Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2000 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 935 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (68) Exterior Lighting (27) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (64) Unknown Or Other (18)
Child Seat (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Parking Brake (2) Steering (42) Vehicle Speed Control (114)
Electrical System (75) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Power Train (137) Structure (28) Visibility (47)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (14) Suspension (69) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (92) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (38) Tires (234) Wheels (13)
Equipment (14) Latches Locks Linkages (29) Service Brakes (2) Trailer Hitches (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 115
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/20/2012 - PRINCETON, MN
SPARKPLUG SUPER-HEATED AND MELTED LONGITUDINALLY DESTROYING THE OUTERMOST SPARKPLUG THREADS (7 THROUGH THE SEATING SURFACE OF THE SPARK PLUG). INNER MOST THREADS, THE ONES DEEPEST INTO THE HEAD WERE NOT DAMAGED. A SECOND PLUG WAS INSTALLED ALONG WITH A NEW SPARK PLUG WIRE AND WITHIN 20 MILES, THE SPARKPLUG WAS AGAIN MELTED BEYOND SALVAGE AND THE NEW WIRE BURNED UP. DUE TO THE DESTRUCTION OF THE SPARKPLUG, IT WAS ABLE TO BE REMOVED WITHOUT TOOLS AS THERE WERE NO THREADS REMAINING IN THE CYLINDER HEAD. FORTUNATELY THE FIRE DAMAGE (LIKELY FROM THE SPARK OF THE PLUG) WAS LIMITED ONLY TO DAMAGING THE SPARKPLUG AND THE SPARK PLUG WIRE LABLED #3.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/21/2011 - STERLING, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WOULD SLIP ABNORMALLY ONCE IN THIRD GEAR. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE VALVE BODY SEPARATOR PLATE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/13/2011 - BETHLEHEM, PA
THIS IS TO REPORT A FIRE IN A 2000 FORD EXPLORER: ON FRIDAY, 25 NOV 11, 5 ADULTS (MY HUSBAND, 2 SONS, DAUGHTER-IN LAW, AND MYSELF) AND 2 DOGS, LEFT BETHLEHEM PA FOR OUR FAMILY CHRISTMAS TRIP IN OUR 2000 FORD EXPLORER, PULLING A UTILITY TRAILER. THE INTENT OF THE TRIP WAS TO START AT A CHRISTMAS TREE FARM, CUT DOWN 3 CHRISTMAS TREES, HAUL THEM IN THE TRAILER AND CONTINUE WITH SEVERAL OTHER CHRISTMAS RELATED TRADITIONAL STOPS. MY HUSBAND, DROVE APPROXIMATELY 45 MINUTES NORTH TO BISSELS CHRISTMAS TREE HILL IN LEHIGHTON, PA. HE DID NOT USE CRUISE CONTROL BECAUSE WE WERE PULLING THE TRAILER. THE TRIP WAS FINE WITH ABSOLUTELY NO INDICATIONS THAT ANYTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. IT ALSO HAD NOT HAD ANY SERVICE DONE TO IT RECENTLY (A QUESTION FREQUENTLY ASKED TO US). HE PARKED THE VEHICLE ALONG AN EMBANKMENT AT THE TREE FARM AND WE ALL WERE IN VARIOUS STAGES OF GETTING OUT OF THE CAR WITH THE DOGS WHEN SOMEONE NEARBY YELLED TO US THAT OUR CAR WAS ON FIRE. SHE REPEATED IT AS WE LOOKED TO SEE WHO SHE WAS ADDRESSING. WE LOOKED AT OUR CAR AND SAW THAT UNDER IT, FIRE BALLS WERE HITTING THE GROUND FROM WHAT APPEARED TO BE THE CENTER OF THE ENGINE. MY HUSBAND ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE HOOD AND SMOKE WAS IMMEDIATELY POURING OUT OF THE ENGINE. WE ALL QUICKLY GOT AWAY FROM THE VEHICLE. MY ONE SON IMMEDIATELY CALLED 911 AND MY OTHER SON RAN NEARBY TO TRY AND FIND A FIRE EXTINGUISHER. THE SMOKE QUICKLY TURNED INTO A FULL BLOWN FIRE. THE COMPLETE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE, ALONG WITH THE EMBANKMENT NEARBY, WAS ABLAZE. THE MAHONING VALLEY POLICE CAME, THEN THE FIRE CAPTAINS, THEN 2 FULL FIRE TRUCKS FROM LEHIGHTON AND MAHONING VALLEY FIRE DEPARTMENTS. THEY QUICKLY EXTINGUISHED EVERYTHING, ALONG WITH THE VEHICLE WE LOST MY PURSE, JACKETS, AND OTHER MISCELLANEOUS VALUABLES THAT WERE ON THE FLOOR OF THE FRONT SEAT AND IN THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/11/2011 - WEST HILLS, CA
THE CAR WAS PURCHASED USED IN MARCH, 2011. THE BRAKE PROBLEM STARTED A COUPLE OF MONTHS LATER BUT WAS HARDLY NOTICEABLE AND THEN OVERNIGHT THEY WERE COMPLETELY WORN OUT. I HAD THEM CHECKED AT PEP BOYS TO VERIFY THAT THEY NEEDED REPLACING AND THEY SAID YES, IMMEDIATELY. I DID NOT HAVE AAA AT THE TIME AND COULD NOT DRIVE THE CAR THE 50 PLUS MILES WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR, SO THE REPAIRS WERE DONE AT MY HOME. I HAVE A COPY OF THE PEP BOYS RECEIPT FOR THE PURCHASE OF THE BRAKES, AND ONE BRAKE PLATE THAT NEEDED REPLACING. I ALSO HAVE PICTURES OF HOW POOR THE CONDITION OF THE BRAKES WERE IN, AND I WAS SOLD THE CAR THIS WAY. ALSO, THE CAR DOORS DO NOT LOCK, AND THE DEALER SAID THEY HAD REPLACED THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR WITH A NEW MOTOR FOR THE LOCKS, BUT THE DOOR STILL DOES NOT WORK. I HAVE RECEIPTS FOR ADDITIONAL PARTS THAT PEP BOYS USED TO FIX THE PASSENGER, FRONT DOOR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/8/2011 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER SPORT. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE HAD A MOMENT OF SUDDEN ACCELERATION. WHEN THE CONTACT ENGAGED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND AT 20 MPH THE VEHICLE STARTED TO ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN UP TO 60 MPH. SMOKE WAS ALSO COMING FROM THE BRAKES BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SLOW DOWN. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE PLACED IN NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO SLOW IT DOWN AND TURN IT OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED BY A DEALER TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 115,000. UPDATED 01/24/12 THE CONSUMER STATED HE HAS SINCE REMOVED THE CRUISE CONTROL SERVO UNIT THAT ATTACHED TO THE THROTTLE BODY UNIT. UPDATED 01/25/12

View Details

STEERING

9/2/2011 - HOT SPRINGS, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SMOKE WOULD EMIT FROM THE STEERING COLUMN INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND DENIED ANY ASSISTANCE WITH THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 142,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 152,603.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/29/2011 - WAUKEGAN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER PARKING HER VEHICLE SHE HEARD A LOUD NOISE AND THEN VEHICLE ENGULFED INTO FLAMES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO ADVISED HER THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT HAVE NOT FOLLOWED UP WITH THE CONTACT REGARDING THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 85,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

8/16/2011 - EMPORIA , KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE BEING INSPECTED BY A LOCAL MECHANIC FOR ROUTINE TIRE MAINTENANCE, THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FRONT AXLE WAS FRACTURED DUE TO CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 71,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

8/10/2011 - GREENVILLE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED WHEN THE REAR LIFT-GATE WOULD NOT CLOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE METAL HINGES WERE CRACKED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE TECHNICIAN WAS ABLE TO CLOSE THE LIFT-GATE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT NOT TO REOPEN IT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/18/2011 - WEST ALLIS, WI
THE 2000 FORD EXPLORER SUV BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN AS THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED. AFTER PULLING OVER AND TURNING THE IGNITION OFF, WE NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE HOOD. UNDERNEATH THE CAR, FLAMES WERE DRIPPING DOWN FROM THE TRANSMISSION. WE USED A FIRE EXTINGUISHER TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES ON THE GROUND, AND ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE HOOD. AFTER THE HOOD WAS OPENED, LARGE FLAMES WERE OBSERVED IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE FIRE EXTINGUISHER WAS USED UNTIL EMPTY AND HAD LITTLE IMPACT. THE CAR BEGAN TO BURN QUICKLY AND THE FLAMES SPREAD FROM FRONT TO BACK. THE EMERGENCY SERVICES ARRIVED, EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE AND COLLECTED WITNESS STATEMENTS. NO ONE WAS HURT IN THE INCIDENT AND THE FRAME WAS TOWED VIA AAA TO A NEARBY AUTOMOTIVE SHOP.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 115
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds