Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2000 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 923 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (67) Exterior Lighting (26) Parking Brake (2) Steering (41) Unknown Or Other (17)
Child Seat (2) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Power Train (135) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (109)
Electrical System (74) Fuel System Other (2) Seat Belts (14) Suspension (69) Visibility (47)
Engine (3) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (38) Tires (234) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (90) Latches Locks Linkages (29) Service Brakes (2) Trailer Hitches (1) Wheels (12)
Equipment (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (64)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 113
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/10/2010 - BEL AIR , MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15-20 MPH HE ENGAGED THE BRAKES TO AVOID HITTING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF HIM AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. HE ENGAGED THE BRAKES A SECOND TIME AND THERE WERE NO BRAKES. HE SHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR IN ORDER TO AVOID A CRASH. HE STATED THAT USING THE SHIFTER SLOWED THE VEHICLE DOWN IN TIME FOR THE OTHER VEHICLE TO MOVE OUT OF THE WAY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC AND HE WAS ADVISED THAT THE BRAKE LINE WAS DAMAGED BY RUST. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 78,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/22/2010 - PALM COAST, FL
2000 FORD EXPLORER [XXX] XLT 4 DR 4X4 OHV "X" VIN 4.0 OHV ENGINE. 2 RE-BUILT 5R55E TRANSMISSIONS. BOTH TIMES PO-741 CODES TORQUE CONVERTER CLUTCH SYSTEM STUCK OFF. HAD TO START IN LOW AND SHIFT TO DRIVE TO MOVE THRU GEARS. NO REVERSE UNLESS YOU GUN ENGINE THEN SLOWLY MOVES IN REVERSE SOMETIMES. RE-BUILT AT 113K AND AGAIN AT 195,000 MILES. SOMETIMES NO GEAR WHEN DRIVING. HAVE TO SWITCH OVERDRIVE OFF TO GAIN TRACTION. TRANS FINALLY QUIT AGAIN. DANGEROUS CONDITION. FORD DEALERS TELL ME NOTHING EXTRAORDINARY. HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED SO MUCH TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WITH ALL THE SUVS AND SEDANS I'VE OWNED. I BELIEVE A SAFETY RE-CALL IS IN ORDER. IT IS NO COINCIDENCE THAT RETAIL SHOPS REFER TO THE FORD EXPLORER AS THE FORD "EXPLODER".

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

8/17/2010 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AS HE OPENED THE REAR DOOR OF THE VEHICLE, HE NOTICED THE TOP HINGE WAS SEVERELY FRACTURED FROM THE FRAME. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER OR MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/12/2010 - QUEENSBURY, NY
2000 FORD EXPLORER 4.0L SOHC. O/D LIGHT STARTED BLINKING WHILE DRIVING DOWN A HILL, WITHOUT THE ACCELERATOR PRESSED. WHEN I STARTED TO ASCEND THE NEXT HILL I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED SINCE THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT SHIFT TO 4TH (OVERDRIVE) AND I HAD TO DEPRESS THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL ALMOST TO THE FLOOR TO GET THE POWER TO GET UP THE HILL. BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE TO REPLACE MY 1999 FORD ZX2 WHICH RAN GREAT MINUS THE FACT THE SUB-FRAME HAD COMPLETELY ROTTED OUT BETWEEN THE DRIVER SEAT AND THE REAR STRUT MOUNT. I'M SURE YOU WILL GET COMPLAINTS WHEN THOSE START BREAKING IN HALF ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/31/2010 - LAPORTE, TX
2000 FORD EXPLORER,TRANSMISSION WILL SLIP,LOCK UP IN OVERDRIVE,PLACE IN REVERSE CAR LURCHES FORWARD.THE O/D OFF LIGHT FLASHES ENGINE RPMS ARE VERY HIGH.THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE THAT KEEP HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS WITH THIS VEHICLE. IT HAS 4.0 ENGINE AND THE 5R55E AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. THIS VEHICLE IS DANGEROUS TO MY FAMILY AND TO THE PUBLIC YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT TYPE OF REACTION WILL COME OUT OF THIS TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE HAS 100,000 MILES ON IT. TAKEN TO AAMCO THEY QUOTED $2300.00 FOR REPAIRS. MY WARRANT COMPANYCOMPLETE AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR SERVIVES (C.A.R.S)WILL ONLY PAY FOR A SALVAGE YARD TRANSMISSION.THESE TRANSMISSION WERE ONLY MADE FRO A SHORT TIME. ANY TRANSMISSION FROM A SALVAGE YARD WILL HAVE THE OPERATING PROBLEMS. WHILE AT AAMCO A CUSTOMER BROUGHT HIS 1999 EXPLORER IN HIS TRANSMISSION WAS REBUILT BY AAMCO FEB OF THIS YEAR.IT IS STUCK IN OVERDRIVE AND WILL NOT GO INTO REVERSE. WARRANTY COMPANY SENT A USED TRANSMISSION TO THE AAMCO SHOP AT 4210 RED BLUFF ROAD PASADENA TEXAS,IT WAS INSTALLED,TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT GO INTO OVERDRIVE AND SET A COMPUTER CODE OF TORQUE CONVERTER FAILURE ALONG WITH SOLENOID FAILURE. FORD MOTOR COMPANY HAS TURNED LOOSE A VERY UNSAFE TO THE PUBLIC THEY MUST BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE AND MADE TO REPAIR THIS TYPE OF TRANSMISSION.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/21/2010 - WHITNEYVILLE, ME
PURCHASED USED 2000 FORD EXPLORER IN 2007. LIFT GATE IN REAR HAS BEEN USED ON A REGULAR BASIS SINCE PURCHASE AND THIS PAST WEEKEND WHEN OPENING THERE WAS A LOUD BANG WITH THE LIFT GATE COMING DOWN ONTO MY BACK. THANKFULLY IT WASN'T MY WIFE OR CHILD THAT HAD OPENED IT AS THEY WOULD HAVE BEEN INJURED. MY FIRST THOUGHT WAS STRUT HAD BROKE AS IT WAS HANGING THERE BUT AFTER CLOSER INSPECTION THE LIFT GATE BALL MOUNT HAD SNAPPED OFF. THERE IS SURFACE RUST ON THE OUTER PART OF THE BALL MOUNT AND CLIP THAT KEEPS THE STRUT ON THE MOUNT BUT THE BALL MOUNT WHERE IT SNAPPED IS CLEAN. THE CONSEQUENCES OF THIS FAILURE IS REAR LIFT GATE WILL NOT CLOSE PROPERLY AND BECAUSE IT CAN'T CLOSE THE INTERIOR LIGHTS STAY ON AND GET VERY HOT. I REMOVED THE FRONT LIGHT BUT COULDN'T GET THE TOP OFF OF THE REAR INTERIOR LIGHT SO I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY. HAVE DONE RESEARCH AND IT APPEARS THAT THIS IS A COMMON FAILURE WITH MANY EXPLORERS. PROBLEM IS NO PART CAN BE PURCHASED AS THIS MOUNT IS WELDED ONTO THE BODY AT THE FACTORY. TWO SOLUTIONS ARE THAT FORD FIXES IT AT A COST TO THE CONSUMER OR THE CONSUMER JURY RIGS IT WITH DRILLING OUT HOLES IN THE STRUT AND FASHIONING A MEANS OF ATTACHMENT USING BOLTS AND SCREWS THAT CAN AND DO LOOSEN UP AND NEED TO BE TIGHTENED FREQUENTLY. A SEARCH ALSO SHOWS THAT FORD HAS HAD PREVIOUS PROBLEMS WITH LIFT GATE PARTS AND FAILURES ON OTHER YEARS OF EXPLORERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2010 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF 70 MPH, SMOKE BEGAN POURING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. AS THE CONTACT WAS MOVING THE VEHICLE OFF THE ROADWAY, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED AND ADVISED THE FIRE WAS SO SEVERE THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE EXACT CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE FIRE CHIEF RULED THE FIRE AS MECHANICAL. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER AN UNKNOWN RECALL CAMPAIGN IN ORDER TO PREVENT A VEHICLE FIRE. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WERE NOT LIABLE FOR THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 125,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/14/2010 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
MY FORD EXPLORER CAUGHT ON FIRE. ALL I SAW WAS CLOUD OF SMOKE. THEN PEOPLE STARTED YELLING AND BLOWING THEIR HORN AT ME, THE UNBELIEVABLE, THAT MY CAR WAS ON FIRE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/27/2010 - MARSHALL, WI
FAULTY TRANSMISSION ON 2000 FORD EXPLORER. O/D LIGHT FLASHES AND TRANSMISSION SHIFTS HARD. OCCURS ON MID TO LONG RANGE TRIPS AND WILL LIKELY REQUIRE A TRANSMISSION REBUILD. IT IS KNOWN THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH FORD SUV'S/TRUCKS FROM LATE 90'S AND EARLY 2000'S, BUT FORD REFUSES TO "ACKNOWLEDGE" THE ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/18/2010 - SANTA MARIA, CA
VEHICLES TRANSMISSION SLIPS CAUSING LOSS OF POWER TO GEARING. UNSAFE CONDITIONS EXISTS WHILE TRYING TO USE POWER TO AVOID ACCIDENTS. WHEN VEHICLE KEY IS SWITCHED OFF THEN ON AGAIN, TRANSMISSION RESETS UNTIL NEXT EVENT OF POWER LOSS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 113
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds