Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2000 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 943 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (68) Exterior Lighting (27) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (64) Unknown Or Other (18)
Child Seat (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (43) Vehicle Speed Control (115)
Electrical System (76) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Power Train (139) Structure (29) Visibility (47)
Engine (7) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (14) Suspension (69) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (92) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (39) Tires (235) Wheels (13)
Equipment (14) Latches Locks Linkages (29) Service Brakes (3) Trailer Hitches (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2012 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
VEHICLE ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIREWALL WIRING HARNESS CAUGHT FIRE AND PARTIALLY MELTED SHORTING OUT ELECTRICAL SYSTEM WHILE VEHICLE WAS WAS UNDER STEADY LOAD (3500 RPM) FOR LESS THAN 5 MINUTES PULLING OUT A STUMP. FIRE WAS UNDER HOOD AND WAS EXTINGUISHED WITHIN SECONDS WITH WATER. ENGINE RUNS BUT DASH WARNING LIGHTS PERIODICALLY APPEAR: ENGINE, ABS BRAKES, GAS CAP, ETC.

View Details

ENGINE

9/18/2012 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
VEHICLE ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIREWALL WIRING HARNESS CAUGHT FIRE AND PARTIALLY MELTED SHORTING OUT ELECTRICAL SYSTEM WHILE VEHICLE WAS WAS UNDER STEADY LOAD (3500 RPM) FOR LESS THAN 5 MINUTES PULLING OUT A STUMP. FIRE WAS UNDER HOOD AND WAS EXTINGUISHED WITHIN SECONDS WITH WATER. ENGINE RUNS BUT DASH WARNING LIGHTS PERIODICALLY APPEAR: ENGINE, ABS BRAKES, GAS CAP, ETC.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/21/2012 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
I WAS STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION WAITING FOR ONCOMING TRAFFIC TO SLOW DOWN TO TURN, AND THE TRUCK JUST TAKES OFF ON ITS OWN. I TRIED PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL BUT AS SOON AS IT TOOK OFF I WAS HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. AFTER MY TRUCK WAS HIT BY THE VEHICLE IT TOOK OFF AGAIN OUT OF CONTROL ON ITS OWN WHILE I WAS TRYING TO PRESS THE BRAKE. LUCKILY THE TRUCK DIED ON ITS OWN BEFORE HITTING ANYTHING ELSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2012 - PLEASANTON, CA
THE PROBLEM STARTED WITH THE DRIVERS DOOR IT WOULD NOT OPEN , WITH THE REMOTE CONTROL , THE ACTUATOR WORKS BUT THE DOOR LATCH WOULD NOT OPEN AFTER SEVERAL WEEKS OF HAVING TO OPEN IT WITH THE KEYS I TOOK THE DOOR PANEL OPEN AND SPAY SOME WD-40 AND IT STARTED TO OPEN BUT AS TIME WHEN ON THE REAR PASSENGER DOORS HAVE STARTED TO DO THE SAME , THE CHILD SAFETY LOCKS HAVE GOT JAM AND NOW BOTH DOORS ARE FAILING AT ONE POINT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR DIDN'T OPEN AND I HAD TO TAKE IT TO A MECHANIC TO GET IT TO WORK BUT THE PROBLEM STILL PERSISTS AND NOW THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR DOES NOT OPEN IT GOT STOCK AND THE HANDLE TO OPEN THE DOOR HAS FALLEN OFF IT HAS BEEN SUCH A FRUSTRATING PROBLEM AND I WENT TO FIND OUT HOW MUCH IT WOULD COST FOR THE PARTS AND ITS GOING TO COST ABOUT $87.00 PER DOOR NOT INCLUDING THE LABOR AND IT VERY FRUSTRATING I WISH THEY DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT ALSO THEIR WAS A RECALL FOR THE CRUISE CONTROL I WENT TO THE DEALER TO GET IT FIX , AND THEY DISCONNECTED THE CRUISE CONTROL I HAVE CALL SEVERAL TIMES THEY SAY THEIR IS NO OPENINGS AND IT HAS NOW BEEN FOUR YEARS I HAVE GIVEN UP.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/18/2012 - PLEASANTON, CA
THE PROBLEM STARTED WITH THE DRIVERS DOOR IT WOULD NOT OPEN , WITH THE REMOTE CONTROL , THE ACTUATOR WORKS BUT THE DOOR LATCH WOULD NOT OPEN AFTER SEVERAL WEEKS OF HAVING TO OPEN IT WITH THE KEYS I TOOK THE DOOR PANEL OPEN AND SPAY SOME WD-40 AND IT STARTED TO OPEN BUT AS TIME WHEN ON THE REAR PASSENGER DOORS HAVE STARTED TO DO THE SAME , THE CHILD SAFETY LOCKS HAVE GOT JAM AND NOW BOTH DOORS ARE FAILING AT ONE POINT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR DIDN'T OPEN AND I HAD TO TAKE IT TO A MECHANIC TO GET IT TO WORK BUT THE PROBLEM STILL PERSISTS AND NOW THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR DOES NOT OPEN IT GOT STOCK AND THE HANDLE TO OPEN THE DOOR HAS FALLEN OFF IT HAS BEEN SUCH A FRUSTRATING PROBLEM AND I WENT TO FIND OUT HOW MUCH IT WOULD COST FOR THE PARTS AND ITS GOING TO COST ABOUT $87.00 PER DOOR NOT INCLUDING THE LABOR AND IT VERY FRUSTRATING I WISH THEY DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT ALSO THEIR WAS A RECALL FOR THE CRUISE CONTROL I WENT TO THE DEALER TO GET IT FIX , AND THEY DISCONNECTED THE CRUISE CONTROL I HAVE CALL SEVERAL TIMES THEY SAY THEIR IS NO OPENINGS AND IT HAS NOW BEEN FOUR YEARS I HAVE GIVEN UP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/8/2012 - FT WAYNE, IN
NOTICED A STEEL PIN APPROXIMATELY 1.25" LONG BY 5/32' DIAMETER ON THE FLOOR BELOW THE STEERING COLUMN. THEN NOTICED ABSENCE OF TRANSMISSION SHIFT LEVER DETENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE TRANSMISSION COULD BE SHIFTED FROM PARK TO LOW AND BACK AGAIN WITHOUT PULLING THE LEVER FORWARD. THE PIN IS SPLINED AT ONE END.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/9/2012 - OKMULGEE, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 60 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED TO 90 MPH ERRONEOUSLY. THE CONTACT APPLIED THE BRAKES AND THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED EXCESSIVELY. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT DECELERATE AND THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO REGAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF AS THE FAILURE OCCURRED, CAUSING THE STEERING WHEEL TO SEIZE. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. AS THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE TO EXIT THE DEALER, THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT'S INSURANCE COMPANY WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

4/6/2012 - MADISONVILLE, KY
NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A GAP BETWEEN MY LIFTGATE WINDOW AND MY LIFTGATE WHEN BACKING OUT OF A PARCKING SPACE. I FOUND THAT THE POST PULLED OUT OF THE PASSANGER SIDE OF LIFTGATE WINDOW HINGE LEAVING A SMOOTH HOLE IN HINGE AND METAL IN GROVES OF POST. HAD NO OPTIONS BUT TO LEAVE WINDOW ATTACHED BY ONLY THE DRIVER SIDE HINGE AND THE LATCH AT THE BOTTOM OF WINDOW. DID NOT HAVE PROPER TOOLS TO REMOVE FOR SAFER DRIVING.

View Details

VISIBILITY

4/6/2012 - MADISONVILLE, KY
NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A GAP BETWEEN MY LIFTGATE WINDOW AND MY LIFTGATE WHEN BACKING OUT OF A PARCKING SPACE. I FOUND THAT THE POST PULLED OUT OF THE PASSANGER SIDE OF LIFTGATE WINDOW HINGE LEAVING A SMOOTH HOLE IN HINGE AND METAL IN GROVES OF POST. HAD NO OPTIONS BUT TO LEAVE WINDOW ATTACHED BY ONLY THE DRIVER SIDE HINGE AND THE LATCH AT THE BOTTOM OF WINDOW. DID NOT HAVE PROPER TOOLS TO REMOVE FOR SAFER DRIVING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/21/2012 - TAYLORSVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 35 MPH WHEN SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT EXITED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED FLAMES COMING FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE POLICE AND THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WERE CONTACTED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 179,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds