Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2000 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 916 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (66) Exterior Lighting (26) Parking Brake (2) Steering (41) Unknown Or Other (17)
Child Seat (2) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Power Train (133) Structure (27) Vehicle Speed Control (108)
Electrical System (73) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (14) Suspension (69) Visibility (47)
Engine (2) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (36) Tires (234) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (90) Latches Locks Linkages (28) Service Brakes (2) Trailer Hitches (1) Wheels (12)
Equipment (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (64)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/14/2010 - KANSAS CITY, MO
2000 FORD EXPLORER HAS O/D LIGHT BLINKING. ROUGH SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND. BARELY IS ABLE TO GET INTO PARK WHICH LEAVES THE VEHICLE ABLE TO ROLL AWAY. (AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION).

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/13/2010 - TURNERSVILLE, NJ
I HAVE A 2000 FORD EXPLORER, 4-DOOR. THE RIGHT FRONT DOOR ACTUATOR MECHANISM HAS FAILED. THE LEFT FRONT DOOR LOCKING MECHANISM HAS FAILED. ALSO, LEFT REAR PASSENGER DOOR CAN NOT BE OPENED FROM INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. 1) CAN NOT OPEN RIGHT FRONT DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE WITH KEY-FOB OR WITH THE KEY! I REPLACED A RIVOT THAT HOLDS THE LOCKING ACTUATOR WITH A BOLT (RIGHT SIDE FRONT DOOR). 2)I CAN NOT OPEN LEFT FRONT DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE WITH KEY-FOB OR WITH THE KEY! . I REPLACED THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE OPENING LEVER. THIS WORKED UNTIL THE LATCHING MECHANISM INSIDE THE DOOR FAILED. I CURRENTLY HAVE TO TAKE THE DOOR APART AND TRY TO FIX THIS BECAUSE MY WIFE AND KIDS USE THIS VEHICLE. 3) ON THE LEFT REAR DOOR, THE DOOR CAN NOT BE OPENED FROM THE INSIDE OR OUTSIDE. I CURRENTLY HAVE TO TAKE THE DOOR APART AND TRY TO FIX THIS BECAUSE MY WIFE AND KIDS USE THIS VEHICLE. IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT ON THE RIGHT SIDE, ANYONE IN THE LEFT REAR SEAT CAN NOT EXIT THE VEHICLE FROM THE LEFT REAR DOOR. WE LEASED THIS VEHICLE IN 2000 THEN BOUGHT IT IN 2003. AS OF THIS WRITING, THIS VEHICLE HAS JUST OVER 80000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. FORD REFUSES TO CORRECT THE PROBLEMS. MANY MESSAGE BOARDS HAVE REPORTED THE SAME PROBLEMS WITH 2000 FORD EXPLORERS. UNFORTUNATELY, I HAVE TO RESORT TO USING THE REMEDIES ON VARIOUS MESSAGE BOARDS TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THANK YOU

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/1/2010 - ROCKPORT, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HER DOOR LOCKS HAVE FAILED SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED BY A LOCAL MECHANIC. THE DOOR LOCKS CONTINUED TO FAIL AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS ADVISED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILES WERE NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 04/15/10. THE CONSUMER STATED THE LOCKS HAVE FAILED ONE-BY-ONE. THE PASSENGER REAR AND DRIVER SIDE REAR DOOR LOCKS COULD NOT BE REPAIRED. THE TRUNK LOCK ALSO STICKS. UPDATED 09/02/10

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/1/2010 - ROCKPORT, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HER DOOR LOCKS HAVE FAILED SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED BY A LOCAL MECHANIC. THE DOOR LOCKS CONTINUED TO FAIL AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS ADVISED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILES WERE NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 04/15/10. THE CONSUMER STATED THE LOCKS HAVE FAILED ONE-BY-ONE. THE PASSENGER REAR AND DRIVER SIDE REAR DOOR LOCKS COULD NOT BE REPAIRED. THE TRUNK LOCK ALSO STICKS. UPDATED 09/02/10

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/22/2010 - WILLOW GROVE, PA
2000 FORD EXPLORER THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEM IT SLOW DOWN IN GEAR AND SECOND GEAR. FORD DEALER WILL PAID ATTEND TO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/8/2010 - COLONIE, NY
2000 FORD EXPLORER HAS A DELAY IN SHIFTING ON TRANSMISSION, O/D OFF LIGHT FLASHING AND CAR WINDS OUT IN BETWEEN GEARS... VERY COSTLY SO FAR AND EXTREMELY DANGEROUS!!!!!!!!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/8/2010 - COLONIE, NY
2000 FORD EXPLORER HAS A DELAY IN SHIFTING ON TRANSMISSION, O/D OFF LIGHT FLASHING AND CAR WINDS OUT IN BETWEEN GEARS... VERY COSTLY SO FAR AND EXTREMELY DANGEROUS!!!!!!!!!

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2/2/2010 - LEXINGTON, KY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. SHE STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER, AND REAR DOORS FAILED TO UNLOCK SHE HAD TO CLIMB THROUGH THE REAR WINDOW TO ENTER THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO RECALLS FOR THE FAILURE. UPDATED 3/4/2010 THE CONSUMER STATED THE FRONT AND REAR DOORS CONTINUE TO JAM. UPDATED 06/17/10

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/1/2010 - AUBURN, AL
2000 FORD EXPLORER 4.0 V6 SOHC WITH LESS THAN 120,000MILES- 5 SPEED OVERDRIVE TRANSMISSION IS GOING INTO FAILURE. SLIPS CONSISTENTLY WHEN SHIFTING BETWEEN SECOND AND THIRD GEAR, RPMS HAVE TO RAISE WELL ABOVE THE NECESSARY LEVEL TO ACTUATE THE SHIFTING MECHANISM, WHETHER IT MAY BE VALVES OR THE BANDS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

1/30/2010 - NIPOMO, CA
MY FORD FOCUS 2000 HAS A PROBLEM WITH THE IGNITION SWITCH LOCKS UP SO THAT I CAN PUT MY CAR KEY IN... BUT IT WILL NOT TURN. I WAS LEFT STRANDED AT A GAS STATION AT NIGHT, IF THAT ISN'T DANGEROUS THAN I DON'T KNOW WHAT IS. I PUT MY KEY IN THE IGNITION AND IT WOULD NOT BUDGE. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO THE FORD DEALER AND THEY FIXED THE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER BUT COST ALOT OF MONEY AND FROM WHAT I READ ALOT OF PEOPLE HAVE THIS PROBLEM AND EVEN WHEN FIXED IT STILL HAPPENING TO PEOPLE! WE NEED HELP, NO PERSON SHOULD BE LEFT STRANDED LIKE I WAS IT WAS SCARY TO SAY THE LEAST.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds