Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2000 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 922 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (67) Exterior Lighting (26) Parking Brake (2) Steering (41) Unknown Or Other (16)
Child Seat (2) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Power Train (134) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (109)
Electrical System (73) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (14) Suspension (69) Visibility (47)
Engine (3) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (38) Tires (234) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (90) Latches Locks Linkages (29) Service Brakes (2) Trailer Hitches (1) Wheels (12)
Equipment (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (64)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 113
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/12/2010 - QUEENSBURY, NY
2000 FORD EXPLORER 4.0L SOHC. O/D LIGHT STARTED BLINKING WHILE DRIVING DOWN A HILL, WITHOUT THE ACCELERATOR PRESSED. WHEN I STARTED TO ASCEND THE NEXT HILL I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED SINCE THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT SHIFT TO 4TH (OVERDRIVE) AND I HAD TO DEPRESS THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL ALMOST TO THE FLOOR TO GET THE POWER TO GET UP THE HILL. BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE TO REPLACE MY 1999 FORD ZX2 WHICH RAN GREAT MINUS THE FACT THE SUB-FRAME HAD COMPLETELY ROTTED OUT BETWEEN THE DRIVER SEAT AND THE REAR STRUT MOUNT. I'M SURE YOU WILL GET COMPLAINTS WHEN THOSE START BREAKING IN HALF ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/31/2010 - LAPORTE, TX
2000 FORD EXPLORER,TRANSMISSION WILL SLIP,LOCK UP IN OVERDRIVE,PLACE IN REVERSE CAR LURCHES FORWARD.THE O/D OFF LIGHT FLASHES ENGINE RPMS ARE VERY HIGH.THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE THAT KEEP HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS WITH THIS VEHICLE. IT HAS 4.0 ENGINE AND THE 5R55E AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. THIS VEHICLE IS DANGEROUS TO MY FAMILY AND TO THE PUBLIC YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT TYPE OF REACTION WILL COME OUT OF THIS TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE HAS 100,000 MILES ON IT. TAKEN TO AAMCO THEY QUOTED $2300.00 FOR REPAIRS. MY WARRANT COMPANYCOMPLETE AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR SERVIVES (C.A.R.S)WILL ONLY PAY FOR A SALVAGE YARD TRANSMISSION.THESE TRANSMISSION WERE ONLY MADE FRO A SHORT TIME. ANY TRANSMISSION FROM A SALVAGE YARD WILL HAVE THE OPERATING PROBLEMS. WHILE AT AAMCO A CUSTOMER BROUGHT HIS 1999 EXPLORER IN HIS TRANSMISSION WAS REBUILT BY AAMCO FEB OF THIS YEAR.IT IS STUCK IN OVERDRIVE AND WILL NOT GO INTO REVERSE. WARRANTY COMPANY SENT A USED TRANSMISSION TO THE AAMCO SHOP AT 4210 RED BLUFF ROAD PASADENA TEXAS,IT WAS INSTALLED,TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT GO INTO OVERDRIVE AND SET A COMPUTER CODE OF TORQUE CONVERTER FAILURE ALONG WITH SOLENOID FAILURE. FORD MOTOR COMPANY HAS TURNED LOOSE A VERY UNSAFE TO THE PUBLIC THEY MUST BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE AND MADE TO REPAIR THIS TYPE OF TRANSMISSION.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/21/2010 - WHITNEYVILLE, ME
PURCHASED USED 2000 FORD EXPLORER IN 2007. LIFT GATE IN REAR HAS BEEN USED ON A REGULAR BASIS SINCE PURCHASE AND THIS PAST WEEKEND WHEN OPENING THERE WAS A LOUD BANG WITH THE LIFT GATE COMING DOWN ONTO MY BACK. THANKFULLY IT WASN'T MY WIFE OR CHILD THAT HAD OPENED IT AS THEY WOULD HAVE BEEN INJURED. MY FIRST THOUGHT WAS STRUT HAD BROKE AS IT WAS HANGING THERE BUT AFTER CLOSER INSPECTION THE LIFT GATE BALL MOUNT HAD SNAPPED OFF. THERE IS SURFACE RUST ON THE OUTER PART OF THE BALL MOUNT AND CLIP THAT KEEPS THE STRUT ON THE MOUNT BUT THE BALL MOUNT WHERE IT SNAPPED IS CLEAN. THE CONSEQUENCES OF THIS FAILURE IS REAR LIFT GATE WILL NOT CLOSE PROPERLY AND BECAUSE IT CAN'T CLOSE THE INTERIOR LIGHTS STAY ON AND GET VERY HOT. I REMOVED THE FRONT LIGHT BUT COULDN'T GET THE TOP OFF OF THE REAR INTERIOR LIGHT SO I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY. HAVE DONE RESEARCH AND IT APPEARS THAT THIS IS A COMMON FAILURE WITH MANY EXPLORERS. PROBLEM IS NO PART CAN BE PURCHASED AS THIS MOUNT IS WELDED ONTO THE BODY AT THE FACTORY. TWO SOLUTIONS ARE THAT FORD FIXES IT AT A COST TO THE CONSUMER OR THE CONSUMER JURY RIGS IT WITH DRILLING OUT HOLES IN THE STRUT AND FASHIONING A MEANS OF ATTACHMENT USING BOLTS AND SCREWS THAT CAN AND DO LOOSEN UP AND NEED TO BE TIGHTENED FREQUENTLY. A SEARCH ALSO SHOWS THAT FORD HAS HAD PREVIOUS PROBLEMS WITH LIFT GATE PARTS AND FAILURES ON OTHER YEARS OF EXPLORERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2010 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF 70 MPH, SMOKE BEGAN POURING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. AS THE CONTACT WAS MOVING THE VEHICLE OFF THE ROADWAY, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED AND ADVISED THE FIRE WAS SO SEVERE THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE EXACT CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE FIRE CHIEF RULED THE FIRE AS MECHANICAL. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER AN UNKNOWN RECALL CAMPAIGN IN ORDER TO PREVENT A VEHICLE FIRE. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WERE NOT LIABLE FOR THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 125,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/14/2010 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
MY FORD EXPLORER CAUGHT ON FIRE. ALL I SAW WAS CLOUD OF SMOKE. THEN PEOPLE STARTED YELLING AND BLOWING THEIR HORN AT ME, THE UNBELIEVABLE, THAT MY CAR WAS ON FIRE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/27/2010 - MARSHALL, WI
FAULTY TRANSMISSION ON 2000 FORD EXPLORER. O/D LIGHT FLASHES AND TRANSMISSION SHIFTS HARD. OCCURS ON MID TO LONG RANGE TRIPS AND WILL LIKELY REQUIRE A TRANSMISSION REBUILD. IT IS KNOWN THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH FORD SUV'S/TRUCKS FROM LATE 90'S AND EARLY 2000'S, BUT FORD REFUSES TO "ACKNOWLEDGE" THE ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/18/2010 - SANTA MARIA, CA
VEHICLES TRANSMISSION SLIPS CAUSING LOSS OF POWER TO GEARING. UNSAFE CONDITIONS EXISTS WHILE TRYING TO USE POWER TO AVOID ACCIDENTS. WHEN VEHICLE KEY IS SWITCHED OFF THEN ON AGAIN, TRANSMISSION RESETS UNTIL NEXT EVENT OF POWER LOSS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/26/2010 - WAYNE , MI
MY TRANSMISSION ON MY 2000 FORD EXPLORER XLT OVER DRIVE O/D LIGHT STARTED TO FLASH ON AND OFF. I ONLY HAVE 169,000 MILES ON THE TRUCK. WHEN I WAS DRIVING IT STARTED TO JERK AND SLIP OUT OF GEAR. NOW IT ONLY LET ME DRIVE ONLY IN ONE GEAR. I'VE CALLED THE FORD DEALERSHIPS AND SAYS THERE IS NOTHING WE CAN DO. IT SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE SO MANY FORD EXPLORER OWNERS UP TO THE 2002 MODEL HAS THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THEIR TRUCK AND THEY THE SAME RESPONSE WHEN CALL FORD DEALERSHIPS. THIS THE WEBSITE WITH ALL OF THE COMPLAINTS: HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/FORD/EXPLORER/2002/TRANSMISSION/O_D_LIGHT_IS_BLINKING.SHTML. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO ADDRESSED BECAUSE NO ONE WANTS TO BE IN THE MIDDLE OF ON COMING TRAFFIC AND CAN'T MOVE BECAUSE OF THE VEHICLE'S TRANSMISSION WANT ALLOW THEM TOO. THEY WILL BE IN AN ACCIDENT OR CAUSE ONE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

4/14/2010 - KANSAS CITY, MO
2000 FORD EXPLORER HAS O/D LIGHT BLINKING. ROUGH SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND. BARELY IS ABLE TO GET INTO PARK WHICH LEAVES THE VEHICLE ABLE TO ROLL AWAY. (AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION).

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/13/2010 - TURNERSVILLE, NJ
I HAVE A 2000 FORD EXPLORER, 4-DOOR. THE RIGHT FRONT DOOR ACTUATOR MECHANISM HAS FAILED. THE LEFT FRONT DOOR LOCKING MECHANISM HAS FAILED. ALSO, LEFT REAR PASSENGER DOOR CAN NOT BE OPENED FROM INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. 1) CAN NOT OPEN RIGHT FRONT DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE WITH KEY-FOB OR WITH THE KEY! I REPLACED A RIVOT THAT HOLDS THE LOCKING ACTUATOR WITH A BOLT (RIGHT SIDE FRONT DOOR). 2)I CAN NOT OPEN LEFT FRONT DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE WITH KEY-FOB OR WITH THE KEY! . I REPLACED THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE OPENING LEVER. THIS WORKED UNTIL THE LATCHING MECHANISM INSIDE THE DOOR FAILED. I CURRENTLY HAVE TO TAKE THE DOOR APART AND TRY TO FIX THIS BECAUSE MY WIFE AND KIDS USE THIS VEHICLE. 3) ON THE LEFT REAR DOOR, THE DOOR CAN NOT BE OPENED FROM THE INSIDE OR OUTSIDE. I CURRENTLY HAVE TO TAKE THE DOOR APART AND TRY TO FIX THIS BECAUSE MY WIFE AND KIDS USE THIS VEHICLE. IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT ON THE RIGHT SIDE, ANYONE IN THE LEFT REAR SEAT CAN NOT EXIT THE VEHICLE FROM THE LEFT REAR DOOR. WE LEASED THIS VEHICLE IN 2000 THEN BOUGHT IT IN 2003. AS OF THIS WRITING, THIS VEHICLE HAS JUST OVER 80000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. FORD REFUSES TO CORRECT THE PROBLEMS. MANY MESSAGE BOARDS HAVE REPORTED THE SAME PROBLEMS WITH 2000 FORD EXPLORERS. UNFORTUNATELY, I HAVE TO RESORT TO USING THE REMEDIES ON VARIOUS MESSAGE BOARDS TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THANK YOU

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 113
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds