDER NO OBLIGATION TO FIX IT AFTER THAT", EVEN THOUGH IT WAS UNDER RECALL, THAT IT WAS MORE OF A "SUGGESTION" FOR REPAIR AND THAT THEY WERE NOT GOING TO REPAIR IT. THEY SAID UNDER THE WARRANTY LAW, THEY WERE NO LONGER RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS CAR....EVEN THOUGH ITS NOT A WARRANTY SITUATION! THE CAR HAS NOT BEEN MOVED SINCE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2009 - COLUMBUS, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 BUICK REGAL. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED TWICE WITHOUT WARNING IN JUNE 2008. THE DEALER REPLACED THE STARTER AND IGNITION SWITCH, BUT THE FAILURE STILL PERSISTS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 77,000. UPDATED 07/14/09 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE CONTINUES TO STOP SUDDENLY. UPDATED 07/16/09.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/14/2009 - LAKE CHARLES, LA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 BUICK REGAL. THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED WITH A FAULTY TRANSMISSION. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAD PREVIOUSLY BEEN REPLACED PRIOR TO HIM PURCHASING THE VEHICLE. FOUR YEARS LATER, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AGAIN AND CAUSES THE VEHICLE TO JERK WHILE IN FIRST AND SECOND GEARS. LATELY, THE VEHICLE HAS BECOME DIFFICULT TO DRIVE DUE TO THE JERKING AND SLIPPING. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 120,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/13/2009 - VIENNA, WV
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 BUICK REGAL. THE CONTACT PLACED OIL IN HIS VEHICLE AND TWO DROPS LANDED ON THE MANIFOLD, WHICH CAUSED AN IMMEDIATE FIRE. HE WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE WITH A HOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AFTER THE FAILURE, BUT EMITTED A BURNING SMELL WHEN THE ENGINE WAS STARTED. THE DAY BEFORE THE FAILURE, THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V116000 AND SCHEDULED A REPAIR APPOINTMENT. HE SPOKE WITH THE DEALER AND ASKED IF THE ODOR WAS A SYMPTOM OF THE RECALL, BUT THE DEALER STATED THAT IT ONLY OCCURRED WHEN THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 132,000. UPDATED 06/27/09 THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE DUE TO OIL DRIPPING ON THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS OFF. UPDATED 06/24/09.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/12/2009 - MEMPHIS, TN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 BUICK REGAL. IN 2008, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE UNDER THE HOOD AT A SCHOOL. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE WIRING UNDERNEATH THE DASHBOARD AND HOOD WERE ALL BURNED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND WAS REPAIRED. RECENTLY, SHE RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR GM RECALL NUMBER 90047 AND NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V116000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING ON THE ENGINE). THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE UNKNOWN. UPDATED 07/14/09. UPDATED 07/15/09.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/19/2008 - ROCK HILL, SC
ON MY WAY TO THE HOSPITAL I STOPPED BY THE GAS STATION AND FILLED UP. AFTER THAT I LEFT TO GO TO THE HOSPITAL, I PARKED AND WENT INSIDE. NOT EVEN 5 MINUTES AFTER I GOT INSIDE, MY CAR CAUGHT FIRE. THE HOSPITAL SECURITY AND POLICE WERE TRYING TO EXTINGUISH IT BEFORE THE FIRE TRUCK ARRIVED TO KEEP FROM SPREADING TO THE OTHER CARS. THANKFULLY IT DIDN'T. THE FIRE GOT WORST AND ENGULFED THE ENTIRE FRONT OF THE CAR WITH FLAMES, THE FIRE DEPT. MANAGED TO PUT THE FIRE OUT BUT NOT BEFORE THE CAR WAS BADLY DAMAGED. FIRE DEPT STATED THAT IT STARTED IN THE ENGINE DEPT. WAITING ON TOW TRUCK TO TOW CAR OFF. COULDN'T SAVE ANYTHING. BUT A COUPLE ITEMS IN THE TRUNK. I GOT HOME A LITTLE LATER AND SAW THAT I HAD A LETTER FOR A RECALL. STATING THAT ENGINE COMPONENT OR PARTS CAN CAUSE FIRES. THE FACT OF THE MATTER IS. I GOT THE RECALL LETTER TO LATE. I NEED THIS TAKEN CARE OF IMMEDIATELY. OR A NEW CAR.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/4/2008 - LEBANON, KY
I DROVE MY 99 BUICK REGAL TO WORK, PARKED, WENT INSIDE, STARTED ANSWERING EMAIL. WAS INFORMED BY CO WORKERS THAT MY CAR WAS BURNING. MY CAR WAS ENGULFED IN FLAMES IN MINUTES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/21/2008 - ANDALUSIA, AL
MY WIFE TOOK MY 1999 BUICK REGAL GS TO THE DEALERSHIP TO ADDRESS RECALL 07035. MY CAR WAS IN PERFECT WORKING ORDER AND RUNNING SMOOTHLY. UPON RETURN OF MY VEHICLE, THE A/C NO LONGER WORKED, THE A/C CONTROL PANEL NO LONGER WORKED, AND THE CAR WAS MISSING WHEN GOING UP HILL AND THE ENGINE TROUBLE LIGHT IS NOW CONTINUOUSLY FLASHING. MY WIFE WAS IN A VERY RURAL AREA AND I HAD TO GET IN MY TRUCK TO FOLLOW HER HOME. RECALL REPAIR FOR 07035 HAS VIRTUALLY MADE MY CAR INOPERABLE AND THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT IS NOTHING THEY DID. YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE A MECHANIC TO KNOW THEY DID SOMETHING WRONG WHEN THE CAR GOES IN WORKING PERFECTLY AND COMES OUT WITH SO MANY PROBLEMS. WHAT CAN YOU DO REGARDING THE DEALERSHIP, OR GENERAL MOTORS TO MAKE MY CAR SAFE AGAIN AND OPERATING SAFELY FOR MY WIFE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

7/17/2008 - NIANTIC, CT
MY WIFE SAID THE BRAKES FELT "FUNNY". BUT NO RED WARNING LIGHT SHOWED. I WENT TO DRIVE THE CAR TO SEE WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. WHEN I STARTED THE ENGINE AND PUSHED THE BRAKE, THE PEDDLE WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR AND THE BRAKE FLUID DRAINED OUT IN A PUDDLE UNDER THE CAN - THEN THE RED WARNING LIGHT WENT ON. PRIOR TO THIS, THERE WAS NO INDICATION OF A BRAKE PROBLEM. IF WE HAD BEEN DRIVING, WE WOULD HAVE HAD AN ACCIDENT. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, WHO IS NOW MAKING REPAIRS. I CONTACTED GM TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE CATASTROPHIC NATURE OF THIS BRAKE FAILURE -THEY WILL NOT ACCEPT ANY RESPONSIBILITY. I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS IS LIKELY TO HAPPEN TO OTHER BUICK OWNERS WILL SERIOUS NEGATIVE RESULTS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds