Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2000 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 913 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (66) Exterior Lighting (26) Parking Brake (2) Steering (41) Unknown Or Other (16)
Child Seat (2) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Power Train (132) Structure (27) Vehicle Speed Control (107)
Electrical System (72) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (14) Suspension (69) Visibility (47)
Engine (2) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (36) Tires (234) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (90) Latches Locks Linkages (28) Service Brakes (2) Trailer Hitches (1) Wheels (12)
Equipment (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (64)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/22/2010 - WILLOW GROVE, PA
2000 FORD EXPLORER THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEM IT SLOW DOWN IN GEAR AND SECOND GEAR. FORD DEALER WILL PAID ATTEND TO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/8/2010 - COLONIE, NY
2000 FORD EXPLORER HAS A DELAY IN SHIFTING ON TRANSMISSION, O/D OFF LIGHT FLASHING AND CAR WINDS OUT IN BETWEEN GEARS... VERY COSTLY SO FAR AND EXTREMELY DANGEROUS!!!!!!!!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/8/2010 - COLONIE, NY
2000 FORD EXPLORER HAS A DELAY IN SHIFTING ON TRANSMISSION, O/D OFF LIGHT FLASHING AND CAR WINDS OUT IN BETWEEN GEARS... VERY COSTLY SO FAR AND EXTREMELY DANGEROUS!!!!!!!!!

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2/2/2010 - LEXINGTON, KY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. SHE STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER, AND REAR DOORS FAILED TO UNLOCK SHE HAD TO CLIMB THROUGH THE REAR WINDOW TO ENTER THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO RECALLS FOR THE FAILURE. UPDATED 3/4/2010 THE CONSUMER STATED THE FRONT AND REAR DOORS CONTINUE TO JAM. UPDATED 06/17/10

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/1/2010 - AUBURN, AL
2000 FORD EXPLORER 4.0 V6 SOHC WITH LESS THAN 120,000MILES- 5 SPEED OVERDRIVE TRANSMISSION IS GOING INTO FAILURE. SLIPS CONSISTENTLY WHEN SHIFTING BETWEEN SECOND AND THIRD GEAR, RPMS HAVE TO RAISE WELL ABOVE THE NECESSARY LEVEL TO ACTUATE THE SHIFTING MECHANISM, WHETHER IT MAY BE VALVES OR THE BANDS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

1/30/2010 - NIPOMO, CA
MY FORD FOCUS 2000 HAS A PROBLEM WITH THE IGNITION SWITCH LOCKS UP SO THAT I CAN PUT MY CAR KEY IN... BUT IT WILL NOT TURN. I WAS LEFT STRANDED AT A GAS STATION AT NIGHT, IF THAT ISN'T DANGEROUS THAN I DON'T KNOW WHAT IS. I PUT MY KEY IN THE IGNITION AND IT WOULD NOT BUDGE. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO THE FORD DEALER AND THEY FIXED THE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER BUT COST ALOT OF MONEY AND FROM WHAT I READ ALOT OF PEOPLE HAVE THIS PROBLEM AND EVEN WHEN FIXED IT STILL HAPPENING TO PEOPLE! WE NEED HELP, NO PERSON SHOULD BE LEFT STRANDED LIKE I WAS IT WAS SCARY TO SAY THE LEAST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/10/2010 - OCEANSIDE, CA
2000 FORD EXPLORER XLS. DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 25 MILES PER HOUR. VEHICLE RUNNING PROPERLY AND SMOOTHLY. SMOKE BEGAN BELLOWING FROM UNDER HOOD. STOPPED VEHICLE TO OPEN HOOD TO DISCOVER ENGINE FIRE. VEHICLE HAS REGULAR MAINTENANCE WITH FULL DIAGNOSTIC LESS THAN A WEAK BEFORE HAND WITH NO ISSUES. VIN NUMBER IS NOT PART OF CURRENT RECALLS. BAFFLED AS TO THE START OF FIRE. MAINLY BURNED THE MAIN ENGINE ELECTRICAL HARNESS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/9/2009 - MYRTLE BEACH, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. AFTER STARTING THE IGNITION, THE "AIR BAG" WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN INSPECTED FOR THE MALFUNCTION. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 147,000. THE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

11/28/2009 - MIAMI, FL
2000 FORD EXPLORER TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION. THIS IS A SAFETY PROBLEM WHICH SEEMS TO BE RAPID ON THE FORD EXPLORER LINE IN SEVERAL YEARS. THE TRANSMISSION SEEMS TO FAIL AT AN EARLY OR LATE INTO OWNERSHIP. I TALKED TO DEALER IN MY AREA AND THERE COMMENTS WHERE. DON'T TELL TRANSMISSION O/D LIGHT BLINKING AND TRANNY SLIPS, THE MINUTE I JUST SAID LIGHT COMES ON! THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AS WHEN DRIVING IT JUST GIVES OUT WITHOUT WARNING AND SLIPS WHEN ACCELERATING. I'M SURE IF YOU GET A SERVICE RELATED TRANSMISSION PROBLEM FOR THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE YOU WILL FIND FORD HAS AND IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. BUT IT GOES BACK TO MONEY! I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND IT JUST SLIPPED AND HAD TO PUNCH IT TO LEAVE INTERSECTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

10/15/2009 - MONTGOMERY, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. THE WINDSHIELD WIPER FUSE INTERMITTENTLY FAILED. SHE REPLACED THE FUSE AT LEAST FOUR TIMES WITHIN TWO MONTHS. THE CAR WAS PARKED IN FRONT HER HOME WHEN SHE HEARD THE VEHICLE ALARM GOING OFF. SHE WAS UNABLE TO SHUT THE ALARM OFF WITH THE KEYLESS ENTRY. SHE FOUND THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE VENTS OF THE VEHICLE. THE VENTS BEGAN TO MELT AND SHE THEN NOTICED FLAMES. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED HOWEVER SHE WAS ABLE TO PUT THE FIRE OUT BEFORE THEY ARRIVED. THE DEALER ADVISED HER VEHICLE WAS NOT UNDER RECALL HOWEVER SHE FOUND SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ONLINE PERTAINING TO POSSIBLE FIRES AND ONE RECALL PERTAINING TO THE FAILURE OF THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR (SEE NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 00V072000) HER VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER WAS NOT INCLUDED IN ANY OF THE RECALLS. NO REPAIRS HAD BEEN MADE TO THE VEHICLE TO DATE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE UNDER 125,149. THE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds