Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCORT - 1999 FORD ESCORT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 331 complaints filed for the 1999 FORD ESCORT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 FORD ESCORT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 FORD ESCORT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (91) Engine And Engine Cooling (62) Power Train (35) Service Brakes Hydraulic (27) Tires (14)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (15) Seat Belts (18) Steering (16) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (8) Exterior Lighting (13) Seats (6) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (39) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (42) Visibility (9)
Engine (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/28/2019 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 FORD ESCORT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED AND NO OCCUPANT INSIDE, THE VEHICLE ROLLED BACKWARDS AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT LEVER WAS IN THE PARK POSITION AT THE TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. NEITHER THE DEALER NOR THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/6/2017 - AUTRAIN, MI
VEHICLE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND IS STILL ACTIVATED, WON'T TURN OFF. THERE HAS BEEN NO COLLISIONS OR ACTIVITY THAT CAUSED LIGHT TO BE ACTIVATED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/29/2017 - CAL CITY, CA
WHILE DRIVING , THE CAR LOST POWER AND THE STEERING WHEEL WAS HARD TO TURN, AFTER COMING TO A STOP, WE TRIED TO START THE CAR UP AGAIN IT BSOUNDED LIKE IT WANTED TO TURN OVER BUT DIDN'T AFTER A FEW TRIES IT STOPPED MAKING ANY NOISE. A MECHANIC SAID THE ENGINE BLEW AND THAT IT WAS A ON GOING PROBLEM FOR THIS YEAR AND MAKE OF CAR. THE ENGINE WAS PUT IN THE CAR WHEN WE BOUGHT IT, IT WAS ADVERTISED AS NEW SO THE PREVIOUS OWNER MUST HAVE HAD THISHAPPEN TO THEM AND KNOWINGLY SOLD US THEIR PROBLEM. PLEASE WE NEED HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2017 - INVERNESS, FL
SINCE 2001, I HAVE HAD MY CAR SERVICED AT FORD AND SEARS REPAIR SHOP TO ADDRESS MY COMPLAINTS THAT WHEN MY CAR IS STATIONARY IT HAS EXCESSIVE VIBRATION. I WAS TOLD BY MANY FORD SHOPS THAT IT WAS NOTHING THAT I NEED TO REPLACE THE MOTOR MOUNTS. IT WAS REPLACED THE MOUNTS AND IT LAST LONG AND STILL THE VIBRATION CONTINUED. RECENTLY, I TOOK MY CAR TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP REGARDING THAT SAME COMPLAINT AND THEY FOUND IT IS AN "ENGINEER DEFECT: ENGINE-IDLE VIBRATION". CAN THIS BE REPAIRED BY FORD AND AT NO COST TO ME?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/15/2014 - PLANVILLE , CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 FORD ESCORT. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS RUSTED ON THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE BRAKE LINES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/24/2014 - FRIDLEY, MN
TOOK CAR IN FOR OIL CHANGE. TECH DISCOVERED BOTH REAR SPRINGS ARE BROKEN. WAS QUOTED $1200 TO REPLACE, INCLUDING STRUTS (STILL GOOD). I AM IN MINNESOTA AND THIS CAR HAS NO TRACTION IN THE SNOW. I CAN DRIVE AT 10 MPH AND THE BACK STILL BREAKS TRACTION. I HAVE SPUN OUT MORE DRIVING THIS CAR THAN I HAVE WITH ANY OTHER VEHICLE. I DO THINK FORD DESIGNED AND SOLD AN UNSAFE VEHICLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/11/2012 - WEST SALEM, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 FORD ESCORT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE HEADLIGHT BURNED OUT SEVERAL TIMES AND WOULD RECUR SPORADICALLY. THE CONTACT DID NOT TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIRS OR INSPECTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN, BUT THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 143,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/17/2012 - ABILENE, TX
1999 FORD ESCORT,HAD A WRECK AND THE CAR WAS TOTALED OUT BY INSURANCE ADJUSTER,THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND EVEN THE INSURANCE ADJUSTER STATED WOW THE AIRBAGS DIDN'T EVEN DEPLOY. ME AND MY GIRLFRIEND WERE INJURED AND WENT TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM AND HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO WORK SINCE OCTOBER 2011 AND HAVE OVER 100,000 DOLLARS ALONE IN MEDICAL BILLS AND STILL HAVE TO HAVE SURGERY. AIRBAGS SHOULD HAVE WORKED LIKE THEY WERE INSTALLED TO DO. I CALLED AND SPOKE WITH SOMEONE AT YOUR LOCATION AND SHE SAID THAT THERE WASN'T A RECALL YET,BUT THEY HAVE HAD SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME THING. I DID NOT KNOW HOW TO FILL OUT THE INFORMATION ABOUT THE EQUIPMENT. MY COMPLAINT IS THAT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY OR WORK WHEN WE HAD A ACCIDENT IN WHICH THE CAR WAS TOTALED OUT AND WE WERE IN A 1999 FORD ESCORT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/9/2012 - CLEARLAKE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 FORD ESCORT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. A LOCAL MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING BELT WAS DEFECTIVE. IN ADDITION, THE MOTOR FAILED. NEITHER THE DEALER NOR THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 93,083.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: BLOWER

11/8/2010 - MILWALKEE , WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 FORD ESCORT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR HEATER BLOWER FAILED AND SPARKS WERE SHOOTING FROM THE WIRING HARNESS. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO DISCONNECT THE HARNESS BEFORE A FIRE IGNITED. THE CONTACT LOCATED A MANUFACTURERS RECALL FOR DEFECTIVE WIRING OF THE DEFROSTER SYSTEM, IN WHICH HE BELIEVED TO BE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE, BUT DID NOT CONFIRM IF THERE WERE ANY RECALLS ON HIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NEITHER INSPECTED NOR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds