Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER SEBRING - 2000 CHRYSLER SEBRING Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 93 complaints filed for the 2000 CHRYSLER SEBRING

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHRYSLER SEBRING. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHRYSLER SEBRING, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Seat Belts (6) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (12) Other (3) Seats (3) Structure (11) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (13) Wheels (9)
Equipment (2) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Tires (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/3/2007 - SPRINGDALE, AR
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHRYSLER SEBRING. THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER APPROXIMATELY FOUR SECONDS, BUT RAN NORMALLY AS LONG AS THE TRANSMISSION WAS ENGAGED. THE DEALER NEVER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. IF THE CONTACT UNPLUGED THE COMPUTER, AND THEN PLUGED IT BACK IN THE VEHICLE WILL RESTART NORMALLY. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE 110,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER BALL JOINT

7/5/2006 - OMAHA, NE
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR AND IT STARTED MAKING A REAL LOUD SQUEAKING NOISE LIKE THE FRONT END WAS COMING OUT FROM UNDER IT. I TOOK IT IN AND GOT A COUPLE OF QUOTES ON IT. ALL 3 OF THE MECHANIC'S TOLD ME I NEEDED TO GET MY LOWER BALL JOINTS & CONTROL ARM CHANGED. BOTH THE PASSENGER AND THE DRIVER SIDE OF MY CAR WERE BAD. I HAD NEVER GOTTEN A RECALL NOTICE IN THE MAIL. I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR FOR OVER 2 YEARS. FINALLY I TOOK IT IN ON MONDAY, JULY 3, 2006 AND HAD TO REPLACE BOTH SIDES. IT ENDED UP COSTING ME OVER $475.00 FOR PARTS AND SERVICE.

View Details

TIRES

3/30/2006 - FOSTER, RI
DESPITE HAVING A TIRE SHOP INVESTIGATE THE SLOW LEAK IN MY TIRES, NO CAUSE WAS FOUND FOR A CONTINUOUS SLOW LEAK. EVERY TIME I USE THE CAR I NEED TO RE-INFLATE AT LEASE ONE OF THE TIRES.

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/25/2005 - RIVERSIDE, IL
2000 CHRYSLER SEBRING HEADLINER CAUGHT ON FIRE MELTING FABRIC. *** NO ANSWER REQUIR** *** TRANSFERRED TO OV** WHEN THE CONSUMER WENT TO STRIKE A MATCH, IT BROKE WHEN THE CONSUMER MOTIONED UPWARD. THE HEAD OF THE MATCH WAS FIZZLING AND FLEW UPWARD, IT STRUCK THE HEADLINED AND FELL DOWN ON THE CONSUMERS PANTS. THE CONSUMER BRUSHED THE HEAD OF THE MATCH AND WAS ABLE TO SMOTHERED IT WITH HIS SHOE, HE OPENED THE DOOR, BENT OVER AND THREW IT OUT THE WINDOW. THE CONSUMER LOOKED BACK AND REALIZED THE HEADLINER WAS BURNING AND THAT THE FABRIC WAS MELTING. THE CONSUMER WAS ABLE TO PUT THE FIRE OUT BUT IN THE PROCESS HE BURNED 2 OF HIS FINGERS. THE CONSUMER BELIEVES THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE MATERIAL AND THAT MATERIALS IN VEHICLE SHOULD BE MORE FLAME RESISTANT AND NOT SUPPORT COMBUSTION. THE MOMENT THE MATCH HEAD HIT THE MATERIAL IT REVERSED AND WAS IMMEDIATELY BEING PULLED AWAY BY GRAVITY. THE CONSUMER STATED MATERIAL SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO IGNITE AND BLAZE UP FROM SUCH AN INCIDENTAL CONTACT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: FRONT UNDERHOOD

7/30/2005 - HOUSTON, TX
REGARDING MY 2000 CHRYSLER SEBRING LXI, I'M HAVING SERIOUS ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITHTHE WIRING UNDER THE HOOD. IT STARTED SPARKING AND BURNING ALL BY THEMSELVES STARTING A SMALL FIRE UNDER THE HOOD THAT WAS PUT OUT VERY QUICKLY, BUT ALSO LEAVING ME STRANDED. I AM SCARED AS TO WHY MY ELECTRICAL WIRES WOULD START TO BURN BY THEMSELVES. I AM GLAD I WAS THERE BECAUSE MY CAR COULD HAVE CAUGHT FIRE!!!!

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

7/16/2005 - HOUSTON, TX
CONCERNING MY 2000 CHRYSLER SEBRING LXI ABOUT 5 MOS. AGO MY DOOR PANEL ON THE DRIVERS SIDE MALFUNCTIONED AND WILL NOT LET ME OPEN THE DRIVER DOOR. THIS IS AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR, SO MY DOOR HANDLE IS STILL BROKEN. FURTHERMORE, TODAY JULY 16, 2005 , I WENT OUT TO MY CAR AND I HAD TO LIKE ALWAYS GET IN ON THE PASSENGER SIDE , BECAUSE I CANT OPEN THE DRIVE SIDE DOOR, I WENT TO GRAB THE HANDLE AND IT MALFUNCTIONED AND BROKE OFF RIGHT IN MY HAND! THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE I CANT EVEN GET INTO NOR DRIVE MY CAR! THIS DEFECT SHOULD BE RECALLED BE THE CHRYLER CORP. (DEFECTIVE DOOR HANDLE) MY FIANCE ALSO OWN A 98' SEBRING AND HIS DOOR HANDLE IS ALSO BROKEN OFF. I SPOKE WITH A REPRESENTATIVE AND SHE ONLY GAVE ME A NUMBER TO CALL, I WANT RESULTS!! (BOTH OF MY DOOR HANDLES ARE BROKEN OFF) AS A RESULT OF CHRYSLERS DEFECTIVE HANDLES ON THE SEBRING..

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: WHEEL BEARING

4/4/2005 - WHITEHOUSE, OH
WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED DRIVER HEARD A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT, AND THE VEHICLE VIBRATED UNCONTROLLABLY. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION, AND MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE FRONT WHEEL BEARING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, AND REPLACED IT THREE TIMES. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM RECURRED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

3/2/2005 - WASHINGTON, DC
CHRYSLER SEBRING 2000 , VEHICLE JUST WON'T START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES FOR THIS ISSUE. ELECTRICAL WIRE WERE REPLACED ALONG WITH A NEW COMPUTER AND TUNE UP BUT THE PROBLEM RECURRED. THE BRAKE ROTORS FAILED , THE ALARM OPERATED ERRATICALLY, THE DOORS WON'T UNLOCK, THE HORN DOESN'T WORK AND THE RADIATOR WAS BLOCKED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/2/2005 - WASHINGTON, DC
CHRYSLER SEBRING 2000 , VEHICLE JUST WON'T START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES FOR THIS ISSUE. ELECTRICAL WIRE WERE REPLACED ALONG WITH A NEW COMPUTER AND TUNE UP BUT THE PROBLEM RECURRED. THE BRAKE ROTORS FAILED , THE ALARM OPERATED ERRATICALLY, THE DOORS WON'T UNLOCK, THE HORN DOESN'T WORK AND THE RADIATOR WAS BLOCKED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/2/2005 - WASHINGTON, DC
CHRYSLER SEBRING 2000 , VEHICLE JUST WON'T START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES FOR THIS ISSUE. ELECTRICAL WIRE WERE REPLACED ALONG WITH A NEW COMPUTER AND TUNE UP BUT THE PROBLEM RECURRED. THE BRAKE ROTORS FAILED , THE ALARM OPERATED ERRATICALLY, THE DOORS WON'T UNLOCK, THE HORN DOESN'T WORK AND THE RADIATOR WAS BLOCKED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds